7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

voscar
post Nov 30 2019, 07:06 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 30 2019, 10:00 AM)
Woah, never skim on cheap paint, you would be surprised how easily they fail after 1 year or so.

Every resprayed car will have orange peel, heck, even factory painted cars will have it.
Manual hand respray usually has obvious orange peel, so what they do is to level it first before delivering. So having orange peel after respraying is normal.

And yes, paint will take a while to settle. There are paints where after respraying and levelled immediately, but once it is fully cured, orange peel came back a little.  Uncured paint tend to be soft, and once the solvent evaporates fully (cure), the paint hardens and somewhat "reshapes"

Paint has many characteristics, weird ones. In peninsular, most repainted paints are leaning toward hard paint, while in east Malaysia, we noticed that repainted paints recently are on the soft side. We are guessing that in east, certain brand is leading in market share la.

However, don't expect a painter to polish the hood nice nice like a detailer. The only one i've seen polishing with spot light is in PJ. Those are the only guys that goes hardcore and finishes with a dual action polisher.

I have my bonnet repainted 6 months ago, told them not to level it, orange peel is horrible. Saving it for my next video!
Sien, today observed a few minor scratches, guess the cheap paint very thin clear coat. I think don't want send back to polish as it will cut more the clear coat layer. May DIY hand polish myself then add some sealant and call it a day.
Cheap car repaint cost already 1/5 of the car value, lol.
voscar
post Dec 12 2019, 09:51 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Dec 12 2019, 09:40 AM)
i rinse with tap water after rain and leave it overnite. found this white spot at morning. never have such obvious white spot when using synthetic sealant last time.

Rain water is much better than our tap water! Tap water is hard water contains minerals, after you rinse you need to wipe off ASAP. Meanwhile rain water is quite clean with very less pollutant especially if the rain is already downpoured for some period. It's like the natural distillation process.
voscar
post Dec 12 2019, 11:06 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Dec 12 2019, 10:40 AM)
this happend only after i applied ceramic coating. b4 that only with light water stain which i can leave it till next wash.
maybe water in my area changed? or my water filter problem? or ceramic coating problem?
What ceramic coating you used?
Yes, ceramic coating more prone to water mark, did mine outside cheap cheap one now water marks everywhere, just passed 4 months. Previously always do sealant myself the paint actually looks nicer than current water marked condition.
voscar
post Dec 15 2019, 09:51 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Yongy @ Dec 14 2019, 05:11 PM)

I think it's a quite a great product for beginners like me to use, ease of application and pretty good results!  tongue.gif
Nice beading but after baked under hot sun... WATERMARKS!
voscar
post Dec 16 2019, 02:03 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Dec 16 2019, 11:48 AM)
Wanna ask..what sealant last long...like really perform to its claim..

I applied multiple layers of optiseal by using proper pre application procedure like claying and IPO wipes when i got my new car. But when I use over the counter car wash (those 2 liter for rm 20) the sealant seems like being strip off, easily.

I wash my car regulary like 2 times a week, so i cant really afford to spend on expensive car wash soaps.
wow, that's bad, thought optiseal is great but seems to be "overhyped".
my cheap WOWA sealant i modified with sprayer after refering to optiseal, seems to lasts at least 1-2 months, 1/3 price of optiseal (that time i admired optiseal but can't afford it). bruce.gif
voscar
post Dec 16 2019, 03:50 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Dec 16 2019, 02:57 PM)
Which sealant you use?
CarPlan Mirror Gloss Sealant.
Now saw they already have replacement product, haven't try that.
voscar
post Dec 16 2019, 04:00 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 16 2019, 03:57 PM)
Kinda 'watery' though.

How did you manage to apply it? Using applicator pad?

Sometimes I tilt the bottle a bit already the liquid starts pouring out when I wanna drop it on the pad/towel.

Haha.
I add sprayer head, spray then use applicator to wipe. Little spray goes the long way, quite saving been 2 years still have half bottle...
Missed that mirror effect as now my car did some cheap coating and full with water marks!

voscar
post Dec 16 2019, 08:27 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Dec 16 2019, 04:42 PM)
Only got grasshopper on the hood brows.gif
Grasshopper confused and thought that's the tree! Hehe
voscar
post Dec 16 2019, 08:30 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 16 2019, 04:41 PM)
Bro damn kilat la your car. Really looks like mirror reflection! Haha. Not an orange peel in sight.  thumbup.gif

Yea, my bottle still feels quite full. Thanks for the tip - might get a cheap spray bottle from Mr DIY and pour some of the MirrorPlan into it.

Really useful detailing hacks man!  :thumbsup:
Yeah mine bought from Mr. DIY too.
No need to pour the sealant over, just add the sprayer head to the top of mirror gloss sealant bottle, but don't tighten too much as it may loose the thread. For me it's ngam ngam fit without over tighten.
voscar
post Dec 19 2019, 11:40 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 19 2019, 05:27 PM)
Hmm, frankly speaking I have applied it sparingly before but the results seems so-so. Maybe cos I tend to layer it or override the coat with either a fresh product [like HCW/Soft 99 Mirror Shine etc] each time I wash it. So I didn't get to test it's effectiveness.

Should have a clearer feedback by tonight since it's raining cats & dogs here...

Stay tuned bro!
I thought you just used HCW on your black myvi and now you spray this on top of HCW? Wow...
voscar
post Dec 19 2019, 11:47 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Dec 19 2019, 05:06 PM)
Saw this spray sealant in Parkson. How does it fare?
Mirror effect reflection, water beading is OK but I would prefer water sheeting instead. Coz if rain is dirty after the water beads dried it will leave some dirty residue.

BTW sifu any recommended water sheeting product? Saw Meguiar's Paint Protect is water sheeting type from YouTube, not sure it's worth the price or not?
voscar
post Dec 20 2019, 12:05 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Dec 20 2019, 11:15 AM)
I see. Hard to gauge the real effect for sure then. Ok!  biggrin.gif
I have a solid white car. I've been using this https://www.soft99.co.jp/en/products/detail/00287
It's like the prerequisite of their Kiwami. Soft creamy texture with cleaning effects. It beads well. It's been a month and the beads are very tight still.

But I think sheeting is also part of beading isn't it? If a car beads well, it sheets well also.
Hmm, you can see this video here for water sheeting vs water beading comparison:

voscar
post Dec 20 2019, 07:04 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 20 2019, 04:08 PM)
Some interesting reads - basically similar to what teikchuan had shared before - wax & sealants are one and the same:
https://guidetodetailing.com/car-detailing-...hich-is-better/
Wise words indeed!
I'm looking for a coating that no need to wash car.
Witnessed one on my ex-colleague's car. Years back he coat his new Forte with PPS I think, after coat never wash car for 1 year. After 1 year went back for some very cheap maintenance (can't recall the price) then out with shinning again. Wow impressive.
voscar
post Dec 24 2019, 08:15 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 24 2019, 07:44 AM)
Never washed for 1 year?  shakehead.gif

Wow. Haha. If there's such an impressive result, must be quite amazing.

I wonder how he managed to keep the car away from bird droppings/tree sap etc. Haha.
Can't recall if I seen the bird dropping or not. I only remember it was too dirty and the windscreen looks like been driving on Sahara desert, lol.
But once came back from yearly maintenance, the paint still looks amazing, red paint "ang ang".
voscar
post Dec 24 2019, 02:28 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 24 2019, 09:11 AM)
Dayum. Owner must be very fortunate with his paint protection. Haha.

If it was me, I'll OCD about having stains on my paintwork, especially windscreens... Cannot tahan any sort of dirt at all...
same, I cannot tahan if the rain droplet smear on my screen due to oily grease or dirt. But I've sit many cars and observed poor visibility during rain because the rain droplet smearing, but those drivers still able to drive fast and never care as if crash it or safe reach, lol.
voscar
post Dec 29 2019, 04:06 PM

1,525 posts

Guys, what is the super shampoo can wash away those stubborn stain on coated surface? I remember when I'm young I saw Polyglaze 2-in-1 Deep Paint Cleaner Wash that has purple and blue content. Can't find this anymore.
voscar
post Dec 30 2019, 11:23 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Dec 29 2019, 04:06 PM)
Guys, what is the super shampoo can wash away those stubborn stain on coated surface? I remember when I'm young I saw Polyglaze 2-in-1 Deep Paint Cleaner Wash that has purple and blue content. Can't find this anymore.
Anyone?
Saw someone here uses Carpro Reset, really deep clean for coated surface?
voscar
post Dec 30 2019, 02:02 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Dec 30 2019, 01:38 PM)
So far works fine for me.

I will update again after the next heavy downpour. So far the coat is holding up fine. biggrin.gif
Which coating? Mirror Gloss Sealant or Ceramic Hybrid Wax?
voscar
post Dec 30 2019, 06:41 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Dec 30 2019, 04:47 PM)
Yes  , it can really clean your car.
High quality shampoo
I see, thanks.
voscar
post Dec 31 2019, 09:38 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Dec 31 2019, 03:11 AM)
using carpro reset after coated my car. so far so good.
been using carpro perl and now meg endurance, both need to reapply after heavy downpour. endurance will have serious streak. either reapply or use applicator to level it out. if soft99 can hold up, definitely my go to.
sharing is caring bro..😙😄
how come, not difficult to find power plug.
wash your car at minimum once a week, apply good durability sealant every 2months.
How frequent you use Carpro Reset bro? If every car wash it would be heavy cost burden for me..

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1278sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:58 PM