Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

windskill
post Dec 27 2017, 10:25 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 26 2017, 10:03 PM)
Cutting ability depends not only on machine.
I used the same combination on both machine.

Hybrid blue foamed wool (lake country)
Nao compound 46
Hard paint.

Manage to remove moderate swirls with ease on both machines.
I'll say the rupes have the upper hand on comfort in terms of vibration and noise. Highest speed settings , noise are similar with dap having sharper gear tone.

Both are 15 orbit that I tested.
Best of all....zero holograms.
How do you feel about hybrid blue foamed wool with a DA, as the fiber strand is quite long and probably not so suitable to run with a DA?
windskill
post Dec 28 2017, 01:33 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 27 2017, 10:38 PM)
Wah. Where have you been Mia so long?

Yes in a glance it does seem like a weird combination. Somehow after trying many different cars, it seems to be working.

I have a video on it. Any idea how to upload? Not willing to upload to my YouTube channel.

Hint: https://www.instagram.com/p/BcCOtPEFDet/
Look at the pad Henry is using
Been on and off at here. Sometimes just dive and did not comment haha. But lately was busy to help out in new detailing shop. Great chance to see different cases of car and try out different stuffs smile.gif
Erm I don't think you can upload the video here. It's ok smile.gif

Yea from the vid, it looks like blue hybrid foamed wool. Maybe I can give it a try sometimes. If DA can get decent result, I assume pairing up with rotary will give you faster result then smile.gif
windskill
post Dec 29 2017, 08:56 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 29 2017, 12:00 AM)
indeed indeed. I have always preferred the purple foamed wool on a rotary for cutting. Thereafter, finish off with a dual action polisher.

However results are very different.

foamed wool on dual action polisher (on medium soft paint) cuts without leaving buffer trails or holograms. On hard paint, tutup mata one step really settle.
foamed wool on rotary + interface, cuts fast but leaves buffer trails that can be easily removed with dual action.

I think earlier this year I have also read in autogeek that they are some detailers who go with purple foamed wool on dual action polisher and gotten good results.
I tried both purple and blue, somehow the blue gives better correction than the purple one. It varies from one paint to another, but on most occasions, blue was the better choice

I'm still a sucker for 2 steps paint work correction. The finishing polishing step really gives more clarity on paint.
LC has a purple foamed wool specifically designed for DA use. The pad thickness is thin and has shorter fiber strand compared to normal purple foamed wool.
Yea, blue one should be better as it's the improved version of purple foamed wool. Would definitely give it a try on this killer pad soon smile.gif

Give it a try for 2-step paint correction (only if you can allocate enough time to do 2-steps). Indeed the clarity will be better due to finer abrasive particles to "jewel" the paintwork.

Now most of the time I will just hit the panel with microfiber pad + foam for poorly maintained paintwork. Works great for soft paint. Hard paint (also poorly maintained paintwork) still need to go for wool with rotary + finishing (sometimes pair with ryobi low gravity wool pad on DA to fix miss out spots) with foam combination to achieve better result.
windskill
post Jan 11 2018, 03:15 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Jan 11 2018, 02:26 PM)
I remember there is a blog about detailing from a member here...but i dont know whats the name of the blog.. If anyone knows what I referred can share the link here?  biggrin.gif
http://carporchdetailer.blogspot.my/
Shoutout to gfwong! rclxms.gif
windskill
post Jan 17 2018, 10:50 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Jan 17 2018, 10:13 AM)
My first attempt to try glass/ceramic coating. Paint prep using Wash with all purpose cleaner, Clay using Meguiars White Clay using ONR diluted as Lube, Meguairs Ultimate Polish on Yellow Rupes Pads on LHR15 Mark 2 (lightswirl), Finish with OSREN P20 on White Rupes Pads  on LHR15 Mark 2. IPA 99.7% diluted 1:1 with RO water. Glass Coat -> 30 seconds light pressure MF buff -> 5minutes later medium Pressure  buff.

[attachmentid=9522868]
[attachmentid=9522870]
[attachmentid=9522871]
[attachmentid=9522873]
Zoom in the lamp part

[attachmentid=9522874]
Applicator suede MF used to apply the coating, right after coat already sunk in water with APC, yet it still hardened.

Am I right doing the application? Please Comments and Critics sifu.
The overall procedure is correct, problem is on the last part only.
If there's any coating residue that you did not manage to wipe off during your first light buffing, it's where the second time buffing that comes in to make sure every bit of the highspot are being leveled/removed. Should be done right after first buffing instead of waiting after 5 mins.
windskill
post Jan 17 2018, 10:54 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jan 17 2018, 10:48 AM)
30 second is too quick beforing buffing?
3 mins is fine. Or stay with recommended time by manufacturer.

Coating cystalises. The cloth we use for buffing or applicator sure harden. Mf cloth I downgrade to wheels
I would say the buffing time actually varies from product to product. The environment humidity and ambient temperature do impact the buff off time as well.
So, I would say stick with manufacturer recommendation, and use a less obvious, minor spot to do a testing. Adjust the time accordingly to your environment. smile.gif
windskill
post Jul 2 2018, 11:13 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Jul 1 2018, 10:52 PM)
Unfortunately i live in a high rise that has no facilities for self wash. Btw, my quest has lead me to a detailer/product called G guard. They've recommended 2 packages. 1 is a quartz coating after detailing and polish for RM599 (comes with 12 mnths warranty) and another is a ceramic coating for RM988 with 3 yr warranty. Any ideas if this is any good?
What does the warranty cover for? And also what's the prep procedure involve? As well as how's the performance of the coating?
windskill
post Jul 12 2018, 11:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kelvin0857 @ Jul 11 2018, 01:41 PM)
Hey guys ,
anyone try Sierra Glow or Ecoat before ?
Can share the experience how good they are ?

Thanks in advance
Would highly recommend you to try out Autosol Detailing Centre at Penang. They are fairly price with their excellent quality and after-sales service. Been recommending a few friends there and they are very impressed.
windskill
post Jul 15 2018, 10:30 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Swivlev @ Jul 14 2018, 10:45 PM)
Hi guys, i have a lunar silver car. Just got a ceramic coating done. Any advice on maintenance care? The people who applied the coating suggested using SuperGold Carnauba wax. He said stuff like Fusso99 are a bit harsh@ not natural.

My question is, is carnauba wax good for maintenance?Is it very difficult to apply by hand for a beginner?
QUOTE(Zer0pulse @ Jul 15 2018, 08:26 AM)
why they still recommend you to do waxing?  sad.gif  when you do coating, by right we wont do waxing anymore. I was advised not to do any waxing, just regular car maintenance, if it rained wash your car within 5-7 days. fyi, watermarks will still occur, can't escape that, but some company, they provide free watermarks repair within the warranty period.
QUOTE(blurcase @ Jul 15 2018, 10:35 AM)
There are actual differences.

http://www.carwashmag.com/issues/feb-2011/...-management.cfm
https://www.theragcompany.com

Read through the article and check out the variety on the website, it will give u a general idea of the variations of microfiber towels.

Think for Meguiars, their towels are good but pricey. U can find cheaper towels that can do the same task just as well or even better.
Carnauba wax is a natural wax, not synthetic wax. Its durability is quite weak, but ppl swear by its superiority in glossing up your car. It should be quite easy to apply and buff off. If your coating supplier can recommend, possibly they may have tested it and the wax does not degrade or damage your coating unlike other waxes or sealants.

Perhaps I would suggest instead of getting a paste or liquid wax, is to instead get a spray carnauba wax instead. Just my 2 sen suggestion.

Maintenance wise, regular washing is highly recommended. As coating will repel dirt with relative ease, washing your car at home should not be difficult.
While I understand and appreciate both your comments, personally I am abit torn in that argument. It is true that the original selling point of coating was its superiority of protection performance and durability over sealants/waxes, hence the original perception that after coating dont need to DIY waxing further.

However, having coated 2 cars myself and maintaining it over time and seeing the watermarks grow to an unbearable point, i begin to understand that coating in and of itself isnt perfect product. As some folks that uses Cquartz coating and apply Carpro Reload on top of it, the purpose of the Carpro Reload is meant to be the sacrificial layer against the weather elements, while the coating itself will protect your clearcoat against harsher stuff. Similarly, the topcoat that some detailers offer that equivalent function of being the sacrificial layer. There are also coating suppliers that dont have a topcoat, hence u may need to find your own topcoat of sorts to protect the coating.

Just my 2 sen, feel free to debate. smile.gif
Usually it's recommended to use proper topcoat/coating maintenance product with silica content (eg: Carpro Reload, Gyeon Cure, etc.) to extend the durability of coating or to rejuvenate the properties of coating.
However, it's not completely wrong to use a wax to maintain the coating or to serve as a topcoat actually. Auto detailing is a form of art, and there isn't any right or wrong solution, as long as you can achieve the result you want.

But, it could cause you some bad side-effect maybe. One needs to really try out different combo and see what's the outcome and side effect first. If the outcome is desirable, just go ahead smile.gif

In short, coating is still subjected to wear-and-tear and so it still needs to be maintained with coating maintenance product, either be silica based coating maintenance product or some other LSP, apart from regular routine wash. And yes, coating will cause you more watermark if you don't take care it well.

Side-note 1 : Coating surface has high surface tension and make water to form nice water droplets upon contact. It's the "beading" scene that most of the people like it. If water droplets with mineral content are left on surface and bake under hot sun, the water droplets serve as mini magnifying glass and heat up quickly, and so bake onto the coating to form watermark/waterspot. So, this is the scene where coating can cause more waterspot.

Side-note 2: Carnauba wax can be served as a gentle, mild cleaner to the coating to cleanse the surface of coating (instead of using claybar which could cause micro-marring or scratches if one is not careful), according to some detailers. I believe it should be the petroleum distillate content in the carnauba wax that helps to cleanse the stubborn dirt off the surface. However, if the carnauba wax is very oily, more dirt and dust could be attracted to the surface and cause more issue.
windskill
post Aug 14 2018, 10:27 AM

49 posts

Yea, strongly agree to get a cheaper model from Osren. Around 800+ you can get a 15mm throw decent DA which is really good enough.

It all goes back to technique and compound/polish products along with pad combination for different paint surface.
windskill
post Sep 6 2018, 05:09 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(panhai @ Sep 6 2018, 04:57 PM)
need some advice, my car has ceramic coating but i can feel some bump when i run my finger over the surface.
can i use clay bar to remove those contamination on the car pain? just wonder will it remove my coat as well?

please advice, thanks
I would suggest you to run the claybar at one minor, inconspicuous spot first. If the surface turns out to be smooth and not inducing scratches, I think you can proceed for the rest of the area.
IMO, claybar won't remove the coating layer. Correct me if I am wrong.
windskill
post Sep 7 2018, 02:01 PM

49 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by windskill: Sep 7 2018, 02:02 PM
windskill
post Sep 7 2018, 02:05 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(andreas @ Sep 7 2018, 12:08 PM)
hi, im looking for new compound. been using osren nao 46, wit DAP15. using microfiber pad. i think it can remove 90% of scratch, swirl n watermark. any opinion on compound which give similar effect as osren, as it give good shine after applying it. tq
Any reason of searching for new compound to try despite Osren Nao 46 is giving you satisfying/decent result? Haha
windskill
post Oct 18 2018, 01:31 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(EON @ Oct 18 2018, 07:43 AM)
If it is just some light scratches, should i use polish or compound as well? There is some so called 'scratch remover & swirl remover' products by turtle wax, will it work on removing the scratches or it just cover the scratches like how some wax did?
The mentioned product will work. If you are DIY user, this product is good enough for light scratch. But it also depends on how you define "light" , because most of the time when people say is "light scratch", to the detailer, it isn't light at all.

This over-the-counter product might contain filler and silicone, will cover those shallow swirl marks which i think general consumer doesn't really bother about this defects. As long as the visible scratches go away, user will be happy.

This post has been edited by windskill: Oct 18 2018, 01:31 PM
windskill
post Nov 27 2018, 01:06 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Nov 26 2018, 07:24 PM)
Clay cloth is not abrasive as clay bar, as the contaminants quite dull. The dripping are in dark colour despite already wash clean during the first clay that day biggrin.gif
My concern is whether this clay bar (No. 1) is okay to use while clay bar No. 2 is more suitable after read the manual guide after unboxed hmm.gif
I think the shampoo shouldn't be much impact as it's from the same manufacturer and recommended by the store too. Don't feel like buying additional kit as lube anymore since I have no more space to fill in my washing bucket and the pain that I have to travel just to perform detailing. cry.gif
Some claybar does disintegrate/breakdown when it reacts with normal car shampoo, whereas some claybar works well with car shampoo.
So far I have only tested meguiars claybar and soft99 claybar and they work well with car shampoo that I used (Osren car shampoo).
Whereas the 3M claybar (which I believe should be fake 3M claybar) disintegrates when it interacts with car shampoo.

I have not tried out Perma* brand claybar so not sure how well it will hold up when interact with car shampoo.

Hope my experience helps smile.gif
windskill
post Nov 29 2018, 02:44 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 29 2018, 09:49 AM)
Polishing is the only way to truly remove swirls.
Alternatively, if it is not a severe defect, you can mask/cover it with wax. But it does appear after few washes.

Unfortunately, honda paint is one of the softest paint to date. My go to is always perfect cut 20 + softest polishing pad on a dual action polisher. That's how soft the paint is.

You can look at aliexpress, antirain, osren, scgb, meguairs for start.
drying cloth? i always recommend fireball twisted towel. but somehow they have not been restocking.
Just curious, how durable can the fireball korea twisted towel last actually (before the fiber starts to harden up) ? I have not tried it personally, but interested to know more about it.
windskill
post Nov 29 2018, 04:37 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 29 2018, 03:23 PM)
Mine lasted for 3 years. Still doing good.
I dry it indoors and don't really twist it to dry after each wash.
Wow ok. Thanks for the feedback. That's quite durable then.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0467sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:55 AM