52 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post May 3 2017, 08:03 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 3 2017, 02:08 PM)
Any of u using this rotary? Osren is recommend me this for starter kit
QUOTE(slk @ May 3 2017, 07:08 PM)
if possible get the hitachi/makita. the machine will stop when you apply pressure
Just my 2 sen on rotary, Makita is a workhorse that has been a long favorite by professional detailers for a long time, but it is a heavy machine when compared to hitachi/ken/bosch. When polishing long hours on the side doors and panels, the makita weight can tire u out rather quick if u not used to it. I would suggest testing out each machine first before deciding.

Also, perhaps consider a DA machine instead. A good DA machine that doesnt have massive vibrations during operation can be a better companion for home based detailing.
blurcase
post May 3 2017, 11:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 3 2017, 09:23 PM)
Because i have 2 car now, 1 is honda jazz solid white 

And another honda civic pearl white 

For pearl white it stil ok to use DA with perfect cut 20, but for solid white, osren saying that DA will leave a little DA swirl mark on paint  , not very recommend to use DA on solid white honda paint

So he recommend me get the Rotary so can use for both car , actually i need the really extra power? Because both my car is 2017 car, i want to remove factory swirl and some wash swirl only
Erm, not trying to challenge the guys at Osren, but AFAIK rotary has more base power than DA, which means that for cutting down scratches rotary is very good, but finishing swirl free is harder because of its power. DA on the other hand has lower base power, so cutting down scratches takes longer but swirl free is much easier to achieve.

Personally I would still suggest getting a DA because both your cars are japanese (which means their clearcoat is medium hardness), and u are also new to machine polishing. Then, if osren's perfect cut 20 cant finish swirl-free, try other polishes like meguiars ultimate polish or m205. Also, a good polishing/finishing pad helps.

DA is also great for applying waxes like what gfwong mentioned. Not recommended to apply wax with rotary.
blurcase
post May 4 2017, 01:16 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 4 2017, 10:45 AM)
I have meguiars ultimate compound and ultimate polish 

So i get DA dap8 8mm from osren and use with my current lake country pad gredy for compound,  white for polish and black for wax
So this combo is best for me?

I also buy perfect cut 20 bcoz osren say it is perfect for honda paint, might try it out
In terms of combo, try different pads and polishes and u will find out which is best. Always, the principle is start from least aggressive method first.

QUOTE(g88 @ May 4 2017, 11:13 AM)
RB weight stopping you ? Lolz.
Hehe, just sharing from experience, not so much of stopping, but more of knowing the factors that can affect usage. smile.gif
blurcase
post May 4 2017, 05:21 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 4 2017, 03:40 PM)
hmm
sorry for my ignorance,
this is the first time i heard ppl saying about leaving swirls marks on paint from DA when compare to rotary
should not it be another way round? what i have read is it is impossible for rotary to leave swirl free paints due to the nature on how the thing work, that is why ppl usually finish the paint it with DA. not the other way round.

the only biggest downside of DA to me is lower correction power and its noise and vibration
From my experience, not true that rotary impossible to reach swirl free finish, it really depends on clearcoat hardness. There are 3 types of clearcoat hardness that I know of:

1) German clearcoat (hardest clearcoat, most common on German cars like Audi/BMW/Benz)
2) Japanese clearcoat (medium hardness)
3) Local clearcoat (lowest hardness)

With German clearcoated cars, it is fairly easy to finish swirl free on rotary, can even be done with polishing pad, not finishing pad. However, for Japanese and local clearcoat, it is harder to have swirl-free finish with rotary.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 4 2017, 04:54 PM)
u mean i direct apply DA + Ultimate compound without polishing?? Compound won't causing swirl anyway? I thought after compound we need to do Polishing for finishing else will leave halogram and light swirl , correct me if i'm wrong , i also stil learning how to do paint correct , previously only Clay bar , wax
Did u mean Lake Country Force Disc??

currently i got Grey , White , Black , which combo should i go with anyway?
Actually with DA, some compounding can finish swirl free, so finishing polish is not necessary. I know in some cases using Meguiars m101 compound with DA can remove medium scratches and still finish with no hologram or swirls. More important is always start with a test spot, then test until u get the right process for swirl free finish, and that should be the system u use for the rest of the car.

blurcase
post May 4 2017, 05:46 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 4 2017, 05:28 PM)
My experience, if it is a hot and humid day it will be hard to buff off with ultimate polish on honda cars/Japanese cars
If it is a good morning without much heat it is easier.

Based on my neighbours Honda car while helping to remove some scratches.
For buffing off excess dry residue, what I normally do is spray with water, run the DA over it, and wipe off the wet residue. Give that a try next time u face any issue like that. smile.gif
blurcase
post May 4 2017, 06:16 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 4 2017, 05:54 PM)
So what combo should i use for my honda paint?  sad.gif
If using Meguiars Polishing + White pad directly polish with 15mm Clover DA won't remove the swirl? I think maybe i try a panel that can remove or not , if it can't , only i go GREY + Meg Compound
Anyway meg compound and polish suit for honda paint?
Erm every paint is abit different. Compounds, polishes and pads not designed to be car brand specific. Best for u to test with least aggressive method first, meaning start with polish and soft pad, then see results if satisfactory. If not, then either step up ur polish to compound or use a rougher pad, or both. Thats what I did during every car polish session in my shop days, and still do now at home. Hope this reduces your confusion.
blurcase
post May 4 2017, 07:08 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 4 2017, 06:30 PM)
Ok roger 

So when i get my DA, go meg polish with white pad first, if swirl not gone, then direct go grey pad + compound, how actually know it already finishing and dont need to go next step polishing?

If let say after compound the finish is good , polishing is an extra unless step? And if continue polishing wont create more swirl right?
For waxing, just use black pad, spred the wax over pad and use speed 1 and spred all over car? And this wont cause swirl too right?
Usually the polishing process need to run a few passes until the polish almost faded from your body panel, that would mean the amount of polish on the pad almost finish and time to stop to wipe off residue and reload your pad.

To know wether what u did is giving satisfactory result, u will need to use a warm white torchlight. Check out Ammo NYC and Osren youtube channels, they have a video to show how to check your results using torchlight.

For waxing, generally using DA machine it should not create any additional swirls if done correctly. Try not to apply any pressure on the machine to the body panel when waxing.
blurcase
post May 5 2017, 11:04 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 4 2017, 11:38 PM)
Wow you guys seems overkill or I'm just being cheap.

I use skil rotary cost about rm150, with 4"and 6"pad from aliexpress. I Use carplan/turtle polish whenever necessary. For maintenance I use Permaglass polymer sealant all in one wax every 1-3 months depending on weather and panel location.
Lol, I believe each detailer to their own budget lor. If u can produce a car finish satisfactory to your own standard, then its mission accomplished. smile.gif

QUOTE(gfwong @ May 5 2017, 07:53 AM)
Okay, side track a bit. I frequently get this yellow roti canai dahl spots on my car. Now I know. They are bee poop!

https://youtu.be/rTDw7PJBSbM
OMG! sifu gfwong thanks very much for sharing! I always wondered where those yellow spots come from since I dont often park under any tree. Really good to know that its not as dangerous as bird poop.
blurcase
post May 6 2017, 05:56 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 6 2017, 04:26 PM)
oh lucky u tolding me , normally i just using liquiq wax to protect my tail lamp and head lamp , never try those headlight protectant , do they really make diff? because i read other forum mostly they using Meg ultimate liquiq wax for all surface of car to protect
The idea of the Meguiar's Headlight Protectant is the UV protection. It is like sunblock we put on our skin to prevent sunburn.

I have never personally used it before, but have read in other forums that the protectant is generally a short term solution that need to apply regularly. After restoring a faded headlamp, it is better to wrap it with clear tint from car accessories shop or use a UV-protection clear paint spray for longer term protection.
blurcase
post May 7 2017, 03:31 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 7 2017, 02:27 AM)
I think you mean repainted panel. Well for me no special care. The paint will not last as good as the factory original paint no matter how you take care of it. I might be wrong though, but it was my experience with many of the repainted car.
Original factory clearcoat is also sold in 3rd party market, so repaint shops do use pretty much the same clearcoats. U can even specify with repaint shop if u want harder clearcoats like German clearcoats so that it is more durable. So technically u are correct, no special care is necessary once repaint is dry and delivered to customer.

QUOTE(N33d @ May 7 2017, 12:42 PM)
waiting for your feedback bro
btw,
I just went out and bought meg white wax after reading its cleaning ability and did wash->clay->wash then rubbing that meg white wax all over my gf silver moon dust iriz yesterday. it was a quick 3 hours task and I did not expect miracle from hand application.

but Damn! I was totally shocked to find the applicator pad has been stained black from just from rubbing a panel. I was expecting the claying part will take care most of the contaminants but i was so wrong. In the end i've used around 6 pads to wax the whole car.

nevertheless, I am quite satisfied with the end result since the paint really popping out now and thinking back about how many contaminants i have removed from the surface

side note: that wax in metal tube form is plain stupid to use!
I believe thats why some ppl use wax cleaner. Claying alone only remove above surface contaminants that washing cant do. Deeper paint cleansing can be done with iron remover, tar remover, wax cleaner, etc.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 7 2017, 01:00 PM)
Yeah, when u are start to detailing, u will appreciatr the time u spending and satisfy with the result 
When my first time, after doing claying i start get shock that the surface become so smooth, then learn how to wax, after wax the result really WOW !!!

Now step up to the level, learn to polishing rather than send to under coconut tree shop, those professional shop charge exp price for correction (if normal polish cheap) , end up buy and do it myself hehe

After learn detailing, become more and more picky, cant stand with swirl and scratch, buy compound and polish plan to do with hand, end up do zero correction haha, stil need machine power to do it
Bro u can go youtube type clover ct9000
Lol, I learn to dial down my OCD on detailing, I prefer to accumulate scratches and defects before sekali gus clear all at one go. Lazy to take out machine for small jobs. Only issues that I deal with immediately is water stains that come from ceilings and bird poop, because those are usually acidic and eats into paint over time.
blurcase
post May 9 2017, 10:56 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 8 2017, 07:18 PM)
Personally I don't believe in iron remover.
Cause tried that with rims back then, spray brush and rinse few times it will always bleed.
Don't see the point to de-iron if I'm going to clay anyway.
Haha, actually I just bought Carpro IronX and TarX, but plan to use it on car body panel to remove contaminants and ease my claying process after that. For rims I use Cartec acid-free wheel cleaner (its alkaline instead of acid).

QUOTE(holoman @ May 9 2017, 09:33 AM)
what is the best way to clean up dark spot / watermark at white car ?
normal car shampoo wont wipe them out
meguiars white wax will do ?
Try claying. If doesnt work, try wax cleaner. If doesnt work try polishing/compounding. smile.gif
blurcase
post May 10 2017, 01:38 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 10 2017, 09:18 AM)
Sifu, normallt b4 applying wax for 2nd or 3rd time , u will using way cleaner first? If let say after 3 month my car condition stil good, i can direct turn DA and waxing without clay or wax remover? Will cause swirl?
I suggest claying before reapplying wax after 2-3 months. Wax cleaner depends, do a test spot after claying to see if paint have stubborn dirt.

If dont clay and apply wax immediately, there is a risk ur wax and ur pad may pickup contaminants that will scratch the paint.
blurcase
post May 12 2017, 09:22 PM

418 posts

Hi guys. Got a random question for u guys as home detailing enthusiasts.

If there is a car detailing garage available for rent, facilities provided is pressure washer, air compressor with gun, vacuum cleaner and electrical extension, only bring your own chemicals and polishing machines, fully lockable and secured for overnight stay. Would u guys be willing to rent such a facility?
blurcase
post May 15 2017, 12:22 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ May 15 2017, 09:38 AM)
Speaking about micro fiber towel how you guys wash it after used for like polishing, buffing wax and drying? Can I mix with dish washing detergent to wash the towel?
I put my microfiber cloths into small laundry bag and throw them into washing machine and use dynamo with lowest amount of liquid and lowest water setting on washing machine. Laundry bag important, else the microfiber will stretch when machine spin dry and lose its absorbtion.

I also throw my microfiber wash mitts into the washing machine at the same time, but no need laundry bag, hehe
blurcase
post May 17 2017, 12:08 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 16 2017, 09:46 PM)
micro restore need to self import
http://www.autogeek.net/micro-restore-.html

for polishing/compounding pad can use mild APC. soak.. agitate.. then rinse.
for sealant/wax pad, use dawn power dissolver. can get from Ace Hardware
Which brand of APC to use? I have only used Meguiars one before.

I have stains on my polish pad from Rupes polish liquid because it is grey colour. Would be nice to be able to remove those stains.
blurcase
post May 17 2017, 11:06 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 17 2017, 10:03 AM)
i do not have fren around selangor/kl area. maybe you are the first one? haha biggrin.gif just kidding
btw, asking for opinion from you guys. Do you strip your paint before wax or sea after polishing/compounding the paint? I read a lot recently about this topic, some says chemical synergy and prefer not to as the polishing oil from the same line might help the 'wax' to stick better to the paint. Some says a clean layer is a must for durability
I bought a mineral spirit for this reason. lol
wanna try to strip the previous sealant/wax/bla bla bla off and see any diff when i am free to do so.
For waxing usually I wont bother re-washing or stripping polishing oils. As I am using paste wax, I feel that the rubbing wax on the panel "strip" the polishing oil and replace it with wax.

If I am applying coating/sealant then yes I will go one round with diluted IPA to make sure maximum adhesion of the coating/sealant and also to confirm that my polishing have been done to satisfactory level.

Sometimes polishing oils can fill the finest of swirls making u think u dont it right but actually still got defects.

QUOTE(slk @ May 17 2017, 10:27 AM)
if you dont have APC, dish washing liquid or Dynamo also can be used.
Thanks for the info! Will try that out. smile.gif
blurcase
post May 18 2017, 05:25 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(GJolie @ May 18 2017, 04:27 PM)
Hello to the Fast & Furious!

I'm doing some research about the Car Care market. Hope this is the right place to post!

I'd appreciate it if any of you can help answer some of my questions below:

1. Does the Raya season affect your purchasing behaviour of Car Care products? For example, Raya is approaching so you buy more in preparation for 'balik kampung', or you don't buy at all as you don't need it, or you buy less, etc.

2. Do you like to send your car to workshops/car wash, or are you more of a DIY guy and buy the products to care for your car yourself? Why is that so?

If you have more comments to add, that will be great too!

Thank you in advance smile.gif
1) Nope, I buy as and when I need it, not necessary when closer to festivals.

2) I follow service schedule, so wont send to service just because of festival coming and traveling long distance. I am DIY detailer, prefer to detail car at home, because it has been my hobby since my first car over 10 years ago.
blurcase
post May 20 2017, 05:31 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ May 20 2017, 03:15 PM)
Hi All, need some advise here, recently found out Nanolex already zap lap in Malaysia, now thinking want to do it myself. Is it possible to remove the coat myself?

By using polish with a DA?
Coating is generally removed by compounding.
blurcase
post May 21 2017, 12:31 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 20 2017, 07:07 PM)
Sifu , if they dont conpound, naybe after a year or 2 , the coating will completely off from paint? Or at the end stil need to compound
Better to compound. Not all parts of the coating will degrade the same time.

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ May 20 2017, 11:48 PM)
Sifu do you think meg ultimate compound can remove it?

Thanks,

Planning to invest an OSREN DA.
Should be able to, compound abrasives more aggressive than polish.
blurcase
post May 21 2017, 05:12 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ May 21 2017, 02:45 PM)
Sifu can I try polish first if cannot remove only proceed to compound?

1st try
white pad + polish

Backup plan
MF pad + compound
Can. Least aggressive method first is always the best principle. Just that ur question earlier was about removing coating, so my answer (which is given by coating manufacturers and diatributors) is compounding can remove coating.

Btw I no sifu la. There are plenty guys here more experienced than me. Just sharing knowledge and experience here like everyone else.

52 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.5139sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:57 AM