52 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post May 21 2017, 10:50 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(MusicForLife @ May 21 2017, 08:50 PM)
Thanks for the info guys!

This week I will source all the items will share the outcome here.

One last question, I definitely have to clay it right? Even though it's coated.
Yes, claying is required to remove or reduce the contaminants on the car body. This is to ensure ur polish/compound pad doesnt pickup those contaminants during polish/compound process and scratch the rest of the car.

QUOTE(N33d @ May 21 2017, 09:32 PM)
anyone here uses meg's metal finishing polish before??
damn that thing smells awful, heavy greasy smell that makes me feel suffocated when using it
is that common/nature smell for metal polish or that thing has gone bad?
I bought it because of heavy discount from parkson due to clear stock which i think is a very old stock, might be 3-4 years old.
Mmm, never used Meguiar's metal polish before, I am Using Mother's Mag & Aluminium Polish for bare metals. Smells typically like Autosol if u have used it before.
blurcase
post May 22 2017, 03:10 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 22 2017, 02:51 PM)
i wanna get mothers mag and alum polish. can you describe how that and autosol smell like? i really need to know before I bought another one.
This meg one smell like some kind of petroleum/greasy/crayon smell. I could smell it like 1 meter away. could not work on the product at all as the smell is overwhelming.
Erm, the smell is very mild for the Mothers mag and aluminium polish, maybe has a very very very faint kerosene smell. But its nowhere near the smell u are getting from Meguiars one. My tub of Mothers polish sits on the shelf next to me, been there for many years, only time I smell it is when its on my hands and I smell my fingers. Very easy to wash off.
blurcase
post May 22 2017, 10:11 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(FlamingASSH0LE @ May 22 2017, 07:41 PM)
Red car having very heavy swirl marks... should I look for meguairs swirl X or ultimate compound... or any recommendations that works for you guys? thank you in advance for any advice...
Swirl X is kinda between Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish, though it is closer to Ultimate Polish from test charts available in other forums. My suggestion would be to get Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish as they are more versatile.
blurcase
post May 23 2017, 12:20 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 22 2017, 11:32 PM)
Just wondering how often do you guys clean Tara off your car?

I haven't been doing it for close to a year. Lol

Are protected car better off with tar bonding to the paint?
I only do it if I plan to clay the car, usually about 1-2 times a year.
blurcase
post May 25 2017, 12:25 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 24 2017, 11:57 PM)
The liquid i havent try yet, did u feel kilat2 and licin2 after apply the radiant 12?
I have a question actually guys , can i apply fusso 12 month as a sealant , then top the liquid wax ? As i know soft99 fusso isnt really make car shine
Refer to this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DptKHVateZA

This guy goes in quite detail on the fusso coat, how to apply, whether to apply as standalone or base coat or top coat.
blurcase
post May 25 2017, 01:51 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ May 25 2017, 09:20 AM)
For your last question, it's all up to personal views. Some may argue beading is just for show off. But thru the beading effect, you know when you should top up or reapply the sealant or protection.

But in real world, water sheeting actually better than beading. The beads formed on paint surface, though it looks nice, but water always contains minerals, or contaminants. Now, imagine it baked by the sunlight, what is the result? Surely you can guess what is the outcome. The watermarks...
My personal 2 sen is water beading capabilities helps to reduce the amount of rain stuck on the car when it is moving. Its like how when u apply RainX on your windshield, then drive over 50-80kmh and no need use wiper because wind speed pushes the water off.

Water sheeting is important for stationary cars in rainy season to reduce the amount of water stuck on car.

Both water beading and/or water sheeting is good for drying car convenience after washing.

I dont place a very high importance on gloss effect because the bigger and more common issue affecting gloss to me is haze and swirls, which only can be solved with polishing. So I prefer to side on durability of the protection.

Again, just my 2 sen. smile.gif
blurcase
post May 26 2017, 07:12 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(mirrorboy88 @ May 26 2017, 12:06 PM)
Hey guys,

Just got my new car a few weeks ago.
Been wanting to send it for a good wash and polish.
Any recommendations? I stay right next to KLCC so is Car International any good? Read quite a fair bit of bad reviews on them though.
Just my 2 sen, car wash chains like Cars International and ShineShine are okay when it comes to car wash and probably interior cleaning, polishing and protection they have not so good reviews. I think sometimes it depends from store to store also.

If u dont mind traveling out of KLCC area, u can find other car wash places with comparable or better quality for more affordable price in Ampang/Cheras/Wangsa Maju.

For polishing, I think it depends on your expectation. If u are looking for showroom shine with pro detailing skills like youtube pro standards, u probably can only find them from the likes of Regal Valet or AutoDetailer Studio (PJ side), or detailers specializing in coating. For the rest of 80%-95% of detailing shops, they are probably more on simple rotary pass polishing, so the results are generally average.

Again, just my 2 sen observation, so I would suggest u try washing at one place first. If u satisfied then only try more services, if not then move on to other shops.
blurcase
post May 26 2017, 10:43 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(hebehow @ May 26 2017, 07:40 PM)
btw...how u handle ur interior detail like dashboard, leather seat..? alway talk bout exterior only...haha...
My interior works:

Floor carpet/fabric seats: Steam cleaner, vacuum cleaner, wipe dry. Very dirty spots use strong APC before steam cleaner.
Leather seats: APC with brush to clean, Leather conditioner to protect.
Dashboard, door interior (or anywhere plastic/rubber): APC with brush to clean, interior protectant to protect.

I normally do it once a year. Rest of the time after washing car will have simple wipe of the interior with damp microfiber cloth to keep clean.
blurcase
post May 28 2017, 09:30 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Marcus95 @ May 28 2017, 12:03 AM)
Not sure this i the correct thread or not to comment here... just want to ask where can i go for Air Cond treatment? My car having sweaty legs odour... need to remove it asap. Im nearby to batu cave
I think u can visit any car detailing shop that offer nano mist fogging. That should sort ur aircond problem.

Alternatively, if u prefer DIY, can try look gor a product called Liqui Moly Klima Fresh, place it under the air recirculate intake point (usually under the feet area of front passenger), and full blast the can with aircond also full blast. Should work just as good, price about the same either way.
blurcase
post May 29 2017, 10:08 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 29 2017, 10:46 AM)
ok, made up my mine..
gonna get dap15 from osren
after some researching, i found out that it is actually a rebranded das6 pro plus
it is getting overall good feedback from the net. just thinking where can i use that machine(condo dweller here) LOL
If u lucky u could find a power socket at some wall or pillar near ur parking spot, just need a long extension cord. Else if ur condo got car wash bay there might be a power socket around there also.
blurcase
post May 30 2017, 12:51 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ May 29 2017, 11:10 PM)
Is all water based for tyre doesnt last long? I am using Osren LV as well. Sometime a big rain on road can almost wipe it out completely.
I believe its because it is water based, generally may not last as long. Then again, most tyre dressing have limited durability. So far I found Meguiars Endurance Tyre Gel to be fairly lasting, up to 2 weeks on rainy season. However, it is abit oily in nature, so application gets hands oily.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 29 2017, 11:13 PM)
How do you guys contact Osren to purchase their item online? I once call them, a lady pick up. Ï said i wanna buy your detailing accessories" she laugh and say will transfer to her boss. No ppl picking up so I hang up.
If not mistaken u can contact them through their FB page and they will respond to u.
blurcase
post May 30 2017, 01:49 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ May 30 2017, 11:01 AM)
Guys, minta opinion abit,

Recently I got a new car (used 2012 Mazda3)

So the AC I realize got abit of smell when start up but goes away after a few second, and solution to this?

The my AC also cacat, after a long drive, the blowing power macam reduce abit, and it'll resume powerful if I stop driving for awhile or turn of the AC for awhile.

What's the problem and what are the solution, I wilksent to Machanic this weekend, I wish to know so I won't kena slaughtered!hahaha

Another this is, recently I read about the usefulness of claybar, just curious, if I use plastersine, is it ok too? Claybar not cheap, 3m one arnd 50/60, lazada got some unknown brand selling arnd 20/30, does it make a. If diff?

Thanks in advance for your sharing
For your AC smell, u can try to get nano mist treatment and see if it helps.

For the AC reduce blowing, is it set to automatic? AC with automatic feature tends to blow less when they detect car interior temperature cool down. This is especially true for cars with good tinting. Try set the aircond to manual fan speed and see if it helps. Else if its manual only, then maybe aircond blower need to overhaul/cleanup or change due to age.

Please dont assume claybar same as Plasticine. While they may look and feel similar, but claybar is engineered to hold together when claying whereas plasticine breaks very easily.

There is a reason for some claybars to be more expensive, because it can perform a better job when claying compared to cheaper claybars. U could trial and error buying the cheap ones first, but if it doesnt work to your expectation, then u be spending more to get better ones.
blurcase
post May 30 2017, 07:08 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ May 30 2017, 02:12 PM)
Mine is all manual, thanks for the info on nano mist to solve the smell,

as for the blower, i think that should be the culprit, do you have any idea what would be a good pricing to change a mazda 3 (old model) blower? how much would it cost to overhaul/ cleanup? or just total change the blower.

i am getting very paranoid with prices now, i bodo bodo that day go get a reverse cam, with no research and asking around, the accesories guy charged me 330 for reverse cam, then say cannot connect to my current car display, and suggested me a rm700 headunit, at last settle for a rear view display scree for rm150. felt cheated af
haha, they fo look similar tho, planning to get a cheap one to try to get rid of water mark on windscreen, hear it works wonder
Mmm, considering your car is only 5 years old, if your car has good service record from previous owner, then I suggest going back to Mazda service center to service your aircond. Whether to overhaul or change, they should be able to tell u. However, sorry to say I wouldnt know how much it would cost as different car brand different price. My suggestion is check with Mazda service center first, then if u think its okay then do it there, if too expensive at least they diagnose for u already and u can try other workshops for quotation. If u end up doing outside, I suggest finding an aircond specialist shop, not just typical do-everything workshop. I know of one in Setapak.

Erm, not sure where u read/hear that from, but to my knowledge water mark on windscreen cannot be removed by claying, regardless of what claybar u get. U will either need to use a special form of acid for windscreen (not recommended), or polish. Glass polish (which contains cerium oxide) works best, however many also have gotten success using standard car polish like Meguiars Ultimate Compound or Ultimate Polish. I can recommend CarPro CeriGlass as it contains cerium oxide as mentioned.

QUOTE(mirrorboy88 @ May 30 2017, 02:45 PM)
Thanks for the information mate.
But just curious.. What do people normally do when they get a new car?
I just got the Honda Civic 1.5TC.
Should I just send it for normal washes? Cause it's quite dirty now as I've been driving it for the past 3 weeks.
What car care procedures should I also be looking at?
Looking forward to hearing from y'all car sifus.
Thanks!
I think it depends on how far detail do u want to maintain. If just normal care, a weekly wash is good enough, and u can topup with spray wax as it is easy to apply.

For slightly more detail regimen:
1) weekly self wash using 2-bucket method and good wash mitt
2) special rim brush to reach insides and behind spokes of the rims
3) different microfiber towels to wipe dry different areas of the car
4) and spray wax.
5) Remove tar, clay and cleaner wax once every 4-6 months.

I am driving the same car as u, and that's my regular regimen minus spray wax. Most importantly is wash the car even though during rainy season, dont expect the rain to wash for u. It doesnt work that way, hehehe... tongue.gif
blurcase
post May 31 2017, 12:16 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(mirrorboy88 @ May 31 2017, 09:31 AM)
Couldn't tahan so I sent my car to the caltex car wash outside my house on Jln Tun Razak. Lol. They didn't murder my car so that's a relief. Prolly will need to start learning how to DIY car care myself at home. Wanna be a champ and give me some lessons? LOL
Go youtube and search "2 bucket wash method". That should get u kickstarted on the right path.
blurcase
post Jun 1 2017, 12:54 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(billylimkimlean @ May 31 2017, 03:24 PM)
Hi Guys,

I recently came across a product called Soft99 Fusso Coat (12 months) and the Soft99 Hydro Gloss Wax. Any of you guys out there know what are the main differences and whether or not the Fusso Coat is safe for coated cars? My car is coated using Siloxane (Sio2) by Carzmo (www.carzmo.com). I would like to maintain the water beading effect of the coat but it is starting to wear off.

Your input is highly appreciated as I do not want to damage my coat and void the warranty.
I agree with chongkiatz and g88, your coating should have warranty and should have some form of maintenance that comes with it. Also good coating should easily last 2-5 years, that's why it is called semi-permanent solution.

Other than water beading, is your car still having good water sheeting?

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ May 31 2017, 10:43 PM)
Hey guys, any options or recommended product for Tar removal? Dont wanna head to those detailing shops, rather do it myself
There are a few I can recommend:

1) Cheapest method: diesel from petrol station, but may not be safe on your car clearcoat, generally not recommended.
2) Meguiars Bug and Tar Remover: Off the shelf, small enough bottle for home use, not very expensive. Downside is it is a creamy kinda texture, abit hard to wipe off really clean, better to rinse and rewash the area after tar removal.
3) Carpro TarX: More soluble, can see tar melting away, easier to wipe off. Downside slightly more expensive.
4) Osren Tar Remover: Soluble, also easier to wipe off. Downside it is only sold in 4 liter bottle if not mistaken, need to ask them if they sell in smaller bottle as should be cheaper than option 2 and 3.
5) Claybar: Commonly recommended, but I personally wont recommend. Tar is a big visible chunk of dirt, if get stuck onto your claybar then high risk of scratching your car if continue using.

In all the options (except option 5), be prepared to sacrifice a towel to wipe off the dissolved tar. From my experience after the tar transfers onto your towel, it is difficult if not impossible to wash it off.
blurcase
post Jun 1 2017, 01:59 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 1 2017, 01:03 PM)
Larry from NYC ammo have been stressing the need to minimise claying practice.

In his reflex video, he mentioned that if there isn't a need to clay, don't clay and straight to application.

There are several more videos of him urging that claying isn't needed as popular as it has become

In his latest video of 12 steps of preparing a new car, again he stress on the need to hold back the urge to clay. And he mentioned that claying an entire car takes 10-12mins.

But I find myself claying every 2 months + ...
And it takes longer than 15mins....
I watched his video also. I kinda think the message is subject to individual interpretation. He mentioned his car has not been clayed in years, but for us who use our cars as daily drivers and with our tropical climate conditions, it can be quite different.

Personally I have had situations where I may not clay my car but go straight to paste wax. This is quite possible if I apply my paste wax more regularly (like once every 2-3 months). I believe wax helps the car in the sense that less contaminants have the chance to stick onto the paint and unable to remove via wash and requiring to clay to remove.

For situations where the car is very well taken care off (means regular wash and protection maintenance and also minimal driving in rain and parked indoors), it is possible to quickly clay the car around 10 minutes or so. But again, given many of us are probably regular working folks that require our car to go out and park where required and convenient, the reality is more likely that our cars will pickup more contaminants which longer claying time to remove everything.

After detailing my own and family cars for over 15 years, I now "close 1 eye" abit more when it comes to regular detailing. My own car only gets clayed 1-2 times a year, other cars may get at most 1 time a year. Dont do the plastic bag test and close 1 eye, can pass lor. But when the semangat strikes, then extreme mode comes in and claying alone takes 2-3 hours, compound/polishing takes 2-4 days, hehehe...
blurcase
post Jun 1 2017, 03:37 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 1 2017, 02:22 PM)
I've tried that before with liquid wax, without claying. End up the yellow pad got black from the dirts....safe Kah? Scare the stain will scratch the car
Hahaha, same here. Dunno whether safe or not, but didnt notice any significant scratch addition when I did it. Besides, our daily drivers would probably get more wash marks cuz we do that more regularly, and some wax has fillers so after waxing most finer scratches disappear anyway. Again, for me its a close 1 eye lor. I like the challenge of detailing less maintained cars as the improvements will be more significant, and that increases my personal satisfaction when the job is done. smile.gif
blurcase
post Jun 2 2017, 11:05 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jun 2 2017, 08:38 AM)
rclxms.gif Well said. After a while, most of us tends to close one eye d.

I think the message Larry is trying to deliver is clay+compound+polish if necessary. If the new car condition is okay, straight away coat it. I think in some of his older vids (or maybe some other guy), it is stressed that clay will mar the paint as it contains abrasives. So I guess, if you are planning to compound and polish the car, claying is advisable. But if you are just planning to wax/ coat the car without compounding and polishing, then try not to clay.

For me, if I need to clay, I will polish after claying. If I don't need to polish, I won't clay. That's just me tongue.gif. That is why I prefer to apply sealant/wax by hand. Also claying normally only takes 10-15 minutes for me.
Agreed. I believe it all depends on each individual assessment of their car condition, and do what they should to a level of their own satisfaction.

Personally I think the claybar itself isnt abrasive, but as it picks up contaminants from the paint and we continue rubbing, the heavier contaminants can become abrasive and scratch the paint. That is why when claying, I check frequently the condition of the claybar surface and flip it regularly also. For those using clay cloth then should rinse often between sections.

After learning to do the plastic bag test for claying, each time I clay I feel like if I dont do plastic bag test then I am fooling myself thinking I have done good claying. The problem of "if want to do then do the best, else dont do" mentality. So end up I dont clay as often anymore, hahaha...
blurcase
post Jun 3 2017, 11:53 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jun 3 2017, 11:12 AM)
Just skip this Meg Headlight Protectant.
Think the best youtube advice I got so far after polishing headlights is to use a clearcoat spray paint that has UV protection. Works way better and lasts much longer.

Think some of Meguiars products are marketing gimmicks more than anything else.
blurcase
post Jun 3 2017, 06:34 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Jun 3 2017, 04:16 PM)
good info.
on the RainX, i stop using it after found out that Meg spray wax does better job on the wind screen & windows and last longer than RainX.
anyone has this experience also?
1 shot spray paint surface + windscreen & windows
Personally I stopped using RainX or any other glass product for a long time. The last time I was on RainX it caused rainbow looking streaks that couldnt remove in my old car. My maintenance for windshield is good wipers for the front, Windex when dirty, polish when got alot of stubborn water spots.

QUOTE(N33d @ Jun 3 2017, 06:16 PM)
just done using my new dap15 to polish my car
the noise is very loud, i should have prepare some ear protection in future. dont wanna get hearing damage this young lol
vibration is okay for me, not as bad. But one thing i am disappointed is the machine keep on bogging down and stopped spinning easily. am i using it wrong?

or it is a faulty unit? all over the internet, people are praising the power of this machine, but mine just keep on bogging down, very hard to correct my iriz rear light due to this
As I know DA gets most spin when the center of the pad is in contact with panel. DA isnt really suited for using the edges. So try focus keeping the pad center on the panel.

52 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:51 PM