7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

voscar
post Apr 24 2020, 03:59 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 23 2020, 01:12 PM)
Sharing a short video of the beading in action during the recent downpour:

brows.gif
Mine since last wash and quick coating on 9 April. Already dirty due to haze few days ago and occasional drive to work.

voscar
post Apr 24 2020, 04:04 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Apr 24 2020, 04:02 PM)
Nice beads bro!

I think a lot of us here share the same tendency.

Each time raining either will go to the windows/balcony area and look at water beading off the cars. brows.gif
Most cars I observed water will stick to surface in heavy downpour, similar applies to windscreen I always sit other people's car and admire their driving skill on rain as the rain water sticking on their windscreen yielding poor visibility...
voscar
post Apr 24 2020, 07:40 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 24 2020, 07:12 PM)
Hose a little to bead more water away before you do that tongue.gif less wrings.
Buy leaf blower better, won't scratch the paint.
voscar
post Apr 24 2020, 11:17 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 24 2020, 09:13 PM)
Do you also use a blower? What kind do you use?
Nope, I'm not too into detailing, but saw detailing place using it.
voscar
post Jun 5 2020, 07:59 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 5 2020, 04:50 PM)
Just to share my pride and joy:

I know bro V429 asked how I maintained my ride with all those stickers around...The answer is - I tend to avoid rubbing or wiping those areas vigorously in case those decals, especially those texts becomes frayed or starts peeling. And oh, cannot simply spray any chemical on it otherwise the colour fades... Glaco especially. So i just apply along the glass area trying to be as careful when I buff them off.

So far, all's good.

Usually when those decals start to age/fade/peel, I will replace it with new ones.

I know it does seem rather ah beng of me to do up this way - rather think of it as striking out in a sea of ubiquitous rides since Myvis are practically everywhere.  cool2.gif
Walao apa ni? Thailand ada myvi ke? Bukan Toyota Passo?
voscar
post Feb 24 2021, 05:29 PM

1,525 posts

Hi, want to ask, just collect my repainted car, this kind of rough sanding mark can be polish? Workshop told me to send polish myself after 1 week of curing, but I got doubt coz I feel the sanding mark was underneath the paint/coat...

voscar
post Feb 24 2021, 05:35 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 24 2021, 05:32 PM)
doh.gif why the paint shop not going to correct it for you after the clear coat harden?
Able to correct by polishing? He said polish was not part of the repaint job, I only aware of this when collecting car...
voscar
post Feb 24 2021, 05:44 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 24 2021, 05:39 PM)
Probably going to sacrifice quite a bit of clear coat there, best if done by the paint job. If you paid a premium for this job... better just screw kao the fella.
Just curious, this kind of defect is it because they didn't use fine sanding after the coarse sanding?
voscar
post Feb 24 2021, 05:58 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 24 2021, 05:51 PM)
Did you have a dent over that spot? Maybe they put filler then during the sanding process didn't do properly...
Not on this spot, other area yes but don't have such sanding mark...
voscar
post Mar 9 2021, 08:45 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Mar 8 2021, 09:41 PM)
Just finished compound with Meg UC... Damned I'm impressed with microfiber paired with UC. Made 2 pass but haven't polish yet... 1st pic bonnet and 2nd pic roof
You use hand applicator or polishing rotor? I bought Meg UC 1 year ago but still unused, going to compound polish the car this week then reapply the ceramic coating. Been 1 year didn't care the car so much, scratches (cats loves climbing my car sleep) and water mark everywhere.
voscar
post Mar 9 2021, 10:13 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Mar 9 2021, 09:57 PM)
DA
I had to cos the other was waiting to cure. Anyway gonna ipa it, polish and seal it TW Ceramic spray this weekend hopefully
If use Meg UC with hand applicator is it can skip polish step?
voscar
post Mar 10 2021, 09:32 AM

1,525 posts

Ya, Meg UC hand application the only thing I could do, well I hope it able to remove the faded ceramic coating beneath. Tried hand application using Soft99 Metaclean last year, it was hard but still manageable, spent 3 days' evening just to remove the old coating, when buff off can see the "coating dust".
voscar
post Mar 10 2021, 10:02 PM

1,525 posts

Yesterday evening just done car wash and using Metaclean paint cleaner. Car was unused today, but afternoon found there are yellow dots on the car paint, which I frequently encounter but not sure what is that, anyone know what are these little yellow stain? My car is not parking under tree.

voscar
post Mar 11 2021, 09:51 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 10 2021, 10:05 PM)
Last time I recall someone said it was bee poop.
Oh! Wow...
Ya possible, neighbor's house flower always can see little bee flying there...

But headache this kind of yellow stain if not clean up, it would stick and caked to the paint, just as bird poop. But every day I encounter this at a few different car panel..
voscar
post Mar 11 2021, 09:52 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 10 2021, 10:49 PM)
Metaclean paint cleaner is a cleaner/polisher, no?
Should wax it for protection..
It was AIO, with little wax ingredient, the wax can lasts 2-3 weeks as I observed previously...

Next car wash I will use spray wax to top-up the wax
voscar
post Mar 11 2021, 04:19 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(sonotme @ Mar 10 2021, 10:49 PM)
Metaclean paint cleaner is a cleaner/polisher, no?
Should wax it for protection..
QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 11 2021, 11:18 AM)
I remember last time I used meta clean, the surface don't feel slick nor beads water... not sure about uhh wax.
These consider water bead or not? Only Metaclean. confused.gif
Before this car dirty water smear on paint surface no such water droplet...

voscar
post Mar 11 2021, 04:36 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 11 2021, 04:23 PM)
It beads but not so tight and 'round' like a freshly beaded car, especially the 2nd pic.

Probably give it a wash and spray one layer of wax?

Will use the Mirror Gloss Sealant for next week's wash, later will just do simple hose down and wipe dry wash, cheap car don't want spend so much effort... This weekend will spend more effort on another car doing Meg UC, decon wash, then apply coating (targeting 2 layers).

Bro, is your Mirror Gloss Sealant is available unused? Want sell cheap cheap to me or not? Haha. cool2.gif
voscar
post Mar 12 2021, 09:34 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Mar 12 2021, 08:34 AM)
Ooh my AutoFinish MGS ah? Initially thought referring to one of my Soft 99 items until I Googled it.

That one is used bro and I've already changed the nozzle to spray type.

In terms of sealant, somehow reviews said Meg's Fast Finish is very good. It's like an aerosol spray leh. I also have Optimum's Opti-Seal but I rarely use on paint.
Damn many collection...
Ya that AutoFinish, nowadays couldn't find already, my neighbor saw me happy spray spray she want to buy also. I intro her to Parkson but now no more selling.. mine also left 1 or 2 car treatment usage only
voscar
post Mar 12 2021, 09:40 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2021, 04:00 AM)
voscar
Yeah like 3 months old Meguiar ULW right after rain

Haiya you all so obsessed with water beading. Last year I also achieved that what...

Now lazy jaga only wash once per month so no more.
voscar
post Mar 13 2021, 12:37 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Mar 12 2021, 11:10 PM)
DIY? Mind sharing which ceramic and how much? Looking good still...
Ya diy, that video was last year, the coating lost its water repellent after 4 months of minimal car wash and 24x7 outdoor parking.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0491sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:17 PM