QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 9 2009, 05:04 PM)
depend on themselve..mayb some lazy guy is too lazy to clean their casing will put filter at the exhaust fans The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans
The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans
Dec 9 2009, 05:08 PM
3,657 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Dec 9 2009, 05:23 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
putting filter on exhaust fan will require more cleaning coz the dust will get stuck on the filter...
if no filter the fan will just pull the dust out unrestricted |
Dec 9 2009, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 9 2009, 05:23 PM) putting filter on exhaust fan will require more cleaning coz the dust will get stuck on the filter... now i kena ppl cursed to get haf932=.=if no filter the fan will just pull the dust out unrestricted i like the haf932 side panel..but like the haf922 price~ my wrong....cos im not 24/7 user that why dust is going from the exhaust area This post has been edited by Xiia0Ban: Dec 9 2009, 05:29 PM |
Dec 9 2009, 05:54 PM
4,474 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
K then. Guess i should have ordered noise blocker add on instead of filter, silly me >-<;
Any ideas what i can use the 3 fan filters i just bought? Should i replace the lian li filters or should i re-sell them Actually i may just give to my brother for his pc for a christmas present actually >:D This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Dec 9 2009, 05:57 PM |
Dec 9 2009, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 9 2009, 05:54 PM) K then. Guess i should have ordered noise blocker add on instead of filter, silly me >-<; just give it to ur bro then...so that ur bro dont need to clean the casing so much Any ideas what i can use the 3 fan filters i just bought? Should i replace the lian li filters or should i re-sell them Actually i may just give to my brother for his pc for a christmas present actually >:D |
Dec 10 2009, 01:23 PM
Xiiaoban do you recommend noise filters for the fans instead?
Dec 10 2009, 01:51 PM
wait hang on..... wat noise filters? linky?
Dec 10 2009, 03:54 PM
Dec 10 2009, 06:25 PM
I saw some at frozen cpu or performance pcs. I'll link once i get home. Can't link from work, too many websites blocked.
But yes i saw some which clearly stated noise filters which you put on the fan instead of a fan filter for dust. |
Dec 11 2009, 08:42 AM
1,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anyone has problem with the 230mm fans in ATCS 840 casing? Why is the second 230mm fan on top spinning at 600+rpm while the first 230mm fan is spinning at 1000+rpm. If I open the side panel, the second fan's speed will increase from 600+rpm to 800rpm. Is it because my air flow too strong?
Dec 16 2009, 09:33 PM
2,096 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Is there any bugs on that noise filters ?
Dec 19 2009, 08:13 PM
704 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Anywhere |
how do u guys install a 12cm fan?? izit the casing is build for 12cm fan? i don think my icute casing can put in a 12cm fan
Dec 20 2009, 03:18 PM
24,351 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
That depends on casing. Some casing uses smaller and some uses bigger fan. If you have a 12cm fan, you can look for spot that has screw holes that fits your fan for your casing. If you can't find any, it means your casing does not have a spot for it or it needs smaller or bigger fan.
Dec 20 2009, 03:36 PM
704 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Anywhere |
ahhh..too bad then.
my casing only can fit in couple of small fan, but the big 1 looks cool |
Dec 24 2009, 12:00 PM
I read that positive air pressure cases, meaning your front intake fans cfm is higher then your exhaust cfm. This will then make dust blow out of your case rather then gather in your case. Negative air pressure meaning your exhaust cfm is stronger then your intake fans will pull dust into your case.
So my question is, how much RPM should my exhaust be? I bought a Gentle Typhoon to install as an exhaust, so now i got to figure what rpm to set it to :/ I got 2 x 140mm fans at the front for intake at 1000rpm i believe. http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1479971 This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Dec 24 2009, 12:00 PM |
Dec 24 2009, 07:43 PM
positive pressure = intake CFM is MORE than exhaust CFM
negative pressure = intake cfm is LESS than exhaust CFM points regarding positive pressure 1/ dust is not sucked into the case through the small nooks and crannies because air is going out of them. 2/ controlled dust intake with the use or good filters. this however, does not eliminate dust in the case... there will always be dust. points regarding negative pressure 1/ air is sucked in through the nooks and crannies, and this brings dust along which means lesser control of dust intake. 2/ hot air is easily and quickly expelled out of the case, usually resulting in better overall temps. fan RPM does not determine CFM. so with that cleared....u need to take note of the following.. 1/ aside from ur rear exhaust fan, keep in mind that ur PSU also acts as an exhaust. also, if ur GC is the type that exhausts through the back, u need to take that into account as well. and with ur WC setup that ur planning, if ur putting the rad on top of the case, and ur gonna put the fan to blow air out, ur gonna have to add that as well. 2/ if a fan has 100cfm, take note that filters, and whatever else that blocks its airflow will reduce the cfm as well. now...combining total CFM for both intake and exhaust each is gonna be tough. considering u have things like fangrill, filters, hdd cage, rad, bla bla bla blocking the fans airflow and reducing the CFM to an unknown amount. so the best u can do, is forget it. seriously. temps tend to be better in a negative airflow case. also, just use all the fan slots with what theyre designed for (intake/exhaust). plus, getting positive pressure in a case is not easy. at best, u can use low cfm fans for all the fans that are acting as exhaust and a much higher cfm fan for intakes (keeping in mind that CFM will be reduced due to blockage) This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 24 2009, 07:43 PM |
Dec 26 2009, 01:57 PM
1,005 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
In conclusion, the best is using LESS cfm for Intake and HIGH Cfm for exhaust? is it correct?
What about using equal cfm for both intake and exhaust? |
Dec 26 2009, 02:54 PM
go read my post again...
especially point 2 and the last line in the post. |
Dec 28 2009, 08:39 PM
108 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 7 2009, 02:59 AM) i assume by power box u mean power supply aka PSU? I've installed the PSU with the 120mm fan as suggested. But the fan is either facing the top of casing, which is 1cm away from the top of casing or facing the processor's fan. If the PSU's fan is facing processor's fan, both the PSU and processor's fans are trying to draw air. The PSU's fan is very near to the processot fan. Any problem with that?and since its noisy...i assume ur power supply fan design is similar to this...aka fan at the rear and using 80mm fan... ![]() id recommend getting a PSU with a 120mm fan instead...would look something like this ![]() and ur budget of RM200 to change it to make it quiet... id recommend the FSP Saga 400W PSU at about RM140...which is the picture of the 120mm fan PSU above. reliable, quiet, and should have sufficient power for ur rig. u can purchase from forumer moderno HERE...his shop is based in subang if u wanna drop by and buy it directly. i have the same exact PSU for my HTPC rig... and its been running flawlessly nonstop 24/7 for about a year now...only shut down if theres a blackout at my house. in my HTPC rig, i cant even hear the PSU fan. and i also bought mine from moderno through postage. Attached is photo taken before installing the new PSU. In the photo, there is error, not 12mm but 120mm fan. ![]() This post has been edited by cute_pokemon: Dec 28 2009, 08:40 PM |
Dec 28 2009, 08:48 PM
naah...should be fine...most cases are designed that way and have been serving well for years...i actually have a couple of rigs like that in the office.
the PSU fan will also help to suck out hot air being expelled by the processor fan |
| Change to: | 0.0569sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:07 PM |