51 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

terence_nwb
post May 16 2016, 06:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 16 2016, 04:55 PM)
I see, just did a quick google on Z170 and it supports DDR4. Did some few adjustments

CPU - i5 6600K - RM966
Cooling - Corsair H60 - RM299
Motherboard - Asrock Z170 Pro4 - RM578
Ram - HyperX Fury (4GBx2) - RM189
GPU -
PSU - Seasonic 520w  - RM265
Casing - NZXT S340 - RM325
Soundcard - Asus Sonar DG - RM139
Monitor - Any 24" IPS
Add a GTX750Ti if you only play Dota 2 and CS:GO.

As for monitor, you can look for Dell S2316H (glossy screen) or Acer R241Y (matte screen).

Glossy will create reflection if you are under bright light source but color is nicer with glossy screen and vice versa.

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ May 16 2016, 05:24 PM)
hi guys/sifu, i need a recommendation for office use,

heavy usage of facebook/web browser/online marketing

budget : < rm1.4k (including monitor)

and also if can built that can easily be upgraded for future.

last few pages i found this spec..
Still good?
Yea still good but the upgrade ability is depend on what you want to upgrade, CPU/RAM/PCIe/HDD/SSD/PSU etc, it is too general to say it can support all upcoming upgrades but don't expect everything can be upgraded easily when the PSU selection is the low end one due to budget constraint.

But for your usage, it should last you quite a while, most likely you will only need to get a larger size HDD or add a SSD to improve the responsiveness of the system in the future.
terence_nwb
post May 16 2016, 06:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ May 16 2016, 06:18 PM)
Is there any different if I uphrade to 13 6100, just need to add a few bucks
You get a minor 0.1GHz bump and a faster iGPU (HD 510 vs HD 530) by swapping to i3 6100.

If you don't game with this rig at all, you can stick with i3 6098P.
terence_nwb
post May 16 2016, 08:28 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ May 16 2016, 07:57 PM)
New GPU u mean the Nvidia 1070/1080 series?. Any idea what is the expected price would be
Both Nvidia and AMD.

GTX1080 - 3k (Founder's Edition)

GTX1070 - at least 1.8k

AMD - unknown, unannounced yet.
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 01:51 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ May 16 2016, 10:06 PM)
Hi guys, time to upgrade my 4-years old. this is what i am using now:

Intel i5 3450
Asus P8Z77-M
GSKILL 353 VALUE RAM 4GB x 2
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Lite On DVDRW 24x Sata
Cooler Master Elite 431
Corsair GS600
Gigabyte 2 GB GTX670OC
Dell U2312HM 23" IPS

1) primarily going to change mobo, proc, RAM and graphic card
2) like to re-use my hdd, monitor, DVDRW (hardld use  sweat.gif ) and psu (if possible)
3) the 1080 is awesome on paper, but normally i go for tier-2 or tier-3 cards. 1070 maybe?
4) usage: mostly gaming, browsing, watching movie
5) like to add-on SSD since it's quite cheap now
6) will not be oc-ing the machine
7) budget available = +-2k

thanks!
CPU/mobo/RAM no need to change, they still have enough juice for gaming.

GTX1070 is expected to be priced at least 1.8k, so it might take up most of your budget, add a 120GB SSD (around RM 200) then the total will be around 2k.

If you were to upgrade CPU/mobo/RAM together then this is not possible sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 01:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Blank19 @ May 17 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hi, my old mobo just dead, thinking to upgrade as well.
[B][Budget] – RM 1.8k~2.k

[Purpose] – gaming, download overnight
[Hardwares that will be re-use]
(1) PSU – Silverstone Strider Gold 750W
(2) Graphic Card –GTX760
(3) SSD & HD
(4)    CM 690 II Advanced

[Monitor resolution]
-1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
-MMO,main stream game.
[Personal preferences]
Primary change the mobo, ram, processor, still open for advice
[Location]
KL

Thank you.  notworthy.gif
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 815
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 128

Total: RM 1389 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 03:31 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 17 2016, 03:06 PM)
I think I hold on the GPU till the new one released.

The S2316H is 6ms response time. Is there any with IPS 2ms?
Nope, even the highest end gaming IPS monitor only managed to go as fast as 4ms.

IPS is generally having slower response time, go for TN/VA if you need 1ms, but I don't think you can see the difference with human eyes.

I have Dell U2417H (8ms) and I literally see no difference if compared with my gaming monitor innocent.gif

QUOTE(Blank19 @ May 17 2016, 03:24 PM)
Any suggestion for skylake processor and mobo combination?
The items listed are Skylake products man sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 04:14 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ May 17 2016, 03:57 PM)
bro, what monitor do you recommend to pair for a GPU such as GTX1080/980/970 ?
This depends on your budget and the frame rate you aim to get.
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 04:19 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(radenoactive @ May 17 2016, 04:02 PM)
I've read the hype of the Pascal generation, I'm wondering what's the expected date of the launch in Malaysia? And anyone know the expected price in UK market?

The thing is, I'll move to UK this September, so I'm not really sure if I'm gonna snatch the 1070 in Malaysia or UK later on.
General availability for GTX1080 and GTX1070 is 27th May and 10th June as stated by Nvidia, Malaysia should be able to get it within the same day or few days later for Founder's Edition, AIB to follow soon, probably in June/July.

About price, I am not really sure on this, but expect to be slightly higher than the originally announced RRP (in USD), things tend to be more expensive outside US sometimes rolleyes.gif
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 04:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ May 17 2016, 04:23 PM)
I see, i've seen ppl talking about 144hz monitor ? what is the cheapest one ? basically with 144hz monitor, a game can go higher than 60fps if your gpu not bottleneck it right ?
Cheapest 1080p 144Hz monitor is around RM 1150, for example, Acer XB240H and BenQ XL2411Z.

Not just the game itself can support up to 144Hz, even the normal desktop also runs on 144Hz which is way smoother than 60Hz, if you haven't tried 144Hz before, then you might think that 60Hz is smooth enough already, but once you tried 144Hz, you will feel the lag when you see 60Hz monitor biggrin.gif

Find a 144Hz demo monitor and move the mouse cursor and you will know brows.gif

terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 04:44 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ May 17 2016, 04:33 PM)
hi bro n sis , pls suggest. my preference below

[B][Budget] rm3.5k cpu.

[Purpose] gaming (latest title but normal/high setting. noneed max setting), coding and online.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] none

[Monitor resolution] hd -2k

[Games & softwares that use frequently] steam gaming.

[Personal preferences] mini itx casing like rvz01. small form factor best.

[Location] kl

thanks.
Hmm, so you already have monitor or need a new one?

2K QHD monitor isn't cheap BTW, it will take roughly half of your budget if you really need a new QHD monitor.

And mITX is expensive to build FYI.
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 05:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Limenaed @ May 17 2016, 04:59 PM)
Is BenQ GL2460HM a good momitor for gaming?
It is not a gaming monitor, but no problem if you use it for gaming anyway.

QUOTE(MagnificM @ May 17 2016, 05:05 PM)
haha, my friend is building a high-end rig, i was suggesting him to get a 144hz monitor as i think it is such a waste to pair a good GPU with a 60hz monitor, again, tqvm for your suggestion  thumbup.gif
If got budget then go for either GSync or FreeSync enabled monitor, smooth gameplay all the way and no screen tearing nod.gif
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 08:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ May 17 2016, 06:39 PM)
my budget is just for cpu. i put hd-2k monitor just for reference.  nod.gif
i know mITX is more expensive than full tower, thats why asking some opinion here
I suggest you to wait for new Nvidia Pascal and AMD Polaris to reach here first before building the rig if you are not in a rush.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 815
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 315
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 128
Sapphire R9 380 4GB GDDR5 Nitro - RM 955
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 195
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
Corsair SF600 SFX - RM 514
Silverstone RVZ01 - RM 363

Total: RM 3500 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 08:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ May 17 2016, 08:06 PM)
I thought VA has the worse response time of the 3, TN being the fastest?
VA has the best contrass
TN is always the fastest among 3 of them.
terence_nwb
post May 17 2016, 11:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(imranosman @ May 17 2016, 09:39 PM)
any hint on the price of the new AMD Polaris?
Nope.
terence_nwb
post May 18 2016, 08:43 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ May 17 2016, 11:54 PM)
I see... thanks. I thought of changing them as well so it'll be more future proof. Any choice or 1.5k graphic card, so i could still manage new set of mobo/CPU/Ram/SSD within budget? I can top up another 300 if need to
Not possible bro, your current CPU is i5, the cheapest Skylake i5 is around RM 700 already, mobo and DDR4 RAM aren't included yet, so the total upgrade cost for CPU + mobo + DDR4 RAM will cost you roughly 1.2k (assuming you get the lowest end i5 + H110 + 8GB RAM).

Going from 3rd gen i5 to 6th gen i5 doesn't really meet your "future proof" statement though because the performance improvements aren't that huge or significant in this upgrade, if you really wish to upgrade to something more future proof, I recommend you to go for i7 instead.

i7 costs at least 1.2k, so your budget is definitely unable to fit CPU + GPU upgrade, if I were you, I will go for GPU upgrade instead, your CPU still can drive the current gaming easily.

terence_nwb
post May 18 2016, 10:11 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ May 18 2016, 09:54 AM)
I see benchmark performance of 1080 better than 380, gtx980 and even titan x,
how much will it be if coming to Malaysia?
At least 3k, it is the highest end Nvidia GPU now.

Even the 1070 will cost at least 1.8k, so your budget is totally out of reach at the moment.
terence_nwb
post May 18 2016, 11:31 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ May 18 2016, 11:22 AM)
then why suggesting me to wait?
is it becuz when 1080/1070 out on market, the other card may drop prices?  hmm.gif
Why I ask you to wait:

1. AMD Polaris is aiming mainstream market (not super high end card with super premium price), most likely you can benefit from this AMD marketing strategy.
2. Wait for the price of GTX970 to drop even more, seller might start dumping the old card at cheaper price to clear stock, reference card of GTX970 is around 1.3k now, it might get lower soon but not guarantee will happen though.
terence_nwb
post May 18 2016, 06:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(guguik123 @ May 18 2016, 05:59 PM)
Guys should i buy a GTX 1070 or 970 because my budget is RM1600 ?
Neither one, wait for AMD Polaris instead, the price of Polaris GPU should be around your budget.
terence_nwb
post May 19 2016, 09:18 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ May 19 2016, 12:52 AM)
Senseis here, with GTX1080 and 1070 so overpowered. How much can I sell my 980Ti reference for? ._. Bought since it released.
Suddenly feel like as if nobody wants liao
If you have Ti then don't bother to downgrade from Ti to non-Ti, 1080 is just 25% (average) faster than Titan X and 980Ti, just wait for 1080Ti instead.
terence_nwb
post May 19 2016, 09:20 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Imagination *-* @ May 19 2016, 01:41 AM)
Currently I have a very low spec PC at home and I wish to oomph it a little.

Current spec:
Intel Pentium G2030 3.0Ghz
2 GB ram
Gigabyte H61M MOBO
No GFX card

Ayam poor and my super tight budget plan is to keep the cpu and mobo and upgrade the rest, thus:

Intel Pentium G2030 3.0Ghz
Kingston HyperX fury 1600Mhz 8GB
Gigabyte H61M Mobo
GTX 750Ti
and maybe add a 120gb ssd with already existing 500gb mecha hard drive
Games usually played is DOta 2/CS GO. Currently my laptop which is 5+ years old on which i game often on low everything (like 800x600 reso) is dying and so this is my plan..

WIll the Pentium G2030 cause any problems (bottleneck?)? Also, I play other games as well occasionally such as tomb raider/fallout/bioshock/CoD/etc..
Expect bottleneck with CPU demanding games, but since you have a limited budget then just get what you can afford at the time being.

51 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0762sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:12 AM