64 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Yi Dashcam

mushigen
post Jul 20 2017, 06:57 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 20 2017, 05:07 PM)
(a) Yes, I can see, can connect, but after accessing the YI DASHCAM, it disconnect, dunno why?

(b) want to use it as external video camera for live video recording mah hahaha  tongue.gif
Thanks for your reply and advise mushigen

(a) I have tried numerous time two months ago, by clicking the wifi dashcam, type in the default password, it connected, but when I accessed to Yi Dashcamera apps, it was disconnected.  I kept repeat the same thing, but failed.  I will try again the new 3.0 YI dashcam app and see...

(b) I have tried that without external power, it lasts less than 5 minutes.  I was wondering to take out this dashcam to use as GoPro video camera tongue.gif Their internal battery capacity is tiny or faulty ?!
Well, it's called a dashcam, isn't it? The battery imo is more to store the settings/configuration, and to allow it to save the last clip than to power the dashcam.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 20 2017, 08:27 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 20 2017, 06:57 PM)
Well,  it's called a dashcam,  isn't it?  The battery imo is more to store the settings/configuration,  and to allow it to save the last clip than to power the dashcam.
Most can record a few minutes only worth that small battery... LOL
auronthas
post Jul 20 2017, 10:29 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 20 2017, 08:27 PM)
Most can record a few minutes only worth that small battery... LOL
No wonder so cheap lol.

By the way, this evening I tried to connect dashcam with my iPhone. Finally able to access to the latest YI DashCam apps , but connection quiet weak, always disconnect and need manual connect ... (better than last time)
Jo_da48
post Jul 20 2017, 10:47 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 20 2017, 05:07 PM)
(b) want to use it as external video camera for live video recording mah hahaha  tongue.gif
Thanks for your reply and advise mushigen
Use Power Bank for external use lal.
I tried when it new, it can handling around 15 min only.
coolstore
post Jul 22 2017, 04:05 PM

1,524 posts

cannot connect? is that yi doing the same strategy as for its cctv camera ~ china set not for outside china usage
ngkoktong93
post Jul 24 2017, 11:18 PM

got my issue solved. it was a defect, 1-1 exchange. unit is all good now smile.gif
SUSstinky
post Jul 29 2017, 12:46 AM

1,436 posts

Anyone know how to change language of black version to English?
I enter engmode but cannot scroll.

I'm letting go, brand new open box. PM me
-kytz-
post Jul 31 2017, 03:26 AM

12,573 posts

Hey guys, I'm new in this video cam for the car..

1) Is the XiaoYi cam/Xiaomi Mijia the best bang for buck cam? Which would you go for? I'm happy around RM200 budget smile.gif

2) Also, how does it work actually, the video cam will always overwrite the memory card when it's full? And does the camera automatically start recording when you start the car engine or when u turn the camera on?

3) Would either those dashcams be able to tahan in our Malaysian climate? Will always park under the hot sun, etc..

Sorry for the questions smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 31 2017, 03:57 AM
TSblurjoey
post Jul 31 2017, 09:40 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 31 2017, 03:26 AM)
Hey guys, I'm new in this video cam for the car..

1) Is the XiaoYi cam/Xiaomi Mijia the best bang for buck cam? Which would you go for? I'm happy around RM200 budget smile.gif

2) Also, how does it work actually, the video cam will always overwrite the memory card when it's full? And does the camera automatically start recording when you start the car engine or when u turn the camera on?

3) Would either those dashcams be able to tahan in our Malaysian climate? Will always park under the hot sun, etc..

Sorry for the questions smile.gif
1. Yes, best bang for your buck. I prefer the Mijia dashcam more than Yi dashcam.

2. Yes, it's called loop recording which all dashcams have. It will overwrite older files first when full. All dashcams auto turns on when you start your engine.

3. Sadly no. The lithium battery might last about a year in the heat. After that, cannot hold a charge or gets bloated.
fox_shinoda
post Jul 31 2017, 05:59 PM

1,001 posts

Just got my Xiaoyi dashcam. Already flash to US firmware. About the quality of the recording, you guys just stick with 1080 or the highest?

I'm using it with 32 GB card at the moment.
TSblurjoey
post Jul 31 2017, 06:23 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jul 31 2017, 05:59 PM)
Just got my Xiaoyi dashcam. Already flash to US firmware. About the quality of the recording, you guys just stick with 1080 or the highest?

Stick with 1080p as the 1296p is interpolated from 1080p.
Left4Dead2
post Jul 31 2017, 07:02 PM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jul 31 2017, 05:59 PM)

How you flash to US firm ? Any different with stock version ?

BTW im just buy Power / Black Edition, does it support also ?
TSblurjoey
post Jul 31 2017, 08:15 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jul 31 2017, 07:02 PM)

There's a video on the first post on how to flash to US firmware. Only difference is is in English language. But new firmware release will be slower than Chinese firmware by a few versions.
Terence573
post Aug 1 2017, 12:14 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

I got front and rear xiaomi setup lol
fox_shinoda
post Aug 1 2017, 12:26 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 31 2017, 06:23 PM)
Stick with 1080p as the 1296p is interpolated from 1080p.
Thanks will stick with 1080p. Next project is to hide the cable properly in the car 😄
fox_shinoda
post Aug 1 2017, 12:31 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Jul 31 2017, 07:02 PM)

Apparently the video how to on YouTube did not work for my CABAA model. Followed a tutorial from a forum that need to add an additional txt file named AAA222CCC.txt that contains the new US edited serial number in order to get the serial number to be overwrite. After that instead of downloading the firmware need to download the emergency aid. Viola, done flashing the firmware 😄

For power edition, not sure
4lt4ir
post Aug 1 2017, 03:47 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Aug 1 2017, 12:14 AM)
I got front and rear xiaomi setup lol
Mind sharing how you did your front & rear xiaomi setup? The rear camera get power from where?

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Aug 1 2017, 12:26 AM)
Thanks will stick with 1080p. Next project is to hide the cable properly in the car 😄
Good luck with that. My Yi dashcam's wire is still dangling in front, unsightly but hey it works. Do share if you manage to secure your wires properly.
Jackofree
post Aug 1 2017, 04:38 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Aug 1 2017, 03:47 PM)
Mind sharing how you did your front & rear xiaomi setup? The rear camera get power from where?
Good luck with that. My Yi dashcam's wire is still dangling in front, unsightly but hey it works. Do share if you manage to secure your wires properly.
bro just go to any car accessories shop, pay rm10 to rm20 for them to drink kopi and they will happily help you hide the cables for you
4lt4ir
post Aug 1 2017, 06:37 PM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Aug 1 2017, 04:38 PM)
bro just go to any car accessories shop, pay rm10 to rm20 for them to drink kopi and they will happily help you hide the cables for you
Wow, really? never thought to do this. Thanks for the pro tip bro! I'll drop by one nearby soon. Mind sharing what do they use specifically to hide/secure the cable..some sort of clip?
Terence573
post Aug 1 2017, 07:57 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Aug 1 2017, 04:47 PM)
It happens that my honda has a 12v cigar lighter power source there...

Juz stick to the middle of the back windshield and there it goes...but kinda blocking the rear view but still bearable.

64 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:14 PM