Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

windskill
post Aug 30 2016, 01:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Aug 25 2016, 08:06 PM)
Give the new Nano Wash 2.0 a try...

lagi shiok.... try it with a PW foam gun

Hmm can't find any information related to nano wash 2.0 from Google or official website. Is this a normal car shampoo without wax? How's the dilution ratio?
windskill
post Aug 31 2016, 01:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Aug 30 2016, 07:28 PM)
its a new product... pending label readiness... Pure shampoo without wax. dilution ratio 400:1
Wow that's cool. Dilution ratio 1:400 seems to be similar to Meguiars Hyper Wash! If the price is cheaper than Hyper Wash (meguiars malaysia quoted me RM250+ per gallon), it will definitely be a good bargain!
windskill
post Sep 1 2016, 09:48 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Aug 31 2016, 08:59 AM)
its RM65 smile.gif
I can't wait this to release officially and try it out! drool.gif drool.gif
windskill
post Sep 2 2016, 09:36 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Sep 2 2016, 10:06 AM)
Hi all, anyone here tried those car detailing voucher that bought from Groupon? Many claim that they using Meguaria products for washing, polishing and waxing with price below 100.. this making me doubt is that true?
I guess it's just a simple wash and apply AIO. Probably that's true.
windskill
post Sep 9 2016, 02:38 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 7 2016, 04:49 PM)
anyone heard or use this product before?

http://wanita.cari.com.my/forum.php?mod=vi...ead&tid=1013242

what's this "Ion" coating?
Hmm based on the descriptions, the ion concept is to make the bonding between the paint and wax better.
Heard of this Taihokohzai wax before, but I have never used this before. Probably you can try it out and let us know biggrin.gif .

If you don't want to take any risk, but you still prefer Japanese wax, you can go for soft99 fusso coat 12 months (年間防水).

This post has been edited by windskill: Sep 9 2016, 02:40 PM
windskill
post Sep 12 2016, 09:22 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Sep 10 2016, 09:33 PM)
Just wondering if by any chance you have used fusso coat 12 months black before? If yes does it leave a thin white layer after exposed to heat?
All this while I use soft99 king of gloss (KOG) instead of fusso coat, as I wanted to try out something that's less mainstream haha. biggrin.gif

Thin white layer? Did you buff off your wax with microfiber towel after you have applied the wax?

This post has been edited by windskill: Sep 13 2016, 05:05 PM
windskill
post Sep 13 2016, 09:45 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Sep 12 2016, 11:46 PM)
Yes I did use a wax off micro Fibre cloth for the job. Anyway I never use fusso coat black before. I'm using some China made generic wax for black car which gives the same beading result like fusso coat but the generic wax would leave a white layer on the paint surface few days later after applying the wax.

If fusso coat 12 months does not gives such issue then I would get one. Love the serious water beading indeed.

BTW,  are you using soft 99 king of gloss for black car? I just check the video the gloss seems stunning.
Nope I don't think fusso coat will leave a white layer thing on the surface. At least for KOG, it didn't give me such problem.
I use it on my red color car. Yeap the gloss it's absolutely stunning smile.gif
windskill
post Sep 13 2016, 09:47 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(syedkamal92 @ Sep 12 2016, 03:54 AM)
hi... need advice here

too tired for polish whole car by hand, so im thinking try polisher mashine.. any recommend?

if i take  Meguiar's G3500INT DA Power System, can i use another brand of pads?

meguiar pad's price tooooo pricy lol
Yes you can use other pad as long as it fits nicely smile.gif
windskill
post Sep 14 2016, 10:18 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Sep 13 2016, 06:39 PM)
Guess I will look for king of gloss for dark car then.
Okay..For KOG, the buff-off is easy. However, I noticed (sometimes) the application will cause some wax residue (wax lump together) to come out. Still trying to figure out what's going on.
In term of durability, the wax lasts about 1 month-ish.

I am currently testing on outdoor car (full 24 hours park outdoor) to see how long it can last.
windskill
post Sep 26 2016, 01:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Ericz @ Sep 24 2016, 02:43 PM)
Hi Guys, not sure if this is the right place to ask.
This type of roof liner material, what it is called? Is it Fabric type? (Maybe got the wrong keyword so didn't much search results)

[attachmentid=7598653]

To me this type is very delicate and need to handle with extra care  hmm.gif  can't just wipe to clean it.
Any approach to clean the spot on the left side?

Maybe can't really tell from the picture. I just did the top tinting strip (shade band) on the front windscreen, that 'stain' is not there earlier so it must be the water/chemical thingy that they spray kena the roof.
When I run my finger on it it feel rough and 'hardened', like kena super glue  hmm.gif 

I'm kind of an OCD person so it bothers me unsure.gif

You can look for steam cleaning service. Most likely can clean the dirty gunk.
windskill
post Sep 29 2016, 10:34 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Sep 28 2016, 08:37 PM)
Guys need help

I have skill polisher

What is the purpose for wool type  pad?

Sponge?

I have no problem using sponge pad for body but it scratches my windscreen.

Also i need to polish my headlamp.

Any tips?
Wool pad usually provides more cutting power compared to sponge pad.

To polish headlamp with minor oxidation, you can use a smaller size pad to polish the headlamp.
If the oxidation is severe, usually I would sand it before polish. But make sure you have the correct tool and technique to remove the sanding marks.

windskill
post Sep 29 2016, 01:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(magnesium @ Sep 29 2016, 10:42 AM)
Thanks for replying

Any idea where to get wool pad?  Or polisher accessories?

Went to ace hardware twice but dont have

At mudah.my selling in package with just one wool pad.

For the headlamp, on April i have sent my car for body painting and they did polish the headlamp until crystal clear and they just use G3 polish compound. Now just want to maintain that crystal look.

Do you have any method how to polish windscreen?
Wool pad you can get from Osren (they have LC purple foam wool pad and LC 8" wool pad if i am not mistaken). Or you can look for Antirain in FB. Meguiars Hypercoat might have too.
As I mentioned previously, the method is dependent on the initial oxidation condition (some headlamp even have old coat that peeled off). Sometimes, just purely polishing without sanding for too severe oxidized headlamp cannot produce astonishing result.

So far I haven't tried to polish windscreen by using machine. All the works are done by hands. I used Osren watermark remover to polish windscreen (just to remove watermark stains). I have tried out the same product and method to remove glass scratches, but it is not effective. I think it makes sense. Because glass is quite tough and by using hand, most likely I can't achieve the result. Plus, the product might not contain ingredient which is capable to abrade glass surface (eg: cerium oxide).
windskill
post Oct 5 2016, 01:48 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Oct 4 2016, 06:43 PM)
Just wondering if any have any interesting tools to share.
Those which are not categorised under detailing tools but is applicable for detailing uses.

i would share but some of my tools are in my car, which is in the workshop under repair cause kena cucuk belakang.

I use make up brushes for interior cleaning on vents and difficult areas.
I used to use water bottle brush to clean car rims but recently just bought a decent brush to clean rims biggrin.gif
windskill
post Oct 8 2016, 07:25 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Oct 6 2016, 01:37 AM)
Guys, i found out after done compound on 25/10, swirl marks still visible on my car boot. will check on my bonnet when i can.
what is the reason swirl mark still visible after done compound? was it not done correctly?
i use the two pail system but haven't get the grit guard, but i try not to stir too hard.

will consider to get grit guard from osren.  anyone know how much are theirs?
Meguair's cost around RM70 i feel is too expansive..
talking about pressure washer, i have a unit but too lazy to use it. is it recommended after i've done paste waxing? will the pressure washer somehow remove the wax because of the high pressure? lol

also i have trouble cleaning my MF cloth after buffing of the paste wax. any advise?
thanks!
What kind of compound did you use?
IMO, there are a few reasons. It can be either you did not completely remove the swirl marks during compounding. Or the buffing process caused swirl marks. Or the compound product did not break down completely.

Try to put some warm water (besides detergent) to clean your microfiber cloth which is used to buff-off wax. It works for me. smile.gif

This post has been edited by windskill: Oct 8 2016, 07:26 PM
windskill
post Oct 10 2016, 10:09 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 10 2016, 09:09 AM)
i see, i see =(

i'm already very light handed already when applying the wax, just a 1/8 of a turn and i applied very light pressure while applying and still this occurred =/

i guess the form applicator that comes with the wax isn't really good -.- i'm going to use the Meguiars applicator for my other parts and see if this problem happens.

thanks for your insight =D i thought for a minute that i "burned" the paint =(
I don't recommend using the sponge that comes with the fusso coat. I feel it's quite rough and not safe to use on paint.
As others have mentioned, the oily stains could be due to thick wax. Or probably you didn't buff-off your wax properly at that spot after wax application?
windskill
post Oct 10 2016, 01:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 10 2016, 11:42 AM)
XD "Sun-Goku"

ahh, i already took very little from the can itself. just one-eighth of a turn and I didn't even applied any downward pressure while doing so =/ i "think" i just barely grazed the wax from its can T___T
yeah =/ i feel that the stock applicator has quite a rough texture to the touch but surprisingly, it didn't not leave any swirl or find marring marks on the paint but just to be safe, i'll switch to using the Meguiars applicator pads.

i also thought initially that it was from me not buffing off the wax properly so i tried by applying a thin wax on a small surface area and then immediately wiping it off but the oil stains developed almost immediately -.-
Hmmm that's weird. I am using soft99 wax as well, but I don't have any oil stain issue as you mentioned. The only chance I get the oil stain is when I missed out the spot when buffing off the wax. If I left the stains there, the stains will disappear after a few days.

UPDATE

Just searched in Google and found this:
http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/arch...p/t-328751.html

I don't think it matters how long you leave it. It comes off so easily. If you take it off too soon it can leave an oil like residue. This is fine as it dissipates with time, just don't drive your car until it has as dirt loves to stick to it. Ask me how I know? laugh.gif

Personally, I have found applying to the whole car and then removing in the usual manner is about right. I do ensure to go over with a clean long pile MF as a final buff though just to help the residue dissipate.

Is it because you buff-off your wax just immediately after you have applied on the surface?

This post has been edited by windskill: Oct 10 2016, 01:20 PM
windskill
post Oct 14 2016, 01:27 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Oct 13 2016, 07:41 PM)
Anyone here tried to use autosol metal polish to polish car scratches before? Found it in YouTube, wondering whether will it cause any damage to the car paint and the effect on clear coating..
Hmm I have no idea about this one. Maybe the abrasive particle is too abrasive to the delicate clearcoat. I would suggest you not to take the risk, unless you want to experiment it on a scraped test panel biggrin.gif

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Oct 13 2016, 10:23 PM)
Hey guys, I got a question.

I waxed my car with meguiars ultimate paste wax once a month. I feel that the waxing feel reduce after I wash my car every week. I only use normal wash n wax car wash from jusco.

Any product that can use after every car wash (before next waxing time) to prolong the wax and give my car shiny look?

I am thinking of meguiars quik detailer mist and wipe, meguiars ultimate quik detailer and meguiars ultimate quik wax. Or I should also change to a better car wash shampoo?

Any suggestion and why?
It could be the surfactant from the car shampoo make you think the car wax is no longer there. Nevertheless, car wax does diminish over the period due to environmental factor/temperature/moisture/etc.
To prolong your existing wax, you may use spray wax (eg: Meguiars Ultimate Quik Wax) as a "topper" to your existing wax.

QUOTE(JML @ Oct 14 2016, 01:00 AM)
hi guys

i use the two pail system but haven't get the grit guard, but i try not to stir too hard.

will consider to get grit guard from osren. anyone know how much are theirs?
Meguair's cost around RM70 i feel is too expansive..
talking about pressure washer, i have a unit but too lazy to use it. is it recommended after i've done paste waxing? will the pressure washer somehow remove the wax because of the high pressure? lol
There might be a chance that the high pressure of the water stream remove the wax. I might be wrong. smile.gif
Not sure there's any experiment to verify on this myth? Haha
windskill
post Oct 15 2016, 11:02 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Oct 15 2016, 10:36 AM)
Any situ can shed some lights on how to get rid of the glue on the w/s? I tore down My tint for Puspakom inspection! Or rather which product to use? Thanks!
Go to Ace hardware and search for Goo Gone to remove adhesive residue (https://www.amazon.com/Goo-Gone-Original-Liquid-Adhesive/dp/B00006IBNJ)
Alternative is to use tar remover.

windskill
post Oct 25 2016, 04:39 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Oct 25 2016, 04:34 PM)
I remember someone mentioned here that 'water sheeting' is more important that 'water beading' to prevent water marks.

Can anyone please suggests methods for a good 'water sheeting'? I had my car coated and the water marks are just so terrible!
It's common issue faced by coated car. Suggested method is to have a top coat (which is a soft coat) to serve as "sacrificial layer". And it usually has strong water repellency/water sheeting ability.
May I know what kind of coating you are using right now? From what I know, some are really easy to get watermarks.
windskill
post Oct 26 2016, 08:38 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(FatGrass91 @ Oct 25 2016, 07:58 PM)
Guys need help here, recently me car kena hit by small stone on highway

Any remedy for this??  icon_question.gif

[attachmentid=7866233]
[attachmentid=7866235]
[attachmentid=7866237]
Touch-up paint.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:00 PM