Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Sep 2 2018, 06:56 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Sep 2 2018, 01:34 PM)
is this product good for polishing or got any other affordable polish and cleaner? will be using it for my 12 years old myvi..ebony black colour.

I think it is okay to use if u are on a budget. However, I prefer to suggest using a better polish pad than what they provided. Perhaps consider getting a polish pad from Osren.
blurcase
post Sep 3 2018, 11:56 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Sep 3 2018, 12:45 PM)
Hello guys, yesterday, first time did full wax on my car, result was okay but some parts I was not really sure.
1. For meguiars paste wax, I let it cure for 3-5 mins then when I proceed to wipe off, they have this flaky wax residue, is it normal? 

Previously I did mention my hood have some water marks and unfortunately,  the wax didn't manage to remove the marks.
2. So should I use compound and polish off the water marks??

Lastly, after waxing yesterday, it rained for the whole freaking day, the water beadings sit on the paint in the shopping mall carpark as I tried to escape the rain. It dried off and left marks as well, so much for effort for waxing.
3. So I wanna know what you guys do after the car has been in the rain.
My answers to your questions:

1) Yes, the flaky wax residue is expected, however it should be very minimal. If u find too much flakes during buff off, means your application too thick. Apply thinner next time, as thin as possible.

2) Yes, unfortunately not all water marks (especially older and more hardened ones) can be removed by waxing alone. U may want to try polish first, and if that doesnt remove, then move up to compounding.

3) Bring forward your next wash if u want. However, just bear in mind, like it or not rain will come and "spoil" your efforts. That is part and parcel of living in our weather. For me after I did all the detailing and it rains, if I semangat I will wipe with damp microfiber cloth to clean it off. Else, I will just bring forward my next wash cycle earlier. If really lazy, then I screw it and leave it until next proper wash day. The joy comes from the process for me, not so much of preserving my efforts too much.

QUOTE(panhai @ Sep 3 2018, 05:36 PM)
hi i have question for all sifu, my car has a coating but the surface is a bit bumpy when i touch it. how to i remove those dirt without removing the ceramic coating? can i use clay bar? pls advise. thanks
That question is best answered by your coating supplier in my opinion. Only he/she will know what is suitable to remove such bumps u feel.

QUOTE(slk @ Sep 3 2018, 09:07 PM)
how do you guys use SuperClean? neat or diluted? if diluted, what's the dilution ratio?
Currently neat, but plan to phase out SuperClean for Megs super degreaser 10:1 ratio. From a chemical formulation standpoint, they are both very similar, so I think Megs will give me much more value for money.

From what I recall, Scott from Dallas auto paint correction channel mentioned that u can dilute 1:1 or 2:1 and it still works just as good.
blurcase
post Sep 4 2018, 01:58 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Sep 4 2018, 11:55 AM)
Can recommend me brands for polish and compound?

And also, for washing towels. Videos suggest, throwing them in washing machine, some swear by hot water and some say hot water spoils the microfiber, which is which?
Mmm, for home use, u can either get Meguiars Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish, or can visit Osren in Kepong and see what they recommend.

For me I pretty much do the same of throwing them into washing machine, however I put them into laundry bag (can buy from Daiso). This helps reduce the amount of lint transfer from washing machine to towel, and also reduce chance of stretching the towel also. I dont bother with water temperature because my washing machine cant do hot water anyway, just use the normal water from tap joined into washing machine.
blurcase
post Sep 7 2018, 08:48 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Sep 6 2018, 11:10 PM)
Anyone uses megs D140 here? Wheel brightener. The cleaning power on the rim abit sux.
I used it before, decent cleaning power. How u use it on ur rims?

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Sep 7 2018, 01:07 AM)

Any ideal what type of glue or double-sided-tape suitable for car? Try to stick back the "E"...

Thanks in advance  :thumbsup:
Commonly used is 3M mounting tape, grey colour.

https://www.lelong.com.my/3m-adhesive-stick...9-04-Sale-P.htm
blurcase
post Sep 7 2018, 10:22 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Sep 7 2018, 09:02 AM)
Spray, leave it for 30 seconds and brush.

Would a iron fallout remover works better?
U are using it to clean just the outer surface, or to clean the inner rim as well? U using it diluted or neat?

As I recall, Megs Wheel Brightener is acid based, its cleaning power isnt that different from the alkaline based ones (at least visually speaking). If u are interested to try the opposite spectrum, u can either try Megs Super Degreaser or SuperClean Degreaser.
blurcase
post Sep 7 2018, 03:17 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Sep 7 2018, 10:31 AM)
I use super degrease for tires, it works well but need a lot brushing and elbow power. And probably around 3 rounds of brushing. Diluted 1:4. Works fine and I've still got a lot so I don't plan to try out another products.

Wheel brightener (rim) I use it for outer surface and once in a while inner rim. Lacking cleaning power probably due to brush quality (low density) if not due to the product.. Been eyeing on the iron fallout but they said it looks good but the cleaning power worse than wheel brightener

To finish off, of course is megs endurance tire gel
U can also try using your Super Degreaser for your rims, see if it helps cleaning faster.

QUOTE(andreas @ Sep 7 2018, 12:08 PM)
hi, im looking for new compound. been using osren nao 46, wit DAP15. using microfiber pad. i think it can remove 90% of scratch, swirl n watermark. any opinion on compound which give similar effect as osren, as it give good shine after applying it. tq
Hmm, u sound like u are comfortable with ur current combination. Why change? Unless u have an issue that u cant solve.
blurcase
post Sep 7 2018, 06:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Sep 7 2018, 03:47 PM)
Will try  hmm.gif But wheel brightener for tires is a big no-no because acidic.

Do you wipe rim with microfibre clothes after washing and do you wax your it?
Yes, I stopped using Wheel Brightener because there were times that the spray mist caught on my specs and permanently etched in (even though diluted), so I worry on long term use.

However, just to be fair Super Degreaser, SuperClean Degreaser and other alkaline based wheel cleaners arent all the better, because accidentally breathing their mist in the wind can be bad for u. So overall, I would say handle with care.

Honestly, no, I dont generally wipe my rims after washing not do I wax them. With a long time cleaning cars I dont find rims to have any water spotting issues, so unless there is tremendous excess amount of water after I finish wiping the rest of the car, most of the time it would be dry by then.

QUOTE(andreas @ Sep 7 2018, 04:28 PM)
i prefer product available to buy at lazada cz lazada has lots of vouchers, promo n cheaper delivery fee..thats all.
U could try Meguiars M101 or D300 if u like. smile.gif
blurcase
post Sep 8 2018, 09:48 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(EON @ Sep 7 2018, 09:47 PM)
Are we able to do coating by ourself? Ive seen a lot of people selling mr fix car coating in lazada.. have anyone tried diy coating ?
Yes, it is possible to do coating by yourself. However, dont be fooled to think that just because can DIY means it is easy. It requires alot of prep work as well as a cool shaded environment.
blurcase
post Sep 8 2018, 11:22 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(EON @ Sep 8 2018, 10:27 AM)
I thought the instructions just to deep clean the car, wipe it , and apply coating on the car?
If only it were that simple, then coating shops wouldnt charge so much, lol.

Sorry, but as far as my experience goes as well as seeing many other detailing shops in the past and present, the process is a fairly lengthy one. Just share with u a simple flow if DIY:

1) Wash (1 hour)
2) Clay (1-2 hours)
3) Compound/Polish (1-2 days)
4) IPA cleanse / re-wash (1 hour)
5) Apply coating on 1 section, buff off within a certain time limit before it becomes too hard. Use 1-3 microfiber towels for buffing process. Work section by section until complete. (2-4 hours)
6) Leave for it to completely cure (8-24 hours)
7) Throw away microfiber towels used (residue of coating will harden towel and render it useless for car detailing.

U can leave out compound/polish if u want, but a majority of ppl will tell u it is a waste of coating if u dont remove your defects first.

The trickiest part is the coating buff off. Due to its nature of curing, u generally need to buff off before it cures too much, else it would be almost impossible to buff off and end up u have to strip the section with IPA and reapply again. The curing time depends on your surrounding's temperature, too warm and it dries too fast before u get to buff off, too cold and the curing very slow and u can risk accidental smudges.

In any case this is just based on my experience and knowledge. Dont take my word for it, please do your research also. Here are some videos for your review.

Anyone has more experience, feel free to correct me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URzgY-tN5pA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXynw5a6EZo
blurcase
post Sep 8 2018, 04:23 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(EON @ Sep 8 2018, 12:25 PM)
But for coating a new car i dont think it needs to be clay or polish right?
Exactly as per douglas_tong's comments. I wish to emphasize on the fact that all cars, no matter how freshly manufactured, will be stored at a storage area while awaiting delivery to final customer. A majority of car distributors will order more cars to anticipate demand, which means the cars are built first, stored, then when dealers make a sale then they go take your selected car for some basic cleaning and simple touchups or maybe a simple coat of quick wax before handing it over to u. The time period in between build and sale, your car will be in a storage area, which from what I have seen most often are open air and subjected to sun and rain.

If u want proof of whether your car need to be clayed or not, wear a thin plastic bag on your hand and gently slide your plastic bagged hand across any of your car body surface. If its rough, then it needs claying. If u want to know if your car needs polish, take a torchlight and shine on any particular panel of your car in multiple different angles and see if your car has swirls.

I have seen some cheap coating shops that tie in with car dealers will coat a car without removing any defects or contaminants. Within few months the coating fails because proper prep work not done.

This post has been edited by blurcase: Sep 8 2018, 04:24 PM
blurcase
post Sep 10 2018, 07:07 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Sep 10 2018, 01:22 AM)
Guys wanna ask if do car wrap with minor scratches and chip on the paint, will it be okay? hmm.gif
Erm, scratches maybe okay, but paint chip should make sure it did not hit down to bare metal. Else it is possible for rust to form even after wrap.

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Sep 10 2018, 05:57 PM)
Any thorough car wash to recommend? Those take out seats to clean up type is preferred. Suspect my car is infested by big red ants.
Hmm, possibly what u need is not a car wash but a sort of car restoration shop. U need specialists that know how to strip entire interiors and remove all your red ants before putting them back.
blurcase
post Sep 10 2018, 10:23 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Sep 10 2018, 08:37 PM)
Whats everyone's go-to sealant and wax combo? Preferably able to purchase locally.
Mine is Carpro Reload for sealant, bought Fusso Coat wax but yet to try. Both can be bought locally.

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Sep 10 2018, 09:17 PM)
blurcase I understand that we should not clay the car frequently, my question is, since we need to fully clean the car surface before waxing, how to clean the area near the wheel where those tar/ whatever contaminants that's stuck there without claying? If i run my finger over that area, i can still feel bumpy.
For lower sections of the car especially closer to the wheels, I will do 2 steps of cleansing. First would be using tar remover, that should be done maybe 2-3 rounds especially for stubborn tar spots. After tar removal and washed off properly, then only I go in and clay.

An interesting and important point about clay is that it is only effective when the surface is clean. So, if u run into a situation where u clay once and it still feels bumpy, fold your claybar inwards a few times and flatten out a new fresh surface and continue. I tend to clay each section with 4 or more clean clay surfaces to get it almost 100% clean. Applying more pressure on a clay surface is counter productive, because the clay surface is already dirty and pressing it harder only rubs the contaminants onto the paint and scratching/marring it. The key is repetition, not aggressiveness when it comes to claying.

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Sep 10 2018, 09:29 PM)
Any recommendations?
https://www.facebook.com/carzoneinterior/

You could try give them a call first, see if they can do a complete interior cleaning for u. Tell them the problem u are facing.

Personally, I had handled one issue similar to yours before during my detailing shop days. Customer's driver parked under some tree not knowing that there was an ants nest next to it. Ants crawled in and made the car its new home. I pretty much smoked them out using bug spray, sprayed it in the car and closed all the doors. Did it 2-3 rounds, then let the ants die, then did a complete interior wipedown and vacuum all the dead ants. Customer said no more issues after that.

blurcase
post Sep 11 2018, 11:27 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Hanzo @ Sep 11 2018, 10:36 AM)
anyone did car engine bay cleaning before? is it advisable to clean the engine bay so it looks cleaner and almost brand new?
Yes, I have done it before, but not the type where u hose down the entire engine bay. I do more of a "dry cleaning" method, whereby I spray specific areas with Meguiars Super Degreaser, agitate with brush, then wipe dry with microfiber towel. I do it section by section.

However, to avoid having to do a deep clean of the engine bay, the simple trick is to to do a wipedown with a damp microfiber towel on the engine bay after every car wash at home. That way the dirt and grime dont accumulate as much. Same goes for door jambs and boot/bonnet covers.
blurcase
post Sep 11 2018, 12:56 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Sep 11 2018, 12:47 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation.
Ow..... U were in this business before huh
Yup, unfortunately didnt go far. However the experience was valuable. U get to see all kinds of car owners and their detailing preferences. smile.gif
blurcase
post Sep 11 2018, 02:58 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Sep 11 2018, 01:02 PM)
Meaning you would clay the car each time you wanna wax it?
BTW where and what brand should I get for tar removal, and tar removal only do for the btm section near the tyres??
Since u brought this up, the answer is no. I do not necessarily clay each time I want to wax. I wanted to write this earlier but stopped because I dont want to share the lazy man's way of doing things and end up kena bash just because its not best practice. A perfectionist would always tell u to clay prior to applying any form of protection, because u want maximum bonding power to your paint. However, I struggle to fully agree with that statement because alot of these things we cant truly see. Each to their own experience based on the products they use.

Honestly, I only clay in either one of these situations:

1) prior to polishing
2) if I have not waxed for long time and all the wax are totally gone from my car already (easily 6 months or more of no waxing)

Also, as douglas_tong just mentioned, there will be the concern of contaminants embedded on the paint, and when applying paste/liquid waxes, the pad may pull some of those contaminants out, stick to the pad and mar the rest of the paint. For me, I am not as particular, so I may just wax my car without claying anyway even though the contaminants come off and stick to the pad. However, tar removal is something I will still definitely do prior to waxing.

For tar removal, I find Osren's Tar Remover to be quite decent. One user here also recommended Stoner Tarminator, which so far I can only find in Lazada and not in any physical shop.
blurcase
post Sep 11 2018, 07:46 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ Sep 11 2018, 05:40 PM)
How to solve rubber noise especially on B pillar when driving on uneven road?
U mean rubber squeaking? Maybe apply some oil?
blurcase
post Sep 14 2018, 06:40 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 14 2018, 05:20 PM)
Anyone can recommend a wax / sealant that provides good shine and water repel? Budget ard 60-80
U could check out the variety of Soft99 waxes, they are mostly within your budget range. Alternative u can try visiting Osren and see what they have to offer.
blurcase
post Sep 16 2018, 10:56 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Sep 16 2018, 10:06 AM)
anyone can suggest me good way to remove scratch on my car..it keeps getting scratch here and there or maybe better i just spray new paint entire car..haha..or can we spray clear coat only?

did a mistake, using soft99 blue tin..test it on my bumper, the paint getting hazy, blur..didnt shine..maybe need to use other brand polish..
now getting frustrated...thinking to send the car to pro for polish, later i wax it on my own
Erm, maybe u could share first what make and model of your car, and also if your car paint is original or repainted by 3rd party? What applicatir pad did u use with the soft99 polish?

By some accounts, the soft99 blue tin polish can be abit aggressive, thus not able to provide the final shine. Also, bumpers paint are usually sprayed by third party and not the manufacturer themselves, so it is possible that the bumper clearcoat is softer. Hand polishing is always a delicate matter, as for the inexperienced, your hand pressure on the bad may be too hard.

If u are looking for alternative products and based in KL, u can try pop by Osren office in Kepong to see what they recommend. U can also msg them online if u are outstation and ask for a polish and pad for u to use for hand polishing purposes.

For other brands, u could also try Meguiars Ultimate Polish for mild scratches and hazing, and Meguiars Ultimate compound for more severe scratches and other defects. Pad wise its still best to get from Osren, cuz Meguiars dont have hand polish pads sold locally.

Hope this helps.
blurcase
post Sep 16 2018, 11:59 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Sep 16 2018, 11:52 AM)
its a myvi year 2006..ebony black..original paint..thinking to get meguairs..as i saw good review on youtube channel ( racket and wretch)..but the price on high side..

last week i went back to my hometown..clean, clay and wash it with  PG product..i didnt see the scratch..later wax it with soft 99 king of gloss..and drive the car to KL..today i want to bring it for a wash..i saw some new scratch..
Perhaps u could pay a visit to Osren then. They have both polish and pads selection, so u can find a combo that suits your needs and your car type.
blurcase
post Sep 16 2018, 08:58 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Sep 16 2018, 01:53 PM)
just wash my car..got 1 more problem..how to repair my front bonnet?..the colour getting hazzy blur like that..already wax..but didnt solve it..need to use rubbing compound?

My thoughts are 2 possibilities:

1) haziness due to severe scratch marks (like sanding your car with sandpaper)
2) haziness due to clearcoat starting to fail

As u just mentioned that u park it in the open all the time, there is a higher possibility of problem 2 instead of problem 1.

U could try to compound and polish by hand to see if the haziness goes away and shine comes back.

Also, as douglas_tong mentioned, try to feel the surface if it is rough or flaky. If it is then even higher possibility of problem 2.

The only way to solve clearcoat failure as I know is to send it to paintshop and respray your clearcoat. If anyone has other ideas that doesnt involve respraying, please feel free to share.

52 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.5767sec    1.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:38 AM