QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Feb 14 2018, 09:13 AM)
Try Tar Remover / WD40 if polish/compound doesn't work.It might need some oil based to remove.
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Feb 14 2018, 09:14 AM
283 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Mar 23 2018, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(idono @ Mar 22 2018, 08:48 PM) hi all sifus~ While I had my white car back then, the staple go to was my trusty Meguiars White Wax (All In One) or any Cleaner Wax.Is there any method to clean a white car efficiently ? Im driving white vios, old one. my current cleaning process = 1. hand wash car with turtle wash and wax 2. dry 3. spray wax from turtle wax (to clean some stubborn stain + wax at the same time) every 3 months 1. polish with luster 99 blue tin 2. Wax with turtle wax paste wax *all by hand* but i found that during normal car wash, a lot of dirts unable to be lifted and need more pressure during the spray wax process. Is there any better way ? or any products to be recommended? Due to budget constraint, will slowly buy 1 by 1. Thanks for the advice !! Megs White Wax cleans and also waxes so you needn't have to spray on additional wax. I would recommend to invest in a DA in which have cut down my polish/waxing time in half. |
Mar 23 2018, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(idono @ Mar 23 2018, 12:00 PM) but my car was a solid white, does it make any different ? Yeah, Solid white too. Cleaner Waxes are a white cars best mate.but buying DA need to learn on choosing sponge and require higher skill right? Your hand can only apply (x) amount of pressure. White cars tend to go yellow / grey tinge over certain period of time. Hence you'll constantly have to either wash your car diligently or apply cleaner wax. I think the guys are having a TT soon about this Join them or PM Douglas_Tong / Blurcase |
Mar 23 2018, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 14 2018, 11:38 AM) QUOTE(idono @ Mar 23 2018, 04:05 PM) actually my car now is in quite mess dy Its in Kepong, courtesy of Osren 1. yellowish already. (from family member to my hand) 2. swirl marks and scratches every where 3. rubber seems dried off - did not cover with tape from previous polish that's why need some proper way of taking care of it from now on =] the TT will be at which region yaaa? PM Douglas_Tong bro. If you have swirl marks, its high time for a DA. Quickest method, send to detailer to fix those swirls. Then diligently clean wax them. If you've put on coating, then buy the coating top up Else, send it back to them |
Apr 16 2018, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Apr 16 2018, 10:36 AM) Personally I tend to go from cutting pad to finishing pad straight and skip the polish pad when dealing for softer clearcoats. Maybe others can share a different opinion? Strange, I more often skip the cutting pad (Burgundy Pads) unless I have a deep scratch.More than often the Polishing Pad would work and jump onto the finishing pad. Any tips for clear coat touch ups? What about stone chips on bonnets (repaint jer?)? |
Apr 18 2018, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(michlove @ Apr 18 2018, 02:51 PM) perhaps this question has been asked my many times but I can't seem to search for it... I just bought a white car and I'm wondering if I should do coating? Would be glad to hear some of your thoughts. Thanks. White car, no other method but to wash regularly.Same apply to black cars. Least noticeable colour, grey/silver. |
Apr 19 2018, 04:13 PM
I think its safe to say we're constantly battling stone chips which is the main crux in our Detailing Thread haha
Apr 19 2018, 04:53 PM
Apr 20 2018, 03:48 PM
Apr 23 2018, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Apr 20 2018, 05:21 PM) OMG..the gloss! probably will try Plastidip in the future. |
Apr 24 2018, 10:55 AM
May 8 2018, 04:33 PM
May 21 2018, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(eehs @ May 21 2018, 11:53 AM) Thanks for the advice bro. I've used the kit before and there are some things that is not told in the instructions.Don't think I will want to respray now as the car is only 8 months old and there are only 4 spots... From the link, I see they provids 4 types of applications (Basecoat, Clearcoat, Wax & Grease Removal, Rubbing Compound)... Any idea if any of this help to stop the rust to grow? Thank you! You will need to live with uneven surface for a few days until the paint is fully harden. Wash, dry, IPA/Cleaner (provided in the kit), base coat, dry (15-20 mins or sometimes 1/2 a day). If you think the bump caused by the base coat is uneven, even it out with the compound provided. To note, if you see the paint being wiped off, its not harden enough. Repeat step 2 (base coat and dry). Once you've got it to a satisfactory even-ness, apply clear coat. If you find to have uneven-ness, use the compound provided. Again, if it wipes off the clear coat, repeat Step 3 (apply clear coat). Alternatively, live with the bump for 1-2 weeks (until the touch up paint fully hardens), then wet sand it. Polish. I'd say its too much work for just 4 spots / stone chips (experimented with 2 stone chips spots, gave up). Worked wonders on edges and scratch marks. As the rust has already developed, I'd recommend sending it to the 4S center and repaint those spots. You can also do this outside car paint shops. Hope this helps. |
May 24 2018, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(mcchin @ May 24 2018, 04:45 PM) The carpark is covered but still exposed to the elements Unfortunately for white cars, you're bound to have them grey/yellow water spots.My white civic most of the time will have grey water spot on the front and the rear This is one of the cons on owning a white car. No matter how you seal it, coat it, it'll come. Used to own a White Forte with Sierra Glow coating. It still comes back. Using Soft 99 polish will leave you with a yellow tinge. Your best friend here is a cleaner wax. AIO. Turtle Wax and Meguiars have very good AIO polishes. Wash frequently is the only best prevention. |
May 25 2018, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(mcchin @ May 24 2018, 06:31 PM) been told that soft99 blue is very abrasive to paint The Soft 99 blue can is very abrasive, yes. So use sparingly. to polish need to use DA or ay machinery right manual hand polish would be too much? or is it possible? Does waxing benefits the use of a rotary? as in shorter time?, better end results etc? limited power plug means i had to curi use other ppl car space which is nearer to power plug outlet also feels weird if i took my time to do detailing with the whole block ppl watching... My current thinking, wash, clay (does mar if not enuff lubricant, using car wash shampoo as lubricant now) rinse, dry hand polish perhaps sealent - fusso 12 month wait 24hrs for sealent polymerize ice shine wax I only use this if I find Ultimate Compound does not cut it (deep scratches). Do you have a designated car park of your own? If you do, simply wash and drive to your car park unit and do the polish there. There is waterless solution to this as well It is fine to use the car wash shampoo as the lubricant for the Clay bar. I use that too This post has been edited by linkin182: May 25 2018, 09:42 AM |
Jun 14 2018, 05:21 PM
If we read through the previous posts, you will notice it is important to wash your car with a pH balanced shampoo regardless of brand/coated or non-coated cars.
End of the day, this forum is about trial and errors and also knowledge sharing. Nothing wrong with providing a little more on your knowledge and trials and tribulation albeit scientific or not. Was browsing lazada for QuikWax alternatives and found this which suits ceramic coated cars:- https://www.lazada.com.my/products/meguiars...uIwdO1&search=1 Wonder if this would be useful for coated cars? |
Jun 27 2018, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(toonny @ Jun 27 2018, 01:11 PM) I too don't have this issue. Have to becareful with this tyre shine tho'The liquid is too liquidy? hence over application could be the issue. Typically I tend not to use tyre shines. I don't know if this is a myth but I encounter several tyre bumps previously hence I stopped using. A brush and soap is all you need |
Jun 28 2018, 03:21 PM
Can't believe we're geekin' over rain drops. But dayum...
Jul 18 2018, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(bat11 @ Jul 18 2018, 08:00 AM) Hi, just wanna find out which coating is suitable for me if I want to prevent stone chips, scratches, water mark and keep the natural shine of the car. I seldom wash car, average 3 weeks once. Wrong perception of coating if you think that'll solve your problems listed above.1. Ceramic coating 2. Glass coating 3. Film coating (wrapping?) To be frank, I also not sure what the different between ceramic and glass coating. Are there the same thing, just different term? Thank you very very much.... If you're worried of all those, suggest clear vinyl wrap. This post has been edited by linkin182: Jul 18 2018, 08:57 AM |
Jul 23 2018, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(#Victor @ Jul 23 2018, 03:02 PM) Can these scratches fixed without repaint? Left the car overnight at SC, after collect found out these damages appear when doing regular car wash. Try to polish with a Micro fiber cloth and see.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « It doesn't look deep though, so should be able to |
| Change to: | 0.0411sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:04 PM |