Amateur Radio User, Ham

santacruzer
post Aug 8 2008, 10:06 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 8 2008, 02:26 AM)
I need a little help.. How does a channel (1-16) spreaded across the frequency band?
If you are asking about those china mali ones, those are generally UHF sets. channel 1 - 16 can be on Family Radio Services and you will need a cable and software to access to it.
santacruzer
post Aug 11 2008, 11:28 AM

97 posts

haha ok nevermind. Last weekend I made and tried this http://www.hamradioindia.org/circuits/2m_yagi.php

Sunday tested with a ham 125km away according to google earth on 5w simplex. Signal 1 audio 3.
Cost of antenna alone without the cable and connectors = RM76.80

santacruzer
post Aug 12 2008, 09:38 AM

97 posts

Not very high, just your average TV pole clearing the house's roof by 5ft. Totaling from ground should be about less than 30ft.

santacruzer
post Aug 13 2008, 12:50 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 12 2008, 10:23 PM)
Can anyone help me?
The TK1118 have ctcss encoder..
But does it have the decoder?
I cant get it to work =(
As long as you can encode, you be fine. Whats the reason you need to decode the tone? Too much traffic on the same freq?
santacruzer
post Aug 13 2008, 04:17 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 13 2008, 12:21 PM)
Actually just curious of the function.. Dunno how to use also. When ctcss activated theres a tone with the transmitting voice.. but theres no way to remove the tone aiks..
Encoding/decoding in these UHF sets normally meant for privacy amongst a group of people. Meaning you can only hear your group of people when tone is selected. Other people on same freq without your tone you will not hear them.

The ctcss tones are called sub-audible tones, meaning you shouldn't hear them as part of your audio on the receiving set. I fear its not the tone that you are hearing, it could be humming as with most china mali sets. You could return it to the dealer for an exchange. Humming can also be a badly tuned antenna, try setting the freq towards middle of the range where most antenna are tuned.
santacruzer
post Aug 13 2008, 08:04 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 13 2008, 06:18 PM)
Bro I really appreciate your help ~ even without the antenna the humming is present.. Any better original handheld tranceivers to introduce? As a hobby..
Alamak, DONT transmit without the antenna. You will fry the radio. Amateur radio stick with the major player. Icom, Yaesu, Motorola, Kenwood or Alinco. RM500 to RM1.5k will get you a good set. Brand wise its very subjective like Nokia and Ericsson. Most of my sets are Yaesu, cannot get along with my Icom buddies when discussing radio brands hahaha. Sensitive topic. flex.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-05D..._the_Market.htm

This post has been edited by santacruzer: Aug 13 2008, 08:07 PM
santacruzer
post Aug 14 2008, 09:57 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 13 2008, 11:24 PM)
bro can explain more abt frying the radio? anyone know whn the result coming out!??!
The transmitting side of a radio called the back end, its a built in power amplifier (PA). What this PA does is to amplify the Radio Freq (RF). The RF consist of your Audio+Carrier wave. The PA is manufactured tuned/matched to a resonating 50ohm antenna. Should your antenna be removed or miss matched and you transmit at full power be it at 5W for a handie or 50W for a mobile. It will blow the PA.

Result anytime now. Good luck as it was indicated more than 2,000 people sat for it.
santacruzer
post Aug 15 2008, 01:54 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 15 2008, 10:49 AM)
Anyone know where i can buy yaesu vx6 / vx7 in the klang valley? Urgent to get one soon ~

Also who can brief me the difference between vx6 and vx7 thanks!!
Dude,

VX7 = Dual Band and Dual Monitor ( meaning got 2 radios inside, both running together. Can be VHF+VHF or VHF+UHF or UHF+UHF) plus 6M HF( FM mode). You can put one freq on standby and scan another Freq. You can MUTE one when both are active to prevent mix up.
VX6 = Dual Band and can only run either VHF or UHF.

VX6 is smaller lighter and is a newer model from Yaesu made from magnesium with all the bells and whistles. Good unit
VX7 is thicker and heavier older model I believe 2001 and made from Magnesium. Its basically a Vx6 on steroid. Have known bugs.

To add to the confusion, VX8 have been released in Feb 2008 and would be available anytime from this month. Vx8 is a new version of Vx7 which is slimmer and adds options like GPS and Bluetooth.

Disclaimer : As with all Yaesu new models, beware of the 1st generation. Bugs yet to be ironed out.

Phone number I will PM to you.

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/0666.html
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/0777.html
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/0008.html

This post has been edited by santacruzer: Aug 15 2008, 02:25 PM
santacruzer
post Aug 18 2008, 11:55 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 17 2008, 07:57 PM)
you dont really rigs nowdays anymore ...

2200 would be a very good entry level rig ...
Confirmed. If you notice all the old ham, you will always see either a 2200h or V8000 tuck away as a backup unit. These two entry level units are built to military spec and will give you years and years of fun. Bare basic radio with lots of history and work horses. I got a very very beat up V8000 inside my 4x4 tool box with all the spanners and so on. To be used as base camp station during outings and campings with the kids and scouts. icon_rolleyes.gif or loan to "friends" who love to borrow stuff shakehead.gif
santacruzer
post Aug 25 2008, 06:26 PM

97 posts

rclxms.gif CONGRATS too everyone rclxms.gif

Welcome to the wonderful addictive world of analogue radio communication.

Start saying your callsign now icon_idea.gif good results for 2008-1 I must say. Encouraging to see about 2.4k candidates for each sitting since 2006. Very good momentum.
santacruzer
post Aug 26 2008, 04:03 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Aug 26 2008, 03:53 PM)
do we havto wait till mcmc releases the forms to be available to be downloaded? i cant seem to find it in the site
Dont worry about that, everyone and anyone I know have trouble getting those forms. Their website are created by "graduates" that are mega technical.

http://www.skmm.gov.my/what_we_do/spectrum...r_Service_1.pdf

The forms are also difficult to understand, so here is a sample of how to fill them up without mistakes.

http://www.skmm.gov.my/facts_figures/codes...ppendix%20B.pdf

This post has been edited by santacruzer: Aug 26 2008, 04:08 PM
santacruzer
post Aug 26 2008, 04:22 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(skthien @ Aug 26 2008, 04:16 PM)
Santa so fast you dig out the link  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  :salute:
The MCMC website really a mess for me  shakehead.gif
All the old timers and also all the 9W been through this already doh.gif thats why you see Joey and also skthien expert hahah.

This is not a nightmare yet, have you guys tried applying for a repeater or fixed station QRG? Now thats what I call a headache. Took me months of running up and down to get it done. You wouldnt want to know how many sets of forms I went through and how many Officers and Pengarahs. rclxub.gif
santacruzer
post Aug 26 2008, 07:26 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 26 2008, 04:45 PM)
u got ur own repeater? coo!
Yes Earl, I wouldn't say its mine. We got a group of very close buddies that wanted a private repeater to talk nonsense. Not strict as ham repeaters. I was "paksa rela" to do all the paper work. Own commercial repeater you are given 30 licenses to legalised those pirates who gets intimidated by taking the RAE.
santacruzer
post Aug 26 2008, 10:02 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
ok lets not talk bout the cost fo the repeater or hardware issue ...

but the license? how much was it?

and where u placed the repeater?  on a building? ur own mast? coverage?
License = 60 x 30 + 500 + 60 = 2,360 annually.
Repeater placed on a hill elevation 210m. 60ft homebrew GI piped tower.
Coverage as of current up to 50km frontal. Back of hill not too good due to TX antenna 30ft lower from tower. When budget allows then a proper cavity duplexer will allow one antenna operation on top of tower 60ft tall.
santacruzer
post Aug 28 2008, 12:03 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 28 2008, 11:18 AM)
Morning. I need advice from fellow experienced ham operators. Confused over whether to get Icom-2200 or FTM-10R. Just have to choose between single band VHF or dual band VHF / UHF. Problem is like this. During convoy and duties at big events such as Citrawarna, KLWMBC, Merdeka Carnival, my team will be using UHF walkie talkies. I already have a yaesu VX6R that have 5 watt. Problem is lets say I have to patrol around the area quite far away will this 5 watt be enough to reach base? Do i still need to include UHF on my mobile unit? Sorry if my question seems cloudy..
The idea behind DXing is, you can have transmitting power of 1,500watts but if you cannot hear them = no use.
santacruzer
post Aug 29 2008, 11:39 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Aug 28 2008, 11:51 PM)
Thank you very much for the opinions. Decided to move on with Icom 2200h. Anyway where does english speaking hamsters hang out? Dont mean to be rude..
If you guys are into setting up base stations. Try rebudget your radio getting into the HF arena. HF are very interesting place where you can listen to worldwide ham stations. Its slowly opening up to 9W stations too, right now in Malaysia 9W can also transmit at 6M and 10M frequencies. Know how the rest of the world talk in Ham Languages and speed up your learning curve.
santacruzer
post Sep 3 2008, 10:07 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 2 2008, 10:49 PM)
yup i got everything ready d thn i passed to my fren b4 coming bac to kl so nw waiting for my fren to do for me biggrin.gif so nw can plan for a budget bt hopefully dualband n the best will be if gt FM so i can listen to the radio in my hostel room whn im bored!

Added on September 2, 2008, 11:09 pmanyway i read a few reviews tat say vx7r had issues like bad qc anyone can clarify?
I got no issues with VX7
santacruzer
post Sep 5 2008, 01:59 PM

97 posts

http://seribestari.com/index.php?act=viewCat&catId=17
santacruzer
post Sep 5 2008, 02:18 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Sep 5 2008, 02:10 PM)
whose site is this?
No idea. Instead of replying prices for each models asked, so give this as a reference. Actually it only takes a few google to find out prices. No need to ask here.
santacruzer
post Sep 8 2008, 10:40 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 7 2008, 09:55 PM)
ohh so im nt the only 1 tat thinks so his price difference wif others quite big

Added on September 7, 2008, 11:32 pmsantacruzer;
can u transmit on 470.000 onwards? i need to use tat most wan i think

Added on September 7, 2008, 11:46 pmafter a few googling canot tx on tat freq unless mod..did u mod urs?
I have yet to know of any mobile units that can tx in the 477.xxx area even freebanded mod. Handheld no problem. Most Amateur radio antenna are matched to 430-460 and mobile sets can go as high as 50w in the UHF region. If for some reason you try tx in HIGH on 477.xxx, you might have a nice frying pan to cook sunny side up eggs. doh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:09 AM