Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

WiLeKiyO
post Aug 18 2016, 01:22 AM

5,144 posts

What type of cleaning product I should use and keep in car for quick emergency cleaning such as bird's poop, oil etc ?

This post has been edited by WiLeKiyO: Aug 18 2016, 01:47 AM
WiLeKiyO
post Aug 19 2016, 10:37 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Aug 19 2016, 08:07 AM)
Waterless wash. See here and here. I always keep one in the trunk. The good think about this is that no rinsing is required and there is a bit of protection until the next car wash.

Spray liberally onto bird's droppings, let it soak for a while. Dab with microfiber towel. Don't wipe but try to pick up the bird's droppings "vertically" as the droppings might contain small stones that will scratch your paint if you use wiping action.
Great blog dude.

Thanks. thumbsup.gif
WiLeKiyO
post Aug 21 2016, 11:06 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Aug 19 2016, 02:30 PM)
Agreed that EGP is old but IMHO, I do not think it is fair to call it outclassed. I have EGP on one of my cars since April this year and it is still going strong as I use spray wax after every wash. Having both FK1000P and EGP, I am inclinde to say that both of them has the same durability

I think it is up to personal preference then. EGP is a liquid and slightly easier to apply compared to paste type like FK1000P. And yes, I normally leave them at least an hour before buffing off.

Regarding the "overrated EGP" I believe you are referring to my earlier post on a UK car detailer's sealant and wax test. And the test vehicle is not a bus but a horse box. That was done 8 years ago. I have not seen others doing such comprehensive test since then.

Sealant test
Wax test

Now, there is this guy, interesting
The best wax sealant (jump to 9.18 as his video is long)
The best wax sealant part 2
Really appreciate if you could recommend me a paste wax and a waterless wash which are available locally.

I really have no idea which one to choose. Willing to spend big bucks if the product is proven good.
WiLeKiyO
post Sep 17 2016, 10:40 PM

5,144 posts

How to fix a deep scratch like this ?
WiLeKiyO
post Sep 17 2016, 11:09 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(supersimple123 @ Sep 17 2016, 11:05 PM)
Respray..
What's the cost to respray on such small surface ?
WiLeKiyO
post Sep 18 2016, 12:43 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(kennethchang @ Sep 18 2016, 08:10 AM)
try this and see "turtlewax rubbing compound"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvCHyrsk4pc
The paint is damaged, I don't think rubbing compound works anymore. sad.gif
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 21 2016, 03:40 PM

5,144 posts

Is there any way to clean wax off towel?

car wax is sticking all the surface for my towel.
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 21 2016, 08:05 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Dec 21 2016, 04:04 PM)
try to change to a new side of the towel after a few panels.

Normally i soak overnight with liquid Dynamo.... brush.... rinse with water then final rinse with weak solution of water+vinegar to remove the soap residue/ making it plusher.

If you are willing to spend more... can get something like this
QUOTE(blurcase @ Dec 21 2016, 05:34 PM)
Agree with slk on the use of towel and washing method.

To add to that, if you are getting alot of wax residue to buff out, that means u could be applying your wax too thick. Try apply thinner coat instead.

Also, it would be good to have more than 1 buffing towel so that the same towel doesnt get overloaded with wax residue.
Thanks for the tips. I guess I really put too much wax.(the more the better mentality.)

Buffing off the wax is really a pain in the ass. It takes me almost 2 hours to wax and buff off the wax, and the whole car is covered with wax dust. mad.gif
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 22 2016, 10:15 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Dec 22 2016, 07:22 AM)
Heh? Wax leave wax dusts? Which product did you use?  blink.gif  blink.gif

This cheapo Turtlewax.
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 30 2016, 12:54 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ Dec 30 2016, 12:51 AM)
Hi all, can you guys suggest items that needed for starter in term of taking care of car. I have microfiber clothes for starter. Need suggestion for the cleaner? or do i need something else too. Thanks.
Spend some time to read here:
https://www.reddit.com/r/autodetailing/wiki/yourfirstdetail
WiLeKiyO
post Jan 2 2017, 12:40 PM

5,144 posts

Just finished my TurtleWax super hard shell wax, time to buy a new one.

Which wax has the highest glossiness?
WiLeKiyO
post Jan 3 2017, 06:06 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Jan 3 2017, 12:15 PM)
guys, can plz recommend me where to clean my iriz cabin and boot?
bad luck strikes me, my boots filled with rotten smell.
i tried to wash the boot myself but still the smell remains...  icon_question.gif
Charcoal can do wonder, buy a pack of charcoal and leave it in the car for few days.
WiLeKiyO
post Jan 9 2017, 02:39 PM

5,144 posts

Does waxing headlight prevent it getting cloudy?
WiLeKiyO
post Jan 24 2017, 11:46 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(hebehow @ Jan 24 2017, 01:03 AM)

walao eh bro, Mazda 2 soul red is really hard to maintain, you are doing a really great job. thumbup.gif
WiLeKiyO
post Feb 25 2017, 03:53 PM

5,144 posts

http://www.soft99.co.jp/english/products/c....html?pid=00191

Anyone used this product before?
WiLeKiyO
post Mar 30 2017, 04:12 PM

5,144 posts

My car is only 5 months old and I already can feel roughness on the paint.

Never thought I need to clay my car so soon. cry.gif
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 3 2017, 10:42 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 2 2017, 10:47 AM)
Good morning sifus smile.gif can i get some recommendations for waxing nearby wangsa maju area? Any reputable shop?
http://365carwash.my

Located at Sri Rampai.
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 24 2017, 12:12 PM

5,144 posts

Wet dream
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 27 2017, 01:00 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(gfwong @ Apr 24 2017, 03:27 PM)
My first attempt in durability comparison. I hope I would be able to conclude it.
Synthetic Waxes Durability Waxes
Dude. you should consider open a Facebook page for your blog, easier for us to follow an update.
WiLeKiyO
post May 28 2017, 12:08 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(mirrorboy88 @ May 26 2017, 12:06 PM)
Hey guys,

Just got my new car a few weeks ago.
Been wanting to send it for a good wash and polish.
Any recommendations? I stay right next to KLCC so is Car International any good? Read quite a fair bit of bad reviews on them though.
Why do you need to polish a new car?

0.0376sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:57 PM