Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Dec 12 2018, 07:29 PM
1,009 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Yeah, In my case it is waterspot on side windows, not side mirror. I guess a professional product is needed to tackle this problem. Wallet pain. Hahaha.
Anyhow, thank you all for sharing |
Dec 27 2018, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(Chiggah @ Dec 27 2018, 10:35 PM) Wash bucket you can just find those used paint buckets and wash them clean to use. Grit guard I think are designed to fit those buckets as they are standard size at 26cm or something. Then maybe u can just buy grit guard only instead of buy in a set. If you want alternative for grit guard, I think someone suggested before to buy from Aliexpress seller MJJC. If u don't want to bite the bullet and get grit guard for now, may I suggest you try the 2 bucket method of washing your car, it helps. Just Google it or find on YouTube on this method. |
Dec 29 2018, 11:30 AM
Just to share my experience, I finally found out why grime trail keep appearing from my car's door handle part, despite my repeated washing with brush.
It's because there is grease applied inside the handle and I usually pull it lightly to wash it with brush, so I suppose grease mixed with soapy water is what caused it to form the grime trail. Maybe next time I should just wash the outside of the door handle. ![]() |
Dec 29 2018, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 29 2018, 12:05 PM) That is one probability. The other one is that rain trails most frequent at car edges, door handles being one of them. To know for sure, try use your water hose to spray your car and see where water trails. I know what you mean, just that based on my observations only door handle have this problem even until now. Other parts that used to have grime trails like side mirror and corners of windows, no longer have this problem after few time of washing with brush.I suppose I will experiment a bit in the coming weeks by not wash the insides of the door handle and see what happens. |
Jan 4 2019, 03:52 PM
Hi Bro, I suppose sifus are busy currently. Haha. Why not try Meguiars Ultimate polish? Remember hearing before that Honda paint is very soft or 'sticky'.
Can't help u with the iBrid Coz I myself also have no idea QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 3 2019, 07:16 AM) |
Jan 4 2019, 04:58 PM
Oh, didn't realise it's plastic, haha. As far as I know, nothing much we can do after it is scratched. Maybe can DIY spray paint it? I remember seeing a forensic detailing video before that he spray painted interior plastic.
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 4 2019, 04:28 PM) |
Jan 5 2019, 03:26 PM
Kaffatsum, just remembered you mentioned the below some time ago, can you share your experience of how did it went? Because I am in somewhat similar situation as well.
QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Sep 17 2018, 11:38 AM) For polishing, would it be possible to do 1-2 sections of the car at a time? And then repeat wash, clay, dry, ipa step everyday for whatever section I wanted to polish? The reason I ask is because my car is parked outside without much shading. Meaning I would try and polish as much of the car as I can before it gets too hot and sunny. |
Jan 5 2019, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 5 2019, 05:16 PM) Same scenario here! No choice I did panels by panels... like day 1, hood, roof and boot... then day 2 fenders and doors... then bumpers on day 3. sometimes can stretch for weeks.. not exactly time efficient... Yeah this is what I was thinking of, especially because I plan to polish by hand, take even longer time than polish by machines. Still not quite ready to start buying DA polishers yet.. |
Jan 5 2019, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jan 5 2019, 06:55 PM) I started this way. by hand. Got fed up and bought my first da years ago. Never look back lol. Yeah, I suppose you are probably right that I will get fed up sooner or later, but still i think it's a hard experience worth having. Never try never know how hard it is to polish manually there is a limitation to how much shine a hand polish can bring about. brands you can consider on da polisher if you have around Rm800 budget: Shinemate OSREN |
Jan 6 2019, 12:25 AM
Many thanks for the advice.
QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 5 2019, 10:36 PM) I believe many DIY detailers will start off with hand polishing in the beginning. If your interest continues to build from there, then u can consider a machine to increase your detailing efficiency. One tip that I would like to give in hand polishing, avoid pressing harder on the pad in thinking to remove deeper scratches. It doesnt work that way. As with claying, polishing is also about consistent but lighter pressure and persistent motion over the same area and let the polish do the work. Also, be mindful of pad cleanliness as u progress. Considering hand polishing pads are usually small, 1-2 sections of 1 panel can start overloading hand pads with residue. If possible have more than 1 pad (4-6 pads ideally), so that can wash the old one and let dry while using a new one. |
Jan 14 2019, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(Qasy @ Jan 14 2019, 02:55 PM) Contemplating between coating and waxing. My sole purpose is to protect the paint. Its kept outside 24/7. My dad says there is no need of any of that since its a brand new car (4 month). Most here would say protection is needed no matter new or old car. My car also kept outside all day almost everyday. I currently use spray wax and sometimes cleaner wax. Lasts about 1 (if hot weather) or 2 weeks at most.Hmm... I don't prefer coating due to lack of flexibility, cannot polish if you need to. Traditional waxing requires effort but more satisfying and cheaper in the long run for me. |
Jan 14 2019, 06:36 PM
Very much agreed. No matter coating or wax still have to wash regularly. Haha. Would also suggest to buy touch up paint Coz sooner or later there will be stone chips if car is driven regularly.
QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jan 14 2019, 05:45 PM) Personal opinion. The most important aspect of "protecting" your ride is a proper and regular wash. among others, don't tailgate cars, especially lorries, avoid driving behind lorries at all cost to prevent stone chips. Don't park under trees and perform paint cleaning once in a while. Wax and coating is not invincible and still requires regular washes and some tlc |
Jan 18 2019, 11:20 AM
Hey Learjet35, just some suggestion for you below on maintaining your new car as below :
-u can wash your car without foam, but if you really want it you can get IK foamer 1.6 from Osren, go Google / YouTube it. Let's u spray foam from bottle. -would also suggest you get cleaner wax and applicator pad for the some of the stubborn stains that normal washing cannot get rid of (some here suggest soft99 blue tin I think) -when it comes to waxing, maybe you can consider spray wax / sealants, not as durable (maybe last 1 week only) but less tiring to apply compared with traditional paste or liquid wax / sealant. -get something like rainx and apply to all your windows from the beginning as I think it helps to prevent future waterspot issue on any of your windows (but on front windscreen may causes wiper judder, I just chose to live with that). -I use Meguairs shampoo they are good, but if you can also consider paying Osren a visit, They basically have everything you need to maintain your car. Hope it helps. |
Jan 19 2019, 03:13 PM
Jan 19 2019, 10:33 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Nice buy! For wash mitt I use SGCB wash mitt, I previously use rolson noodle type wash mitt from ACE Hardware also quite nice. If you are on a really tight budget I saw Mr DIY selling noodle type wash mitt as well.
Just curious, how do you wash car with Osren shampoo without a bucket? QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Jan 19 2019, 10:14 PM) |
Jan 19 2019, 11:33 PM
I suppose you can chose not to use 2 bucket system and just use foam sprayer, but for me, foam sprayer has it's uses but I will still use 2 bucket system as I think foam don't have enough 'lubrication' as compared with the traditional car shampoo + water. However this is a very subjective matter, you can always experiment and see what works for you.
For waxing, as sifu Blurcase mentioned, one important factor is where you park your car, if your car is park indoor all the time then probably the protection will last longer no matter u use traditional or spray wax / sealant. QUOTE(Learjet35 @ Jan 19 2019, 09:19 PM) Thank you for your brief feedback. Yes will check out the IK foam sprayer. Saw someone posted before in this thread, looks fun! Haha So if I get that, I don’t have to use 2 bucket system right? Just use one to rinse my wash mitt, and spray and cont. Just got back from ace hardware, gotten my self rainx and brushes for the tyre. Compared the price, shopee way cheaper. Thinking to get meguiar endurance tire as well, anybody have been using it? Saw great review on YouTube video. For the waxing yeah, I though about that too. If I use sealant for at least once a month,and I wash my car every week, still I have to apply quick wax after wash. Unless I don’t have to use quick wax after wash, then once a month waxing might be ok. What do u think? I don’t want to waste money, I have the habits to buy all the good stuff and will get lazy later on haha |
Jan 20 2019, 09:38 PM
I remember both Osren & SGCB got sell bucket dollies, but both also not cheap I remember, can't recall the exact price. I also just carry the 2 buckets around when I wash, no choice as no budget to buy the dollies
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 20 2019, 06:22 PM) |
Jan 28 2019, 12:23 AM
Finally tried CarPro PERL today, results are quite nice. However applying it with round sponge applicator pad is a bit tricky.
Applying it on tyres and big plastics pieces such as door panels and centre console is straightforward, but it's hard to apply it in a percise manner when it comes to door and roof rubber strips and trims as I would smear a bit on paint or window. Any ideas to this? Another thing I wasn't used to was getting the right amount of solution on the sponge. Sometimes put too much and the panel will be a bit wet with the white milky solution. Hard to get the right amount. ![]() ![]() |
Jan 28 2019, 05:48 PM
Thanks for the tip. I tried avoid using cloth as some solution will be wasted to wet the cloth. Then again maybe I can use a smaller piece of cloth. Will try it out next time. Thanks.
QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 28 2019, 01:58 AM) Easy fix for issue 1: spray Perl on a corner of microfiber towel and use that corner to apply on slim trims, the remainder of clean towel to buff off. Easy fix for issue 2: 1 squirt, keep rubbing until dry, then 1 squirt and continue. No point applying ample or thick because the remainder gets buffed off anyways. More key is thin and even applications. Hope this helps. |
Jan 29 2019, 09:46 AM
Means, spray diluted APC, scrub with brush then wipe with damp cloth? Also, what kind of brush is suitable? Soft horsehair brush?
QUOTE(blurcase @ Jan 29 2019, 09:22 AM) |
| Change to: | 0.2640sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:27 PM |