Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Sep 17 2018, 12:22 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Sep 16 2018, 10:19 PM)
i saw some videos on youtube, but it involve using sand paper, rubbing compound, polishing + using machine.seems not doable for me..better send for clear coat

how much cost usually for respray clear coat? if alot? i guess i just change the bonnet with half cut one laugh.gif
The average price is mentioned by douglas_tong. However, considering that u already have more than 1 part of your car that is starting to face potential clearcoat failure, then I would suggest considering respraying your clearcoat for the entire car. Some may argue not to fix what's not broken, but my opinion is that the entire car's paint age is about the same (unless some parts got resprayed before). While failure usually take place at areas that take the most direct impact of the sun (front bonnet, roof, boot cover for regular sedan cars), however over time the upper parts of the pillars, doors would also not be spared.

If u do have the budget, then I suggest for entire car. Do some price shopping, as clearcoat also come in some varieties, such as German, Japanese or local clearcoat ranges. Their main difference is mostly on the hardness of the clearcoat. At least once the clearcoat has been resprayed for the entire car, u technically start from day 1 care again, and with diligence ur new clearcoat will last much longer.

Just my 2 sen.
blurcase
post Sep 17 2018, 01:43 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Sep 17 2018, 11:38 AM)
For polishing, would it be possible to do 1-2 sections of the car at a time? And then repeat wash, clay, dry, ipa step everyday for whatever section I wanted to polish?

The reason I ask is because my car is parked outside without much shading. Meaning I would try and polish as much of the car as I can before it gets too hot and sunny.
Yes, why not? I recall a member here did 1 panel per day, and many times only on weekends. Just remember to end your day process with a protection (sealant/wax) so that it is protected while u are working on other parts of the car.

Before u begin, u should also analyze your car's each panel size and plan abit which part may overlap. Also, it may be wise to find some form of shade even though u wanna wake up as early as possible to start polishing. It is always recommended to polish in a cooler environment, so your available timeframe will be short once the sun starts to hit the paint. U will need to feel the car body regularly to see if it is still cool enough to continue polishing, or it is become very warm or too hot.

Give it a try, dont be overambitious to polish too much per session.
blurcase
post Sep 19 2018, 05:47 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 19 2018, 11:23 AM)
Hi sifus, what is the best way to dry up these beehive grill after washing rather than wiping it one by one which is torturing? One of the way I could think is using air gun but staying at apartment have no power socket at car park and also convenient of bring it in and out as well as necessary to buy one just for drying up these beehive.

Mmm, if u get a fluffier and thicker microfiber towel that should reduce the need to go in one by one to dry. That's what I usually do. Besides, leaving a small water residue doesnt do much damage, unless u are the very anal type and want it to be completely dry dry.

QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 19 2018, 01:42 PM)
Can we wax without polishing? I polished my car bout 2 months ago and thought of re-waxing it.
Yes u can, just do the plastic bag test to see if u need to clay before re-waxing. Else, worst case just re-wax anyways.
blurcase
post Sep 19 2018, 07:13 PM

418 posts

Just sharing, for anyone looking for a range of consumer products for starting or adding on to your own detailing arsenal.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Jay8KUMYb4

Not all products shown in the video is sold here, but many are, especially in ACE Hardware.
blurcase
post Sep 19 2018, 11:28 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 19 2018, 10:41 PM)
hello everyone, is this the right way to apply wax/sealant to my new car...

1) wash with car shampoo
2) clay by using detailer
3) dry
4) apply sealant/wax on the car
5) buff off
Sounds about right. For claying, some use car shampoo, some use quick detailer, some use ONR. If u plan to use shampoo, please remember not to use the leftover from the car wash if it is dirty already.
blurcase
post Sep 20 2018, 11:32 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Sep 20 2018, 07:11 AM)
may i know the difference between 3m one step cleaner wax and 3m quick wax ? now a bit regret as bought 2 similar products.
Cleaner wax is as it sounds, a combination of small bits of abrasives (polish) and also wax. U will be doing a very very small bit of polishing to bring back ur car shine while waxing process.

Quick wax is also as it sounds, easy spray on and buff off.

Ppl tend to use cleaner wax when the car has not been waxed for some time, and got time on their hands, so do abit more to give the car shine. Quick wax is for when u dont have the time and want to lay on a mild protection after washing as a quick fix.

They are similar, but uses depend on situation. Hope this helps.

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 20 2018, 10:53 AM)
Any difference using car shampoo and detailers for claying since both can achieve the same output? The most important key here not the clay bar itself?
Well, based on my experience, claybar quality plays one important factor in the claying process, the lubricant used (whether car shampoo or quick detailers) plays the part of whether compatible with the claybar u use. I have experienced before some claybars dont work well with shampoo as the shampoo broke down the claybar over time, but so far all the claybars I used are definitely compatible with quick detailers. The other difference would be cost, as car shampoo u already have because u need it to wash your car anyway, but quick detailer is an additional product and not everyone is willing to pay extra. So it depends entirely up to your budget.

Also, from experience, the claybar only plays one important factor, the other important factor is the frequency that u fold and reopen a new claybar surface. For example, if u try to clay the entire bonnet with 1 claybar surface, u will find pretty early on that at the end of that process u effectively only clayed maybe 1/4 to 1/8 of the surface (the cleanest would be at the area where u started), and the rest are pretty much the same. This is because once the claybar picks up contaminants quickly, that claybar surface no longer has the claying power and needs to be folded in and reopen a new surface. The key for absolute contamination removal and clayed clean surface is frequent folding and reopening of new clean claybar surface.

Hope this helps. Feel free to PM me if u need more detailed clarification as sometimes its not as easy to explain the procedure purely with words.
blurcase
post Sep 20 2018, 02:03 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 20 2018, 01:31 PM)
How to remove this whitish around the antenna housing?

The traditional way would be to use IPA (isopropyl alcohol, or rubbing alcohol). Dab some onto your cotton bud and clean those areas.
blurcase
post Sep 20 2018, 10:16 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 20 2018, 08:58 PM)
On top of blurcase had already mentioned...in a nutshell

I havent used 3M for more than 20 years already...so cant really recall the product, but just from the name...it would deduce

- cleaner wax - when ever one dont have time to polish, but want to have a better shine with minor paint correction, then that is the product type to go with

- quick wax - generally for top ups in between wax/polish, its more of a maintenance product. So say, after 4-6 washed, you top it up, they are quick application hence should not take more than 30mins or so maybe lesser for some.

also view the youtube blurcase provide, it has good introductory to the products and its function

2Jay8KUMYb4 its for you as well...generally I like Meguiars, I may be biased. Apart for its quality, I feel its easier to manage in terms of application and cleaning.

There are many products, it all comes to individual preference and budget
I am also a fan of Meguiars. Yes the price is premium, but there are much more support in terms of usage than other brands out there, so getting reviews, how-tos and more knowledge on any Meguiars product is much easier.
blurcase
post Sep 21 2018, 12:07 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 21 2018, 10:32 AM)
Another bad luck day, can these scratches or mark be removed by polish / sanding?

The top line scratch looked like clearcoat was removed, maybe compound can remove the rest of the scratches, but where paint is no more present, nothing compound/polish can do.
blurcase
post Sep 21 2018, 04:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ken_zen @ Sep 21 2018, 03:27 PM)
how frequent should i use the cleaner wax? can i use it straightaway after washing the car? normally, i wash my car every week
Usually ppl only use cleaner wax when car has not been waxed for some time (between weeks to months). Weekly seem like overkill. And it goes without saying that u only use cleaner wax after drying the car, not while the car is wet.

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 21 2018, 03:37 PM)
Just repaint the whole panel 1 week ago and this incident happen again doh.gif Usually do they remove the old paint when they repaint? If no means the old paint still inside this current paint?
They may sand and putty some parts of the paint to level it, but they dont remove the whole paint to repaint.
blurcase
post Sep 24 2018, 10:42 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(EON @ Sep 22 2018, 12:51 AM)
What thing can we apply on car rim to keep it shine? Can we use car sealant / wax to use on it?
Wax yes, I've seen numerous youtubers apply wax to their rims, maybe just dont use the same applicator pad on rims and body paint.

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 22 2018, 10:34 PM)
[attachmentid=10035043]

How to remove this scratches? Just applied sealant and found out this scratches.. anyone can teach me how to remove this scratches?
U probably need to strip your sealant using IPA for that section first, then hand polish it out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLvMeOT0Iko
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQSAhc-2h-E

Some videos to guide u along the way.

On a separate note, anyone wanna get their lifetime supplies of affordable detailing chems, here's a company to consider.

https://www.facebook.com/kleensonmarketing/
blurcase
post Sep 24 2018, 09:57 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Sep 24 2018, 07:13 PM)
Hello everyone, any windshield glass coating that is durable and available locally? Preferbly nanotechnology? Thanks. And no wiper judder.
Try Osren.

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Sep 24 2018, 08:42 PM)
hi guys.

i'm new to detailing, I applied Soft 99 Fusso wax onto my new white car (solid).

the water marks are horrendous (black), and difficult to clean by car wash shampoo, can only cleaned using microfibre + lots of energy when dry.

Any recommended wax can apply on top of the fusso wax to reduce this water mark ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_UXp2ZXls

However, I cannot guarantee that the addition of multi cleaner is safe for your Fusso.

U can look for some carnauba wax to topcoat your fusso as the sacrificial layer. Also, u could consider a spray wax.

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 24 2018, 09:11 PM)
Im newbie in car detailing, i just applied sealant on my car, how can i know the sealant already gone after month? What should we do if we need to reapply sealant to car ?
One of the early signs usually is water beading. The less water beads, the less sealant is left. However, there is also the water sheeting factor. If water no longer sheets off cleanly from your car, then the sealant is definitely gone.

If u find the surface to be rough, u can consider claying before reapplying your sealant. Else u can just apply it anyway.
blurcase
post Sep 24 2018, 11:12 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(SilentForever @ Sep 24 2018, 11:06 PM)
You try it before? How was it?
My friend tried it before, works quite well, water beading on the windshields were quite decent. However, I wouldnt know if the wiper judders. Only thing is its best to polish the windows one round before application.
blurcase
post Sep 26 2018, 01:24 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Sep 25 2018, 08:28 PM)
What compound/ wax that i should use for new car please advise
Please understand compound and wax are 2 different things:

1) Compound is an aggressive liquid/paste "sandpaper" that is meant to remove tough and deep defects on your car (medium scratches, embedded water spots, etc)

2) Polish is a milder liquid/paste "sandpaper" that is meant to remove finer defects on your car (swirls, fine scratches, etc)

3) Wax is a liquid/spray/paste that is meant to ADD protection layer to your car.

So based on the definitions that I had just written, my personal suggestion for off the shelf compound would be Meguiars Ultimate Compound. For car waxes, there are many in the market, u could try the likes of Meguiars Ultimate Wax, Osren wax, or even try Soft99 Fusso Coat.
blurcase
post Sep 26 2018, 02:15 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Sep 26 2018, 12:55 PM)
Meguiars Malaysia is having a warehouse sale. There's professional line along with the retail products as well. Pretty good deals considering how expensive meguiars is in Malaysia. Check it out!
At their USJ office or online? Lazada?
blurcase
post Sep 26 2018, 05:59 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Sep 26 2018, 05:51 PM)
I went to the warehouse for the sale. I'm not too sure if it's discounted online.

Good deals! 20-40% off on most stuff!
Lol, same question then, where is the warehouse?
blurcase
post Sep 28 2018, 11:50 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(EthanHans @ Sep 27 2018, 05:47 PM)
Not sure is it the right place to ask but i need help removing old tints from my headlamp.

The top part of the tint already turned black, probably from the heat from engine. I went to tint shop but they said they cant remove it. Went to car wash shops, can't do it.

Any suggestions how to remove the tint or where can i get it removed (around Klang, Subang, PJ)?
As I know headlamp tinting can be removed by car accessories shop. Try visiting them instead.

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Sep 27 2018, 06:05 PM)
Hi all, there is a Lazada store selling Meguiars product cheaper than Meguiars official store. Real or fake?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/meguiars...ftuwq0&search=1
As far as I know, not heard of fake Meguiars products. Cheaper prices could be because they bring in bulk, or they thin out their profit margin for higher sales.

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 27 2018, 06:38 PM)
[attachmentid=10042167]
[attachmentid=10042168]

I found another scratches on my new car.. Don't know what caused it, after i applied sealant there is no scratches like this.. This scratches is noticeable. Can the methods save this?  Don't know why get so many scratches on my new car..
It could be possible as Zer0Pulse said, improper washing method or something stuck on wash mitt and rubbed over during washing.

The other possibility is when u got ur new car, it was waxed using a wax with fillers to mask the scratches. Now that the wax with fillers have gone, the scratches start to appear.

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 28 2018, 11:13 AM)
What is the budget way to remove watermark on glass (mostly on front windscreen, rear windscreen and side mirror) without using polish machine?
I find that there are few products but I am confused, which one is recommended and best suit for our weather? Also, can IPA remove watermarks?
1. CarPro Spotless
2. SOFT99 Glass Compound Z
3. SOFT99 Glass Stain Cleaner
4. Car Pro CeriGlass

Looks like Compound Z have the output for me, what you think?

I have tried the Soft99 Glass Compound Z long time ago, didnt work. I tried Carpro Spotless and CeriGlass recently, Spotless didnt do much (maybe technique not right), CeriGlass worked okay (still left abit of the harder and etched water marks, but mostly gone). However, I think hand polishing is quite tough to remove it all, because it takes much more effort, best still done with polishing machine.

Sorry but as I know IPA wont do anything to remove watermarks.
blurcase
post Sep 28 2018, 12:04 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(armzzza @ Sep 28 2018, 11:55 AM)
Appreciate everyone opinion which Clay Bar that I should buy ?
3 options in my personal opinion, PermaGlass (PG), Osren or Meguiars. Depends on your budget.

Alternatively, u could also try clay cloth.
blurcase
post Sep 30 2018, 06:09 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 30 2018, 12:19 PM)
Pretty sure they have...obviously some would have ran out
there you go

[attachmentid=10048949]
If u need advice on how to work with Meguiars M105, feel free to PM me. biggrin.gif
blurcase
post Oct 2 2018, 12:38 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Oct 1 2018, 11:21 AM)
The watermark only visible at the dark area at windscreen and rear windscreen near the wiper arm which I believe could not be reached by machine. Based on the photo, do the watermarks consider deep or light? For me Soft99 Glass Compound Z videos looks promising but seems like couldn't find it in local market. Does these products safe to use on side mirror and headlamps?
There is a stone chip on windscreen, should I get a 'doctor' to treat it first or refresh the glass first? Well, might as well to ask is there any DIY method to repair the stone chip shown in the photo and does it hard to DIY without professional skills?
user posted image user posted image
Actually from experience, 3" pads can work the sides/top/bottom of front and rear windscreen quite well. Only very close to a standing wiper based will be a challenge, so that part usually go in by hand.

Honestly it is hard to tell if your watermarks are deep or light from photos. The only way to know is once u have used the glass polish 1-2 rounds on the affected area, u may see most of it gone but at certain angles can still see very small donts of watermarks left. The one glance from 5ft distance should probably look clear.

I think Soft99 Glass Compound Z is quite an old product and no longer in the market. I was also sold by its advertising videos back then, but in reality it doesnt work anywhere near as good. For a more current tech product, perhaps u could try Carpro Ceriglass instead.

No, please do not use this glass-specific products on side mirror and headlamps. Side mirror is especially a big no-no, as the so-called glass material is very different from your windows and from my reading, polishing will most likely permanently scratch it. For headlamps, I would suggest for u to assess the headlamp condition first, as most newer car headlamps have been sprayed with some special clearcoat. Unless your headlamp clearcoat is peeling, yellowing, or even hazy now, then only u should consider wet-sanding with very fine grit sandpaper, followed by normal car compound and polish.

For the stone chip, from the picture it looks quite serious, so I suggest bringing it to a pro to assess. If the chip is serious enough that it starts to crack more when driving (and wind pushing into the crack and opening it more), then it definitely should be repaired first prior to doing other things with your windshield.

I have not tried windshield repairs DIY, but from videos it seems to look simple enough. Only way to know is to buy a kit and try it yourself.

QUOTE(N33d @ Oct 1 2018, 08:10 PM)
i hate to wash my rims since brake pad change..
degreaser/apc now not able to release those iron particles and clean the rims even with some brushing anymore.. so far, only acidic rim cleaner does the job

i could literally finish 1L of rim cleaner in like 4-6 weeks.. very uneconomical to me

Just contacted cartec about their wheel cleaner in gallon size.. wanna try and see...
During my car wash days, we also encounter many BMW and Mercs that have the same issue. I think the typical soaps or APC dont have the breaking down or cleaning power as compared to acidic/alkaline based cleaners.

Just a word of caution when using Cartec Wheel Cleaner, it is alkaline in PH level, so its spray vapours and mist can sting and should avoid breathing it in at all costs. When spraying u should try to set your sprayer head to less mist and more squirt. If the sprayer head is set tightly to high mist setting, ur chance of getting the mist blowing into the wind and hitting your eyes and accidentally breathing in is quite high. So loosen the sprayer head setting to single line squirt, then tighten it bit by bit to a slightly wider squirt but minimal mist.

Also, while the Cartec Wheel Cleaner is dilutable, if possible your spray bottle head should also use one that is highly chemical resistant. So far as I experienced, the grey head type of sprayer head isnt as chemical resistant to alkaline and its internal parts eventually fail, but the black head sprayer is much more resistant. The head is sold by SGCB distributor in Puchong.

https://www.facebook.com/sgcbautocaremalays...?type=3&theater

Just my 2 sen experience, hope it helps.

52 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0440sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:38 AM