Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

chongkiatz
post Mar 16 2017, 10:58 AM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 16 2017, 10:15 AM)
i dunno leh. i only used mine 2-3times less than 1hour total.. damn useless cos too much vibration. oh well long ago, bonus link FOC redemption item. biggrin.gif
Haha, so basically polishing actually wont scratch and make swirl right? I just scare using this will make more swirl and scratch

chongkiatz
post Mar 16 2017, 11:17 AM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 16 2017, 11:08 AM)
you can try, dont think it will make more swirl especially if u using a polishing pad and proper polish/swirl remover.
I try work on small panel first, those DA polisher sound very loud, if do it at weekend dunno my neighbour will hit me or not zzzz

The black decker not so noice just feel the spinning speed not fast enough to do cutting

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Mar 16 2017, 11:18 AM
chongkiatz
post Mar 16 2017, 12:37 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(toonny @ Mar 16 2017, 11:23 AM)
I went thru what you are at now. That BD will not even burn your paint, no worry. Polishing pad, I assume you are using the black pad? Very low cutting power and it does remove holograms. Swirl marks? Not really.. I gave the same panel a few passes, means repeat polishing the same panel for a few times, the swirl marks are still there, but holograms were removed. Cheers~
I already modify to this and buy white pad and black pad from osren, so will using meguiars ultimate polish to try small panel, if after few pass the swirl stil there mean need to use something more aggresive like compound + grey force disc pad?

I don mind it take a little time to make it work hehe

chongkiatz
post Mar 16 2017, 08:59 PM

6,773 posts

Orbit mm bigger mean less vibration? I see the review clover DA after long term the holding head will become hot ?
chongkiatz
post Mar 17 2017, 03:47 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 17 2017, 11:58 AM)
Depends on quality. I heard Rupes is less noisy than the duplicated/generic ones.
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Ca...0612.0.0.el3QII

You should check with osren too, i remember once henry tried introducing me the garden hose snow foam
Actually sifu got try the grey force disc for compound or actually microfiber pad is better for compound?
chongkiatz
post Mar 17 2017, 09:34 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Mar 17 2017, 05:40 PM)
I'm no sifu

Grey force disc yes.
Microfiber pad too.

Mf has got better cutting ability, but i hardly use it cause cleaning on the fly is difficult without air pressure gun.

Grey force disc is my go to now. the shape allows pad to continue to rotate even at difficult angles. Slightly better than others.
Okey order force disc grey from osren, normally we do compound, then polish, after compound we need to wash the car only polish? And do panel by panel or compound whole car only polish?

From what i know that after polish we need wash again car only can wax right
chongkiatz
post Mar 29 2017, 10:21 AM

6,773 posts

Get quota Clover 15mm DA polisher rm888 is that cheap?
chongkiatz
post Mar 29 2017, 12:58 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 29 2017, 12:05 PM)
Generally white cars will look dirty faster than other colours, and depending on the brand of car u buy, there is a possibility of the white paint turning yellow-ish over time. However, advantage of white car is most of the time u wont be able to notice any swirls or fine scratches on the paint unless shine under specific type of lighting.

Grey cars dont look as dirty so fast, but generally grey cars wont significantly stand out compared to other colours even if after polishing and waxing/coating.
Even with proper maintain coat and wax will turn yellow too?
chongkiatz
post Apr 27 2017, 04:42 PM

6,773 posts

sifu wanna ask something , actually those expensive polish pad vs cheap or non brand polish pad got different? will it make the car more event scratch or just not tahan as the expensive one?

chongkiatz
post Apr 27 2017, 04:43 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Apr 27 2017, 12:48 PM)
Finally i buy clay bar from shopee online direct from china. im in melaka. i cant go to KL just to get clay bar. time is very precious.

perhaps people in melaka never clay bar their car. aeon and tesco also dont have. i am very disappointed.
why not get from osren? their clay bar is not expensive and good
chongkiatz
post Apr 28 2017, 09:18 AM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Apr 27 2017, 08:21 PM)
Never used PG's quick detailer before, but personally I clay with Meguiars Quik Detailer or Last Touch (diluted) on dry surfaces, but work on half panel at a time and wipe off residue before it dries. Maybe try diluting your PG quick detailer 1:1 ratio and see if it still have wiping off issue.
Yes, big difference if u are comparing against those china-mari no brand types are untested by local distributors. There are numerous potential issues I had encountered before buying those cheap pads, such as the pad density/firmness is the same regardless of their description (say one for compounding and the other for polishing, but both too soft to do anything), pad size not compatible with backing plates (cutting too small end up too close to edge of backing plate), some pads doesnt absorb the polish properly end up everything sandwich on the pad surface, etc.

I personally would recommend to at minimum buy pads from local distributors that got do their own testing of pads before selling, or like Osren that have done all the testing and custom manufacturing of their own pads. At least if the pad has some issues u can refer back to these guys for replacement.

I personally think investing in good pads for home detailers can last very very long because u wont be polishing daily/weekly. I use to have a set of Lake Country CCS pads that lasted me 5-7 years when home detailing. In shop detailing those pads only lasted 2-3 months, hehehe...
Thank for the explain !!! Ya i own lake country pad, just wondering why outside seller lake country 1 pad price = their whole set pad haha, now i get the answer thank happy.gif

chongkiatz
post May 2 2017, 05:56 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ May 2 2017, 08:14 AM)
I doubt the "wax" in the Meg Ultimate Wash & Wax is significant enough to do anything. I did a test on the wash before. See here. Even if it does, should it not "enhance" Meg Ultimate Paste Wax? Since they are both from the same range.
Not a straight forward answer but let me share what I think. Please bear with me.

If water beads up it shows that the surface is hydrophobic and because of the surface tension of water, it will not "wet" the surface and beads up. The general idea of a hydrophobic surface is that dirty liquid will not "wet" and smear all over the surface. But if those water droplets are left to stay till to dry (and with some dirt encapsulated in them), there could potentially be water mark. So I read.

IMHO sealants protects the paint by being a sacrificial barrier. It prevents dirt from sticking directly onto the paint. Be it hydrophobic or slick. So a slick surface that sheets away water and dirt is as good as a surface that beads water. It is just that a surface that beads water gives a Wow effect. And this is where the marketing gimmick works, I guess  smile.gif
The soft99 fusso coat really impress me too, but 1 thing i dont like is its really very hard to buff off, serious i will stil choose meg ultimatr liquiq wax, because i can just put on rotary polish and roll all over the car surface , and wipe without needed muscle power, the soft99 really make my hand pain 1 week

If ULW need 30 min to do all car, soft99 at least need x3 time of it

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 2 2017, 05:57 PM
chongkiatz
post May 3 2017, 02:08 PM

6,773 posts

Any of u using this rotary? Osren is recommend me this for starter kit

chongkiatz
post May 3 2017, 09:23 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 3 2017, 08:03 PM)
Just my 2 sen on rotary, Makita is a workhorse that has been a long favorite by professional detailers for a long time, but it is a heavy machine when compared to hitachi/ken/bosch. When polishing long hours on the side doors and panels, the makita weight can tire u out rather quick if u not used to it. I would suggest testing out each machine first before deciding.

Also, perhaps consider a DA machine instead. A good DA machine that doesnt have massive vibrations during operation can be a better companion for home based detailing.
Because i have 2 car now, 1 is honda jazz solid white

And another honda civic pearl white

For pearl white it stil ok to use DA with perfect cut 20, but for solid white, osren saying that DA will leave a little DA swirl mark on paint , not very recommend to use DA on solid white honda paint

So he recommend me get the Rotary so can use for both car , actually i need the really extra power? Because both my car is 2017 car, i want to remove factory swirl and some wash swirl only
chongkiatz
post May 3 2017, 09:27 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 3 2017, 07:08 PM)
if possible get the hitachi/makita. the machine will stop when you apply pressure
Basically will use for remove swirl from washing car and some swirl that from the first day i get the car

Seriously guys, if between Osren DA dap8 VS Ken 9718 polisher rotary, which will u guys go to for home used

Use for remove swirl, and apply waxing

Really really need u guys help me out, because i got no experience on it, i know rotary + DA is good combo but i just cant afford both, i can only go either one

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 3 2017, 09:30 PM
chongkiatz
post May 3 2017, 11:15 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 3 2017, 11:06 PM)
Erm, not trying to challenge the guys at Osren, but AFAIK rotary has more base power than DA, which means that for cutting down scratches rotary is very good, but finishing swirl free is harder because of its power. DA on the other hand has lower base power, so cutting down scratches takes longer but swirl free is much easier to achieve.

Personally I would still suggest getting a DA because both your cars are japanese (which means their clearcoat is medium hardness), and u are also new to machine polishing. Then, if osren's perfect cut 20 cant finish swirl-free, try other polishes like meguiars ultimate polish or m205. Also, a good polishing/finishing pad helps.

DA is also great for applying waxes like what gfwong mentioned. Not recommended to apply wax with rotary.
Ok, from ur words, i confident that i just go for Osren DAP8 , 8mm orbit i think is enough for my home detail, not going get 15mm bcoz abit pricy, buy from aliexpress later shit happen cant claim cham , at least osren if break down they got 6 month warranty and after warranty they can stil repair for me haha, so is that correct move bro?

Because i have view youtube video recently, DA is more friendly user and better for newbie like me, rotary somehow need better skill only get good result , am i right?

I actually got Grey Force disc, white and black from osren lake country, with black decker kp600, i believe this machine just for waxing only lol, so i now just need a machine to so some real polishing

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 3 2017, 11:17 PM
chongkiatz
post May 4 2017, 10:45 AM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ May 4 2017, 10:00 AM)
I believe your existing setup is sufficient for what you need. Change to another compound product as what blurcase told you if you think the cutting power is not enough. However, skill also matters. So, you might probably get more cutting from perfect cut by adjusting your pressure, passes, speed, etc.
I have meguiars ultimate compound and ultimate polish

So i get DA dap8 8mm from osren and use with my current lake country pad gredy for compound, white for polish and black for wax

So this combo is best for me?

I also buy perfect cut 20 bcoz osren say it is perfect for honda paint, might try it out

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 4 2017, 10:46 AM
chongkiatz
post May 4 2017, 01:03 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 4 2017, 12:57 PM)
Da. But get the dap15. Cause dap8 vibrates like hell. Your hand will go numb for long hours usage. Plus the noise, crazy loud compared to dap15.
Good for swirl removal. Also extra cutting just go for microfiber disc. The dap15 got better torque compared to dap8, yet safe for beginners.
if vibrate , the Black Decker Kp600 vibrate really hard haha , vibrate is ok i think because i doing panel to panel , so it should be around 3-4 minutes pass per panel right? then wipe and check swirl , then continue another panel

dap15 no budget bro , i just use for home base detail only , if get dap15 , i would rather just send to professional work shop , pay Rm350 for full car polish , i can save the money to buy wax cry.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 4 2017, 01:04 PM
chongkiatz
post May 4 2017, 01:36 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 4 2017, 01:31 PM)
It is up to you. But my suggestion is still go for the dap15.
Better ergonomics, less time consuming, less noise and vibration, better swirl buster.

3-4 mins per panel is too quick imo. Depending on how bad the swirls are.
bro , i just found malaysia clover 15mm DA distribution , they cod me RM850 include postage

while Osren 8mm ORBIT raise price le become RM730 + 6% gst RM773 + postage should be around RM20 = RM793

now the gap between RM50 only , is the Clover 15mm DA compared to DAP15? I know someone who own it here right
chongkiatz
post May 4 2017, 01:37 PM

6,773 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 4 2017, 01:16 PM)
In terms of combo, try different pads and polishes and u will find out which is best. Always, the principle is start from least aggressive method first.
Hehe, just sharing from experience, not so much of stopping, but more of knowing the factors that can affect usage. smile.gif
Now i got all the pad , and Ultimate compound + polisher , need advice on DA unit , Osren 8mm VS Clover 15mm , is that clover RM850 pricy? but if get from Malaysia set it will have 6 month warranty , if from AliExpress , the price after convert is around RM7xx if not mistake but i scare shit happen bye.gif

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:49 AM