QUOTE(slk @ Mar 9 2019, 11:02 AM)
True true, but the principles techniques still provide a reasonable foundation. Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Mar 9 2019, 11:35 AM
418 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Mar 9 2019, 03:17 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Mar 10 2019, 01:29 AM
QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 9 2019, 03:13 PM) Autogeek was my first go-to channel in youtube when I first started learning polishing. The channel is very old, back then Mike Phillips was teaching. He is quite a legend by many means, and his videos still give very good foundations to learning about paint correction.For interior detailing, Ammo NYC taught me most of what I needed to know. |
Mar 10 2019, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(genkis3 @ Mar 10 2019, 04:35 AM) i wonder how do u guys deal with watermarks? Sooo, I actually am still in the midst of restoring my wife's car, and it has plentiful of watermarks on both windscreens, side mirrors, and body paint. I initially started by compounding using my Rupes 21Mk2, Microfiber cutting pad and Meguiars M105 (the most hardcore I can get), but it couldnt do enough to really remove all the watermarks in an efficient manner. Then I recall a video I saw that used acid-based wheel cleaner as an initial step to remove watermarks. So I contacted Osren and got myself a bottle of Stain-X to try (its quite strong acid). In short, removal is much faster, and any watermarks not yet etched into the paint were pretty much removed. Even for those that were etched in, the acid managed to reduce them to the point it is almost not visible unless use torchlight to review the area.im starting to get mad about how easily the watermarks etched into paint in just few hours time. this afternoon i clean the bird poop by tap water but leave it without wipe it off due to no MF with me. i tot it's just the clean tap water, somemore i just apply sealant+wax. should be able to wait till i wash it properly at evening. but end up the watermarks etched into paint. try using carpro waterspot remover but failed. only moderate polish managed to remove it. couldn't imagine if it's acid rain... my new ride is mediterranean blue which easily spot the watermarks and swirl on paint...damn..i should get the white color instead. However, before u run out to do the same, just want to say first that I am not advocating use of acid as a solution to this problem by any safe means. It is very much use-at-your-own-risk. I definitely took the risk myself, and was prepared to respray the entire car and change all the side windows and side mirrors if anything bad happened. If u arent prepared for such risk, then polish is still the safer bet. This acid is quite strong, I wore disposable gloves that I bought from daiso, and even then and with the acid in a damp microfiber towel, the occasional times it touches the gloves it turns the gloves colour dark yellow (a sign of acid contact and reaction). Proceed with extreme caution at all times. QUOTE(slk @ Mar 10 2019, 11:04 AM) Ahh, good to know. Always good to learn new ways of doing things to make life easier in detailing. Thanks very much. QUOTE(quackpack @ Mar 10 2019, 12:41 PM) Our water and hot weather bakes out waterspot easily. As I just shared above, I did use acid on glass. However, I must share first that I put abit of Stain-X on a fairly damp microfiber towel, rubbed gently on the glass until it became smooth, then immediately followed up with another damp cloth to clean residue and dry cloth for final clean. Even went to the risk point of doing the side mirrors that way, and it managed to clean all. The only place I did not use the acid is on the front windscreen, as the worry that it will impact wiper performance. For front windscreen I polished with Carpro Ceriglass to the best of my ability.Usually I'll just wash with stronger alkaline solution (apc) to remove any oily residue and rinse before using those waterspot remover. If you are not using stronger acid solution, usually you will need to polish to remove the final stain. I'll go with aio to make my life easy when polishing. For waterspot on glass don't just use acid to remove the stain, you will usually need to polish it or else your window will appears wavy. |
Mar 11 2019, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(slk @ Mar 10 2019, 06:55 PM) i was told to not use stainX on areas which has contact with wipers as it can highlight/amplify the wiper mark scratches Yeah, that was what I heard years ago from another detailer shop also. Personally while I have no evidence of it, but not willing to risk that when the rest came out okay and I saved enough time and money already from the other risks I took. Lol. |
Mar 11 2019, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(Twins10 @ Mar 11 2019, 06:49 AM) Can scotchgard be used on car interior headliners including the sunroof curtain? Where to buy scotchgard? Any local brand equivalent or substitute? Not sure about scotchgard suitability and purchase locations, but for most interior cleaning (including headliner), a good all purpose cleaner, some soft brushes for agitation and microfiber towels to absorb residue are all u need. |
Mar 14 2019, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(Par@dox @ Mar 13 2019, 11:13 PM) Lol, I do have one. However, a blower can't completely dry out a car. At least, not unless you are willing to spend a lot of time blowing. In my dream world, I would prefer compressed air to blow out water instead of blower, lol. Unfortunately cant find an air compressor that is small, powerful yet quiet and affordable, so there goes my dream. |
Mar 14 2019, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(slk @ Mar 14 2019, 07:34 AM) Hey that’s quite basic and old technique, I use it all the time with all the cars I wash. Water pulling water, works even with cars that dont have any protection. Saves a ton of drying effort cuz less water stayed on panels, so most good drying cloth can dry whole car in 1 wipe without wringing. |
Mar 14 2019, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(static_365 @ Mar 14 2019, 09:19 AM) Can anyone recommend me a budget water pressure washer <RM400 ? Hmm, not sure if u need to wash again after claying, as personally I dont do it and go straight to polish. Perhaps u can consider washing after polish instead to remove the polish oils before waxing. My car have so many swirl mark due to those tepi jalan bangla car washer cincai wash Now i decided to wash my car by myself Have bought some item to do it on this Saturday. [attachmentid=10203342] so the step is wash > clay > wash > polish > wax right? Will do it all by hand, no issue right? Doing all by hand is not a problem, but u must manage your own expectations. Hand polishing results cant reach machine polishing standards. There will be some defects that u will find very difficult to remove by hand. As long as u happy with the before and after results, then thats good enough. |
Mar 15 2019, 12:27 AM
Actually there has been many debates about the logic and practicality of 2 bucket wash methods. The original assumption had always been that doing the 2 bucket with grit guards will minimize the chance of dirt from a different section being dragged on other sections and scratching. However, there is always the probability of some dirt being already trapped on existing wash mitt and did not come off in both buckets and thus continue its ride in the mitt and marring the paint.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuxWadJygkU I find for those looking for alternative methods, this is one definitely worth to consider. |
Mar 15 2019, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(slk @ Mar 15 2019, 10:56 AM) i punctured the paint while trying to buff off this : Could it be just specific to the bumper section? I had a similar experience where my wife Altis paint between the metal body panels and bumper panels seem to be abit different and the bumper part is softer, hence harder to finish than the other body panels.![]() I AIO-ed the car only : https://www.facebook.com/johari.razali.5/me...01464279&type=3 QUOTE(#Victor @ Mar 15 2019, 10:56 AM) Hi sifus, what solution could be use to clean double sided tape on car paint. It could be removed by scrubbing using hand but afraid will scratch the paint, what solvent could used without hurting the paint? My go to is Zippo lighter fluid. Great for cleaning most light glue marks and whatnots, doesnt require washing after as it evaporates like alcohol. |
Mar 16 2019, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 16 2019, 09:51 PM) Guys, I need help. Last Sunday, those guys with grass cutting machine cut grass right in front of my car, so front of my car is full of small grass pieces. I unfortunately underestimate them and didn't do anything immediately, so now they are dried on my car paint. I have 2-3 more suggestions before going into claying:I tried to wash them off today and to my horror they didn't come off even after using wash mitt + car shampoo, turtlewax bug & tar remover (I used this out of desperation) and even medium strength dilution of APC foam. Any idea how I can safely get rid of dried grass off car paint? Edit : one forum suggested claybar, I think I probably will have to resort to using this.. Right? 1) Zippo lighter fluid / IPA, both solvent thats great when cleaning off glue stains, might help with ur grass 2) WD40, this I have not tried before but bro slk have recommended this a few times on other occassions 3) Sticky tape, stick on and pull off, see if it comes off. If all these dont work and claying is your only option left, then I suggest doing it with care. Every piece that gets pulled out with claybar will drag onto other parts of the car u clay and potentially scratch. Not to mention also with such chunky pieces loading into your claybar, it may render your claybar eventually useless in the future. I would suggest tearing a small piece out to try it first instead of committing an entire piece in. |
Mar 17 2019, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(#Victor @ Mar 17 2019, 12:31 AM) Zippo lighter fluid quite easy to find, many hardware stores and even stationary stores would carry the small cans at minimum.QUOTE(quackpack @ Mar 17 2019, 07:31 AM) Solvent will get it off. I wonder is it cause turtlewax tar remover is not strong enough.Dont go for claying until you tried a stronger solvent, heck even go for petrol if you can't get lighter fluid. Just make sure to quickly rinse it later. Agreed. I believe one of the commonly used fuel for commercial cleaning (even some cheap car washes do it on cars) is using diesel. Alternatively try degreasers, they should lean abit on the alkaline side. |
Mar 17 2019, 10:33 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Mar 17 2019, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 17 2019, 11:22 AM) Yeah, below is the picture, there are still some very stubborn grass pieces glued to the surface. I tried the below : Hmm, I am still thinking that some form of chemicals should be able to remove it just fine, just find it odd that your bug and tar removal didnt work earlier. Even claying should work, so again odd that it didnt in your case. If whatever in ur current arsenal didnt work, u may need to get new products. -Meguiar NXT shampoo + wash mitt -Turtlewax bug & tar removal (I think this does nothing) -Osren medium strength APC foam with brush -IPA spray & wipe -zippo lighter fluid & wipe -OEM claybar + clay lube (does remove some grass, but not all) -mother's cleaner wax + sponge (also removes some) -meguairs ult polish + sponge -finger nail scrapping (on stubborn pieces, still very hard to remove) I starting to think maybe need to sand them & slowly grind them away or something, but dont have the skills to do this. ![]() Here is a random tip to try. If u have white vinegar, spray it on a tissue and place the tissue on the affected spot for 3-5 mins. Make sure the tissue sticks on your paint. After giving it abit of time to work, then wipe off and see if it works. Vinegar is acid, but one of the mildest form and should not harm your paint in any way. |
Mar 18 2019, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Mar 18 2019, 10:29 AM) Do you guys tend to hand polish? or use the polishing machine? if the latter, which brand do you use? I used to hand polish when I was a newbie about 20 years ago. Now dont have stamina to do it anymore, and besides after moving to machine polishing and see much more work done in the same amount of time, never looked back.I use Rupes Bigfoot LHR21Mk2, solid workhorse and long term investment. I also have Rupes iBrid Nano for small sections. Before u think me as rich kid, just know I am no longer a kid, and these are machines I invested in for long term use. However, I always believe detailing is a passion and long term hobby, and each person should have their own budget for this hobby. It is kinda like photography enthusiasts. |
Mar 18 2019, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(ITforce @ Mar 18 2019, 03:11 PM) Anyone know how to remove the door visor without damaging the car paint and the visor ? Cos my visor double tape loosen, and want to try stick with 3M double tape. That depends, as I know there are 2 types. 1 type is purely double-sided tape only holding the visor, 2nd type has a small metal bracket and plastic stud to give firmer grip.For 2nd type, u need to push the stud out first. To do so if I remember correctly, u need to wind down your window, then push the stud from inside out. To loosen the existing double sided tape glue, u can either use sticker removers like Goo Gone, maybe some oily stuff like WD40, or rubbing alcohol. Personally I like Goo Gone, as I can pull the entire double-sided tape out with minimal effort once the chemical has chance to absorb in. Takes between 30-60mins for it to be taken out quite easily. If u are planning to use oil based products like Goo Gone or WD40, remember to rinse off the oils thoroughly, preferably with soap also. QUOTE(slk @ Mar 18 2019, 04:45 PM) Hahaha, no la, everyone also work and earn money lor. I had less commitments few years ago, so could afford the Rupes. If u ask me to buy one now, different story liao. |
Mar 18 2019, 10:46 PM
Mar 19 2019, 01:11 AM
QUOTE(V429 @ Mar 18 2019, 11:20 PM) Just to share : Some tips for u:-today clay my car roof and bonnet, before they are bumpy and now they are so smooth! Although saw forum & videos on clay for so many times, to really do it myself and feel the results myself feels very satisfying. -Follow up by hand polish on these 2 panels. Didn't observe any noticeable difference, especially compared to claying. -Next step waxing, made several mistake resulting in big big headache. Basically left wax (FK1000p) on car for too long and expose to sun (for back half of car), that half part all the solvents evaporated and become very very very hard to buff off (plus some parts applied too much) . Some parts need hell lot of elbow grease, the part exposed to sun basically impossible to buff off, need to scrape off or something . Thought of an idea to apply fresh wax on those part, thinking the solvents will help soften them, and It worked. So a simple waxing step become nightmare-ish 3 hours process. -learn 2 things this week, never underestimate grass on paint and don't leave wax on car for too long. Maybe like Larry said, this is just me paying my dues ;P 1) Claying is more about frequency of movement instead of pressure on claybar. A good claybar will pickup embedded contaminants very quickly, so folding and reopening a fresh surface is important for it to be effective claying. Usually my method is to flatten the clay to at least cover 80% of my hand, then clay the same section twice (use one side, then repeat with opposite side). 2) The extreme test for claying effectiveness is to wear a thin plastic bag over your hand and glide it over the clayed and cleaned surface. If it is smooth also then contaminants 99% remove, if not then repeat. 3) The best way to observe polish differences is to do 50/50 shots with some torchlight. Even your smartphone light can help if required. Mask half and polish one side, once done remove masking tape, shine light between 2 side and see differences. 4) Every wax may have different ways to apply. Some apply one section then immediately buff off, some apply 1 panel then buff off, some apply whole car then buff off. However, I believe most waxes would recommend working in cool conditions. If the front half of your car is shaded and back half exposed, then wax and buff off front half first, then drive your car and reverse position, then continue with 2nd half. 5) If ever u have wax dried too quickly before buffing, or your wax gives an uneven effect (usually because of wax application too thick), easiest way is to strip the wax with IPA. Hope this helps for your next session. |
Mar 19 2019, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(kennt0312 @ Mar 19 2019, 12:50 PM) to all sifus here, newbie here in car care stuff. Unfortunately there isnt any easy way other than polishing. U can try hand polishing with a polish and pad, but best manage your own expectations on the results.is there any easy way to remove light swirl marks/micro scratch? thanks. QUOTE(#Victor @ Mar 19 2019, 01:20 PM) Are u staying in landed? I would like to invest on those machines as i tried using human power and it really exhausted but due to the fact where I could not get a power plug at the washing bay, even have to move the car aside if there are other ppl need to wash washing bay, also uncovered parking bay. Any portable machines that could run on battery and small enough to carry with hands along with other detailing equipment with in one way trip without going back to carry the leftover or using trolley? I used to stay in landed with my parents, so had the luxury of car park with electricity via extension cords. However now I live in condo with my wife, so dont have such luxury. If I require polishing, then I go to my parents place.Honestly speaking, battery operated machines doesnt give u the length of time required to polish an entire car no matter how good it is. Even when u see furniture ppl come fix up furniture at your place, everywhere they go they will try to borrow a power socket to charge their batteries while they have other spare batteries to work. If u really talk about mobile detailing, then a generator set is the more practical solution, and that is definitely not a DIY home detailer's ideal situation. So what would be my best recommendation? I have 2: 1) Send your car to a good detailer u trust and have seen their work, go for a good 2-3 step compound polish. After that try your best to wash yourself and wax regularly to keep the paint always looking good. 2) If u do get a battery operated device, then complete 1 panel a day. Clay, compound, polish, wax 1 panel a day. Your batteries only last that long, so u should at least target to complete 1 panel before the batteries finish so that u dont have to worry about it being naked before moving to next panel. Finish 1 panel, go home and charge the batteries and repeat next day. Hope this helps. |
| Change to: | 0.0460sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:34 PM |