51 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

terence_nwb
post Jun 18 2016, 09:26 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 18 2016, 07:39 PM)
i have my own list. just want to compare only

[Budget] rm3000

[Purpose] casual games, cisco emulator , simulator

[Hardwares that will be re-use] only my mouse. lol. i sell keyboard but not my precious mouse ;

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] adobe ps, illus, blender, obs studio, cs:go, dota 2, TERA, steelocean,

[Personal preferences] will carry around the cpu if possible.. sweat.gif so i go for matx.
The games you listed aren't GPU demanding so the GTX750Ti is chosen, if you plan to play other games, you can go for GTX960/R9 380 or wait for the upcoming AMD RX470.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 845
Asus H110M-K - RM 273
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 131
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 480
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 249
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Corsair Carbide 88R - RM 226
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379
Logitech K100 - RM 26

Total: RM 2990 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Jun 19 2016, 12:14 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jun 18 2016, 11:08 PM)
hi sifu..

looking for a second monitor here..

budget: RM 500

preference: 24inch ips.

any suggestion?

thanks! smile.gif
There is no 24" IPS monitor below RM 500 at the moment.
terence_nwb
post Jun 19 2016, 12:30 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 18 2016, 11:14 PM)
@terence_nwb, appreciate your inputs here, seems like you do know your stuff on PC, thanks in advance !!!

[Budget] Depends, try not to spend if not necessary. Hopefully what I have written below on the purpose and usage will help determine the right rig setup for me

[Purpose] Gaming, photoshop editing, and I would like this rig to be Virtual Reality (VR) ready so i don't have to upgrade again in future

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] Planning to get 27" monitor, 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Games -Dota 2, Starcraft 2, Diablo 3, FIFA, Counter Strike
Photo Editing - Lightroom, Photoshop
potentially some video editing but very rare

[Personal preferences]
Some of the hardware which i think more or less intend to get already.

Core i7-6700K - fixed already
Asus Maximus VIII Ranger (lowest range for ROG board)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2666MHz x 2 (i read that 2666Mhz is optimum for Skylake system)
Intel 540s 360GB M.2 SSD - fixed already
Cooler Master Casing MasterCase Pro 5
Corsair RMX 750 PSU

For Graphics Card, most likely GTS 970

So this is my question:
- I am OK to spend more for upgrade on any of the parts as long as it fits my usage but I just want to know if some of the items could have been excluded and not necessary. Example, the power supply, do i really need that Corsair RMX 750? For Cooler Master casing, i have another option which is half the price, Cooler Master RC-K282 instead of the MasterCase Pro 5. Is it worth to spend 2x for the casing?

- There is no plan for me to overclock but since i did play around with OC about 10 years back, that is the reason why i am getting the 9700K and the Asus Maximus board, just in case. smile.gif

Thanks!
No need to spend for an expensive Asus Maximus board if you aren't interested in overclocking the CPU, even if you were to get a Z170 mobo, you can get those sub-RM 700 range mobo like Asus Z170 Pro Gaming, it is more than enough.

The price difference between 2666MHz and 3000MHz is small, I suggest you to get 3000MHz instead, Skylake works well with 3000MHz as well, it is just the performance improvement from 2666MHz to 3000MHz is much smaller from 2133MHz (base clock of DDR4) to 2666MHz, that's why most of the people say 2666MHz is the optimum speed for Skylake system.

As for the case, the two cases you mentioned are on two different tiers, MasterCase series is high end and modular case whereas K282 is just an entry level ATX case with limited features. Case selection is very subjective and optional, you need to know your own requirements on the case and pick the one you think it is the best.

For PSU, RM750x is quite overkill but it provides extra headroom for your future upgrade.

For GPU, there is no reason to pick the last gen Maxwell card over Pascal anymore, especially when you are planning to get a VR ready rig with screen resolution of 1440p, GTX1070/1080 is the one that you need to look for instead.
terence_nwb
post Jun 19 2016, 12:31 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(XiaoGuiZuo @ Jun 18 2016, 11:33 PM)
Sorry, forget to say I already have a rig but wanna change to mitx build.

I am using FSP Hexa 550W.
If you want to switch to mITX rig, then you need to pick a mITX mobo as well, the mobo you picked is a mATX mobo which is not compatible with mITX case.
terence_nwb
post Jun 19 2016, 01:03 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jun 19 2016, 12:57 AM)
thanks for the feedback!

then what is the best back for buck for 24 inch ips at the moment? smile.gif

looks like i will need to increase my budget as well.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Acer R241Y.
terence_nwb
post Jun 20 2016, 08:58 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 19 2016, 02:24 AM)
Can I check with u, for Casing Fan, any fan is recommended for silent and high air flow? I will be getting U2515H due to my space constraint. Thanks.
High airflow = noisy (loud) fan

I recommend you to go for PWM casing fan so you can control the speed of the fan by 3rd party software, when you are using the rig (like gaming), you can increase the speed of the fan and vice versa.

Cryorig QF120 PWM (Balance, Silent, Performance)
Corsair AF120/140 (If you are putting the fan closely to a hardware, get SP120/140 instead)
CM JetFlo, Silencio PWM
terence_nwb
post Jun 20 2016, 09:14 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Oceanvoice @ Jun 19 2016, 11:21 AM)
Please do provide the following info while posting

[Budget] RM 4000

[Purpose]  3D rendering with Dual Screen

[Hardwares that will be re-use] internal storage HDD, Monitor , CD rom

[Games & softwares that use frequently]           3dsmax vray

[Location]                                    KL
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
MSI B150M Pro-DH - RM 346
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 262
Palit GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1365
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 153
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 3913 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Alternative build with WS GPU:
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
Asus H110M-K - RM 273
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 262
Leadtek Quadro K1200 4GB GDDR5 - RM 1970
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 4117 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jun 20 2016, 09:15 AM
terence_nwb
post Jun 20 2016, 06:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jun 20 2016, 06:35 PM)
sry to bother again, if R241Y is the best value for 24 inch, what about 23 inch?? icon_question.gif
notworthy.gif
It's 23.8" actually smile.gif

This model beats all the other models with its price tag.
terence_nwb
post Jun 21 2016, 08:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(r1nk @ Jun 20 2016, 06:44 PM)
OK thank you.. 1 more thing, asking for my friend here..

A full i5 pc spec including monitor, kb mouse & speaker for gaming purpose.. budget rm2.3k.. is it possible? if not give i3 specs i guess..
Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 441
Asus H110M-K - RM 273
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 470
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119
Logitech MK200 Wired Combo - RM 63
Edifier R12U - RM 56
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379

Total: RM 2313 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Jun 21 2016, 08:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eternalwee @ Jun 20 2016, 09:45 PM)
[Budget]3.5k +-

[Purpose]Gaming, Programming, Surfing web, movie etc

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Speaker, monitor,mouse,keyboard

[Monitor resolution]Full HD

[Games & softwares that use frequently]Tree Of Saviour, Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor, Resident Evil Series, Final Fantasy Series, Steam Games etc

[Personal preferences]
INTEL SKYLAKE CORE I5-6500 PROCESSOR
ASUS B150M PRO GAMING SOCKET 1151 MAINBOARD
WESTERN DIGITAL 3.5” 1TB BLUE
Corsair Value Select 16GB DDR4 2133MHz        
CORSAIR CX650M SEMI-MODULAR 80 PLUS BRONZE
CORSAIR CARBIDE SERIES SPEC ALPHA MID TOWER CASE BLACK/RED
SAPPHIRE AMD RADEON RX480 8GB DDR5

[Location]PJ

Hi all sifus, the above is my own match rig. Please give your opinions and suggestion about this build. And where should i build my rig? I stay in section 14 which is quite near to Digital Mall, but after i did a research here mostly suggest ETech IdeaTech TechView etc. May I know which shop is better? Thanks in advance.
For price wise, go for Techview or ETech, ETech is quite far from your location (Kepong), so I suggest you to go for Techview instead, it is located inside Jaya One (above Nandos).

BTW your listed spec is slightly out of your budget.

INTEL SKYLAKE CORE I5-6500 PROCESSOR - RM 836
ASUS B150M PRO GAMING SOCKET 1151 MAINBOARD - RM 460
WESTERN DIGITAL 3.5” 1TB BLUE - RM 225
Corsair Value Select 16GB DDR4 2133MHz - RM 269       
CORSAIR CX650M SEMI-MODULAR 80 PLUS BRONZE - RM 349
CORSAIR CARBIDE SERIES SPEC ALPHA MID TOWER CASE BLACK/RED - RM 323
SAPPHIRE AMD RADEON RX480 8GB DDR5 - RM 1249 - Reference cooler

Total: RM 3711 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
To save cost, go for a cheaper mobo, a B150 mobo at RM 460 is overpriced, especially when it is a mATX where it should be cheaper than ATX/mITX, or in other word, avoid Asus for your budget, go for MSI/Gigabyte like MSI B150M Pro-DH (D4) or Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4).

Change the PSU to Seasonic M12II EVO 520W/620W, much better internal components quality at similar price range thumbsup.gif

The RX480 pre-order promotion in Malaysia is for the reference model, AMD reference cooler is known to be noisy and inefficient in the past, you might want to avoid getting the reference model for the time being unless it is proven to be improved in this version (wait for review in the next couple of days when NDA is lifted) or wait for non-reference model from Sapphire/XFX/Asus/Gigabyte/MSI instead (more expensive though).

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jun 21 2016, 08:50 AM
terence_nwb
post Jun 21 2016, 08:53 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ Jun 20 2016, 11:22 PM)
i cant find anyone selling..

is it the same as this one?

ACER G247HYL

confused.gif
Nope, different model.

It's a new model with super thin bezel under a new series.

You can find it at ETech (Kepong) or DotaTech (Ampang), price is around RM 620.

terence_nwb
post Jun 21 2016, 09:14 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eternalwee @ Jun 21 2016, 09:01 AM)
Thx for your suggestion, first time build rig here. rclxub.gif How about MSI B150m Mortar? Is this ok? For power supply i will change to Seasonic M12II EVO 620W rclxms.gif
No problem switching to MSI B150M Mortar but still > RM 400, RM 420 from Techview (only save RM 40 from the initial Asus mobo).

The reasonable pricing for a B150 mATX mobo for me is < RM 400, there are quite a lot B150 mATX mobo within RM 360+/-, some of them come with 4 RAM slots, some with 2 RAM slots only, the two mobo that I had suggested earlier both come with 4 RAM slots for optimum RAM expansion in the future nod.gif

terence_nwb
post Jun 21 2016, 10:37 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eternalwee @ Jun 21 2016, 10:23 AM)
Got it. Among the two mobo you suggested, is that a better choice to choose Gigabyte  D3H asit support M.2 which MSI not support?  biggrin.gif
Yup if you have the plan to use the M.2 slot later in the future.

Gigabyte one is around RM 35+/- more expensive than the MSI one.
terence_nwb
post Jun 21 2016, 04:23 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Aquahuntzx @ Jun 21 2016, 03:24 PM)
[Budget] RM 8k-9k

[Purpose] Mainly for gaming, a little bit on CAD. Involve a bit of overclocking.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

[Monitor resolution] Preferred 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Battlefield, Dota, Witcher 3, CAD

[Personal preferences]

Intel Core i5-6600K
Corsair H100i v2
Asus Maximus VIII Hero
EVGA Geforce GTX 1070
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB)
EVGA Supernova G2 650W
Corsair Carbide 400C
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
WD Cavier Blue 1TB
Asus VX24AH 1440p monitor

[Location] KL

Here are my main concerns:
1. i5-6600K vs i7-6700K. Worth the upgrade?
2. Asus z170 Pro gaming or Maximus VIII series?
3. 650W PSU?

This is my first pc build and I am trying to minimise the cost if it gives a similar performance. I wouldn't mind spend more if it worth the upgrade. I am open to any suggestion. Thank you.  smile.gif
EVGA PSU and Asus VX24AH aren't available in local market.

i7 6700K is always a better pick over the i5 6600K, imagine you have 4 hands with increased speed (overclocked) vs 8 hands with increased speed (overclocked), 8 hands will always faster than 4 hands (i5 vs i7), your budget is healthy, so just go for i7 6700K, don't be limited by i5's 4C4T.

Asus Z170 Pro Gaming is good enough, no need to spend the extra money for Asus Maximus board if you aren't going to use the ROG features (wasting money ain't it?).

QHD (1440p) is best viewed on a 27" display, 24" is too small for QHD due to higher PPI.

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1444
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 699
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 390
Zotac GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 2219
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 249
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Corsair RM650x - RM 534
Corsair Hydro H100i V2 - RM 508
Corsair Carbide 400C - RM 485
Dell U2715H QHD IPS - RM 2265

Total: RM 9008 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you want EVGA GPU, please look for Idealtech thumbsup.gif
terence_nwb
post Jun 22 2016, 06:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(choki123 @ Jun 22 2016, 03:51 PM)
[Budget]
RM3k

[Purpose]
Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Dell U2312HM Monitor, Gaming Keyboard and mouse

[Monitor resolution]
1080P

Dota 2, Steam games, movies

[Personal preferences]
- i5/i7
- RX480/ RX470 (estimated price)
- Good cooling fan & not too noisy

[Location]
KL
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
MSI B150M Pro-DH (D4) - RM 346
RX 470 - RM 1000 (Estimated)
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic S12II 620W - RM 303
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 3029 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Please wait for non-reference of AMD Polaris card if you want a better cooling fan (less noise), AMD reference blower cooler is known to be very noisy and inefficient in the past, wait for review if you want to know if they have improved the reference cooler or not this time before buying.
terence_nwb
post Jun 23 2016, 09:15 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nymerine @ Jun 23 2016, 03:05 AM)
[B][Budget]
2K max (before selling current rig)

[Purpose]
Upgrade, solely for gaming & streaming

R9 380 Sapphire Nitro 4GB ver.
750w Tagan

[Monitor resolution]
2x 1080p

High end games

[Personal preferences]
i7

[Location]
Malaysia

Hi guys, I'm just looking for an upgrade option. I looked up the performance between i7 4th gen and 6th gen, there seems only a little differences. Should I go for 6th or 4th, trying to save up as much as I can.
My i5 4400 cant be fast enough to provide 720p60fps OBS streaming so I'm opting to upgrade the CPU (which is clearly bottlenecking everything)
If you want to save as much as possible, go for Xeon E3 1231 V3 + H81/B85 mobo, if you want to board the latest Intel Skylake train, then you need to fork out extra RM 400+/- for i7 6700 because Skylake Xeon cannot be used on normal consumer grade mobo anymore, you need C232 chipset WS mobo for that.

A bit shocked when you said i5 4440 was not fast enough for OBS streaming at 720p60, I didn't expect a Haswell i5 to fail in keeping up with streaming, tried a 3rd gen i5 few years ago and it worked fine though, maybe requirements increased over the past few years, as for gaming, Haswell i5 is still pretty competitive due to single threaded operation from most of the games, except few titles that are utilizing the extra cores like Fallout 4 sweat.gif

Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 1090
Asus H81M-K - RM 240
Corsair 16GB (8GB) DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 262
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 2006 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Included HDD and casing since they aren't in your hardware to re-use list.

terence_nwb
post Jun 23 2016, 09:34 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ahnafken @ Jun 23 2016, 05:12 AM)
[B][Budget]
RM 3200

[Purpose]
Gaming, Video Editing, Photoshop

1080p Monitor

[Monitor resolution]
1080p monitor

AAA game titles and Photoshop

[Personal preferences]
i5/i7
ITX Case (Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX) but if anything cheaper and beautiful is good as well
RX480

[Location]
Egypt/Malaysia

I'm a oversea student who will be graduating and return to Malaysia in 6 months but i have a dying laptop. Instead of a new laptop, i want to build a rig instead but ITX form factor for easy transport at airport.

Will be in Malaysia next week so can buy parts locally
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX is out of stock almost everywhere and distributor isn't going to restock it in the close time. Techview and GBros both still got 1 last unit left as of yesterday (black color for Techview and unknown color for GBros, please make an enquiry yourself for the color and stock availability), please act fast if you are really keen to get this case or else you gonna switch to other mITX case. FYI Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX is considered quite big for a mITX build by most of the reviewers, in fact I am using it and yeah it is quite big and tall to be called as mITX TBH sweat.gif

If you want to get all your personal preferences in the build list then you gonna have to top up your budget, mITX is costly to build than mATX, SSD is not included in the list due to budget constraint.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
Asus H110i-PLUS - RM 369
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 135
XFX RX 480 8GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1249
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 369
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX - RM 369

Total: RM 3541 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Jun 23 2016, 10:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ahnafken @ Jun 23 2016, 10:30 AM)
Okay just a question, will the 4GB variant of RX480 be available in Malaysia? I'm not in that much of a rush to build the rig and willing to wait but when will it be released?

And Assuming i am willing to carry a mATX PC on an airplane or cargo what would you recommend at the same price point? Thanks btw
No, 4GB version if RX 480 won't make its debut in Malaysia due to the landed cost is too close to 8GB variant and RX 480 will launch globally on 29th June.

If you don't mind getting a smaller case with no side window, then you can consider CM Elite 110/130, they are cheap and easy to carry, or go for Raidmax Atomic with side window (around RM 250).

If you want mATX with side window then you gonna take Corsair Carbide 88R (around RM 230).
terence_nwb
post Jun 23 2016, 10:55 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(qwerty098 @ Jun 23 2016, 10:44 AM)
Hello and Hi, I would like to build a pc.
I just need recommend on what should i buy?
My budget is only RM3k+.
Can anyone help?
Please provide usage?

Monitor/KB/mouse required?

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jun 23 2016, 10:44 AM)
Wow. GTX1070 already. That was quick.  rclxms.gif
Traded my 980Ti for 1070 inb4 another massive price drop for 980Ti whistling.gif
terence_nwb
post Jun 23 2016, 11:05 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jun 23 2016, 10:57 AM)
Why GTX 1070? Waiting for GTX1080ti is it?  icon_idea.gif
Mainly because I don't have to top up a single cent for a new GTX1070 after I sold off my 980Ti, I even have some balance left for coffee laugh.gif

51 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:16 PM