Amateur Radio User, Ham
santacruzer
Sep 8 2008, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 8 2008, 11:25 AM) If not mistaken 477.xxx falls in the UHF TV frequency right? I accidentally tx on this frequency using VX-6R and the battery run out of juice on the spot. Did you made a typo? Why would you wanna tx on that frequency..? 460-470 = Family Radio Service, which I believe some people would want to tx in this area to play with friends who have those cheap sets. 477 = UHF CB, these are where most Malaysian commercially based UHF sets are based on. Security, Hotels and Contract Work Sites are using. Note : Although these Freq are illegal if you notice from your AA license from MCMC. Malaysia boleh so far no strict enforcement.
santacruzer
Sep 9 2008, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 8 2008, 03:44 PM) yea i meant 470 n ya mcmc even fcc also dun let amateur transmit on those freq wan bt..hehee i need to use thoes freq the most wan wif my set Try to trim the antenna if you want to tx high power on this freg. My SWR meter shows > 2.1:1 on 460.25. Good luck
santacruzer
Sep 9 2008, 03:58 PM

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 9 2008, 03:45 PM) har can break it wan ah? aiks.. Yes if your antenna is not meant for that freq and you tx. You will be able to fry an egg on your rig. It be really really hot, my rig registered a 172 Degrees once on the LCD during a long winded contest full power. Forgot to tune my yagi.
santacruzer
Sep 9 2008, 07:07 PM

Handy no problem.
santacruzer
Sep 11 2008, 03:04 PM

[quote=anoko,Sep 11 2008, 02:00 PM] Very simple my friend for monitoring just through one long wire say about 30 to 40 feet good enough ..... u will get so many things...from 4Mhz up to 28 Mhz....  A simple dipole one end tied to window grill the other end tied to a papaya tree = RM14. Almost every weekend there would be a contest worth checking out while 40M have too much indonesian lanun. CB Radio on 27.005 onwards on AM be fine to listen to too. Lots of real lanun from neighbouring countries illegal poaching fish in south china sea. Hear them on the lookout for navy chase boats. This post has been edited by santacruzer: Sep 11 2008, 03:08 PM
santacruzer
Sep 11 2008, 03:08 PM

QUOTE(anoko @ Sep 11 2008, 03:06 PM) Aaaa hah....40m what freq? 7.000 to 7.100 Mhz
santacruzer
Sep 11 2008, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(anoko @ Sep 11 2008, 03:09 PM) But i dont think lanun works on 7.055 ? They do, try turning your antenna towards Sumatra area. Those lanun have minimum 400watts linear. Cant blame them much too, its their only means of communications I believe.
santacruzer
Sep 12 2008, 01:07 AM

Its just a hobby and everyone have their own reasons to be on air. No wrong or right in hobby, too much regulation just takes the fun out of it. My personal reason is pure technical and see how far I can make contacts with homebrewing . Gadgets are fun and I believe lowyat net is founded on this basis. Commercial bands have its own merits and its contained within Malaysia and may just reach certain places outside our borders. No biggies if you ask me. Rather than having pirates jamming up frequencies.
santacruzer
Sep 12 2008, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(CraZyGhOst @ Sep 11 2008, 08:33 PM)  hope to get this rig in after few years Icom IC-7000 detailsGood luck on your IC7000 quest Good blingky rig
santacruzer
Sep 16 2008, 09:32 AM

My RM14 HF dipole antenna can work pretty well but for serious monitoring as you guys called it, I have yet to know of any cheap directional antenna out there. Homebrew or commercially available. HF sets can be cheap but how about antenna? The cheapest homebrew Tribander Yagi I know and built up cost me no less than 1k and cheapest entry level commercially available is 3.7k. AND you need minimum turning radius of 30ft on roof top. Most terrace houses in Malaysia is about 24ft wide and unless you have a very very nice neighbour or a detached house. I have not include the rotator. Cheapest rotator out there that can turn a 20kg antenna RM550. People tend to shy away from HF due to this costing but when they got bitten then they will venture there automatically. No need to belittle VHF/UHF people here. I recommended a re-budget and not kicking them in the balls for staying within 2M.
santacruzer
Sep 17 2008, 10:18 AM

Its be pretty interesting to see what design you using with 26ft reflector. I have brought down my A3S in favor of a homebrewed 11ele Optibeam. Much to the neighbour's dismay.
santacruzer
Sep 19 2008, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(procomm @ Sep 17 2008, 09:55 PM) Hi, i'm new to this forum. and so surprisingly there is a ham radio thread in LYF. Btw HF is fun as you can have chit chat with difference people around the world. For HF communication, you don't have to spend a lot of money to get ur first contact, just a basic transceiver and a simple wire dipole will get u on the air, and if the propagation is good, then ur CQ call might be answered. Then after a while if budget allow, then u may start to buy a better rig, buy a beam antenna, a rotators, and a tower if u have the space. and after awhile, then add some audio processing tool like EQ and amplifier, heil microphone to ur shack. It cannot denies that a big yagi with tall tower will have better performance, but remember, if ur budget and spaces allow, then go ahead. If not, then simple setup is ok. Bellow is some of my QSL card received and it sometime it also come along with personal letters and greeting cards. BTW, if u stay at apartment, do check out the magnetic loop antenna!!!, it is very well perform and easy to build.but the problem is, it is very hard to find the variable air core tuning capacitor. So you have to homebrew one. hihi. Good luck and hope you have a nice contact and enjoy this beautiful hobby. ohh..before i forget, the late His Highness Tunku A. Rahman is also a ham too with the callsign of 9M2TR   procomm are you able to get the Heil Goldline in Malaysia with the necessary wiring?
santacruzer
Sep 22 2008, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(joejoney @ Sep 21 2008, 09:51 PM) just bought the FTM... very nice.. hehe...   Good choice ! Congrats !
santacruzer
Sep 29 2008, 09:51 AM

Like to wish everyone a GREAT Selamat Hari Raya !!!
santacruzer
Oct 16 2008, 08:21 PM

I am still alive just got no time for time being. Will be back to homebase early next year.
santacruzer
Oct 22 2008, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(revgsr @ Oct 21 2008, 11:59 AM) Hi .. Any member want to selling 2 meter rig cheeperst ........ i need to buy target rm300 baget icom ic2100 or kenwoord .. Item i need good condition fizikal and fuctioning .. RM300? I seriously doubt Radio prices depreciate so much. I would stock a couple of these if there were RM300.
santacruzer
Nov 5 2008, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Nov 4 2008, 09:43 PM) tat seems rather ez i found this while googling b4 i checked into lowyat juz nw maybe i can try to make tis 1 but where can i get the coax cable and hw do i excatly link the antenna to my handy? Get a Diamond MC101 mobile antenna and you be real happy. Coax cable RG58 and SMA connector from pasar road. That would set you back roughly about RM100. If you want to homebrew, I can set you up with a 3 ele yagi that works real real well for almost the same price as above but with some directional gain. This post has been edited by santacruzer: Nov 5 2008, 07:39 PM
santacruzer
Nov 6 2008, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Nov 5 2008, 10:39 PM) o...i din knw rg58 will be tat exp? or u mean wif the antenna? hmm 100 is nice i hav a budget of 150 for either a telescopic or a mobile antenna RG58 is cheap but once you get into this fever, cable are more expensive than antenna. RG58 I don't remember the price but roughly I would say RM2-3 per meter? For my home its all RG8 Ericsson cables, for real good cables, when you are walking in underground car parks or inside shopping malls you can see telco using Andrew Cables. Cost alot but great stuff. I have some of these when telekom discontinued their smartphone sites, got it from telekom technicians used at RM25/meter and connectors RM120 each.
santacruzer
Nov 12 2008, 07:24 PM

I was there around 12 I think. Not bad spread of stuff. Those 2nd hand VX170 looks good at RM350 each.