Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

chongkiatz
post May 6 2017, 10:40 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ May 6 2017, 08:38 PM)
Wax tend to stick on paint better than smooth plastic, acrylic, or polycarbonate. And we wouldn't know how effective is the UV inhabit in wax. Guess that's where the headlight protectant comes in.

The headlight's factory UV resistant coating  would go away one day due to UV. Guess it wouldn't be a bad idea to protect the protective layer while you could.

BTW, there's no need to protect the tail light. Acrylic does not turn yellow due to UV.
Okey dude thank for the explaint, if for repair part, what should we taking care when doing polishing.
chongkiatz
post May 7 2017, 12:11 PM

6,779 posts

Receiced DA happy.gif , it to be more quiet than i expected, and max speed not as vibrate as kp600 which is crazy

chongkiatz
post May 7 2017, 01:00 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 7 2017, 12:42 PM)
waiting for your feedback bro
btw,
I just went out and bought meg white wax after reading its cleaning ability and did wash->clay->wash then rubbing that meg white wax all over my gf silver moon dust iriz yesterday. it was a quick 3 hours task and I did not expect miracle from hand application.

but Damn! I was totally shocked to find the applicator pad has been stained black from just from rubbing a panel. I was expecting the claying part will take care most of the contaminants but i was so wrong. In the end i've used around 6 pads to wax the whole car.

nevertheless, I am quite satisfied with the end result since the paint really popping out now and thinking back about how many contaminants i have removed from the surface

side note: that wax in metal tube form is plain stupid to use!
Yeah, when u are start to detailing, u will appreciatr the time u spending and satisfy with the result

When my first time, after doing claying i start get shock that the surface become so smooth, then learn how to wax, after wax the result really WOW !!!

Now step up to the level, learn to polishing rather than send to under coconut tree shop, those professional shop charge exp price for correction (if normal polish cheap) , end up buy and do it myself hehe

After learn detailing, become more and more picky, cant stand with swirl and scratch, buy compound and polish plan to do with hand, end up do zero correction haha, stil need machine power to do it

Bro u can go youtube type clover ct9000

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 7 2017, 01:01 PM
chongkiatz
post May 7 2017, 05:22 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ May 7 2017, 04:06 PM)
hello sifus, looking for lake country 5.5' foam pad. Can't find any seller in penang, any online seller to intro? thanks
Find osren malaysia, they carry lake country with reasonable price, u can direct go their facebook pages and msg them, their respon very fast
chongkiatz
post May 10 2017, 09:18 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 9 2017, 10:56 AM)
Haha, actually I just bought Carpro IronX and TarX, but plan to use it on car body panel to remove contaminants and ease my claying process after that. For rims I use Cartec acid-free wheel cleaner (its alkaline instead of acid).
Try claying. If doesnt work, try wax cleaner. If doesnt work try polishing/compounding. smile.gif
Sifu, normallt b4 applying wax for 2nd or 3rd time , u will using way cleaner first? If let say after 3 month my car condition stil good, i can direct turn DA and waxing without clay or wax remover? Will cause swirl?
chongkiatz
post May 10 2017, 02:06 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 10 2017, 01:38 PM)
I suggest claying before reapplying wax after 2-3 months. Wax cleaner depends, do a test spot after claying to see if paint have stubborn dirt.

If dont clay and apply wax immediately, there is a risk ur wax and ur pad may pickup contaminants that will scratch the paint.
this is what i think too , because without clay , the car itself after 3 month sure will have alot of contaminants on the surface that can't be wash off by normal wash , then my DA go around and pick up the contaminant end up my hard working polisher/compound = wasted bangwall.gif
chongkiatz
post May 10 2017, 08:46 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 10 2017, 06:45 PM)
You can opt for spray wax, not as damaging as using machine that causes more friction.

For me I use spray wax so during drying I just spray and wipe dry. Followed by a mf cloth to buff
B4 i this, my routine is

Wash > clay > ultimate liquiq wax (every 3 month)

In between i use meguiars spray wax every 2 week (i wash car once a week)

So after 3 month the liquiq wax feel like gone or not that strong because water bending also become weak, so i will start to apply liquiq wax by hand without clay (even the water bend not so strong but stil can feel the car is shining)

Since i already got the DA, sure i wan wax faster than i using hand, but DA is more powerful than applying by hand, that what i scare it pick up the dirty when i waxing with DA , i think its better i clay b4 wax, end up full of swirl i will cry T_T
chongkiatz
post May 13 2017, 09:23 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 12 2017, 09:22 PM)
Hi guys. Got a random question for u guys as home detailing enthusiasts.

If there is a car detailing garage available for rent, facilities provided is pressure washer, air compressor with gun, vacuum cleaner and electrical extension, only bring your own chemicals and polishing machines, fully lockable and secured for overnight stay. Would u guys be willing to rent such a facility?
Actually after learning to wax car any so on, i sometime thinking can i go car wash shop, give them rm5 to rent the water pressure to spray my lower part and inside wheel , hahaha, but sifu i think can renting together with polisher machine , just bring own polish cream and pad then also can diy polisher there

Its good for detailer who stay on condo , they can save their chemical on locker and when want to wash car can direct drive there and wash, but not sure how high the demand would be
chongkiatz
post May 13 2017, 03:29 PM

6,779 posts

can also add in Dobi to wash micro fiber towel tongue.gif
chongkiatz
post May 15 2017, 12:18 PM

6,779 posts

Not sure u guys have the same feeling as my, everytime after wax car, u will feel car become kilat2, but after first wash the car even more kilat2 haha
chongkiatz
post May 15 2017, 05:19 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ May 15 2017, 02:04 PM)
same here.. but my case i can start to see the car more kilat after let say, 12 hours. i attribute that to the sealant that cross linked during that period which makes the car shinier/glossier. More obvious when i use optimum product such as after wash using ONR.
QUOTE(g88 @ May 15 2017, 04:04 PM)
what wax and shampoo are u using ?
i using meguiars gold class shampoo , didn't use wash wax type shampoo
chongkiatz
post May 15 2017, 05:29 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 15 2017, 05:22 PM)
have you ever wonder is that also your 'psychological' effect where you self-convincing with your own DIY work ?

Unless you have a gloss meter to proof else its not 100% trust-able haha
i'm not sure , but i feel that it more gloss after 1st wash , haha bruce.gif Not as gloss as after wax and buff off
chongkiatz
post May 15 2017, 08:15 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(~C.W.S~ @ May 15 2017, 05:31 PM)
What's your car and color? White civic if I remember correctly?
Yup using pearl white civic
chongkiatz
post May 17 2017, 09:04 PM

6,779 posts

So far gold class shampoo is best i ever use

Wanna ask u guys, did u all try this osren wax b4?

chongkiatz
post May 18 2017, 08:21 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 18 2017, 02:02 AM)
Can someone intro me a reputable website where I can purchase detailing stuff?
U can visit their website www.osren.com , and also buy thru their facebook

I recently just buy cloth and some solution from them, that my 2nd time, their price for me is cheaper than those big brand while quality can be on pair with them
chongkiatz
post May 18 2017, 11:41 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 18 2017, 11:06 AM)
Any CG user here ?
user posted imageuser posted image
always see chemical guys youtube video , but not sure how good their product , any of u try OSREN paste wax or liquiq wax before?
chongkiatz
post May 18 2017, 02:06 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 18 2017, 11:59 AM)
still prefer foreign brand.

CG shampoo is great, aside Optimum, MG, ValetPro, Sonax etc
Osren wax not good ? No tahan lama izit bro
chongkiatz
post May 19 2017, 09:30 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ May 19 2017, 01:43 PM)
I use CG smile.gif I use ButterWetWax, i like it a lor. Make the car gloss more. smile.gif
Anyway, where do you guys buy Sonax product from? Can't really find in the market much in malls.
Butterwetwax normally can tahan how long?
chongkiatz
post May 19 2017, 09:34 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 19 2017, 09:58 AM)
their best wax is the synergized
Yes he do intro me too, their wax can apply to all over include plastic, some of wax will actually stain trim and plastic

I finding something easy apply easy buff, the soft99 fusso really make my hand patah, maybe i used to buff ultimate liquiq wax , that wax no need any arm power at all

chongkiatz
post May 20 2017, 01:30 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(slk @ May 20 2017, 12:12 AM)
I've tried Osren's Paint Restorer (AIO). Easy to apply and buff (used my DA).

Meguiar's Ultimate Wax is also easy to use, would not stain trims but durability is poor.

Others include Duragloss 105, Zaino Z2, Polish Angel Master Sealant, Dodo Juice Iron Gloss, Auto Finesse Power Seal and Meguiars NXT 2.0,
U buff off with ur DA too? or just buff using micro towel , u using Paint Restorer 51 Osren ? I thought that is polisher hmm.gif

previously i use ULW for my car but recently feel it abit weird , like won't dry off in surface , yesterday i do send video to blurcase sifu see , not sure izit i store at my car rear bonnet and heat make the wax rosak rclxub.gif Now feel want try other brand liquiq wax , or maybe paste wax is better then go for paste wax

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: May 20 2017, 01:31 PM

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:53 AM