DevBoyz
post Dec 24 2016, 01:47 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Dec 24 2016, 08:49 AM)
[/spoiler]

someone share this here before, worth a read  biggrin.gif
http://procarcoatings.com/10-ways-youve-be...-car-all-wrong/
Thanks for sharing, definitely a good read.
mot88
post Dec 24 2016, 02:48 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 24 2016, 11:33 AM)
thanks for the detail explanation
any suggestion to resolve issue #1?
because the spot is kinda new, maybe about two weeks ago?  sad.gif

and for issue #3, what do u mean by compounded?
On your query for #3, compound is meant "heavy polishing" in layman. This is achieve by using more "stonger" polish.

Compound that you could find and one of the best for consumer is Meguiars Ultimate Compound. This is available also at lazada, sold by Meguairs Malaysia. Buying online is much cheaper than shop and free shipping too. You can get using discount on www.lalalaxx.com.

http://www.lazada.com.my/meguiars-g17216-u...nd-1445740.html

This post has been edited by mot88: Dec 24 2016, 04:06 PM
slk
post Dec 24 2016, 03:46 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Dec 24 2016, 08:42 AM)
[/spoiler]

@douglas_tong thanks for your answer.

@slk thanks. anyone know if Meg Malaysia sell the gallon size?
no DA to polish. i will try use normal shampoo with claybar and see how.
some products are available on Lazada. Others you have to visit Hypercoat at USJ or their authorised dealers
blurcase
post Dec 24 2016, 05:15 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 24 2016, 11:33 AM)
thanks for the detail explanation
any suggestion to resolve issue #1?
because the spot is kinda new, maybe about two weeks ago?  sad.gif

and for issue #3, what do u mean by compounded?
For your issue 1, I could recommend wet sanding with 1500 grit follow by 2500 grit sandpaper, then compounding and polishing. However, I have to say first that there is no guarantee this would completely remove the marks as just from your photo alone I cannot 100% say what is the actual issue with your paint.

As mot88 said, compounding basically is a more aggressive form of polish. Compounding is meant to remove or reduce your paint defects such as moderate scratches, water spots, etc. which usually cant be removed by polishing. Shops may or may not tell u whether they compound your car or not because it is a detailing technical term, so instead they will tell u how many layers they polish.
suadrif
post Dec 24 2016, 05:40 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(mot88 @ Dec 24 2016, 02:48 PM)
On your query for #3, compound is meant "heavy polishing" in layman. This is achieve by using more "stonger" polish.

Compound that you could find and one of the best for consumer is Meguiars Ultimate Compound. This is available also at lazada, sold by Meguairs Malaysia. Buying online is much cheaper than shop and free shipping too. You can get using discount on www.lalalaxx.com.

http://www.lazada.com.my/meguiars-g17216-u...nd-1445740.html
i see
is this can be done DIY?
or need any special skill? i mean, can i go straight directly apply the compound without using any other chemicals?

QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 24 2016, 05:15 PM)
For your issue 1, I could recommend wet sanding with 1500 grit follow by 2500 grit sandpaper, then compounding and polishing. However, I have to say first that there is no guarantee this would completely remove the marks as just from your photo alone I cannot 100% say what is the actual issue with your paint.

As mot88 said, compounding basically is a more aggressive form of polish. Compounding is meant to remove or reduce your paint defects such as moderate scratches, water spots, etc. which usually cant be removed by polishing. Shops may or may not tell u whether they compound your car or not because it is a detailing technical term, so instead they will tell u how many layers they polish.
what does it mean by layers of polish?
normally polishing just do one layer, is it?
blurcase
post Dec 24 2016, 07:15 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Dec 24 2016, 05:40 PM)
i see
is this can be done DIY?
or need any special skill? i mean, can i go straight directly apply the compound without using any other chemicals?
what does it mean by layers of polish?
normally polishing just do one layer, is it?
As with any polishing job, you should always follow the standard procedure, best described in this link http://www.autogeek.net/detailingtips.html.

Layers of polish means how many rounds they polish your car. Usually if no mention of polishing layers, means usually just 1 layer/round.
samjet
post Dec 27 2016, 02:28 PM

190 posts

Hello guys I am practicing weekly self car wash and I don't use any car shampoo. Just pipe water and kain buruk
If I want to make my car kilat2, can I just apply wax? What wax brand u guys recommend? Best if I can buy at lazada
douglas_tong
post Dec 27 2016, 05:54 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Dec 27 2016, 02:28 PM)
Hello guys I am practicing weekly self car wash and I don't use any car shampoo. Just pipe water and kain buruk
If I want to make my car kilat2, can I just apply wax? What wax brand u guys recommend? Best if I can buy at lazada
cannot kilat. if apply also wont kilat much.
85% of kilat is from evenness of paint surface, wash with kain buruk and water can almost guarantee your car paint hancur.

so it's better to practice proper washing method, cause on the long term, it will kilat more compared to kain buruk+wax.

spend a bit, have it properly polished and just practice proper wash. Confirm more kilat than kain buruk + wax.

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Dec 27 2016, 05:56 PM
samjet
post Dec 27 2016, 06:01 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 27 2016, 05:54 PM)
cannot kilat. if apply also wont kilat much.
85% of kilat is from evenness of paint surface, wash with kain buruk and water can almost guarantee your car paint hancur.

so it's better to practice proper washing method, cause on the long term, it will kilat more compared to kain buruk+wax.
Hi there
I guess my car is very unlucky to have me as an owner haha
So what wax brand u recommend? Best bang for bucks one
Thanks!
PS: I don't anticipate the car to be very kilat2 like new car..

This post has been edited by samjet: Dec 27 2016, 06:05 PM
douglas_tong
post Dec 27 2016, 08:00 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(samjet @ Dec 27 2016, 06:01 PM)
Hi there
I guess my car is very unlucky to have me as an owner haha
So what wax brand u recommend? Best bang for bucks one
Thanks!
PS: I don't anticipate the car to be very kilat2 like new car..
OTC brand you can go for meguiars ultimate wax paste/liquid wax, mahal sikit

But best for buck? Collinite insulator 845, but have to find specific seller here. Many here will have different view on what is best bang for buck. Cause there are quite actually many wax that works great + affordable. Use whichever you are comfortable with
samjet
post Dec 27 2016, 08:24 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Dec 27 2016, 08:00 PM)
OTC brand you can go for meguiars ultimate wax paste/liquid wax, mahal sikit

But best for buck? Collinite insulator 845, but have to find specific seller here. Many here will have different view on what is best bang for buck. Cause there are quite actually many wax that works great + affordable. Use whichever you are comfortable with
Thank you smile.gif
JML
post Dec 29 2016, 03:11 PM

269 posts

before wax, you need to consider whether u need to claybar, compound, polish before u apply wax, depends on the outcome u want?
wax only protect your car from dirt and make it easier to do your weekly car wash. paint surface also feel smoother due to the hydrophobic the wax provide.

so far my white car, 4 years already, white pain also turn yellowish due to negligence. i did bring it to car wash to polish twice maybe, but those only last 2-4 weeks, then the effect gone. probably due they use All in One cleaner wax.

after read from the sifu here, i bought 3M claybar, Meg compound, Meg polish, Meg ultimate paste wax, Meguiar's G17516 Ultimate Quik Wax

spent 3/4 day claybar and compound the whole car, i tell myself i will leave polish to another time. lol.. then proceed to apply too much paste wax by the evening, and could not buff off the wax at night, left it until next morning only buff off (bad idea).

anyway after all that the car looks like new car again, hydrophobic effect is still there after 3 months, but the car need compound again, due to sometimes i do car wash every 2 weeks, sometimes not around / busy to do weekly wash... will share some photo when available..
JML
post Dec 29 2016, 04:28 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Dec 24 2016, 03:46 PM)
some products are available on Lazada. Others you have to visit Hypercoat at USJ or their authorised dealers
Meguiar’s D156 Detailer Synthetic X-Press™ Spray Wax, 1 Gallon

hypercoat quoted RM305

Amazon price $33 but shipping is killing.
Order Summary in MYR
Items: MYR 156.76 (the exchange rate is 4.75 wtf??)
Shipping & handling: MYR 212.79
Total before tax: MYR 369.55
Estimated tax to be collected: MYR 0.00
Import Fees Deposit MYR 22.19
Order total: MYR 391.74

Order Summary in USD
Items: USD 32.93
Shipping & handling: USD 44.70
Total before tax: USD 77.63
Estimated tax to be collected: USD 0.00
Import Fees Deposit USD 4.66
Order total: USD 82.29

how to get cheaper shipping from US ? is there any service in US like China's taobao? i heard in Tao Bao you can collect your goods in 1 central warehouse then ship them all in 1 shot, save u shipping charges.

This post has been edited by JML: Dec 29 2016, 04:29 PM
slk
post Dec 29 2016, 07:37 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Dec 29 2016, 04:28 PM)
Meguiar’s D156 Detailer Synthetic X-Press™ Spray Wax, 1 Gallon

hypercoat quoted RM305

Amazon price $33 but shipping is killing.
Order Summary in MYR
Items:  MYR 156.76 (the exchange rate is 4.75 wtf??)
Shipping & handling:  MYR 212.79
Total before tax:  MYR 369.55
Estimated tax to be collected:  MYR 0.00
Import Fees Deposit  MYR 22.19
Order total:  MYR 391.74

Order Summary in USD
Items:  USD 32.93
Shipping & handling:  USD 44.70
Total before tax:  USD 77.63
Estimated tax to be collected:  USD 0.00
Import Fees Deposit  USD 4.66
Order total:  USD 82.29
how to get cheaper shipping from US ? is there any service in US like China's taobao? i heard in Tao Bao you can collect your goods in 1 central warehouse then ship them all in 1 shot, save u shipping charges.
bought mine for RM230 during 11.11.16 sale at Lazada.

You can try getting them from Singapore... but need to go to Hypercoat Singapore during office hours
haziqk10
post Dec 30 2016, 12:51 AM

231 posts

Hi all, can you guys suggest items that needed for starter in term of taking care of car. I have microfiber clothes for starter. 1 each for outside body, outside mirror, rims and interior. Need suggestion for the cleaner and tyre cleaner? or do i need something else too. Thanks.

This post has been edited by haziqk10: Dec 30 2016, 12:55 AM
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 30 2016, 12:54 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ Dec 30 2016, 12:51 AM)
Hi all, can you guys suggest items that needed for starter in term of taking care of car. I have microfiber clothes for starter. Need suggestion for the cleaner? or do i need something else too. Thanks.
Spend some time to read here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/autodetailing/wiki/yourfirstdetail
CAL V
post Dec 30 2016, 01:16 AM

277 posts

Any sifu here have experience compounding and polishing refinished surface? My dad sells used cars and sometimes he do refinishing himself (no worries, a lot of used car dealers do this too and they never tell you.), but he can never master the compounding and polishing part. Even not refinishing, he also have to polish some of those cars with okay paint that have heavy swirls.

Currently he is using a AEG rotary machine, usually he use a Farecla compound, and never go beyond that. I understand that there's a lot more than that to make the paint shine (polishes, sealant, wax and etc). I did learn quite a bit from Youtube and practiced on my own car with some slightly oxidised paint, the compound works great for removing the oxidised layer, but it can never reach the really shiny look (it is very coarse I think). I think I still did an okay job with the rotary and it's not as scary as most people said.

Maintaining the cars in the open showroom is not easy too, lots of dust will accumulate on it in just 2-3 days.

Can any sifu recommend me most of the products that actually works and not very expensive (we are selling mostly local cars only, not some premium cars sweat.gif ) from compound, polish, sealant (is this optional?) and wax.

Maybe also recommend polishing pads and washing soap. Basically everything except the machine icon_question.gif

haziqk10
post Dec 30 2016, 05:13 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 30 2016, 12:54 AM)
Thank you for the link. Will definitely do that.
slk
post Dec 30 2016, 08:08 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 30 2016, 01:16 AM)
Any sifu here have experience compounding and polishing refinished surface? My dad sells used cars and sometimes he do refinishing himself (no worries, a lot of used car dealers do this too and they never tell you.), but he can never master the compounding and polishing part. Even not refinishing, he also have to polish some of those cars with okay paint that have heavy swirls.

Currently he is using a AEG rotary machine, usually he use a Farecla compound, and never go beyond that. I understand that there's a lot more than that to make the paint shine (polishes, sealant, wax and etc). I did learn quite a bit from Youtube and practiced on my own car with some slightly oxidised paint, the compound works great for removing the oxidised layer, but it can never reach the really shiny look (it is very coarse I think). I think I still did an okay job with the rotary and it's not as scary as most people said.

Maintaining the cars in the open showroom is not easy too, lots of dust will accumulate on it in just 2-3 days.

Can any sifu recommend me most of the products that actually works and not very expensive (we are selling mostly local cars only, not some premium cars  sweat.gif ) from compound, polish, sealant (is this optional?) and wax.

Maybe also recommend polishing pads and washing soap. Basically everything except the machine  icon_question.gif
Give Osren a visit at Kepong. Some can be re-vitalized with just a strong AIO (cleaner+polish+wax).
douglas_tong
post Dec 30 2016, 12:17 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(CAL V @ Dec 30 2016, 01:16 AM)

Can any sifu recommend me most of the products that actually works and not very expensive (we are selling mostly local cars only, not some premium cars  sweat.gif ) from compound, polish, sealant (is this optional?) and wax.

Maybe also recommend polishing pads and washing soap. Basically everything except the machine  icon_question.gif
Yup give osren a visit, I've decided to stay on their range as it works and inexpensive compared to most reputable brands.
If you are looking to do proper correction, you have to wash and clay. And detailing takes time.

So look at the strategy and spend more time on cars that are sellable and can fetch better premium price. Those fast going one like slk mentioned, go with aio(cleaner, polisher and wax).

Also, I would suggest looking at optimum no rinse(onr) and a leaf blower. If car are properly waxed, leaf blower will blow some dust on horizontal panels. Just don't blow lower sections or near the ground.

805 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0559sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:14 PM