52 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

blurcase
post Jun 27 2017, 01:24 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Jun 27 2017, 11:17 AM)
Hi.

Any suggestions for windscreen cleaning services near PJ - Puchong area?
My windscreen is having a lot of wiper scratches. And at night it's like there's some foggy screen effect so it's difficult to see clearly.

I've try to check with the DR cermin shops but they said they don't provide such cleaning services
Not sure where to recommend for u, but where ever u go make sure they arent using acid to try solve your problem. Some detailing shops use acid to clean water spots on car windows but shouldnt use on any winshield that uses wipers (mainly front and some back for hatchbacks and SUV/MPV).
blurcase
post Jun 29 2017, 12:37 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jun 28 2017, 03:44 PM)
1 question. how expensive is your microfiber vs your detergent ?
My microfiber cloth mostly from local detailing supplier that import from China. They try and test first, then sell to me what they find is good. Price is cheap, between RM10-25.

Detergent wise I use Dynamo, only 15-30ml per load depending how many towels and how dirty they are. I also use Dynamo for my regular clothes washing, so cost wise doesnt really count because it is not microfiber-specific.

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jun 28 2017, 05:56 PM)
Hi guys, need to apply what product for internal mudguard at tyre area?
Like douglas_tong mentioned, tyre shine. I use Meguiars Endurance Tyre Shine as the stuff is thick and lasts reasonably well. Only problem is it is quite oily, so I wear a plastic bag before holding the pad for tyre shine application.
blurcase
post Jul 1 2017, 03:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ Jul 1 2017, 02:07 PM)
Hey guys, I just got my new Grey color truck and would like to do my own Polishing. I've read the fusso 12 months is good but it has less shine. Should I apply meguires ultimate shine 1st then fusso?

I search lazada and they are selling fusso + Diy polisher for RM180++.... Is it worth it?
Read back a few pages of this thread, got discussion regarding applying fusso as 1st/2nd/standalone coat.
blurcase
post Jul 1 2017, 08:31 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(dannygoh @ Jul 1 2017, 08:25 PM)
how about the windscreen and the interiors?
I think windscreen depends if the car has many water spots or streaks. If got then can get the shop to polish.

Interior also see condition, if extra dirty or u want to one round clean all also they can do for u.
blurcase
post Jul 1 2017, 11:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jul 1 2017, 10:23 PM)
Scare cant handle rotary, feel DA is more safe, as i only use at my own new car, didnt plan to do for ppl car hehe , mostly use for light polish
Rotary isnt as scary as ppl make it out to be. For those with totally no experience with machine polishing then should start with DA, but once u get the hang of DA, then learning DA is easier.

Main thing to remember about rotary polishing is surface heat. If u touch the panel and it almost burn your finger then it is too hot and time to stop and move to next section.
blurcase
post Jul 2 2017, 01:07 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 2 2017, 12:31 AM)
Can sampai that tahap to burning finger is quite impossible ?
Besides, purple foamed wool doesn't produce much heat compared to foam and cuts really well.

To the point of extreme heat, the pad will first disintegrate before clear coat is burned.

I find it easier to cut with rotary for neglected paint and even on my black car I managed to finish down without hazing or marring with perfect 20. So proud of my skill with rotary now hahahahahaha
Hehe, guess its a figure of speech, not sure hot to best describe it for paint burn risks.

But actually from my experience, sorry but I dont agree on your point about pad disintegrating before clearcoat burn. From rotary standpoint, the pad has its own sort of "heat dispersion" when spinning, which slows heat buildup on the pad, whereas the paint surface when being rubbed by the pad constantly keeps building up its heat unless allowed to cool. Just my 2 sen.
blurcase
post Jul 2 2017, 09:37 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 2 2017, 01:44 AM)
must be lousy pad im using! the softer the pads, the easier i find it eating away from rotary polishing. finishing pad always die off first, polishing pad comes second.
can see the difference after polishing 1 car. the softer pads always get cracked and "eat up".

the da pad (same material and softenest) seems fine. so i assume it is the heat that actually makes the difference. I only stick to one product.

the pad disintegration was concluded by several videos i saw too...

5:05 mins, pad was destroyed

second video pad did not disintergrade, but there were smokes coming out from the pad, must be bad for that pad! did not burn through clear coat as well
Ah, I start to understand where u are coming from. However, do note that based on both videos, they are simulated tests in order to get an intended result. Think everyone here should know better than to leave the pad buffing at a spot for too long.

Just to understand which part of your rotary pads start to disintegrate first? From what I know pad disintegration most commonly happens from the sides, especially edges of velcro, where the backing pad "bites" the pad edge due to leaning the pad.

blurcase
post Jul 2 2017, 06:06 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 2 2017, 03:35 PM)
Yes, the velcro part is the first.
Then it would be the contact part of the pad with the paint.
Maybe it's product nature but it tends to widen the pores and cracks it up. See if i can get a picture of it soon or not. Now so hot lazy polish la

But it is good to know that burning through clear coat is quite difficult even with rotary...
Ah if edges of velcro starts first then usually its due to pad sponge bigger than backing plate, so when u lean the pad sideways or put too much pressure on the pad when polishing it starts to grind the velcro edges.

For the contact part of the pad to the paint, I am guessing its probably more of a wear and tear. No pads last forever, even the expensive ones will degrade over time.

Hahaha, yes, I also lazy to start my next detailing project for now cuz of the hot weather. Nowadays even prefer to wash car at night cuz its cooler.

QUOTE(CAL V @ Jul 2 2017, 04:09 PM)
From my experience, in certain cases it also depends on how much clear coat is left on the surface. Newer cars shouldn't have much problem, but older cars is a different story. (oxidised or refinished)

It's hard to guess how much clear coat is left without the depth gauge.
Agreed. There is a big variety of clearcoat types in the market, quite hard to gauge, so its always a trial and error with each different car.

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Jul 2 2017, 04:33 PM)
Dear sifus,

Due to my laziness in patiently detailing my car, i often skip the waxing part until recently. Alot of rain/ watermarks that sticks to my car paint after ONE heavy rain, I get rid of them by polishing. Now I think my clear coat is almost gone lol.. My car parks under a tree sometimes and I keep getting tree saps that is super hard to remove, picture attached below. Is there any product that can let me coat my car?? Or I'm left with frequent waxing? Currently using paste wax. If I were to wax my car regularly, is there any liquid wax that is good and saves time?
May I ask if your polishing is done by hand or machine? And also whether do u compound each time before polish? Do u recall how many times u have compounded and polished your car?

There are specialty bug and tar removers that u can try to remove tree saps issue fairly easily. You can try that first.

I would prefer to suggest that regardless of whatever protection u apply for your car, more importantly please try to avoid parking under trees. I understand our tropical climate is hot so shade is always nice, but because tree sap and bird poop tends to drop from trees, they tend to bake into the paint with the heat.

If you want to speed up waxing time, u can actually get a DA polisher, then use a butter knife to scrape your paste wax and lay on your DA pad and apply wax that way. It definitely speeds up the waxing process.
blurcase
post Jul 3 2017, 09:48 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jul 3 2017, 08:25 AM)
haha , i also wash the car and polish my car at the night time , day time really very hot !!! Just wanna start and prepare whole thing , already sweat whole shirt  bangwall.gif  mad.gif
normally bug and tar remover will remove include wax?
Generally yes, although I believe there are other more economical ways to strip wax than bug/tar remover. But if u just want to remove some area that have bug/tar/treesap, u do have to apply back ur wax/sealant after that.
blurcase
post Jul 3 2017, 11:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jul 3 2017, 11:10 AM)
Speaking of preparing cars, anyone decontaminate with meguiars wash plus? Seems to save time on claying and de-tar
Checked it out on youtube, interesting product, but not sure on the effectiveness in the claying part though. Is it for sale in Malaysia? Have not seen it around.
blurcase
post Jul 5 2017, 03:46 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Clicko220 @ Jul 5 2017, 10:35 AM)

I am new here and looking at a durable sealant and wax? Any FAQ or link on previous discussion? Tks.
Mmm, maybe u wanna define durable? Waxes tend to last anywhere between 1 week to 1 month depending on weather conditions, sealants can go anywhere between 1 month to 3-6 months based on manufacturer's labels. There are options like Meguiars, Osren, Carpro, Swissvax, Zymol, etc. Also, u want spray-on-buff-off type, or use applicator pad type? Try checking out pages like Autogeek, even though US site it will give u plenty info on what's out there so that u can start narrowing down.

QUOTE(K2002 @ Jul 5 2017, 01:01 PM)
any black dye to recommend? my car rubber and plastic black color seems slowly worn off. if put dye will it come off when we wash car?
Commonly for exterior trim ppl would either use a trim protectant or tyre wax to apply for protection. I have never heard of ppl using dye, so not sure if it would work or would look natural.
blurcase
post Jul 5 2017, 03:53 PM

418 posts

Just to give abit advertising to Dent Pro Malaysia:

Anyone that have dents and dings on your car, and u want to repair it without having to respray, please do give Dent Pro Malaysia a visit. I went here today to have a dent on my Civic repaired, previously I went to another shop and they say had to drill a hole into the wheel arch to reach. This guy Mr Johnny Wong is really experienced, said no need to drill, just undo the clip from the wheel arch cover, then his tools went in and got the dent out! Really detailed and experienced guy, definitely a joy to watch him make dents just pretty much disappear!

Johnny Wong
Dent Pro Malaysia
18, Jalan Utama Seksyen 9,
Serdang Raya, Seri Kembangan
Selangor
Tel: 019-758 7304

U can whatsapp him a pic of your dent and he will give u a quotation on his charges. Definitely worth the money!
blurcase
post Jul 5 2017, 04:57 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Clicko220 @ Jul 5 2017, 04:05 PM)
Durable means a coating which can last 1-2 months at least. I have tried Meguairs ultimate liquid wax and quik wax both last 1-2 weeks only with almost no water beading and slickness. I am ok with any recommended durable self-service coat/sealant/wax as long as it lasts 1-2 months.
Check out gfwong's blog and wax review, might help:

http://carporchdetailer.blogspot.my/2017/0...est-update.html
blurcase
post Jul 6 2017, 10:57 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Jul 6 2017, 08:38 AM)
Thanks for bro blurcase for the promo  tongue.gif
Some suggestion here. When using liquid wax/sealant, do give it a "really" good shake before applying. Some liquid wax tends to "separate" inside the bottle with heavier elements sinking down when left alone after some time. If they are not given a good shake, you could probably be applying just the wax solvent. I once kena that before a long time ago and had to hit myself on the head. I was waxing and noticed that the shade of the stuff that came out from the bottle keeps on darkening...
No worries bro, ur info is good for sharing. smile.gif

Agree with u on this, in fact for all liquid car detailing chemicals also should shake before use. I kena before with my wheel cleaner, using like normal then visit the shop I bought from and see why their liquid is darker color, went back and realise if I shake my bottle then color also come out same.
blurcase
post Jul 7 2017, 12:17 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ Jul 7 2017, 10:34 AM)
Guys,

any recomendation of coating that I can do at home? Currently using permanon, but the latest batch I got seem like the quality has deteriorate compare to previous batch.

Previously done on my Forte, the results was excellent, but now on my persona; the effect just so so. Water beading/shedding effect gone in just 2-3 weeks.

How about Gyeon Cure?
Did u prep the car beforehand? Clay/Polish/IPA wipe?

For DIY at home, can try Gyeon Cure or Carpro Cquartz.
blurcase
post Jul 7 2017, 07:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Clicko220 @ Jul 7 2017, 02:45 PM)
What is the best lightning to detect water marks? Sometimes I see sometimes I don't lol. And what is the best car care to remove that? Clay bar after washing will do?
Actually hard to say for lighting standpoint, depends on car color and how bad the water marks are. If black or dark color cars probably can see under most lighting conditions. If light color cars, u can try park near yellow streetlights at night and use the streetlight reflection to see. Generally I prefer to do watermark test, which is use damp cloth and wipe dry car panel. The invisible spots usually appear for short while in those situations and they usually look round-ish.

For removal, just as everyone else here say, the gradual step up process is clay > wax cleaner > polish > compound, so try each step and see if it remove, if it doesnt then move to next step. Hope that helps.
blurcase
post Jul 10 2017, 06:50 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 10 2017, 05:39 PM)
I am new to this thread , I am looking forward for car coating soon , would like some good advise, pros and cons on PPS coating.

Thanks in advance.
My wife's old car did PPS coating before. Her car was VW Polo white color, turned yellowish after 1 year. Polished off the PPS coating and applied glass coating, no more yellowing. Just sharing from experience.
blurcase
post Jul 11 2017, 11:20 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 11 2017, 10:14 AM)
sorry to hear that, I have had mine red color Golf coated with PPS,  only re-treatment one time, almost five years now, still shining.

I plan to send another black color car to coat PPS. I am here to find out if there are better alternative coating .

Appreciate sincere recommendation without bias from manufacturers to another.
I think it really depends on car color. White car main issue is always yellowing, and because PPS is teflon based, I read from other forums also mention about yellowing.

Glass/ceramic coating on the other hand, wont have yellowing as I know, but their main issue is water spotting. Since u are sending a black car, just to let u know stuff like stone chips/swirls/water spots are usually most visible compared to white/light coloured cars.

Think regardless of the coating protection u choose, just make sure they do a good job polishing your paint to their best level possible before applying coating. Once coating dries and the defect underneath not removed, then its technically sealed in and have to wait to next round of polishing.

PS: I do my own coating at home, so cant give u recommendations of coating shops to try, sorry.
blurcase
post Jul 11 2017, 09:15 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Jul 11 2017, 05:13 PM)
Guys, need some advice.  Usually I park my car in an open area at my work place and home. Sometimes at open car park, the car got hit by bird droppings. Since I work long hours, often have no time to wash car.  As my neglected car's paint is in rather bad in condition.

Now I am getting a new car. I hope to maintain the new car to be good condition.
Shall I do coating, just wash & quick wax or send it to shop ?
Hopefully not too expensive.
First off I would suggest that u dont park under any tree shade or near trees. Even though it provides shade from sun and car not so warm, but that's the place where most birds will come and go, so will their poop.

Secondly, regardless of whatever protection u apply (with exception of paint protection film), bird poop is often strong enough to eat through and eventually leave stains or worse will rust the body panel from inside and u will see paint pop. My suggestion is buy a roll of Dettol antibacterial wet wipes from AEON, and as and when u see such bird poop, wipe it off and use a dry cloth to wipe off the soapy residue. Even if u dont want to buy wet wipes and wipe off, then whenever u get home from work, just take your garden hose and spray off the bird poop. Even if u lazy to dry off the car after that, at least bird poop gone.

Thirdly, it depends on how hardworking u are in cleaning your car. If u wash it every week (or send to wash every week), then waxing should be just enough generally. But if u dont wash your car very often, then coating is not a bad idea, but be prepared to pay much more for coating as they also do polish your car before coating.

Hope this helps.
blurcase
post Jul 12 2017, 02:21 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jul 12 2017, 08:49 AM)
Hi guys. Any idea where can i buy aggressive clay bar? The reason is there are some clear coat oversprayed on the back glass and it seems using the clay can remove it.
Aggressive clay bars are abit harder to find cuz usually it is professional grade. Maybe u wanna try a regular but good quality clay bar or clay cloth instead.

If still looking for aggresive clay bar, look for Meguiars Aggresive Detailing Clay. Alternatively, can contact Osren see if they have any solutions for u.

52 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:47 AM