Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Jul 12 2017, 11:21 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Gamer @ Jul 12 2017, 07:32 PM)
Sorry, my bad, i mean after I bought the rotary polisher then all those menzerna compound, polish and also those foam pads and cleaning liquids all end about 1.5k.
Lol, quite normal. Welcome to the world of enthusiast home detailing. smile.gif

Consider the machine and pads to be longer term investment, as they dont wear as quickly, just the liquids are consumables. Generally home use liquids do last quite long though, cuz we only polish our cars max 1-2 times a year. Unless your house got many cars and u are tasked to maintain them, hehe...
blurcase
post Jul 13 2017, 11:40 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 13 2017, 10:06 AM)
guys

recently i just bought a car with new paint
it seems good and shiny, looks like new.

but my job need me to park my car under hot sun
is there any way to make my car always shiny and "wet look"?
due to my nature of work, i cant have polish and wax every week because i am travelling most of the time
any coating is recommended? any specific shop?

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Mmm, I think have to be realistic that our weather conditions will always make car dirty especially during rain and shine and rain seasons. To maintain some shine it is always good to wash the car on weekly or 2 weeks basis.

Polishing is not necessary or recommended to be done weekly because it will thin your paint. People only polish when necessary to remove defects and restore shine (usually 6 months to 1-2 years once).

Waxing usually is done monthly to few months once depending on wax durability, severity of weather and your washing consistency. Waxing helps to maintain shine and reduce contaminants bonding with paint. U can always use spray wax after wash as quick fix to maintain car shine.

Even if u got coating applied from any shop, washing regularly is still recommended to maintain shine.
blurcase
post Jul 13 2017, 05:42 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 13 2017, 05:20 PM)
Concur !

My car was coated as I am lazy to wax and polish.  But I am working hard on washing weekly or fortnightly basis, after coating, it really easy to wash, the car surface is smooth and easy to dry.

Nevertheless, the cons is watermark.  If the rain in a dusty day (after drought season), better wash and clean immediately to prevent watermark.

IMHO.
Yes, unfortunately water marks surprisingly tend to bake in quicker to coating than wax or bare paint. Even on wax also it is easier to manage because can re-wax and it should be fine. Unfortunately for coating I havent found anything that can be done other than just using more aggressive soap to wash it off and hope for the best.

I have not heard of any acid solution, but even if true also I probably wont do it as risk acid eating through the coating into the paint and other areas. From my knowledge, the common acid used to clean water marks from bathroom shower glass is vinegar, I had tried on my shower glass before but very limited effect.

Yes, all solid colours and strong like red, blue, black, quite easy to see water marks, but dirt harder to see. In contrast, light colours like silver, white, light grey, champange, all harder to see water marks and defects, but light dirt becomes very obvious.

blurcase
post Jul 14 2017, 11:27 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ Jul 14 2017, 10:38 AM)
i just waxed front half of my new triton with fusso 12 month...omg...the water beading and sheeting is amazing for RM50. True value there. how should i maintain it now besides the usual washing? should i apply liquid spray wax also monthly?
Erm, why just front half? RM50 is paid for the product or for shop to apply for u?
blurcase
post Jul 14 2017, 09:47 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Jul 14 2017, 02:58 PM)
ya lo
but still considered affordable
at least those things last looooooooong.. provided if I not getting poisoned and keep on looking for new product la  laugh.gif

finally all arrived
too bad the hd speed cap popped open and leak all over the box. I think around 30-50g of product lost. i am shocked to see that happened, that autogeek team dont know how to ship their product meh? No taping or whatever to secure the filmsy cap!

I think they pack it as it is, only they put stuffing in the box to prevent from shaking around. Sometimes bottles pop open when flying over because of air compression issue in flight.

Recently I ordered Carpro Perl and Reload with their 4th July discount and luckily had no issues.
blurcase
post Jul 16 2017, 10:36 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 16 2017, 12:06 AM)
Hi sifus, I need some opinion and suggestions.

I wana know how should i clay a car properly? I watched a few videos but when I do it just now, it didn't get smooth at all. I had a soapy water as lubricant and I was expecting the clay to be smooth and without friction after i run it through the surface for a few times.

I noticed that some of the small tiny contaminant is hard to be removed by the claybar. I need to use my fingernail to scratch it off first before running the clay bar through it with more force.

On top of that, I have some black spots which I think is tar. It is on the surface of the paint which I thought can be removed using the claybar as I read online, but apparently running the clay through it has no effect at all.

I think I did something wrong somewhere. Hope to get some guidance, thanks. sweat.gif

Also, may I know how do you treat stone chips? I noticed my car have quite alot of stone chips on the front, roof and 2 sides. sad.gif

Besides that, how do you guys protect the interior? especially the leather dashboard and the leather seats.

As for the car rim, which car grime/brake dust remover is recommended? Thanks.
From my experience claying isnt so much about force, but more of repeat rubbing movements. The true test of claying is u wear a plastic bag on your hand and feel the paint surface before and after claying.

There is a possibility ur soapy water too slick, end up your claybar is just gliding on the soap, not rubbing the paint. Try either soapy water that is less soapy, quick detailer, or even just plain water instead.

Not everything can be removed with claybar. Visible contaminants like tar, bird poo, some water marks, tree sap, bug splatter, can be removed by claybar if it is fairly fresh, otherwise if it is there for too long then u may need either other chemical cleaners or polish to remove them.

For stone chips, there isnt much u can do as chances are the chip already crack off paint from the surface. U can try use touchup paint to reduce its visibility if ur car paint is factory original and the touchup paint manufacturer makes your colour. U can go to AEON or AEON Big as they got sell touchup paint. Otherwise, to reduce further stone chips, one very important tip is to avoid driving behind lorries or any cars that their tyres "throw" stones on your car.

For interior, if u are a weekly car washer, then use a damp cloth to wipe dashboard and leather keeps it good for a long time. For protection, use an interior protectant for dashboard and other plastic interiors, and use a leather conditioner and protectant for leather seats and parts.

Hope this helps.
blurcase
post Jul 16 2017, 05:02 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jul 16 2017, 10:48 AM)
Ok, I will try next round of claying with less soapy water.
Makes sense that I face difficulty removing the tar since I left it for few weeks already cause I always thought claying will remove it and I delayed my waxing process.

Any car rim brake dust cleaner that you can recommend?
I am currently using Cartec Wheel Cleaner, alkaline based cleaner. Works pretty much like how the Youtube video shows, but I also follow up with 2nd round regular wash soap and brushes to agitate the remaining dirt and rinse before moving on to washing car body.

If u regularly wash your car, then using normal car soap should be just fine, just need to have good brushes to make your life easier.

QUOTE(N33d @ Jul 16 2017, 02:55 PM)
some result from HD speed
IPA wiped to inspect to make sure no filler hidden defect
Results looks very good, keep it up!

blurcase
post Jul 17 2017, 06:12 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(GreenArrow<3 @ Jul 17 2017, 05:28 PM)
I love driving and enjoy knowing a few things about cars, but unfortunately, it's still not enough to hold an hour-long conversation about tyres alone. However, I do wish to give my second-hand Vios more life and character. I bought it from my brother who owned it for a couple of years, so some things need to be changed.

First the tyres. I want it upgraded to something more robust and would grip well on wet roads, for safety reasons. I saw the thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4155651/all but I own a 2014 model so not quite sure if same rules apply (still trying to do my research on this)

Next up the seats. I'm looking to have seat covers fitted because there's some obvious wear and tear on the current ones I have. I came across this guide on the different material styles. So far, I'm leaning towards Neoprene because of its durability, looks, and overall capacity to keep liquids/chemicals off the seat.

Heard from a friend that having my car's exhaust updated would help as well, but I'm still quite unsure about that. Not sure if I should also get a paint job done. I think it's still okay, though I prefer black over red. I guess in a few months when I've had all the other upgrades done, I can move forward with the paint. Also, the sound system? But I think that's more of a splurge haha
If u do plan to respray, just remember that changing car colour would require informing JPJ if not mistaken. Other than that perhaps u should consider a hard clearcoat if respraying.
blurcase
post Jul 18 2017, 05:18 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Jul 18 2017, 02:30 PM)
Hi All,

New to this forum so hope its the right place to ask this question.

My aunts care has had the paint spatter marks on them for a while now, what would be the best and easiest way to remove them? There is alot of tiny white dots everywhere on the maroon paint not soo bad but once you get close it really needs to go

Someone once told to sand it down and paint the car but thats like a few thousand ringgit option which is so pricey.

Hope to get some good pointers
Depending the type of paint that got stuck on the car, it could be possible to try claying or even just use fingernail to try scrape off the excess paint. This is assuming the splatter didnt eat and fuse into the car's paint.

If it has fused into the car paint, then sanding is not a bad option, but not necessary to sand and repaint. Depending on how much clearcoat is left, potentially just sand and polish should be able to do it. If u can get your hands on some 2000 or 3000 grit sandpaper and some compound cream (like Meguiars Ultimate Compound), u can try wet-sanding a few small spots to test, if it goes away then can hand-compound.

WARNING: My suggestion of wet-sanding assumes there is still enough clearcoat left on the car. If u wetsand and the water residue turns color into the car color instead of just white-milky color, means no clearcoat is left. Proceed with caution.
blurcase
post Jul 18 2017, 08:13 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Jul 18 2017, 07:22 PM)
Haven't tried it yet. been trying using my finger nails and some can come off but there is like A LOT of spatter. I think my aunt forgot to move her car when painting the porch  bangwall.gif
Been trying using my finger nails and some can come off but there is like A LOT of spatter. But wont nail polish / thinner also damage the paint?
Don't think much clearcoat is left anyway. Her budget is really tight right now and she is trying to find the most cheapest way to make the car look better.
Mmm, from the sound of it I believe the paint on the car porch should be standard water based, so it isnt as hard to remove. To speed up the removal process, u could try claying, though there is a possibility that it will have limited effect and will definitely trash your claybar by the end of the process.

Another method I can think of is instead of using fingernail, try to go hardware store and find a flat plastic scraper. This could help assuming dont put too much pressure to avoid scratching the paint.

There is one more method I seen before, sometimes used to reduce or remove paint transfer from car accidents. WD-40 apparently contains 50% mineral spirits, so may help soften the paint splatter so that easier to remove. However, this method also requires working in small sections and removing the WD-40 residue quickly.
blurcase
post Jul 19 2017, 03:23 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Leong Dei Prince @ Jul 19 2017, 02:25 PM)
Hi All,

I accidentally spilled some wax on my car plastic trim. Is there any method to remove the wax stain? Thanks
Mix dish washing liquid with some water, spray on and scrub with old toothbrush.

Alternatively, use pencil eraser and rub it off.
blurcase
post Jul 19 2017, 07:59 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Jul 19 2017, 07:40 PM)
May I know what you guys use to check for paint defect?

I'm having a really hard time looking for them after polishing session, even a taped 50/50 didn't help much.

I'm currently using either my phone flash or some hand torch, they don't work very well. I have a semi-open garage (only one roof, lights coming in from 3 directions except my house) which makes it harder. Plus I was working on a silver car, even harder to see micro marring  rclxub.gif

I'm temped to do the DIY sun gun thing, probably can do it under RM150. I also saw some pen light options, Rupes, Scangrip and nitecore. The nitecore is the cheapest but it's actually not meant for checking paint defects, but it's still RM160+ and the rest is way beyond that.  sweat.gif
I understand your experience because my previous and current car are both silver colour. I can share with u 3 options:

1) Street light: free, just park under those yellow street lights at night and u should be able to see all your defects
2) Go to fasttech.com and but any flashlight that provides between 100 to 500 lumens. The ones 300-500 lumens should have 3-5 light modes and be using 18650 battery, also commonly used by ecigarettes, so not hard to find batteries and charger here. Price between RM30-80 depending on model.
3) Go to facebook and search for SGCB Malaysia, they sell clone of rupes pen light and also scangrip lights for cheaper price. Price of rupes clone pen flashlight is RM100 if not mistaken.

Just remember, white/light coloured cars it is best to use warm white (yellowish) light to see defects. For black/dark colour cars, better to use cool white (pure white) lights.

Hope this helps. smile.gif
blurcase
post Jul 20 2017, 11:02 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 20 2017, 08:37 AM)
Expecting to receive my new ride next week, like all new ride owners... motivated to keep it clean and new haha. Any newbie friendly product I could consider? Is the fusso coat 12 months recommended? It is a silver color.
Welcome to home detailing!

Mmm, my personal recommendation is:

1) Get some basic wash and drying items so that u can wash ur car regularly
a) wash bucket, wash mitt
b) microfiber towels (4-5 towels to wipe dry different areas)
c) wheel brushes
d) wash soap, tyre wax

2) For waxing maybe I wouldnt recommend fusso first, try other waxes that are easier to apply and buff off, like Meguiars Ultimate Paste Wax. Fusso will be very frustrating to buff off if u apply too thick, and may turn off your interest in waxing.

3) Antibacterial wet wipes are good if ur car kena bird poo bomb, just rinse off the wet wipes residue after wiping off poo. Usually the wet wipes can keep in car glove compartment and wont become dry.

As time passes and if u feel motivated to try more advanced car detailing, feel free to ask here and check out youtube also. smile.gif
blurcase
post Jul 21 2017, 12:31 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Jul 21 2017, 12:00 AM)
Thanks a lot on the advice, but I think I can't wait that long until night to check the results (but it works very well thumbsup.gif ). I guess I'll use a piece of cardboard to cover the panel from sunlight and check with the dedicated light source.

Pulled the trigger on DIY sun gun route, bought a solux bulb. Figured I'll probably use a lot more in the future, hope it's all good.
Lol, I thought about that route initially, then decided against it because I dont have an existing cordless drill to whack and didnt want to buy a new one just to whack it. I purchased my torchlights from fasttech in advance before I started detailing.

But please do share your build for us, never know other enthusiast may want to do the same. smile.gif
blurcase
post Jul 21 2017, 03:13 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:21 AM)
different in ease of application + life span only. Thats the fact. Paste get dry and harden/crack, liquid will spoil if chemical seperate/ can't merge back....
Mmm, based on my personal tub of paste wax that I used for 5-6 years, shrink and crack yes, but harden and dry not really. Even at the last bits of it left, when I whip it up to apply on car, there are still oils and it still dries to a haze like normal before buff off.

Liquid wax on the other hand, what u say is true, over time some liquid wax somehow separate from their oils and doesnt mix back no matter how hard u shake. I was even tempted to pour all into a blender to blend, but decided against it cuz it probably spoil my blender. tongue.gif

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jul 21 2017, 12:56 PM)
Recently i got follow Dallas paint correction & auto detailing youtube chanel, i mean he got he own point , the reason he love to use liquid wax is because it wont mix up dirt

For paste wax or so call solid block soap, it is expose and u never know ur pad is dirt after apply wax in certain area especially at lower bumper, so after this u will put ur pad into the paste wax and then the dirt that stick on ur pad will mix together with the paste wax  , like u go restaurnt and there is a solid block soap, so many ppl touch it and u wont know its dirt or clean soap

While liquid wax is u pour out from bottle to pad, so the liquid wax wont mix with dirt that stick on application pad

That quite make sense
Mmm, I think that is a matter of perspective. Wax is usually the last step, means the previous steps of washing, decontamination, claying, etc. all comes before that. If there is dirt that get stuck on pad and transferred back to paste tub then its not paste fault, its user didnt clean well enough. So I think its more important to remember either to either wax areas that are clean and good, and avoid areas that user didnt clean as good, especially below doors and bumpers area.
blurcase
post Jul 22 2017, 12:32 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Jul 21 2017, 10:21 PM)
About rm110, 12V 35W 4700k version
Hmm, actually looking at some of the builds that referenced with the solux bulb, I'd imagine we could find a similar bulb locally in places like CIMA lighting, no?
blurcase
post Jul 22 2017, 11:35 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Jul 22 2017, 09:54 PM)
not bad i think. bought mine last year RM90 from amazon.com with the following specs :
EiKO 35003 SoLux True Daylight Flood 35 Watt MR16 Halogen Lamp, 36 Degree Beam Angle, 12 Volt, 4700 Kelvin

funny thing is... its assembled in Vietnam from Japanese parts... but we cant source it from Asia
Maybe Asia region use less of such lights, think most Asian countries I seen still use typical flourescent tube or standard screw bulb for general lighting. Also possible that there are other brands carry same light spec here. I seen Ikea carry such lights in general and also Cima Lighting, just dont know if exact specs or not.
blurcase
post Jul 25 2017, 10:33 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ Jul 25 2017, 10:11 AM)
any particular model or make on aliexpress?
Just a side note when buying electrical items from overseas: Make sure to check and confirm that they use 230v electrical input. Even better if use UK socket, but any other socket so long as using 230v input isnt a problem cuz just needs small adapter to convert the socket. Just my 2 sen. smile.gif
blurcase
post Jul 25 2017, 05:01 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(orangegurl @ Jul 25 2017, 02:24 PM)
hi guys, im still thinking to spray my car or wrapping the car

problem is there are some rusty part on my car,  near the window,

i wonder which i should choose and how much is the cost to spray my car or wrapping?
oh ya, its perodua viva elite car
From my personal experience, u should respray instead of wrap since u mentioned that got rust on the car. This is because rust have started building from underneath the paint, and will only get worse, so the workshop need to remove the paint and file off the rust before respraying to avoid rust coming back again.

Cost of spraying varies greatly depending on color and quality of paint. It could be as cheap as RM1000-1500 to RM2000-3000. Maybe u wanna ask around shops and compare prices around your area. If u share which area u live in some of the guys here might be able to recommend shops.
blurcase
post Jul 25 2017, 06:17 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(orangegurl @ Jul 25 2017, 05:22 PM)
im from kuching, and im a girl which i have 0% knowledge about this thing haha, im trying to learn it anyway
No worries, knowledge is meant for sharing here. smile.gif

Anyone from Kuching or nearby area can shed some light on car respray shops, please feel free to share.

Also, perhaps u could also ask family/friends/colleagues if they know any good car respray shops that they could recommend. The price I quoted earlier is what I know generally of KL prices, so it may vary there.

52 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0359sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:52 PM