QUOTE(Captain89 @ Apr 18 2020, 02:49 PM)
Most of my towels are actually from Mr.DIY save for a few so called "detailer grade" towels Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance
Apr 18 2020, 06:26 PM
106 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(Captain89 @ Apr 18 2020, 02:49 PM) Most of my towels are actually from Mr.DIY save for a few so called "detailer grade" towels |
Apr 19 2020, 01:12 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Captain89 @ Apr 18 2020, 06:33 PM) Okayy, make sense I will normally use an electric blower to blow off the water beads on a protected car. Things are a bit complicated with cars that not even sheeting water, this is when I have to take out the drying towels. And ya, I personally find Mr.DIY towels to be very decent. Try to look out for those at the automotive section.I will try Mr. DIY towels then, dont want to spend too much Just problem with drying only, I will find a way for that |
Apr 19 2020, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(hahakat88 @ Apr 19 2020, 12:09 AM) One question guys, cloth like this suitable for waxing? I have big drying cloth from DIY already. Yup as Teik Chuan mentioned, should be fine for waxing and buffing. Most important thing is to take care of them properly after use.Getting smaller one like this to buff wax. |
Apr 19 2020, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 19 2020, 01:16 PM) I have one of those pet dryers that can be found on shopee, and one electric leaf blower from Mr.DIY. Haha This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 19 2020, 01:25 PM |
Apr 19 2020, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 19 2020, 01:27 PM) Ahh.. the cordless ones very tempting but also over budget for me. Haha. The Mr DIY one works ok so far? I am a bit curious whether is it durable for the price or not. Had it for 2 months, still surviving after regular use. Haha. It's a bit loud that's all, but very powderfulll for the price tag. |
Apr 20 2020, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 19 2020, 08:52 PM) My car has white spots of outdoor wall paint (water based acrylic paint) what’s the best way to remove them? If I use finger nail, it will come off but I would have scratched the surface 😅. My black rims also have some 😑. Maybe you can try Goof-Off/Goo-Gone or any of the orange oil based adhesive cleaners. |
Apr 21 2020, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(La2yboy @ Apr 20 2020, 06:35 PM) Dear all sifu The real question you have to ask yourself is, what are you expecting out of this project? First timer posting here Just wanna get some advise before starting to purchase my tools to detailing my ride ![]() Based on the picture what kind of the paint conditions are ? And what method to bring back the shine like mirror ? Many thanks And most importantly, it's very hard to judge the condition of your paint with just a photo. I normally ask a lot of things before touching the paint e.g age of car, previous touch-ups, previous detailing work, accidents etc etc. If you're just planning to bring back the gloss and shine, then it's a fairly simple project. But if you're planning to remove paint defects or imperfections e.g swirls, scratches, etchings, then it's not going be that straightforward. And I assume that's a GM2 Honda City? This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 21 2020, 12:14 PM |
Apr 21 2020, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 21 2020, 12:22 PM) I primarily use a Nicron B22 penlight for most cases. Cheap and works very well for me. I rarely use floodlights and the bigger stuff. And yes as bro TeikChuan mentioned, by heart too. |
Apr 21 2020, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(La2yboy @ Apr 21 2020, 12:40 PM) Hi sir, Ah I see the problem. Then perhaps you might want to follow up with a finishing polish to bring back the gloss and shine. Try the Ultimate Polish (UP) since you used Ultimate Compound (UC). They are meant to be used together as a 2 stage system.many thanks for taking your time to reply on my questions Yes, a simple project to bring back to gloss and shine as the current paintwork looks dull even i tried it with Meguiar's ultimate compound (done by using hand) as per told can do the tricks but only removes some light swirls and scratches . Yes, is a GM2 H.City 2009 which i bought from used car. I love UC, but I will always finish it off with a lighter abrasive ala UP to bring back that shine and gloss. Moreover, UP has fillers and glazing agents to help mask the heavier imperfections to a certain extent. Thus, further enhancing the shine. Hope this helps. This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 21 2020, 04:02 PM |
Apr 21 2020, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(Btcminer99 @ Apr 21 2020, 02:43 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « hi, is there any way to restore this leather car seat without having to replace the whole portion of leather? i dont aim to have it restored to like-new condition, but just to prolong its usage and looks a little nicer. its a 12-year old daily driver so wear and tear is really bad. kinda on a budget so would opt for the cheapest solution possible. I've seen certain leather repair products like 1. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/auto-car...7203pjpTcG&mp=3 2. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/carcore-...l__null__null__ 3. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/carcore-...l__null__null__ have anyone tried any of these products and can vouch for its effectiveness? will any leather cleaner and conditioner able to restore the seats to look better and last longer? Personally, I would bring it to a leather specialist. And good news, Malaysia has a pretty robust leather furniture industry. This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 21 2020, 03:15 PM |
Apr 21 2020, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 21 2020, 03:17 PM) Interesting. I presume when using it to inspect you always zoom out the beam? Does it work better that way? Yes, the B22 has that zoom function and so I usually zoom it out to make the light as diffused as possible. I also have to hold the light as high as possible for some "stubborn" colours. If let's say I were to get a torchlight, to what criteria or requirement should I pay attention to? Focused lighting will blind you (literally) away from the imperfections. Any LED torchlight would do, seriously. For me, it's how you use it. You can get a Scangrip Sunmatch and still be a total noob. Just pick any decent ones you can find. And practice with the angles. Trust me, you will master it. Took some time for me to properly use my lights too. Specs wise, I would prefer something with a high Colour Rendering Index (CRI) and slightly warmer temperatures to achieve better colour renditions. So I would personally recommend the B22. Nitecore has some decent inspection lights as well, which I plan to get soon. And if you want free lighting, the sun or your TNB lamp posts. |
Apr 21 2020, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 21 2020, 03:55 PM) Nitecore MT06MD? Exacto. I tried it out at a shop and was pretty damn close to getting one. Haha. Its a bit hard for me to get the hang of it, paint inspection with torchlight. Especially when it comes to dark coloured metallic paint. Tho I guess it's something that comes with experience. Haha. Yes, everything comes with experience. Don't worry, we will get there eventually. This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 21 2020, 03:59 PM |
Apr 22 2020, 07:48 PM
Apr 22 2020, 07:57 PM
I lost a few cutting pads to caked up gunk because I was too lazy to clean right after use. Good lesson. Now I'll always chuck all the used pads and applicators into a bucket of soap and water and hand wash them as soon as possible.
This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 22 2020, 07:58 PM |
Apr 29 2020, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(genkis3 @ Apr 29 2020, 08:56 PM) 1st time detail engine bay . just simply clean with apc then apply carpro perl. dont know perl can withstanf the engine heat not? what u guys using actually? Yes Carpro Perl should be great for the engine bay. We had Gyeon Preserve (which is also Silicon-Oxide based) applied to our G30 and it has lasted more than 6 months until I decided to remove it last week. APC didn't work so I had to use an alkaline degreaser. In short, Perl should work and last the same I presume.![]() This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 29 2020, 09:22 PM |
Apr 30 2020, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 29 2020, 11:08 PM) m_man, may I ask you about flashlight (for paint inspection) in more details? Wow! That some good observation and just realized that most detailing lights are convex. Thanks for the question but unfortunately I'm not in a good position to give you a definite answer. Basically I would like to ask, is picking flashlight with convex lens critical in a good paint inspection flashlight? I mean the usual flashlight all have flat lens and the beam it produces usually have too big & too bright a hotspot and too soft spills for our purposes (refer below picture, No.3 & 4). I believe that flashlight with convex lens even them out will smaller, softer hotspot and more even, stronger spill (refer below picture, No.1 & 2). All the expensive detailing lights (like scangrip) have big convex lens I noticed. Tho maybe torchlight with convex lens might not be bright enough to show holograms, but more suitable to show swirls and scratches. If so, I think I finally found the magical unicorn of a flashlight that has convex lens and with all the range of colour temperature Edit : Sifu blurcase I borrow your below picture ya ![]() Note : original post of the pic - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=88074539 But from my own personal experience, yes I was able to better spot defects with a convex lens be it swirls or holograms. After testing a lot of cheapo LED flashlights (because I'm a cheapo in nature Because unfortunately, defect spotting is a skill by itself, just like how it takes a while to master a rotary irregardless of the machine used. Btw, great stuff once again. P.S: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQS50G9QwcY Check out Sandro's take on lights if you haven't already. Great source of information there. This post has been edited by m_man: Apr 30 2020, 02:29 PM |
May 1 2020, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ Apr 30 2020, 03:39 PM) I agree with the person in the video that you can't correct what you can't inspect properly. I feel that the topic of paint inspection lighting is not discussed enough. Yes agreed. Thus, it's definitely beneficial to have different sets of lights laying around for different scenarios. It is said different lighting colour temperature work better with different colour of paint, tho I further suspect different lighting colour temperature also have certain advantage of better showing light or deep searches as demonstrated by Osren's video shared earlier. As you mentioned there probably is no 1 light to rule them all. Haha. And the market of handheld paint inspection lights is also somewhat underserved. I feel paint inspection have rather unique requirements, in that it needs specific beam patterns that mainstream brands does not cover because they mostly design for everyday use case. The lens, reflectors, LED, colour temperature, etc. Even so you find a lot of people using lights from mainstream brands for paint inspection. In this I believe there are techniques to make mainstream lights suitable for paint inspection (holding it at angles, distance from paint). I really wish I have different lights and panels to experiment with to figure this out. Haha. Btw, I ordered a Nicron B22 too I once read an article online where the author mentioned that apart from having a high CRI, 6600K is actually the sweet spot for defect spotting. I forgot which website. This explains why most decent detailing lights can switch between different temperatures. And congrats on the order. Once the MCO is over, I would have to pay a few suppliers to see what type of detailing lights they have to offer. I'm actually in the process of opening my own detailing shop, but this MCO is putting all the planning to a halt. SGCB has some dedicated detailing lights on sale. I would have to test it out personally to see if it's worth the money. So a visit to their showroom is definitely in place since I need to enquire about 3D products anyways. Otherwise, I would have to close one eye and order a Scangrip or Astro kit from overseas once and for all. This post has been edited by m_man: May 1 2020, 08:22 PM |
May 1 2020, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(GuyM @ Apr 30 2020, 07:09 PM) Quick one... Can I use this to dilute with water to make it suitable for surface cleaning after polish? If so what's the ideal mixture? LOL. Did you order this from Grab? I usually mix 1:1 with distilled water. You can get distilled or sterile water from the pharmacy. And since it's already 70%, you may use it out of the bottle right away. I only dilute my 99% IPA. However, I'll still recommend using a dedicated wipe down like Carpro Eraser or Gyeon Prep because they are designed to provide better dwell time. Pure IPA will evaporate rather quickly in my experience. I personally use Eraser, which is a life changing product. |
May 4 2020, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(V429 @ May 1 2020, 08:51 PM) Really? I thought the ideal colour temperature would be around 5000k as they say it's close to sunlight at noon. Oh well, good to know. Detailing is such a vast world. So much conflicting information, so many methods etc etc. It's a never ending education. Opening shop! You're living the dream man By the way, I mentioned earlier I found a suitable light, it's from Convoy, model BD04. Convex lens (and zoomable), no reflector and most importantly, you can pick 5 different LED that covers 3000k all the way up to 7000k. If once I get the Nicron, and it proves that Convex lens is crucial for paint inspection, I might get these BD04 in the future once I have the budget. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32279728868.html Ya, was doing it mobile but on and off for the past 2 years. So finally decided to quit my profession to give the shop a try. I'm in KL. Convoy BD04, got it. Thanks for the info, will check it out. Btw, I contacted Detailing Kingdom (Flex Malaysia) about lights and was told that they can order the Flex DWL 2500 for me. They quoted me about RM615 without batteries. Will check them out when I pay them a visit after the MCO. Seems to be a reasonable choice. |
May 4 2020, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(frankzane @ May 3 2020, 01:57 AM) Hi, Which product is that? Conventional wax contains organic material e.g carnauba, bee's wax, montan etc etc which mold and other living organisms may thrive on (ever wondered why some insects love hanging around a freshly waxed car?) That may explain the phenomena. Anyone has had their wax grows mold? My Turtle Wax has got mold growing after I used it few weeks back. Any advice? This is the reason why synthetic sealants and coatings contain inorganic material, and little to no organic material at all. This post has been edited by m_man: May 4 2020, 03:06 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0400sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:13 AM |