6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

windskill
post Jul 14 2016, 03:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Jul 14 2016, 07:46 AM)
Yeah, they did polish and wax your car but what they did not do was to correct your car.
All in one polish + wax have lesser abrasives so you may not entirely correct the car.

4 years, might be best to start from scratch again smile.gif otherwise send it to the experts.

It took me from White/Black Wax > Swirl X > Ultimate Compound to truely correct certain panels.
Even that, I did not get the swirls off completely (there are still hairline swirls but I can live with that).

I'm just missing the all important DA!
Where do you stay? I can borrow my DAS-6 8mm DA to you if we stay nearby smile.gif
windskill
post Jul 17 2016, 04:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Jul 17 2016, 01:17 AM)
Rubbing the wax out is kinda tired too hahaha
U mean after apply wax, the process of wiping (buffing) it off?
If you applied too much wax or applied too thick, you may experience difficulty to buff off the wax. Apply thin layer of wax is enough. Save wax, save cost and save your buffing time smile.gif

This post has been edited by windskill: Jul 17 2016, 05:00 PM
windskill
post Jul 18 2016, 10:06 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Jul 18 2016, 08:22 AM)
Ya, wiping it off..  Alright thanks man! And when applying the wax I dont really have to put alot of strength applying the wax? Do you own a machine as well?
A little bit strength is enough to layer the wax, as long as you can get every area cover evenly with the product. Yes, I do own machine, but when it comes to wax application, I usually apply wax by hand smile.gif
windskill
post Jul 18 2016, 03:11 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(hockwei123456 @ Jul 18 2016, 01:44 PM)
Thanks for the tip!
Enjoy detailing ! BTW, what kind of wax are you using? Meguiars wax?
windskill
post Jul 19 2016, 11:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jul 19 2016, 06:20 PM)
Hi bros
I'm adamant with my regiment of washing, claying, polish, and wax twice every time.

My question is this: what the fuck is a sealant? what does it do?
Quoted from somewhere else :
http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showt...a-paint-sealant

Car Wax
On discussion forums, most people think of a car wax as something that contains some kind of naturally occurring wax, as in a type of wax that is found in nature, for example Carnauba wax is the most commonly used naturally occurring wax used in car wax formulations.

Paint Sealants
On discussion forums, most people think of a paint sealant as something made from synthetic polymers with no naturally occurring wax type substance or other naturally occurring ingredients.
windskill
post Jul 20 2016, 01:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Jul 20 2016, 01:45 PM)
Anyone knows where to find a good brush/other tool to clean wheels (painted wheels)?
I'm using those sponge pads with microfiber cloth. Find it real time consuming to get all the nooks and crannys.
Hmm....I think the safest tool to clean painted rim is to use wheel woolies, but it will be costly.
You can try to get the brush which is used to wash bottle to clean your rims. The bristle of the brush is soft and should be safe for painted rim. Just my suggestion smile.gif

Add-on a paint brush to wash lug nut hole can save your time too!

This post has been edited by windskill: Jul 20 2016, 01:58 PM
windskill
post Jul 20 2016, 02:30 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Jul 20 2016, 02:10 PM)
Thanks! Did a quick search and it costs over USD40 overseas.. costly indeed, but might be a worthwhile tool if it can last for quite awhile (any ideas on its durability? will it become shredded/damaged after couple of uses?).
Any ideas where we can get those wheel woolies locally or if we have a local producer which would make it cheaper?

Oh.. I did toy with the idea of using wash bottle brushes but could not until now find a suitable one. All the ones i've looked at seemed too stiff and like it would scratch painted surfaces. Also the middle of the brush is usually made of metal.. kindda worried on that. Do you have a particular brand that maybe i have missed?

Thanks again! smile.gif
Yea you are right. You have to be careful when using the bottle brush, especially the middle metal part + the bristle is not too thick to cover the metal stick. Erm, I don't have any particular brand in my mind.

Nope, I don't think there is local producer for wheel woolies currently sad.gif
windskill
post Jul 20 2016, 11:39 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 20 2016, 05:36 PM)
hmmm actually it is indeed hard to find a good wheel woolie here. in fact no one in my list that sells.
But closes would be antirain. link
quality is ok for the price of RM 10. very soft though.
Oh cool it's RM10 only? I thought it will be more than RM20. Is the bristle made of plastic-like material?

Currently I am using the brush like this...it's very soft like hair. Long enough to go deep into the wheel rim. But I find that it is difficult to go into the gap between the brake caliper and rim (only for certain kind of rim).

windskill
post Jul 23 2016, 12:32 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 22 2016, 10:19 PM)
Common car wash shampoo comparison. As always, they might not be the best but I just thought of sharing them. Feel free to share the shampoos, their behaviour and methods that you use in the comments. Happy detailing.
http://carporchdetailer.blogspot.my/2016/0...sh-shampoo.html
Nice review. I have been using Osren Bubble Wash for almost 2 years (4 liters). It produces a great amount of suds and when wash on paint, I can feel it's lubricated enough. Good cleaning power. Despite it might not be the best car shampoo in the market, but I think it's great bang for buck.

My washing method - two bucket system. Microfiber Wash mitt . 2oz for 2.5 gallon water.
windskill
post Jul 23 2016, 11:01 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(frozen7 @ Jul 23 2016, 09:27 PM)
Mine left less than half after usage of 6 months.  biggrin.gif
Wow than you are really washing your car frequently. Haha. I wash my car roughly every 2 week.

So any comment on Osren Bubble Wash? Do share it out too smile.gif

This post has been edited by windskill: Jul 23 2016, 11:02 PM
windskill
post Jul 25 2016, 05:11 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 24 2016, 03:14 PM)
Sorry shud have highlight in the pic earlier. Not the handle but the door as now indicated in the pic. So u think i shud just appear sealant here too?
Hmm it looks a bit like clearcoat is gone already for that part.....I might be wrong....
windskill
post Jul 26 2016, 11:01 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 25 2016, 11:33 PM)
Yea the clearcoat is gone =(
Thx for the advice
Just go to supermarket and get the clearcoat touch up paint. The color might look a little bit different after you touch up the clearcoat, but I guess it's better than not having clearcoat as protection?

windskill
post Jul 26 2016, 04:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 26 2016, 11:20 AM)
This is the first time i hear someone polishing till clear coat is gone by hand...hmmm. a lot of strength was put into the paint?
Yeap i was thinking the same thing too. Really surprise me.

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Jul 26 2016, 11:44 AM)
certain honda city are with single coating, meaning paint+clear coat were mixed as 1 layer...not traditional 2 layers, paint + clear coat..and its not even across the surface..that's what I heard earlier..

the compound u used earlier could be too abrasive for your paint condition, therefore the loss of 'gloss' is happening there. Luckily urs is silver? the condition is not that obvious...

if u go wif the touch-up paint route, lucky, u can cover the area and make it looks like original again, unlucky, it will look worse because even if the color code is the same, when it is applied on our car it may look different than our existing paint due to various reasons.

Alternatively, u can go wif non-abrasive polish and coat wif wax to "lighten" it up and make it less noticeable...which I think u shud try this way, as its more practical and cost effective, and less risky too compared to the above smile.gif
Hmm interesting. So that means they don't really care whether clearcoat will be on top of the paint?
windskill
post Jul 30 2016, 10:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 29 2016, 03:59 PM)
Just my 2 sen.

If you look at the price of coating charged by those "professional", you can basically repaint the whole car. And coating last like a year or 2 maybe?
I don't know but I am still skeptical in coating? 9H hardness? It's just pencil hardness but most claimed to be glass or diamond!: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pencil#Gradin..._classification

It is a pity, the author of this blog did not update the results for this test: https://wetshine.net/2011/06/09/mega-coatin...st-application/
But he did reply in the comments:

[attachmentid=7200671]
[attachmentid=7200672]

Anyhow, this could be out-dated with better and newer coatings. Maybe others could share their thoughts?
Yeap. Watermark is still an issue that coating cannot 100% resist it, but only can try to minimize it. The best way to reduce waterspotting issue is to lay a base coa (hard coat) + top coat(soft coat), whereby top coat is quite hydrophobic.

But still, IMO, if I have fully corrected a car's paint, it would prefer to apply hard coating, at least, than to apply wax/sealant because the coating helps to preserve the good condition of paintwork for longer period. And basically I don't really have to polish the car in anytime soon (probably 3 years+ and above).

Just my opinion smile.gif
windskill
post Aug 1 2016, 10:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 31 2016, 11:30 PM)
anyone know where i can purchase menzerna and valetpro products around pj area?

looking for menzerna jescar power lock polymer sealant and valetpro bilberry wheel cleaner. thanks!
Menzerna you can go to facebook and look for "Menzerna Malaysia". I think they do not have stock for powerlock currently, as I just asked from them 1-2 months ago. Not sure about now.
For ValetPro, I don't think we have distributor in Malaysia yet. Have to source in from eBay or some where else.

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 1 2016, 08:43 AM)
Hello
Newbie here.

Wnat to ask. Any simple beginner way to "fix" clearcoat damage by bird poop?

They are like tear drops in size in multiple places.
Just want to protect the paint underneath. Dun want rust. Any idea waht to use?
Depends on the severity of the damage caused by bird poop. If it has etched the clearcoat, then you have to go for polishing, starting from the mildest (eg:AIO) and work your way up. If it is not severe, can try claybar.

This post has been edited by windskill: Aug 1 2016, 10:47 AM
windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 11:18 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 2 2016, 09:46 AM)
There are longer lasting and easier to apply products available locally compared to powerlock.
Duragloss 101/105 is similar to powerlock and is available retail through their local distributor and lelong.
The better products are:
Optiseal (detailien) - spray on, no need to buff off, just as durable.
Gyeon cure (waregem)/Fireball coat (check facebook) are spray on products and silica/glass based so should last longer. Very similar to Carpro reload. I'm testing fireball coat right now.
Fireball Ultimate Coating Wax can last about 1 month-ish, according to the seller.
windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 04:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 2 2016, 01:41 PM)
All these similar spray sealants are charm! So easy in application.

Back then I tried osren paint restorer 51 topped with carpro reload on my gf car. Lasted almost 2 months, horizon panels lasted only 1 month, vertical panels was still going strong

My car with essence as primer and carpro reload as secondary layer lasted more than 2 months. But I topped it up last week anyway.

Carpro reload will sheet instead of bead after few washes. I assume it's the same for the other 2. So can't really tell if protection is still there or not. After all, sheeting or beading =/= protection.
Yeap these spray sealants actually make our lives easier smile.gif
I do agree with you that beading or sheeting does not mean the surface is protected. But I believe most of the people (including me) tend to attribute water sheeting/beading properties as the presence of surface protection on the paint, as apparently, this is the most straightforward observation. Haha.

Interested to know where to get carpro essence here? That sounds pretty cool.
windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 07:21 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Aug 2 2016, 07:06 PM)
I got mine from waregem. (500ml)
Waxxon is the sole distributor here, but only selling 1 litre at Rm400, (last i heard)

it contains a lot of filler (semi-permanent) but really brings the shine out. many are saying it's comparable to klasse aio, but essence last much longer.
Some detailer did a test to remove essence after curing and felt short of oven cleaner to remove it. It was really hard to strip it according to him
I have heard of many good-ness about carpro essence. Wow that's cool, as matching the description of "highly durable resin". Haha. I should really get one soon and try it out. I am pretty sure it will be a great AIO.

Talking about stripping wax/sealant, it is actually harder than we thought, especially with those sealant that contain polymers nowadays.
windskill
post Aug 2 2016, 07:24 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Aug 1 2016, 10:55 AM)
hi
long time did not follow this thread
getting busier to take some time off for serious detailings
therefore, decided to bought a AIO wax yesterday, meg cleaner wax, to do one step since my paint is still in good condition
took 1 hours to wash and another 2.5 hours to wax the car with cleaner wax, i was surprise by the result. Paint is now sleek and free of swirls under the sun. i even use it on my headlight and my it made them look like new. 70% those plastic oxidation is gone. Could not believe how easy is this product. Maybe my eyes are cheated by the filler? laugh.gif
one down side of using this wax is.... it makes more severe paint defects such as watermark more prominent as the less severe one has been removed from the eyes.

my plan for future maintanenance is to use cleaner wax once every 3 months and OCW or ulti spray wax as drying aid. should be enough for protection i think
That sounds like a good plan to me.
Hmm meg cleaner will make severe paint defects more prominent? Not sure about the theory behind...maybe someone here can explain on this.
windskill
post Aug 5 2016, 09:51 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(derail @ Aug 4 2016, 05:02 PM)
1 month would be a disappointment unless the seller was giving a more realistic estimate based on local weather + pollution.
The new versions of carpro reload has considerably better durability. I came across reviews which state the new reload has considerably better durability compared to hydro2.
https://youtu.be/YG3SRus2WSQ
https://youtu.be/7aIT2PF3HKM

The official gyeon cure info states that cure (reload/fb coat copy) has only 1/2 the durability of gyeon wetcoat (hydro2 copy) despite having more sio2% but the consumption per application might have something to do with it (30ml for cure vs 100ml for wetcoat)
http://www.gyeonquartz.com/product-guide/q2m-cure
I believe the estimation was based on local weather as I asked from fireball malaysia. If I am not mistaken, they have tested under Singapore weather condition. Just my guess.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:59 PM