voscar
post Jun 7 2018, 12:25 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(vindroid @ Jun 5 2018, 11:10 PM)
What sealant brand?
Carplan

QUOTE(blurcase @ Jun 6 2018, 01:37 AM)
Mmm, dont think u did a mistake there. Application of sealant or wax is meant to be slick so that it protects your car from weather and environment conditions. However, cat wanting to climb onto your car to sleep on is not something the sealant/wax can protect from unfortunately, just like it also cannot protect from other ppl ding your car door when they open their car door. Perhaps to try reduce the chance of cat coming to your place to climb on your car is to either have some plants or spray something that smells something cats dont like.
No, I knew those wild cats always climb and sit on top of my car roof, maybe it's cleaner and feel nicer compare to other cars in neighborhood.
What I mean is, maybe after apply sealant, the surface is too "slippery" to cats, so they use paw to crawl up instead of usual climbing action, which causes deep obvious scratch mark...
voscar
post Aug 29 2018, 08:58 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Zer0pulse @ Aug 29 2018, 02:14 AM)
hahaha nope, I don't tailgait, in front of me was a lorry (E2, going to KL) that went to overtake another lorry.. tailgaiting another car wont have that devastating stone attack hahaha
yes agree. usually car with many stone chips meaning the car is slow, on slow lane behind a lorry. coz the car has no power to overtake or driver doesn't drive fast.
mine bonnet full of stone chips coz i follow highway speed and some lorry driving same speed in front as well. If i'm driving at fast lane above legal speed, can avoids many of it.
voscar
post Sep 12 2018, 11:15 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 12 2018, 08:29 PM)
what is the way to keep car shine and water repel beside car coating?
if car park outdoor, frequent wash (once or twice per week) and do spray sealant once per month.
voscar
post Sep 13 2018, 09:03 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 12 2018, 11:45 PM)
do we need to do any other polish before apply sealant? or just apply sealant after wash? and I found some website said that it will has better shine effect if apply wax after sealant.
Polish only if required (dirty paint), while wax/sealant can be done periodically (once per month). Polish may strip down minor clear-coat depending its abrasiveness.
voscar
post Sep 15 2018, 12:11 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Sep 14 2018, 05:20 PM)
Anyone can recommend a wax / sealant that provides good shine and water repel? Budget ard 60-80
I'm using Carplan Mirror Gloss Sealant. Last time bought 2 bottles @ RM38 each. WOWA type without requiring buffing, I just add sprayer then spray and wipe. Slick to touch and water beading good.
However, although water beading means when driving water will repel like rain droplets, but if car not driven and let the rain water dries by sun, the dirtiness will be obvious, can see the circular rain dust, hard to describe...
voscar
post Sep 30 2018, 08:03 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 30 2018, 12:19 PM)
Pretty sure they have...obviously some would have ran out
there you go

[attachmentid=10048949]
You buka car detailing center? Wow...
voscar
post Oct 21 2018, 08:25 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(EON @ Oct 21 2018, 09:13 AM)
i applied sealant 1 month ago, and now it is not that sleek and smooth than the first two weeks already.. is it the sealant layer gone already?
If liquid type WOWA Wipe On Walk Away sealant, durability should be 1 month of expose outdoor daily without roof. You can apply once a month as process take less than 20 mins.
voscar
post Jan 16 2019, 11:00 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Learjet35 @ Jan 16 2019, 10:38 PM)
Based on sifu here is better wax and polish instead of coating.

So I guess I’m heading that way. Gonna collect my new car tomorrow.

So let’s say I want to send to shop for detailing, what are the intervals ? Wax every month and polish every 6month?

If I’m going to diy using electrical polisher can advise my checklist below? Thanks

1.what brand should I go for wax and polish?
2.any recommended electrical polisher?
3. My car is black color, so based on what I read, it’s prone to swirl scratch. Any idea how can I prevent it from happening? Sometimes I will send my car for wash at the shop, does their way of washing can cause the swirl mark?

Thanks a bunch.
Do it yourself would be the answer if afraid of swirl. Black car owner here speaking of experience. Else just close one eye and enjoy your ride.

This post has been edited by voscar: Jan 16 2019, 11:00 PM
voscar
post Jun 20 2019, 09:27 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Jun 20 2019, 08:38 AM)
want to ask... saw many 9H coating liquid online very cheap for less than rm10...

Is it advisable to DIY?...  most shop advertised more than rm1k per car... of course they say 2-3 layer polish or wax, coating here and there...

I was contemplating to send to shop and fork out rm1.5k or diy... for my new 3-week old City
Don't use cheap coating product, it wouldn't lasts and easily gets water spots. Mine lasted 4 months then totally no more water beading at roof and bonnet area, heavily water spots stained. I parked my car 24x7 outdoor and wash it myself every 1-2 week. Previously without coating I used to hand polish and wax myself every 3 months which maintained more satisfying paintwork. With cheap coating you'll get mad looking at those water spots stain when you washing your own car. mad.gif

This post has been edited by voscar: Jun 20 2019, 09:27 AM
voscar
post Jun 20 2019, 02:36 PM

1,525 posts

Hi Bosses, found this blue bottle Meguiar's Marine RV Quik Wax at ACE Hardware shop, it says clean and protect in a single mist and wipe off, looks irresistible as it says can gently cleans water spot or contaminant.
https://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-M5916-Marin...t/dp/B0000AY518

Is this safe to use on metallic car paint? Plan to buy and apply every month, seems easy job for lazy person like me. Please advise.
voscar
post Jun 21 2019, 08:55 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jun 20 2019, 08:42 PM)
should be ok for metallic or solid, as the principle of wax is the same
sure no harm to car paint? if no problem i will buy 1 marine grade quik wax to try, hehe. biggrin.gif
voscar
post Sep 15 2019, 11:37 AM

1,525 posts

strange Meguiar's quik wax (spray type) seems to lasts longer than Soft99 MetaClean cleaner wax. 1 month back I applied quik wax on my car, 1 panel have to clean-up using MetaClean due to the quik wax smearing and cannot buff off, looks like oily stained so have to use MetaClean to get rid of that...

for almost 1 month the car 24x7 outdoor never washed due to overseas trip and bad haze (actually lazy reason :0).

Yesterday 1st time wash after 1 month, most panels have reasonable sheeting when apply shampoo, just only the panel 1 used Metaclean and see the shampoo smearing effect to the body. Actually I forgot but keep thinking what's wrong with that panel only to recall that, haha.

This post has been edited by voscar: Sep 15 2019, 11:38 AM
voscar
post Sep 23 2019, 05:35 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Sep 23 2019, 12:26 PM)
Perhaps u can try testing application on a naked panel vs Fusso Coated panel. I have read some spray sealants or waxes could streak even on their own, but it may be due to incorrect application process. Ur situation adds another factor to the mix that needs to be retested.

Did u also follow instructions from the bottle itself? Or perhaps check on youtube to see if anyone has similar issues?
yes my Meguiar's Quik Wax blue bottle streak happens too, on some surface it's more visible.
voscar
post Sep 24 2019, 10:00 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 24 2019, 06:02 AM)
Wow I see, Wasn't aware that there's a Quik Wax in blue. Is that a new packaging? I have the Quik Wax spray bottle too but it's black bottle. Haha.  thumbsup.gif

Marine/RV grade of Quik Wax, haha.
voscar
post Sep 24 2019, 01:49 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 24 2019, 10:05 AM)
Ahh no wonder. I've seen it at Ace Hardware but usually ignore it cos I was thinking - for boats mah. laugh.gif

How is it? Nice water beading as well?
I bought it because have the cleaning ability.
Cleaning power is ok, some minor tree saps dot/dirty can be removed.
Water beading lost to Mirror Gloss Sealant in which MGS truly excels. That MGS I add sprayer use like WOWA sealant, damn easy to apply and no need buff off. But no cleaning power.
voscar
post Sep 25 2019, 08:45 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 25 2019, 08:23 AM)
I see. It's more like a cleaner wax or 3-in-1 type then for the cleaning properties and removal of tree saps.

What brand are you using for Mirror Gloss Sealant?
Auto Finish.
voscar
post Nov 24 2019, 10:39 AM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(teikchuan @ Nov 23 2019, 01:48 PM)
This shampoo is great before u apply any protection on your car
It may take some time to rinse off completely

For maintance , pick magic 101 wash&wax 2litre
Btw why dont u upgrade to hd6?
Can use Glo-White for black car or not? I'm looking on strong shampoo in hope to minimize the effort for polishing out the water spot/tree saps residue.
voscar
post Nov 24 2019, 01:55 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 24 2019, 01:46 PM)
No wonder it always seems like my wax is "wearing off" every time i used it.

So, just use the normal wash and wax for weekly washes?
How's the cleaning power? Is it really able to clean black strip on white car? I plan to buy and use it to wash my car once per 3 months + wax after wash so I can minimize the polishing step, normal wash will still use wash&wax, haha.
voscar
post Nov 28 2019, 06:28 PM

1,525 posts

Hi all Bosses, just want to check after respray paint on car does it requires to do polish? My car just respray and the Boss ask me to collect, but the worker there told me to revisit on Sunday after 1 month to do polish while the Boss never mention anything on polish job. Can I use Turtle Wax Polish Compound hand applicator polish myself?
voscar
post Nov 29 2019, 04:31 PM

1,525 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Nov 29 2019, 03:39 PM)
Yes, cars fresh out of respray is usually polished one round, but havent heard of after respray come back later to polish. Usually its done after paint cures.

I dont think u should DIY hand polish, but should be done by the shop.
I see, is it to get rid of the orange peel?
I feel because I requested the cheapest paint (for used car selling type), the paint shop owner want to finish fast and collect fund, so ask me to collect car without polish job; while the worker there honest and inform me can go back to do polish and used the reasoning "to let the paint fully cured" before polishing job...

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:55 PM