6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

windskill
post Feb 21 2017, 10:56 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 21 2017, 04:15 PM)
true....i experience this too with meguiars.
it's like white powder...dried up wax
Weird. Mine is having dark stains on the paint surface. Tried claybar but cannot remove. It could be either my claybar is less aggressive. However, paint cleaner can remove it easily.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 21 2017, 04:40 PM)
So it need to be remove by using polishing? Or claying will do ? Or re-wax? I never face this problem so maybe can learn the technique and apply in future , because it dont happen like this on my honda city maybe my car is dark color
No need to polish. Just use a paint cleaner will do. If you rewax, you will notice your pad will get very dirty (provided you use back the same soft99 wax). I think the wax contains petroleum distillate, which is the ingredient of paint cleaner.

Dark color car i don't think it will be obvious.

QUOTE(hebehow @ Feb 21 2017, 06:53 PM)
experience it too...after apply paint cleaner it remove with ease...after all i use pinnacle carnauba wax to replace soft99 and the problem gone...carnauba is more natural..but durability is not gud..
Exactly, paint cleaner can remove the dark, black stains with ease. Wow, where do you get pinnacle stuff? Interested to try out too.

windskill
post Feb 22 2017, 12:44 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(wunan90 @ Feb 22 2017, 12:21 AM)
hi sifu,

need advise if car everyday park under sun with no roof, any frequency on how many times we have to go wash/wax the car monthly to maintain the car appearance?
You're basically on the same boat as me. If the entire month is hot and dry, and there's no rain or not much dirt, I will basically wash my car once every 3-4 weeks. Otherwise, I will wash either once every 2 week.
The frequency really varies depending on how fast your car gets dirty.

Normal wax can last about 3 weeks (~1 month). You may re-apply once per month. Another alternative is to use spray wax after every wash to maintain it.
windskill
post Feb 23 2017, 03:33 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(hyuanl @ Feb 23 2017, 03:08 PM)
Read through many pages but still got some questions..

Need guidance on

Best for car wash (Microfibre clothes / Sponge) Any brand for sponge? washing & drying..

There are so many towel? Waffle tower, buffing towel???

Best shampoo for car wash?? meguiar? osren?

planing to do sealant & waxing myself.. Will invest a DA Osren Polisher, but need guidance on buying the pads for waxing.. so many type as well.. rclxub.gif
Is there any brand for these product that they can mix together.. and where to buy them >.<
A basic setup for you to get started: microfiber wash mitt, 2 buckets, microfiber drying towel/waffle towel (eg: meguiars waffle weave drying towel, Fireball Korea Black Fox Twist Drying Microfiber Towel, etc.)
In term of car shampoo product, any pH neutral car shampoo with good lubricity is good enough.
Recommended one : Meguiars Gold Class Wash, Osren Bubble Wash, Meguiars Ultimate Wash & Wax, etc.

In term of wax, if you just plan to wax, you can actually just wax by hand. However, if you still want to try out waxing by machine, you can try out Lake Country CCS Red Pad.
Wax that are readily available on the shelf : Meguiars Ultimate Liquid Wax, Meguiars Ultimate Paste Wax, Turtlewax Premium Care ICE, Osren waxes, and many many more smile.gif

You can get all of this through most of the online shopping platform (eg: Lazada, 11street, etc.), Parkson, ACE Hardware, etc.
windskill
post Feb 24 2017, 12:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(hyuanl @ Feb 23 2017, 04:27 PM)
What should i use to lubricate when applying clay?? spray wax or car shampoo?
The cost effective way is to use car shampoo as clay lubricant.
However, if possible, try to avoid this as car shampoo might breakup or dissolve the claybar. I have experienced that. BUT, not necessarily it will happen for all the claybar and car shampoo combination. Have to go through trial and error biggrin.gif

Anyway, to make it simple, get claybar (eg:soft99, osren, meguiars, 3m(many counterfeit 3m products in the market thou)) + car shampoo when going through the paint surface. Go gently over the surface and let the claybar does it job to pick up the contaminants on the paint surface. If you working on an old car, you will be surprised how much invisible dirts you can pick up through claybar!

This post has been edited by windskill: Feb 24 2017, 12:24 AM
windskill
post Feb 28 2017, 10:56 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(takax2040 @ Feb 27 2017, 09:30 PM)
Anyone know where I can buy Meguiars D143 in gallon packing? Not economical to buy bottles anymore.
You can contact Hypercoat Malaysia to see if they carry D143 in gallon form.
windskill
post Feb 28 2017, 10:59 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Feb 27 2017, 11:18 PM)
I try to pm thrm, recently my brother give me the Black Decker KP600, i not sure it really can polishing to remove light swril? Plan to use on my wife consider new car because just drive 4month++ , some place that have light swirl which already got there when received car, any review on this kp600 actually?
The machine has limited power, but I believe it can still polish out mild swirls (but not deep scratches). However, it might take longer time for you to complete the entire car.

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 27 2017, 10:26 PM)
Using 5 inch, i have a 2inch+ too from osren, that one is easy. Actually i'm referring to paint, for windscreen i stick to da polisher.

On flat panels, vertical or horizontal, i face difficulties in handling it. it brings me cuti-cuti malaysia.
on corner, yes i tilt the polisher so it doesn't hit against the paint. it feels natural too.

only when it comes to polishing flat panels i find it difficult with foam pads.
i cannot figure what im doing wrong.
Could it be your product dried up on the surface? I find it difficult to polish with rotary+foam once the product started to dry. However, when there's still sufficient product, everything works perfectly.

This post has been edited by windskill: Feb 28 2017, 11:02 AM
windskill
post Feb 28 2017, 01:59 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 28 2017, 12:44 PM)
Yes. It slips, I've tried priming the pad too.

I think it is more of inexperience in handling it, unlike da I'm so used to.

Polisher I use is osren series. I think it dries up quickly too.

In terms of getting result I still prefer to finish down with da, cutting however, I understand that rotary is faster and less time consuming..
Tried removing orange peel too with their denim and perfect 50, no problem in handling. Wool and denim pads no problem
If i am not mistaken, Osren polishing products tend to dry quickly and dust a lot. Probably you can slow down your rotary speed to 1000-1100rpm. And I also spray some water to continue.
Another reason is the pad. What foam pad are you using? Usually stiffer foam pad plays better with rotary.

I understand M105 dried up quickly as well but from meguiars forum, I think it's designed to be such way that it can cut quickly without going through more passes.
Currently, I have shifted to DK compounds and I like them very much.

windskill
post Mar 1 2017, 10:41 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Feb 28 2017, 09:29 PM)
For slipping issues, I believe it should be mostly too much pressure on the pad when polishing. The machine itself usually has enough weight to pressure down on horizontal panels, so no additional pressure down from the hands are necessary.

For vertical surfaces, due to its nature, the pressure on the body panel is very much dependent on your own hands force.

So what I can recommend is to reduce downwards pressure on horizontal surfaces, inwards pressure on vertical surfaces. With practice, you will notice that you only need to guide the machine, not add pressure to it. For foam pads, its especially easy to see if you put too much pressure by looking at how much your pad as compressed.

Hope this helps, just sharing personal experience. smile.gif
Agreed, I use Meguiars M105 and it dries quickly, quicker than Osren in many cases especially with rotary. Even Meguiars M100 has much more lubrication than M105. However, from following Kevin Brown method, drying up does not necessarily mean end of life of the liquid. One squirt of water and the polishing can continue.

On that note about DK, how does it fare? Do u achieve results quicker? More efficient? Cost effective?
Based on my user experience with DK, I think the cutting speed is almost comparable to Meguiars. But I like the the way that it doesn't dry out too quickly so you can have longer working time for the product. In addition, it does not dust so much compared to M105 or M101 (i have never tried M100 before). Last but not least, the finishing is good as well.

In term of cost, I think it's quite costly. 16 oz of DK1.1 is about RM100+. cry.gif

The product claims to be waterbase compound. I notice if I buff over plastic trim, I can easily wipe it without having any stain. Not for oilbase compound like meguiars range. Probably I am wrong, please correct me.
windskill
post Mar 2 2017, 10:10 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 1 2017, 11:06 PM)
da pads are seemingly getting thinner as well. lakecountry hd pads, lakecountry forced disc. so i have these 2 to play with on my da.

the pads with hole in the middle that i've gotten from osren is meant for rotary, it is thicker compared to the da's. I have 2 versions of it.

one cutting pad without hole (maroon), one polishing pad with hole (navy). both seems to slip. LOL
lousy skill i have.
May I know where do you get the forced disc? I am interested with it haha.
And do you have any idea where we can get ThinPro foam pad as well (http://www.autogeek.net/lake-country-thin-pro-foam-pads.html)? I am using 8mm throw DA and I think the pad could probably provide some extra cutting for me.
windskill
post Mar 2 2017, 02:13 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 2 2017, 11:04 AM)
[attachmentid=8544741]

Osren sells em. It does giving more rotation torque.

[attachmentid=8544747]

Donut pads for rotary
Cool.....gonna contact Penang Osren distributor soon thumbup.gif
windskill
post Mar 9 2017, 04:59 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(deadgriever @ Mar 9 2017, 11:50 AM)
i use the slowest speed which equal to highest speed in rotary. have to be extra careful  sweat.gif
thanks for the recommendation  biggrin.gif
Meg quik wax = if not much time to do detailing i use this
Fusso wax = great durability + water beading, poor shine, i use this during rainy season or balik kampung ( trunk road / felda road / no hiway at all )

thanks to all for the advice. why nobody recommend rotary? is it too dangerous for newbie?  tongue.gif
Every tool can be dangerous if one does not know how to handle it. If you want to start with rotary, that's fine too, but make sure you go online and learn the mechanism of rotary polisher and basic techniques of using rotary polisher. Only after that, you can try it out, starting with low speed first.
Once you master rotary, it can be a handy tool in term of paint correction.

The reason many people would not advise beginner to start with rotary is because it could potentially burn paint. And you can probably create severe hologram as well.

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Mar 9 2017, 01:10 PM)
hehe I dunno but I DIY, I have this mentality of going the safest route.
I have bought the Megs DA Power Tool and have been practicing on the technique of sponge contact / pressure / angle of attack etc..
So still learning kerb but I believe I'm ready for a step up to a proper DA so can't give you any sound advice smile.gif

Better wait Windskill or Douglas_Tong whom are the thread expert to advice bah  biggrin.gif
I not expert la...i also learn from everyone and share my thought only haha

This post has been edited by windskill: Mar 9 2017, 04:59 PM
windskill
post Mar 11 2017, 08:36 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 11 2017, 01:28 AM)
you have an excellent point! couple hundreds more rupes lei!

been eyeing for rupes mk2... not sure if the price is jacked again or not....
LHR15 mk ii is selling at 2.3k after GST. If you want other stuffs like pads and products along with the machine, it would be around 2.5k-2.6k after GST.
windskill
post Mar 14 2017, 03:13 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(tampin @ Mar 14 2017, 02:34 PM)
The oxidation is difficult to show up on pic. Need to be in person to see it on certain angle.

The shop gives 3 yrs warranty on the coating still able to repel water but not oxidation.
Black spots oxidation? That sounds weird. Oxidation usually looks blurry on the paint surface. Correct me if I am wrong.
Is it more like watermarks spots? Or some dark stains like what we usually see close to door handle or side mirror?
windskill
post Mar 15 2017, 09:46 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(tampin @ Mar 14 2017, 06:36 PM)
I checked with the shop detailer. He said clay, polish or thing like tar removal will "remove" the coating.

When I 1st got my car, I send for coating. Rinse with water and then wash with car shampoo. Then rinse again and finally dry it. I do that every weekend. Then notice black sports on roof and bonet. Can't be washed off by shampoo.

After much analysis, my conclusion is after a rain, dirt stick to the car surface. When not wash away immediately and leave the car under the hot sun for 2-3 days, then the dirt will get "bond" deep into the glass coating. So, I'm wondering any sifu have similar problem and know how to remove the black spots. Any proven car liquid that can do this and yet not harm/damage the glass coating (already paid a lot of $$$ on it :-))
I generally don't agree with the detailer that clay will remove coating layer from paint. If claybar can remove the coating, then I doubt the quality of his coating, and even question him: "are you sure you are using coating?"
My suggestion for you is that you can apply another layer of coating maintenance product (eg: CarPro Reload) on top of your existing hard coat. It could probably minimize such kind of risk from happening again.

For the time being, you may try out with claybar to see if it can remove the bonded dirts. If can't we can try to figure other way again.

QUOTE(The_FQ400 @ Mar 14 2017, 10:45 PM)
Hi sifus~ anyone knows how to remove holograms caused by rotary buffer?
You may use another non-gear action polisher, which is dual-action polisher (DA), to remove the hologram. Use a LC white pad with some polish product and you should be able to remove the hologram.

This post has been edited by windskill: Mar 15 2017, 09:52 AM
windskill
post Apr 19 2017, 10:56 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 18 2017, 04:38 PM)
i'll share a photo later when i go back home.

it's a white colored car and no, i didn't expose it to rain. spent 90% of the time indoors/covered car parks.

i currently use Magic 101's Glo-White shampoo and Soft 99 's 12 Month's fusso wax.
I saw your photo and it has something to do with Soft99 12 Month Fusso Coat + 10% outdoor parking. I believe during your 10% outdoor time, you exposed to rain and sun repeatedly and that's why you have those dark stains which are not removable through normal car wash. Correct?

I realized Soft99 12 Month Fusso Coat has this issue. So, the best way to remove the dark stain is to use the existing wax to perform cleaning (which I don't really suggest this way) or to use wax cleaner (eg: meta-clean, etc.) to remove the embedded stains. Try it smile.gif
windskill
post Apr 28 2017, 08:20 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Apr 27 2017, 06:01 PM)
Would be nice if we could buy online like Megs Direct  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Yea probably can suggest to Henry about this haha.
But anyway I think you can send them an email and you can still place your order online through email. It's not straightforward but they still read your email smile.gif
windskill
post Apr 28 2017, 10:20 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Apr 28 2017, 10:18 AM)
thumbsup.gif I did just that haha  biggrin.gif hopefully I'll get a reply
Yeap. Or you can contact them through facebook and probably you can get faster response.
If you stay outside of KL region, they will redirect you to the nearest dealer and you have to deal with them.
windskill
post May 4 2017, 10:00 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ May 3 2017, 11:15 PM)
Ok, from ur words, i confident that i just go for Osren DAP8 , 8mm orbit i think is enough for my home detail, not going get 15mm bcoz abit pricy, buy from aliexpress later shit happen cant claim cham , at least osren if break down they got 6 month warranty and after warranty they can stil repair for me haha, so is that correct move bro?
Because i have view youtube video recently, DA is more friendly user and better for newbie like me, rotary somehow need better skill only get good result , am i right?
I actually got Grey Force disc, white and black from osren lake country, with black decker kp600, i believe this machine just for waxing only lol, so i now just need a machine to so some real polishing
I believe your existing setup is sufficient for what you need. Change to another compound product as what blurcase told you if you think the cutting power is not enough. However, skill also matters. So, you might probably get more cutting from perfect cut by adjusting your pressure, passes, speed, etc.

This post has been edited by windskill: May 4 2017, 10:01 AM
windskill
post Jun 24 2017, 05:04 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 22 2017, 07:37 PM)
Wait next time finish the glaco wil give it a chance 

Anyone try osren glass coat?
I have different experience with Osren glass coat as I applied on multiple cars with different driver profile.
- On my car, use wiper only necessary, it can last roughly 1 year and more.
- On my friend's car, definitely will use wiper when raining, the coating effect can last about 5 month.

But the thing is the effect is quite strong during the first month. After that, water repelling effect starts to diminish as time goes. I believe it's almost the same to the others coating.
Currently, I have osren glass coat on front windscreen (still working, about 7 months from application), glaco on backscreen (still on effect. About 9 month now since the application) and antirain coat on 4 side windows (this one last for more than 1 year on side window).
windskill
post Sep 15 2017, 10:55 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 15 2017, 08:46 PM)
Lol, okay here goes:

[attachmentid=9136933]
The bag comes as a complete carry kit. I would have preferred they sold more separately, cuz some of the stuff are probably not gonna be used.

[attachmentid=9136934]
Autocolortech Marketing only sells the Long Neck version. Comes with 2 batteries and charger and also power adapter if u want to run on direct power instead of battery. The batteries can run about 35-40mins, and charging is about 20-35 mins full charge, so can be endless cycling batteries with minimal downtime.

[attachmentid=9136936]
Blue and yellow pads at back row comes with the kit. Not a big fan of the blue pads, after a few use it starts to disintegrate. Front row are LC MF cutting pads and finish pads from Detailed Image.

[attachmentid=9136939]
Top row: Some brush, opening tool, another brush
Middle row: Rotary attachment, 12mm DA attachment, 3mm DA attachment
Bottom row: Sanding backing pad, 2" backing pad, 1" backing pad

[attachmentid=9136940]
Left pack is microfiber cloths. Right side are some manuals and 1" sanding discs.

Overall a very good tool to get on tight areas and work on selected spots. I contemplated between this kit and the Rupes LHR75E, but felt this kit more versatile.

Anyways, please dont take me as bragging because I buy expensive tools. I think detailing is a hobby for everyone here, some spend more some spend less, most important is share knowledge and enjoy the fun of detailing. smile.gif
The UV coating can be damaged through running polish over. Not sure if the typical car coating works the same for headlamps. However if your headlamp is already yellowed, then u need to wet-sand, compound and polish the headlamp before applying any coating.

I saw a youtube video by ChrisFix that shows he use a special clear UV resistant spray paint to respray his headlamps after he removed all the haze and yellowing. If anyone knows where to get such spray paint please share info. Thanks.
Wah cannot resist the poison drool.gif drool.gif

I heard Aikka has an aerosol type 2k clearcoat for headlamp. Not sure how reliable it is. And if I am not mistaken, you have to use up all within 4 hours.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.5212sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:07 AM