7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

voscar
post Feb 24 2020, 04:13 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Feb 24 2020, 02:57 PM)
You may need a da to remove COMPLETELY , meguiar ultimate compound!!!
ok will try Meg UC, thanks.
voscar
post Feb 27 2020, 09:14 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Feb 26 2020, 08:09 PM)
Haha, depends what sort of decals.

I remembered opening up a thread somewhere, maybe ZeroToHundred forums asking for suggestions on where to get decent decals. I'm not so into body stripes as I tend to collect decals for use on windscreens.

Anyways, so far bearable la. Not as bad as anticipated. Just gotta be careful especially around those stickers which have many edges like text etc cos it may fray after awhile. But overall, I tend to replace the decals maybe every 6 months or so...

End up become lala/ah beng car especially countless naggings from the missus... brows.gif
Many many years back my parent's car put the Michelin man stickers, I think consists of 3 Michelin man from small to big sized with running stunt, it looks neat as if that guy was running from far to near... now never seen anymore.
voscar
post Mar 13 2020, 08:23 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Mar 13 2020, 03:05 PM)
Just noticed this on Lazada.. anyone getting this?

If HCW is anything to go by, this should be worth it

Real men play real ceramic coating, not those hybrid, hehe.
voscar
post Mar 17 2020, 09:01 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Mar 17 2020, 02:38 AM)
now we all have alot of time to detail our car...lol
anyone planning for massive detailing project during this special 'holiday'?
btw, my carpro cquartz lite applied on 9/12/19 still beads like crazy.
Very hot weather, be careful not to get flu and fever symptom, regardless of covid-19, now these are very sensitive issue.
I will only do some light washing and interior cleanup, just did my diy coating 3 weeks back..
voscar
post Mar 22 2020, 11:11 AM

1,525 posts

One bottle of wash and wax is enough lor, haha.
voscar
post Mar 25 2020, 02:00 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Crocus_fern @ Mar 25 2020, 01:40 PM)
Great result..

Now MCO extended to 14th April and WFH..

You will have more time to make your  car more even shinning..
Everyday polish 1 small panel? Lol
voscar
post Mar 26 2020, 10:47 AM

1,525 posts

Any side effect if frequently use Soft99 MetaClean on hand applicator? Will it damage or thinning the clear coat. My car is on cheap Cat Layang paint now.

I used last month and after a month yesterday I use again, amazing to see so much dirt lift up especially on the roof and engine bonnet area, yellow applicators instantly become black (yes it's black) after running through roof and engine bonnet area. Other area such as doors are not much dirt..
voscar
post Mar 26 2020, 11:12 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 26 2020, 10:52 AM)
it cleans the paint chemically and it's not abrasive in nature so no worries about it thinning your clear coat. No serious side effect as far I know. Just remember to buff it off clean and not leave residue on car paint.
I see, good to know that, thanks.
voscar
post Apr 9 2020, 08:02 PM

1,525 posts

Ok, did my first DIY ceramic coating during mid February. Now it's been 1 month plus I didn't wash my car due to MCO and frequent evening downpour. Stray cats couple having party on my car during nights, tree saps, dirts. Here are the before wash and after decontamination snow wash result.

Not satisfied with some water mark/dirt etch, I then use Soft99 Metaclean hand polish bonnet and boot area, then redo coating on these area again.

I also try apply coating on roof which I did not polish, I found the coating brings out some darker stain mark upon application, yucks. Proves that before coating it's mandatory to do light polish. No photo of these because it's already night by now.

This post has been edited by voscar: Apr 9 2020, 08:04 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
voscar
post Apr 10 2020, 03:14 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Apr 10 2020, 02:27 PM)
i use Carpro Spotless to remove waterspot. safe on ceramic coating.
btw, i've only experience 1week plus waterspot, not 1month plus.😅
Thanks for recommendation, will consider that.
Ytd quite tiring to rub it using Metaclean because I have only hand applicators, need to find easier solution to remove water spot, haha.
voscar
post Apr 15 2020, 07:29 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 15 2020, 02:09 PM)
Just got these yesterday, after being delayed for 2 weeks

What for you bought 2 variant of Ceramic Wax? You want to layering it?
voscar
post Apr 16 2020, 06:54 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 16 2020, 05:31 PM)
Sharing some roof spoiler shots after the evening downpour.  brows.gif 

Car washed quickly with diluted Mirror Bright Shine a couple of nights ago. Car has a layer of ADM Solutions Hybrid Spray Coating on it applied last weekend.

just wondering, will you attempt the real men's diy ceramic coating project? since i see you have passion on car detailing.
i attempted and failed miserably 1st time due to waited too long before wipe-off, many visible high spots, but i believe your level can manage that better than me. thumbsup.gif
voscar
post Apr 16 2020, 07:00 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Apr 16 2020, 06:57 PM)
nowaday ceramic coating is very easy to apply and user friendly , prep is the key!
apply is superb easy, timing to buff off and noticing high spot is different story. mine when buff off certain area will haze and if didn't notice enough, next day gg, tho it still reflects lights like a mirror until you go near to see. bye.gif
my roof I still haven't buy Meguiar's Ultimate Compound to try.
voscar
post Apr 16 2020, 11:55 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Apr 16 2020, 07:06 PM)
wipe it on and wipe it off !
which brand you use ?
some china brand, available on lazada, medium range not those a few ringgit type, lol.
voscar
post Apr 17 2020, 12:00 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Apr 16 2020, 08:07 PM)
Some coating need to buff off within few minutes due to our humid and hot weather. Maybe can apply the coating on cooler day and have enough light to check all the coating are buff off. Be patient while buffing off, change to new buffing towel if needed.
speaking about towel, doing coating is wasting towel and applicator cloth. Regardless i throw into soap water and rinse, the textile will turn harden and not suitable for car paint use.
voscar
post Apr 19 2020, 07:12 PM

1,525 posts

My DIY coating effect during rain.

voscar
post Apr 20 2020, 10:55 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 20 2020, 10:15 AM)
I will give it another go, I only have the Osren clay bar (not sure what strength it is...)
If clay cannot, try cleaner wax/AIO polish. Last resolution will be compound cream.
voscar
post Apr 20 2020, 11:05 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 20 2020, 11:00 AM)
AIO didn't work for sure =/ this one just tried. I googled seems to use IPA will be able to do it though.
what AIO you used?
voscar
post Apr 22 2020, 01:17 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 22 2020, 10:52 AM)
Wow, torchlights racun. brows.gif

Anyways, my car's swirls and holograms are getting more apparent now under sunlight. Haha. Must be the overzealous washing throughout the almost 8 months of ownership. Plus it's a dark car so the swirls are very apparent vs my previous ride which was silver in colour...

Asides from using the DA, is there any hopes of swirl removal just by hand application?  hmm.gif
Do proper polish correction, then try Soft99 H7 Glass Coating, foreigner forum review the scratch resistant is good for this, haha.

This post has been edited by voscar: Apr 22 2020, 01:23 PM

voscar
post Apr 22 2020, 02:03 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 22 2020, 01:46 PM)
Thanks for the sharing bro.

I noticed it was referring to 'glass' - means windscreen area?

Looking for ways to either remove/reduce the swirls on the paintwork. biggrin.gif
They have long argument over there, Russian forum, regarding opticoat pro cure time and scratching it. So some of them doing experiment of few different product with a few ml on glass.

This post has been edited by voscar: Apr 22 2020, 02:03 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0415sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:17 PM