The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans

1024kbps
post Apr 9 2011, 12:22 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Apr 8 2011, 11:54 PM)

Hi, i am going to add extra fan at bottom of my case, picture above show it all, intake or exhaust? need recommend... This is the fan i going to get to fit the style of my case http://www.xigmatek.com/product.php?productid=77
Should be intake for bottom, and may be add one more fan at 5.25'' bay?
Too must exhaust fan will create low pressure on your casing, which dust will enter your casing where didnt covered by dust filter.
FiragaZ
post Apr 9 2011, 12:34 AM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 9 2011, 12:22 AM)
Should be intake for bottom, and may be add one more fan at 5.25'' bay?
Too must exhaust fan will create low pressure on your casing, which dust will enter your casing where didnt covered by dust filter.
yea, i also think to add 1mo at front panel, what to do if i use all the fan connector on mobo?
1024kbps
post Apr 9 2011, 12:45 AM

李素裳
6,013 posts

Use splitter or fan controller.

This one is splitter or Y-adapter.
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ind...oducts_id=28414

OR directly connect to PSU:
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ind...products_id=603
cant control the fan if use this, unless you mod the splitter.
FiragaZ
post Apr 9 2011, 01:08 AM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 9 2011, 12:45 AM)
Use splitter or fan controller.

This one is splitter or Y-adapter.
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ind...oducts_id=28414

OR directly connect to PSU:
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/ind...products_id=603
cant control the fan if use this, unless you mod the splitter.
how much is the selling price of splitter or Y-adapter? directly connect to psu must b very loud? i guess the 1st method is better.

Added on April 9, 2011, 10:07 amuser posted image

i decided to put 1mo fan at front panel, bottom i put exhaust, ok rite?

This post has been edited by FiragaZ: Apr 9 2011, 10:07 AM
1024kbps
post Apr 10 2011, 03:38 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Apr 9 2011, 01:08 AM)
how much is the selling price of splitter or Y-adapter? directly connect to psu must b very loud? i guess the 1st method is better.

i decided to put 1mo fan at front panel, bottom i put exhaust, ok rite?
The splitter is very cheap, cheaper than a fan controller that is tongue.gif
Directly connect to PSU not loud, the fan will run at Maximum rated power. yeah its loud, any fan speed higher than 1200rpm mean loud for me sweat.gif
If i recall it correctly, Asus mobo can control the fan speed for each fan header, while Gigabyte only one, CPU fan header doh.gif

IF the fans total ampere too high(most mobo only support 1A, MSi support up to 3A iirc.) for your mobo you will need to use the method below:
You can mod the splitter, Black wire connect to PSU, Red and Yellow connect to MOBO fan header.
all you need is just something sharp like needle or knife to push the clip from the connector(the silver thingy), press the silver clip and pull the wire slowly, dont use force else the clip will be left inside.
Image source: SPCR

Yeah you could try various configuration and see if its suits you. remember too much exhaust fan and if they are running at full speed, dust will enter your casing very easily.
FiragaZ
post Apr 11 2011, 02:06 PM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 10 2011, 03:38 PM)
The splitter is very cheap, cheaper than a fan controller that is tongue.gif
Directly connect to PSU not loud, the fan will run at Maximum rated power. yeah its loud, any fan speed higher than 1200rpm mean loud for me sweat.gif
If i recall it correctly, Asus mobo can control the fan speed for each fan header, while Gigabyte only one, CPU fan header doh.gif

IF the fans total ampere too high(most mobo only support 1A, MSi support up to 3A iirc.) for your mobo you will need to use the method below:
You can mod the splitter, Black wire connect to PSU, Red and Yellow connect to MOBO fan header.
all you need is just something sharp like needle or knife to push the clip from the connector(the silver thingy), press the silver clip and pull the wire slowly, dont use force else the clip will be left inside.
Image source: SPCR

Yeah you could try various configuration and see if its suits you. remember too much exhaust fan and if they are running at full speed, dust will enter your casing very easily.
Does case fan consume lot power from psu?
1024kbps
post Apr 11 2011, 06:15 PM

李素裳
6,013 posts

Depend on the fans rated Ampere, most fan maker will put the info on the fan's sticker.
Most cheap pc fan usually are 0.1A to 0.3A, server fan will eat alot power, 1A to 3A and may be higher.

You can calculate the power yourself, eg 1A 12VDC fan = 12Watt.
FiragaZ
post Apr 21 2011, 06:54 PM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

Hi, i just upgrade my cm hyper 212+ plus fans recently to dual Arctic Cooling F12 PWM fans for push pull config, and extra 2 fans for my case, im also apply new arctic cooling mx-4 at the same time, but not much improvement for my rig temp. B4 my cm hyper 212+ single blademaster is around 90c while oc, but after add those fans the temp still same around 90c, is there anything wrong? My case is front 2x120mm intake, bottom 1x120mm intake, top 1x170mm exhaust, rear 1x120mm rear exhaust, total 5 case fans.
Oyaji
post Apr 22 2011, 06:23 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Apr 21 2011, 06:54 PM)
Hi, i just upgrade my cm hyper 212+ plus fans recently to dual Arctic Cooling F12 PWM fans for push pull config, and extra 2 fans for my case, im also apply new arctic cooling mx-4 at the same time, but not much improvement for my rig temp. B4 my cm hyper 212+ single blademaster is around 90c while oc, but after add those fans the temp still same around 90c, is there anything wrong? My case is front 2x120mm intake, bottom 1x120mm intake, top 1x170mm exhaust, rear 1x120mm rear exhaust, total 5 case fans.
I think there's nothing wrong. I do experience the same situation. I replaced the pwm fan which come with my deepcool ice blade pro with CM excalibur and it still show about the same temps. I think this is more related to room temps which can influence the temps of your rig.
kilsmap
post Apr 22 2011, 10:18 AM

93 posts

glad i found this thread....im currently trying to learn about airflow in PC cases, and at the same time, lowering the temp in my rig...i used a CM Elite 360 casing which has 2x120mm fan slot (top and on CPU), and 3x80mm fan slot (2 exhaust at the back and one bottom)...there is also a free hole on top of the GC port...in my case, the only cooler that fit my case is CM GeminiiS, which im currently using, but this particular CPU cooler makes the air blow into the CPU and also to some mobo components, making heats dissipate through the sides...so currently my configuration is 2 intake fans for the CPU port and the bottom, while for the back exhaust and top are all exhaust fans...so now if anyone can advice me on this configuration or change it for better, it would be much appreciated...and also, suggestions for exccellent 80mm and 120mm fans...
FiragaZ
post Apr 22 2011, 11:56 AM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Apr 22 2011, 06:23 AM)
I think there's nothing wrong. I do experience the same situation. I replaced the pwm fan which come with my deepcool ice blade pro with CM excalibur and it still show about the same temps. I think this is more related to room temps which can influence the temps of your rig.
Do u think its bad air flow? coz 3 intake 2 exhaust, and 1 of the exhaust is 170mm, so the rpm is slow, means 1 of the exhaust process is slow.
Oyaji
post Apr 22 2011, 12:38 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(kilsmap @ Apr 22 2011, 10:18 AM)
glad i found this thread....im currently trying to learn about airflow in PC cases, and at the same time, lowering the temp in my rig...i used a CM Elite 360 casing which has 2x120mm fan slot (top and on CPU), and 3x80mm fan slot (2 exhaust at the back and one bottom)...there is also a free hole on top of the GC port...in my case, the only cooler that fit my case is CM GeminiiS, which im currently using, but this particular CPU cooler makes the air blow into the CPU and also to some mobo components, making heats dissipate through the sides...so currently my configuration is 2 intake fans for the CPU port and the bottom, while for the back exhaust and top are all exhaust fans...so now if anyone can advice me on this configuration or change it for better, it would be much appreciated...and also, suggestions for exccellent 80mm and 120mm fans...
I assume you position your casing vertically. If that's the case then the setup is fine IMHO, just need to tidy up the cables if it's messy to improve airflow. as for fans you could try noctua for 120mm although it's quite expensive. arctic cooling fans also quite good or if you don't mind the sound of air blowing out from your case there's coolermaster turbine master & coolermaster excalibur.

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Apr 22 2011, 11:56 AM)
Do u think its bad air flow? coz 3 intake 2 exhaust, and 1 of the exhaust is 170mm, so the rpm is slow, means 1 of the exhaust process is slow.
general rule is the bigger the fan the more air it can suck with slower speed.
to me the airflow is not bad. you could try to experiment which were best. maybe you could try to remove the bottom fan so there'll be 2 intake and 2 exhaust and perhaps can seal the bottom of the case with selotape so that air cannot escape through that and went to the cpu cooler instead.

This post has been edited by Oyaji: Apr 22 2011, 12:42 PM
FiragaZ
post Apr 22 2011, 01:03 PM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Apr 22 2011, 12:38 PM)
I assume you position your casing vertically. If that's the case then the setup is fine IMHO, just need to tidy up the cables if it's messy to improve airflow. as for fans you could try noctua for 120mm although it's quite expensive. arctic cooling fans also quite good or if you don't mind the sound of air blowing out from your case there's coolermaster turbine master & coolermaster excalibur.
general rule is the bigger the fan the more air it can suck with slower speed.
to me the airflow is not bad. you could try to experiment which were best. maybe you could try to remove the bottom fan so there'll be 2 intake and 2 exhaust and perhaps can seal the bottom of the case with selotape so that air cannot escape through that and went to the cpu cooler instead.
thx for the tips biggrin.gif , try seal bottom later, will update later.

Added on April 22, 2011, 1:38 pmuser posted image
This is how i seal my case bottom biggrin.gif , with bended A4 paper.

The cpu temp is 1c decrease, but my gpu temp rise about 4c sad.gif

This post has been edited by FiragaZ: Apr 22 2011, 01:38 PM
Oyaji
post Apr 22 2011, 02:31 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Apr 22 2011, 01:03 PM)

4c increase, wow that's a lot. not worth that 1c decrease in cpu temp. sad.gif
can try to use only 1 fan at the cpu cooler and put the other one at the back.
as for the bottom try several setup, with fans, no fans, bottom seal etc.
basically trial and error until got the temps you desired.

This post has been edited by Oyaji: Apr 22 2011, 02:33 PM
FiragaZ
post Apr 22 2011, 03:11 PM

No Pain No Gain
1,745 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Apr 22 2011, 02:31 PM)
4c increase, wow that's a lot. not worth that 1c decrease in cpu temp. sad.gif
can try to use only 1 fan at the cpu cooler and put the other one at the back.
as for the bottom try several setup, with fans, no fans, bottom seal etc.
basically trial and error until got the temps you desired.
yea, will try several setup when i free biggrin.gif
akkmutd0711
post Apr 27 2011, 09:54 PM

188 posts

Want to check with you guys with regards to the silverstone fan especially silverstone sifus here. I have recently purchased FM123 fan and i found out that the fan must be connected to the fan controller in order for it to work. And along the line I found out that the model FM181 does provide a full speed connector (left) which seems compatible to my fan.

Thus judging from the appearance of the connector, it looks as if it functions like a jumper. So my question here does a hard disk drive jumper works in this case? I wanted to try but I feared it would do harm than good hence I need an advise here. Thanks.
trencher10
post Apr 30 2011, 05:38 AM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

Anyone seen Evercool FOX-2 being sold anywhere at LowYat?
menexpert
post May 7 2011, 10:32 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Apr 22 2011, 01:03 PM)

haha, i did tht to my usp 100 too! my floor is so dirty,

izit possible for me i blow out the air from the bottom part instead of blowing into the casing?

any idea where can get the 12x12 dust filter? hardware shop?
Oyaji
post May 7 2011, 11:39 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(menexpert @ May 7 2011, 10:32 PM)
haha, i did tht to my usp 100 too! my floor is so dirty,

izit possible for me i blow out the air from the bottom part instead of blowing into the casing?

any idea where can get the 12x12 dust filter? hardware shop?
I think you should buy a small table to put your rig so that you can put the bottom fan to blow air into the casing

Here, ask him whether he still got the filter or not
filter

menexpert
post May 7 2011, 11:49 PM

332 posts

i see, looking for the cheapest way. hmm.gif

does the filter will affect the air flow?

This post has been edited by menexpert: May 7 2011, 11:49 PM

125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:23 AM