QUOTE(ipunk1026 @ Oct 14 2018, 03:25 PM)
QUOTE(#Victor @ Oct 14 2018, 06:01 PM)
Some more info on ONR for your reference. http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/2010/05/w...en-car.html?m=1
http://www.detailien.com/p/clean.html?m=1
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Oct 14 2018, 07:36 PM
1,009 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(ipunk1026 @ Oct 14 2018, 03:25 PM) QUOTE(#Victor @ Oct 14 2018, 06:01 PM) Some more info on ONR for your reference. http://thedetailers.blogspot.com/2010/05/w...en-car.html?m=1 http://www.detailien.com/p/clean.html?m=1 |
Oct 15 2018, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(Smurfs @ Oct 15 2018, 02:17 PM) I have a friend living in low-rise flat, he carries 2 pale of waters few times in order to finish wash his car. Wow, that is dedication. Maybe you can introduce him ONR for his usual maintenance wash to make things easier.Rinse -> wash -> Rinse. With the complete process of Rinse->wash->Rinse->dry->wax takes around 3-4 hours as he told me. He typically wake up and start washing his car at 7am, before the sun comes out and park at shaded area for waxing. For polishing, he can only do section by section, depends on weather. I wonder about this before. The closest solution I can think of is to find a friend who lives in landed property with car porch and running water and 'borrow space' to wash car for a morning maybe. But I do realise this could be something awkward to request for. |
Oct 17 2018, 10:21 PM
Hi guys, Just wondering what degreaser / APC you guys use? Thinking to get one to tackle some of the below task.
-Cleaning Tire, rim & wheel wells Was thinking to use full strength or dilute 1:1 in spray bottle for this task. -Clean off stubborn grim on car paint / trims Specifically for nooks and crannies on car exterior & also long lines of dirt & grim stains that usually appear below door handles and side mirror. -Strip wax / sealants I know I can chose IPA or dish washing soap for this, but I read that Slk suggested can add some into car shampoo and wash as normal to achieve this too. Good to have choices I suppose? Some of the products suggested in previous post are Meguiars APC, Osren Degreaser FX and OPC. Maybe I am too greedy to thinking of getting just 1 product to tackle of the above task? |
Oct 18 2018, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 17 2018, 11:43 PM) 1) Cleaning tire, rim, wheel wells: I used to pre-soak with Cartec Wheel Cleaner, then rinse, then use my regular Meguiars NXT wash soap to scrub entire wheel including barrel and wheel wells, then Cartec Wheel Cleaner again on the tyres scrubbing, then wash everything off. Subsequently I changed Cartec Wheel Cleaner to SuperClean Degreaser, works better with less toxic burn, now moved on to Meguiars Super Degreaser. Thanks for sharing. More options to consider 2) Stubborn dirt on edges/trims: I tend to use APC with brush for those jobs, however it is rare that I need to do so because I dont leave my car that long for the grime to harden to that extent. 3) Strip wax / sealants: Claybar would be my go to, so cant advice on dishsoap or IPA effectiveness. |
Oct 19 2018, 02:15 PM
Guys, I suddenly tot of an funny idea regarding waxing the car with Fusso coat.
After reading thru past opinions about Fusso coat, generally it is praised for it's water beading ability & durability but has the disadvantage of attracting comparatively more dust and watermark. So my idea is that why not wax vertical panels (such as doors and bumper) with Fusso coat and then wax horizontal panels (such as car roof and hood) with another wax/sealant that attracts less watermark? I was thinking maybe this may reduce watermark on fusso coat as water less likely to sit and dry on vertical panels. But dust might still be a problem maybe. Another possible downside to this is that visually the car may look.. Strange due to different shine due to different wax/sealant on different panels. so far I have not heard people using different wax/sealants on different part of the car, only layering different wax and sealants. So what do you guys think? Or anyone tried it before already? |
Oct 19 2018, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 19 2018, 04:56 PM) It is an interesting thought, however u'd have to invest into 2 types of protection systems for the same car. I think that would depend on everyone's individual budget. Ahh.. I see. Thanks for sharing. Indeed, applying spray wax on top of Fusso coat works too. haha Think the 2 main reasons why ppl prefer to apply fusso then a spray wax on top of it is: 1) Fusso as a strong base layer and spray wax as sacrificial layer. Spray wax layer would attract less dust and watermarks (hopefully) 2) The shine becomes more consistent instead of different levels of shine on different panels. Usually ppl only using different protection systems in different parts of the car as a form of testing to see which one is better. Personally I have not tried applying different systems on the same car, as I am the type to like or dont like also buy already then use until pretty much finish. If I really dont like the product then donate/throw away and get another one that works better. Youtube and online reviews help alot in research before purchasing, so reduces the likelihood of buying a product I really dont like. |
Oct 19 2018, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(vindroid @ Oct 19 2018, 10:13 PM) No harm trying imho. But take note where spray wax on top of would affect the characteristics and behavior of the previous lsp layed on. But u should consider trying and compare between carnauba based, polymer, and sio2 based. Then u should have an idea which is more effective in self cleaning, less prone to waterspot and durability. Thanks for your suggestion Also, need you guy's advice on a newbie problem : How do you guys keep solutions/shampoo from leaking or dripping from their bottles? In my case, my old Turtlewax Wash & Wax shampoo bottle and current Meguiars NXT shampoo, after I pour the solution into the cap (to pour into wash bucket), the solution drips from the cap after I screw back the cap into the bottles. How do I prevent these unnecessary wastage? |
Oct 20 2018, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(vindroid @ Oct 19 2018, 11:50 PM) Just rinse the cap with water onto your wash bucket filled with shampoo. Then you would have a clean cap and no more drips wastage. Such a simple solution how come I never think of this QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 19 2018, 11:58 PM) Erm, just my experience with shampoos, after a while I stop following the pouring into their cap and then into wash bucket. I used to pour instead to a separate measuring cup instead, but nowadays i just agak-agak pour in direct. If u practice pouring direct often enough, eventually u actually dont need any measuring. Good idea on using a measuring cup instead of using the bottle cap. I not confident enough to pour direct into the bucket yet. Scare I accidentally pour too much, but I might get the hang of it as time goes on I suppose This post has been edited by V429: Oct 20 2018, 01:27 PM |
Oct 20 2018, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(therain01 @ Oct 19 2018, 11:59 PM) The problem with fusso coat type of wax is they are not heat friendly. This type of wax tend to melt and blend together with fine dust under heat. You will need to apply cleaner wax from time to time depending on how wellyou 'stored' your car. I see.. I think I might have missed out this melting under heat weakness of Fusso coat during my readings. If this is true then I probably will go for FK1000p instead of Fusso coat since unfortunately my car is parked outdoors almost all the time Anyway I'm testing a liquid base sealant which require no buff. Just spray and wipe off. Water beading result is as good as fusso coat. Durability wise still under monitoring. Water beading still at 80% effectiveness after first wash and it does not attract fine dust like fusso coat. Those are interesting looking spray sealants, never seen them before. I hope they are good. |
Oct 20 2018, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Oct 20 2018, 12:39 AM) Just sharing the tip on how I eventually got the agak-agak right. It is much less on how u see it as it goes into the bucket, but more when u have foamed it up and run the soap in ur washmitt across the car. As long as its watery doesnt foam up much when u are scrubbing your car, then soap not enough. I sorta get what you mean. Thanks for the tip A way cheap way to demonstrate this agak-agak method is by using dishsoap in a small bowl. When u put very little dishsoap (like 1-2 drops into a bowl of water), and try to wash your plates, u will find it to be very watery but not much suds when scrubbing your plates. However, when u add more, then try wash again, u may see more suds when scrubbing. Same concept, different application. Hope this explanation helps. |
Oct 21 2018, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(littlegamer @ Oct 21 2018, 02:50 PM) hi new to here, i own a black decker polisher KP600. my paints is now full of scuff marks , water marks and some black dirt cant be removed just by washing, white cars owners should understand While I don't know much about polishing, but if you want to do some light cleaning to get ride of stubborn dirt and grins, may I suggest you to use cleaner wax? It's a wax that contains very light abrasives that lightly clean the paint and also leaves behind a layer of wax (but it's not as durable as pure wax).i do most car caring like waxing and washing myself except polish as my skill suck. any recommendation of simple polish can remove those defects with the black decker polisher? or i should send to shine shine those kind of shop to help me do. i also see shine shine offer RM68 water polish + waxing, whats water polish? Use water instead of polishing cream? that sounds ridiculous to me. After this polish i will seat it off with soft99 fuso coat. I currently use Mother's cleaner wax, it works fine but can sometimes be hard to buff off. Other brands also offer cleaner wax as Meguiars, Osren, etc. |
Oct 22 2018, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(smallcrab @ Oct 21 2018, 11:45 PM) Ah ha, that explains why my Fusso waxed car having this dirty look with black stains after 2 weeks exposed to rain and sun on my solid white paint (new car) but beading still superb though. Stains can't be washed with normal shampoo & multi-purpose cleaner, but using Meta-Clean easily cleaned it all away. Just to share, I think to reduce those black stains, need to clean out those nooks & crannies on car exterior with brush (like door handles, side mirror, rubber strip on car roof, etc).Now i am trying another wax - Kiwami, looks more glossy. I'm still a newbie experimenting. Yesterday just tried to wash those area with a temporary(paint) brush I got from Mr DIY that looks something like the below. Mix some car shampoo + few drops of dish soap for some extra strength, brush those area and saw dirt come out even after I just washed the car. Will observe further to see if this really helps to reduce those black stains. On a side note, got the below brush from Mr DIY for Rm5.20. Looks very suited to detailing car even if it's a paint brush. Says on packaging it's made from synthetic materials (instead of usual hog's hair) so I think that may be of interest for our Muslim friends. Works well, soft to the touch but not sure if it scratches paint. To my naked eye it does not seem to scratch paint, but kinda wish someone has microscope like the Forensic detail guy to really test it out. Haha. https://m.kmart.com/rolling-dog-r10162-21-m...p-SPM7684095503 |
Oct 24 2018, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(Qasy @ Oct 24 2018, 09:48 AM) Hey guys. First time owning a car and definitely zero knowledge on car care. I use Rainx. Works well on windscreen and side windows but durability is so so only. Is there any recommendations for rain repellent for windshield, mirror and windows? Prefer a product that I can use for 3 parts (3-in-1 product, does it even exist though?) If not, repellent for mirrors and windows will do. Thank you all in advance for the recommendations. And apologies if it has been asked before. In my experience I think you need to clean the windscreen / windows before you apply for best results. Also after you apply rainx it is important to give it enough time to 'cure' before buffing it off. If not it causes some problem later. Other solutions may be window coating, which I have no experience on, but the seniors here can give you more info on this |
Nov 12 2018, 09:01 AM
Just want to ask you guys who use rainx, how do you guys usually apply it? I so far only used rainx on my windscreen but noticed on cold mornings somehow usually morning dew covers whole windscreen, end up needing to use wiper to wipe those morning dews off.
I also remember someone mentioned using rainx together with rainx washer fluid additive? Wonder how good is it? Anyone who tried it kindly share your experience? |
Nov 13 2018, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(crixalisrox @ Nov 12 2018, 09:22 PM) One curious question on my mind. I think if the pressure is high enough to remove wax then it probably is not safe your car paint in my opinion.If use high pressure jet for car wash, will the pressure remove the wax faster? Usually to remove wax from car, you can also chose to use 'paint cleaner', or clay, or polish, or the budget option : diluted liquid dish soap (however car detailing community have mixed opinion on using dish soap on car paint). For the Sifus here to help you better, maybe you can further elaborate on your situation / scenario. |
Nov 13 2018, 03:50 PM
Not quite sure the spots/marks/smudges are, but my guess is those might be a thin film of oil (from our skin or oily food maybe).
If my above assumption is correct then damp cloth might not be enough to remove them. Maybe you can try to clean with diluted APC to get rid of the oil. QUOTE(Duckies @ Nov 13 2018, 11:28 AM) Eh guys, my dashboard and door panels have white spots/marks/smudges whenever my hand or finger touches them. I can clean it off easily with a damp cloth but is there a way to prevent it? Mine is the Mazda CX-5 2018. Not sure if the dashboard material is made of vinyl or leather or leather but coated with vinyl Was thinking of Meguair products such as these but not sure which will work. https://www.meguiars.com/automotive/product...ner-conditioner https://www.meguiars.com/automotive/product...16-152-oz-spray Not sure if my dashboard is leather or vinyl... https://www.meguiars.com/automotive/product...116-16-oz-spray I think I remembered blurcase recommended it once. Is it gonna be glossy and reflected on the windscreen? |
Nov 13 2018, 05:31 PM
Well, usually people here will tell you no other shortcut expect to clean regularly. Maybe wipe & clean car interior once every 2 weeks?
As for the protectants, my understanding is that they are more to protect car interior vinyl or plastics (to prevent cracking or colour fading) and also add some shine, but i don't think they do much to prevent the problem you have. I might be mistaken however. Please Feel free to share your opinions. QUOTE(Duckies @ Nov 13 2018, 03:52 PM) |
Nov 17 2018, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(EON @ Nov 17 2018, 02:48 PM) From YouTube videos, usually I see them use stuff like car shampoo, degreaser /APC and iron removers to do the job. If you want to be thorough, you can take out the wheel to really clean it properly. |
Nov 20 2018, 04:50 PM
Nov 22 2018, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(joshgm_119 @ Nov 22 2018, 01:40 PM) Hi folks I suppose you can look for shops that offer windscreen polishing services. So far I only know Osren provide this service. Maybe you can pay them a visit to assess your car and get a quote.Apologies if this has been covered previously. Was driving on the highway behind a fully loaded lorry and some object actually flew off the top and hit the windshield relatively hard. No cracks, however there are visible deep scratch marks left behind. Is there any way that scratches on glass can be removed? Unfortunately I don't have a DA for polishing, so wondering what my options are. Thanks! |
| Change to: | 0.0379sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:04 PM |