Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

celciuz
post Aug 14 2018, 03:44 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 14 2018, 12:09 PM)
for start,

Automotive shampoo,
2 buckets , or 3 if you intend to wash your rims clean clean, i dont recommend mixing. 2 for body 1 for rims
2 grit guards ( minimum one)
a good wash mitt, microfiber chenille is my favourite, so i will impose my favouritism on you haha
good drying towel, got good budget try fireball premium twisted drying towel.
Passion and determination to wash your own car.

Look up on : 2 bucket wash method
https://www.fireballmalaysia.com/collection...-3-size-options

Is this the MF towel? Am looking to replace mine... surface becoming rough already =/
celciuz
post Aug 15 2018, 10:08 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Aug 15 2018, 08:42 AM)
Enthusiast never stop..  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Since master is back we shall do TT session, agree?  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Anyone with iBrid can let me touch and feel? biggrin.gif

Side note, just got noticed I'll be on BT for 2 weeks in September... my car park at home isn't covered (exposed to sun and rain, normally drive to work is sheltered). So thinking to buy a car cover for my car, any recommendations?
celciuz
post Aug 17 2018, 05:14 PM

14,033 posts

Fireball or Meguair's drying towel? Which is better ya?
celciuz
post Aug 28 2018, 04:01 PM

14,033 posts

I'm using Lake Country wool mitt and meg's MF mitt (bumpers, then to rim).
celciuz
post Oct 3 2018, 12:56 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 2 2018, 12:38 AM)
Actually from experience, 3" pads can work the sides/top/bottom of front and rear windscreen quite well. Only very close to a standing wiper based will be a challenge, so that part usually go in by hand.

Honestly it is hard to tell if your watermarks are deep or light from photos. The only way to know is once u have used the glass polish 1-2 rounds on the affected area, u may see most of it gone but at certain angles can still see very small donts of watermarks left. The one glance from 5ft distance should probably look clear.

I think Soft99 Glass Compound Z is quite an old product and no longer in the market. I was also sold by its advertising videos back then, but in reality it doesnt work anywhere near as good. For a more current tech product, perhaps u could try Carpro Ceriglass instead.

No, please do not use this glass-specific products on side mirror and headlamps. Side mirror is especially a big no-no, as the so-called glass material is very different from your windows and from my reading, polishing will most likely permanently scratch it. For headlamps, I would suggest for u to assess the headlamp condition first, as most newer car headlamps have been sprayed with some special clearcoat. Unless your headlamp clearcoat is peeling, yellowing, or even hazy now, then only u should consider wet-sanding with very fine grit sandpaper, followed by normal car compound and polish.

For the stone chip, from the picture it looks quite serious, so I suggest bringing it to a pro to assess. If the chip is serious enough that it starts to crack more when driving (and wind pushing into the crack and opening it more), then it definitely should be repaired first prior to doing other things with your windshield.

I have not tried windshield repairs DIY, but from videos it seems to look simple enough. Only way to know is to buy a kit and try it yourself.
During my car wash days, we also encounter many BMW and Mercs that have the same issue. I think the typical soaps or APC dont have the breaking down or cleaning power as compared to acidic/alkaline based cleaners.

Just a word of caution when using Cartec Wheel Cleaner, it is alkaline in PH level, so its spray vapours and mist can sting and should avoid breathing it in at all costs. When spraying u should try to set your sprayer head to less mist and more squirt. If the sprayer head is set tightly to high mist setting, ur chance of getting the mist blowing into the wind and hitting your eyes and accidentally breathing in is quite high. So loosen the sprayer head setting to single line squirt, then tighten it bit by bit to a slightly wider squirt but minimal mist.

Also, while the Cartec Wheel Cleaner is dilutable, if possible your spray bottle head should also use one that is highly chemical resistant. So far as I experienced, the grey head type of sprayer head isnt as chemical resistant to alkaline and its internal parts eventually fail, but the black head sprayer is much more resistant. The head is sold by SGCB distributor in Puchong.

https://www.facebook.com/sgcbautocaremalays...?type=3&theater

Just my 2 sen experience, hope it helps.
What would you recommend for the side mirror perhaps?
celciuz
post Oct 3 2018, 11:58 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 3 2018, 11:14 AM)
As polishing is pretty much out of the question for removing watermarks on side mirrors, the next best solution is weak acid. The common home based remedy is white vinegar.

U could try this method: hold a tissue or cotton pad on the side mirror, spray vinegar on it so that the tissue/pad stick on the mirror without dripping down, and let it sit for 3-5 mins. Wipe clean and see if it works. If still have, then repeat the process.
Good to know. Seems like that's the 2nd 3M product after claybar that has been pirated. Perhaps the brand in general is a target for piracy.
Depends on which starting point u are looking at. Meguiars covers pretty much the complete range. Compound/polish is paint correction step already, wax is final protection step. As V429 mentioned, the starting point is at car wash step.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Jay8KUMYb4

This will help u choose some products throughout the entire process.
Ahh, I use them to clean sterilizer's aluminum plate from mineral deposit. Okie, gonna try that smile.gif Thanks!.
celciuz
post Nov 13 2018, 07:41 PM

14,033 posts

Need advise, recently my house was doing repaint and today I noticed this stain. It’s at the edge area which makes me hard to polish... how can I reduce it? It’s a weather bond paint 🤦‍♂️

UPDATE: Tried IPA, didn't work... tried water, didn't work either... then decided to give tar remove a try... it softened! Phew... too dark to see if completely removed or not but can't feel it anymore.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Nov 13 2018, 08:59 PM
celciuz
post Nov 13 2018, 10:57 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 13 2018, 10:31 PM)
I believe when u apply protectant, it will shield your surface, but the contaminant will then fall on the protectant, so there's only so much u can prevent. So as V429 mentioned, regular maintenance is the key.
I would suggest paint thinner used for removing household paint from hardware store, but must definitely handle with care.
Hmm what does "handle with care" means? In case I face this issue in future again.
celciuz
post Nov 19 2018, 04:02 PM

14,033 posts

So far I'm using Osren's clay bar with just water... any recommended clay lube with it?
celciuz
post Nov 19 2018, 04:24 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Nov 19 2018, 04:10 PM)
Use it with Osren shampoos are safe.
Was told some clay bars cannot tahan when put with shampoo?
celciuz
post Nov 19 2018, 04:45 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Nov 19 2018, 04:31 PM)
Since u are using Osren's clay bar, it is safe to use with their shampoo as lube. U can ask Osren, they will tell u the same. Which Osren clay bar are u using? The purple or green one?
Last time I asked Henry, he tell me use water hahaha! Maybe I shall try asking again tongue.gif. I'm using the green one, not aware there's a purple one. What's the differences?
celciuz
post Nov 21 2018, 11:00 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Idiotking @ Nov 20 2018, 09:19 PM)
You can consider 3D car care product from USA too. Which perform good, point is cheaper than meguiar.
Where do you guys source for 3D products? Order from US?
celciuz
post Nov 26 2018, 01:00 AM

14,033 posts

Anything worth grabbing from KLIMS? Will be visiting it during the weekends.
celciuz
post Nov 30 2018, 10:39 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 29 2018, 09:49 AM)
Polishing is the only way to truly remove swirls.
Alternatively, if it is not a severe defect, you can mask/cover it with wax. But it does appear after few washes.

Unfortunately, honda paint is one of the softest paint to date. My go to is always perfect cut 20 + softest polishing pad on a dual action polisher. That's how soft the paint is.

You can look at aliexpress, antirain, osren, scgb, meguairs for start.
drying cloth? i always recommend fireball twisted towel. but somehow they have not been restocking.
I had to message them, then they checked for stocks... and finally got 2 pcs for me tongue.gif
celciuz
post Dec 3 2018, 09:20 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Dec 3 2018, 08:25 PM)
Guys, for glass polishing I use ceriglass but I am thinking of using a different product for example when I help clean other cars, are there any other products to recommend? I was thinking of meguair glass polish compound. Any inputs? Thanks biggrin.gif
Due to cost? tongue.gif Can try the soft99 glass refresh.
celciuz
post Dec 9 2018, 02:26 PM

14,033 posts

I have this chip at the edge of the hood, looks like it will start to rust, how to prevent it from getting worse? Or treat it before I touch up.
celciuz
post Dec 9 2018, 04:29 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 9 2018, 03:32 PM)
Looks very small and tight. I would recommend using touchup paint to fill the small spot.
Fill up, then level it using sand paper?
celciuz
post Dec 10 2018, 01:16 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 10 2018, 12:02 AM)
Mmm, whether to level it or not is up to u. If using paint as filler, it will usually shrink and sink in once it dries, so it may not bulge out for u to level it. Since it is a very small chip, not necessary to be overly aggressive.
What's the best method to touch up these small dinks ah? Use fine art brush?
celciuz
post Dec 10 2018, 11:39 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 10 2018, 09:10 AM)
I kinda think that more often than not stone chips happen most frequent on highways, even the city ones. Its usually because of the speed we are going when hitting the stones.

One important mental note I always keep to myself is avoid following behind lorries, 4x4 vehicles or any vehicle that their back tyres are picking up stones anf flinging it up to the air for me to hit. Keeping the reasonable distance (usually 2 cars or more) also helps to reduce the chances of hitting flying stones.

Also another mental note I keep is avoid driving near grasscutters as their machine may accidentally fling stones when cutting grass also.

Beyond that, if chips do happen, just have to accept lor. Over time if it gets bad enough, may consider respraying. Hope this helps.
Yes, the fine art brushes would do quite well. Doesnt need to be an expensive brush, just a normal one would do. Just remember to wash the brush thoroughly after use so that the leftover paint dont harden on the brush.
I always elak as far as I can... but the more I do that... the more I hear sound hitting on my car -.- and thus the chips T_T.

Ok will try these brush then... smile.gif
celciuz
post Dec 10 2018, 03:39 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(V429 @ Dec 10 2018, 12:43 PM)
If the stone chip is really small, may I even suggest using toothpick to slowly fill in the spot, offers more control. I remember learning it from Larry from Ammo, he has quite a few youtube videos about applying touch up paint.
Yeah.. Slowly learn to accept it as it is. At least still can apply touch up paint.
Was looking at his videos, saw this item he used called Loew Cornell Fine Paint Pen (size #1). Looks pretty neat, or maybe he made it look easy laugh.gif

49 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0815sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:39 PM