52 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Feb 8 2017, 02:25 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(erictham83 @ Feb 8 2017, 08:20 AM)
Hi Sifu, I plan to buy a pressure washer to wash my car and maybe cleaning some floor purpose.

Any brand/model forsuggestion? Thanks
Try Karcher brand, I have used them before and its quite good. Some hardware stores could be offering them on sale.
blurcase
post Feb 17 2017, 08:32 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Feb 17 2017, 08:23 PM)
what are options for new car paint protection?
depends on your wallet size.

from order of cheapest to most expensive, there is wax, sealant, coating, clear bra.
blurcase
post Feb 19 2017, 10:36 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 19 2017, 12:25 AM)
Yup....never tried meguires waffle weave....but wont be cos this cheap one works for me. Just put it flat down on the hood and pull it across..without applying pressure at all with 2 three passes...done d
I used meguiars waffle weave drying cloth before, 1 cloth lasted 3-4 years, everytime after use wash with washing machine. at the end of its life it still absorbs water well, no streaks, minimal need to squeeze the water out halfway. I usually use 1 cloth to wipe my entire civic, start from all body panels and windshield, then wipe door jambs and engine and boot area, then rims. After finish rims dirty liao so send to washing machine.

However, I have moved to other cloths because meguiars cloth abit expensive.
blurcase
post Feb 19 2017, 02:32 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Feb 19 2017, 12:05 PM)
I noticed all my WWMF hardens after some time. Now change to high absorbent MF for drying

Invest on a blower. Worth every ringgit spent. Blow dry door jams... rims.... engine... toilet. anything!
Thanks for the idea, though I generally avoid investing in machines for washing purposes because I lazy to pull extension cord everytime I wash car (same goes for pressure washer). Good idea anyways, never thought of that. smile.gif

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 19 2017, 12:45 PM)
i actually got 2 meguiars waffle weave , just because i go clean the dirt part so make the cloth can't really absorb water very good (i only know that the cloth is better keep clean , don't wipe dirty , those grease will make ur cloth can't absorb water)

The Meg cloth is really no complain , 1-2 cloth can be dry whole car , with proper wax car , 1 cloth can kao tim  biggrin.gif  , but if there is another cheap option , for sure will go for it haha
i will try to check it out thank you bro
What I do is usually throw the dirty drying cloths into those washing bags and wash with washing machine using abit more than normal clothes washing liquid to clean the cloth. It seems to do the job of cleaning away any grease or dirt stuck to the drying cloth and comes out clean almost like new.
blurcase
post Feb 20 2017, 04:10 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Feb 20 2017, 03:15 PM)
I'm trying to polish this windshield with steel wool (cleaned it with invisible glass prior hand) and racoat it with rain x. However I am not able to get these off. I understand some of these are stone chips but what about the other white dots, are they all will stick to the windshield permanently?

What does the white dots feel like? Dent in or bulge out?

When did u first notice it and do u remember where u park when it happened?
blurcase
post Feb 24 2017, 10:18 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(nzard @ Feb 24 2017, 09:58 PM)
hi everyone smile.gif I wanna ask if after claying, can i replace sealant with wax instead? If not, which sealant is best for metallic grey? Thanks in advance.
Quoting from detailing gurus, claying technically removes everything (except glass coating and clear bra films). So u can safely change to wax after claying.
blurcase
post Feb 26 2017, 12:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Feb 26 2017, 07:52 AM)
Yup, the glass polish from AG is a pain to buff off. Damping the cloth doesn't help either. I think Meguiar's UP works pretty decent in polishing glass.
But if the condition of the glass isn't too bad, just clay and use either Meguiar's glass cleaner or the one from Stoner. They work pretty well in removing stains and some minor water marks.
I believe Osren also has a glass polish worth trying, I have seen it used before and it does the work pretty well using DA. Personally I am currently using Pinnacle GlassWork Water Spot Remover and it does a good job too, only problem is it tends to create alot of residue that flies around the rest of the car and need to be dusted off.

I chatted with Kevin Brown from Buffdaddy.com on glass polishing, he mentioned that any polishing cream that contains cerium oxide as its main ingredient would be ideal for glass polishing.
blurcase
post Feb 26 2017, 04:27 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 26 2017, 01:36 PM)
I do have the osren glass polish , cream type. But laziness always gets the best of me. That's why opted for ag, suppose to be the lazy way out in removing tough stain and oil/film. Just to make sure subsequent application of rainx/osren glass cost bonds properly.

Give me tips for handling rotary polisher....Please wahahaha
What rotary are u using?
blurcase
post Feb 27 2017, 01:14 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 26 2017, 06:19 PM)
Hitachi sp18va

With wool it is easy to control. With foam pad I find it difficult. Tried the one hand method from Henry's video, low speed ok, higher speed gone case...

Any tips on handling it?
Hmm, I have 2 suggestions:
1) Use smaller pad
2) Angle the polisher rather than flat on windscreen, and lift the polisher a little bit so that it doesnt catch and slip around.

QUOTE(zAciX @ Feb 26 2017, 08:07 PM)
Hi all,
That day I was trying to fix a scratch by toothpaste and a sponge, I think i over apply pressure and causing the paint coating damage.
I know this sound idiot  bangwall.gif

How can I fix this? how much it would cost? please help.  cry.gif
Erm, how bad is the scratch? is there a dent in along the scratch line also? Can try using a compound rather than polish, and toothpaste is not recommended.

Otherwise, if the paint on that scratchline already come off, then u either need to respray, or apply touchup paint. U can get touchup paint from AEON stores if your car paint colour is manufacturer made, not custom colour.
blurcase
post Feb 27 2017, 01:43 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(zAciX @ Feb 27 2017, 01:54 AM)
The paint still there, I think just the gloss coating is come off.
The scratchline is very shallow and no dent.
Could this be possibility resolve by polish/waxing?
If that is the case, then it might still be possible to remove, but not using toothpaste la. Try getting a compound, like Meguiars Ultimate Compound or something, and a clean micro fiber towel. Squirt a small dot (size of peanut) onto one of the towel corners, then work on the scratch and see if it goes away.

But bear in mind, if gloss layer has come off and only left colour layer, then the shadow of the scratch might still be visible after compound.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Feb 27 2017, 01:45 PM
blurcase
post Feb 27 2017, 02:13 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(zAciX @ Feb 27 2017, 02:10 PM)
i am too afraid to do it myself now  unsure.gif
perhaps i can send car for polish/waxing services? any recommendation?
Lol, nothing to be afraid. U probably cant do any worse damage by compounding. Worth trying for DIY.

Maybe u can try go any detailing shop near your house or workplace and see if they can try to remove the scratch for u.
blurcase
post Feb 27 2017, 06:10 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(zAciX @ Feb 27 2017, 02:18 PM)
any recommendation of car detailing shop in KL?
now the scratchlineis barely seen (* after i idiot-ly scrub with sponge's rough face with toothpaste), however the clear gloss coat is gone.
U can try pay a visit to Osren office, I believe they do provide detailing service on top of marketing and distributing their products.

Osren Office in Google Maps

blurcase
post Feb 28 2017, 11:35 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 27 2017, 10:26 PM)
Using 5 inch, i have a 2inch+ too from osren, that one is easy. Actually i'm referring to paint, for windscreen i stick to da polisher.

On flat panels, vertical or horizontal, i face difficulties in handling it. it brings me cuti-cuti malaysia.
on corner, yes i tilt the polisher so it doesn't hit against the paint. it feels natural too.

only when it comes to polishing flat panels i find it difficult with foam pads.
i cannot figure what im doing wrong.
Can describe further the difficulty u having? Is the pad constantly catching and slipping? Or just having trouble achieving the final result? Or your compound/polish seem to dry out quicker than expected?

From my experience using Meguiars M105 and M205 on rotary, due to the speed of cut they can dry rather quick, thus having a spray bottle with just plain water to wet the polish agent helps to re-lubricate the surface and continue polishing.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Feb 28 2017, 11:50 AM
blurcase
post Feb 28 2017, 09:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 28 2017, 12:44 PM)
Yes. It slips, I've tried priming the pad too.

I think it is more of inexperience in handling it, unlike da I'm so used to.

Polisher I use is osren series. I think it dries up quickly too.

In terms of getting result I still prefer to finish down with da, cutting however, I understand that rotary is faster and less time consuming..
Tried removing orange peel too with their denim and perfect 50, no problem in handling. Wool and denim pads no problem
For slipping issues, I believe it should be mostly too much pressure on the pad when polishing. The machine itself usually has enough weight to pressure down on horizontal panels, so no additional pressure down from the hands are necessary.

For vertical surfaces, due to its nature, the pressure on the body panel is very much dependent on your own hands force.

So what I can recommend is to reduce downwards pressure on horizontal surfaces, inwards pressure on vertical surfaces. With practice, you will notice that you only need to guide the machine, not add pressure to it. For foam pads, its especially easy to see if you put too much pressure by looking at how much your pad as compressed.

Hope this helps, just sharing personal experience. smile.gif

QUOTE(windskill @ Feb 28 2017, 01:59 PM)
If i am not mistaken, Osren polishing products tend to dry quickly and dust a lot. Probably you can slow down your rotary speed to 1000-1100rpm. And I also spray some water to continue.
Another reason is the pad. What foam pad are you using? Usually stiffer foam pad plays better with rotary.

I understand M105 dried up quickly as well but from meguiars forum, I think it's designed to be such way that it can cut quickly without going through more passes.
Currently, I have shifted to DK compounds and I like them very much.
Agreed, I use Meguiars M105 and it dries quickly, quicker than Osren in many cases especially with rotary. Even Meguiars M100 has much more lubrication than M105. However, from following Kevin Brown method, drying up does not necessarily mean end of life of the liquid. One squirt of water and the polishing can continue.

On that note about DK, how does it fare? Do u achieve results quicker? More efficient? Cost effective?
blurcase
post Mar 1 2017, 01:57 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 1 2017, 12:36 AM)

Ty, insightful.

using osren pads and lakecountry ones. the older generation without hole in the middle. It's actually thicker compared to the now selling ones.
The pads with hole in the middle are more commonly suited for large throw DA polishers, especially the likes of Rupes 15 or 21 DA polishers. The reason for the hole is to reduce heat buildup on the pad, especially since DA polishers generally buildup pad heat in the center, whereas rotary builds heat more on the sides. Thinner pads are also created mainly to maximize DA performance and bring its cutting capabilities closer to rotary standards without the risk of paint burns.

For rotary, it is still recommended to use the full thick pads. However, from a technique perspective, it is a generally steeper learning curve.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Mar 1 2017, 02:08 AM
blurcase
post Mar 2 2017, 02:35 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Mar 1 2017, 10:41 PM)
Based on my user experience with DK, I think the cutting speed is almost comparable to Meguiars. But I like the the way that it doesn't dry out too quickly so you can have longer working time for the product. In addition, it does not dust so much compared to M105 or M101 (i have never tried M100 before). Last but not least, the finishing is good as well.

In term of cost, I think it's quite costly. 16 oz of DK1.1 is about RM100+.  cry.gif

The product claims to be waterbase compound. I notice if I buff over plastic trim, I can easily wipe it without having any stain. Not for oilbase compound like meguiars range. Probably I am wrong, please correct me.
I think that is still reasonable price compared to Meguiars. A bottle of 16oz M100/M101 is about RM200 each, and suppliers in Malaysia dont even sell small bottles of M105/M205, minimum 1gal. With last year GST price increase, it is even more expensive since then.

U are correct about the oilbase. Meguiars products are using oilbase as lubricant for their all polishing compounds. Thats why u see some youtube videos some pro meguiars detailers will use diluted alcohol for final wipedown after polishing before applying protection.

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 1 2017, 11:06 PM)
da pads are seemingly getting thinner as well. lakecountry hd pads, lakecountry forced disc. so i have these 2 to play with on my da.

the pads with hole in the middle that i've gotten from osren is meant for rotary, it is thicker compared to the da's. I have 2 versions of it.

one cutting pad without hole (maroon), one polishing pad with hole (navy). both seems to slip. LOL
lousy skill i have.
Hmm, havent kept in touch with Osren for some time. Didnt know their rotary pads now have holes as well.

No worries bro. Practice makes perfect. If u are living in KL/Selangor area and willing, end of this month I can come over to share with u some rotary knowledge that I have. Just PM me if u interested. smile.gif
blurcase
post Mar 9 2017, 06:40 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:58 AM)
i tot the brown bottles are 32oz? of 200 is ok. cos usa also around 140 liao for 32oz M100
Oops, sorry, actually it wasnt 16oz or 32oz, cuz in Malaysia got special packing 28oz for M100/M101, black colour bottle. The light brown/cream colour bottles that we see online are 32oz.
blurcase
post Mar 9 2017, 06:44 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 9 2017, 11:50 AM)
i use the slowest speed which equal to highest speed in rotary. have to be extra careful  sweat.gif
thanks for the recommendation  biggrin.gif
Meg quik wax = if not much time to do detailing i use this
Fusso wax = great durability + water beading, poor shine, i use this during rainy season or balik kampung ( trunk road / felda road / no hiway at all )

thanks to all for the advice. why nobody recommend rotary? is it too dangerous for newbie?  tongue.gif
To add to windskill comments, the other risk when using rotary is clipping/chipping edges of body paint with rotary on too high speed. My staff kena before ripping out 20sen coin size of paint from edge of bumper, lucky it was my car and he was still learning. After that mistake he more to DA and dont dare use rotary liao, haha...
blurcase
post Mar 11 2017, 05:19 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 11 2017, 02:36 AM)
how much is the mk2 selling here? its a 400+usd machine if not mistaken.
Contact Rupes Malaysia on their FB page, also lnown as Autocolortech Marketing, or visit their showroom. I bought my Rupes LHR21Mk2 for RM2500 roughly.
blurcase
post Mar 11 2017, 05:20 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 9 2017, 06:43 PM)
oh. usually the black squeeze bottles are like 14-16oz. (similar to ultimate compound bottle)

special packing for malaysia? dun say ppl buy 1gallon and repack it?
i think better stick to 32oz brown bottles..at least we know ori from usa .. biggrin.gif
The repack is actually by Meguairs themselves, just that its for EU market if not mistaken.

52 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.5104sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:33 AM