The Case Fans Thread, Fan Fan Fans

mADmAN
post Nov 18 2006, 12:10 PM

10,530 posts

^why do u wanna close it in the first place?? why not add an 80mm fan there? or why not just leave it as it is?

if ur worried about dust coming in from the blowhole.. then just get some women's pantyhose, cut it up and cover the hole with it. itll act as a filter. but remember to clean it out once in a wihle
mADmAN
post Nov 21 2006, 10:06 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 21 2006, 03:06 AM)
im agree with u

vizo fans can push lot of air...

like hair dryer rclxms.gif
u obviously have not tried the delta FFBs tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 21 2006, 10:52 AM

10,530 posts

SLIGHTLY?????? SLIGHTLY??????

wah liao...

u OBVIOUSLY have not tried the Delta FFBs doh.gif

60cfm vs 190cfm for the 120mm version

u think leh? slightly or not? wink.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Nov 21 2006, 10:55 AM
mADmAN
post Nov 21 2006, 11:23 AM

10,530 posts

as far as i know there are NO commercial VRs/ fan controllers that are able to support the Delta FFB. u want one ur gonna have to DIY urself one that supports high amps.

what i did with mine was a 5v/12v switch. that worked rather well.. but then not all FFBs can run at 5v. out of the 4 units i have only 1 can run at 5v. the rest would just die. but they were all able to run at 7v though.
mADmAN
post Nov 22 2006, 05:47 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Nov 21 2006, 09:21 PM)
neat. how much air flow can the baby run on such low voltage? what i'm concern is the sound. if commercial stock fans can push a decent cfm and lower noise dB as compared with the FFB then its impractical to use the modded fan.
no idea about the dba or rpm or the cfm when its undervolted...but i find that the air pressure is still quite alright at 5v. u should try it at 5v and 7v... but IMHO if u wanna undervolt the FFBs then do it with a switch which is what i did... im not at home during the day so i leave it at 12v to really cool the processor during the hot day and in my hot + bad ventilation room. but when im around i let it run at 5v as its waaaaaaayyy quieter. the only thing bugging me at night when i wanna sleep would be the vantec spectrum 80mm fan in my case. that damn 80mm fan is way louder than the FFB at 5v.
mADmAN
post Nov 23 2006, 01:11 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 22 2006, 08:22 PM)
does LYP sells the power adapter that taps only 7V from the 12v molex? which shop?
dont think so... if u can find oso it might be for 12v/5v. might look something like this

if u want 7v just put the (+) wire into the yellow cable of the molex and (-) wire into the red cable of the molex.

QUOTE(Vervain @ Nov 22 2006, 08:56 PM)
just tried with my ffb, tough luck. it won't move an inch. better settle with the old nidec beta V
not even at 7v? if yes was ur pc running when u tried it at 7v? if 5v cannot then i understand la..coz like i said..not all FFBs can run at 5v. but 7v should be ok wat.. only thing is ur PSU needs to have a load like the HDD or GC etc to be able to run at 7v. coz when i tested at 7v on my test PSU it dint move coz theres no load on the PSU but on my PSU which is in the PC it was ok.
mADmAN
post Nov 23 2006, 05:54 PM

10,530 posts

u can also check with moderno or dinster...

i remember one of them was selling it.
mADmAN
post Nov 24 2006, 11:52 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 24 2006, 10:24 AM)
I really like this fan too. Nice 9 blade design. great airflow but y on earth they oni make it in white I really dont understand. That's the worst color ever for a case fan. After 1 week will b full of dust n stained oredi.  doh.gif  I so wanted to bu it when I saw it in LYP but it's white.........................  If only got UV blue.
in response to the bolded statement

im gonna quote something u said in the same post

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 24 2006, 10:24 AM)
Aiyaaa, can mod it ureself mar.

fluorescent blue spray paint anyone? or theres another option to make it UV Blue...u can check out THIS THREAD to make it UV blue

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Nov 24 2006, 11:53 AM
mADmAN
post Dec 1 2006, 11:59 PM

10,530 posts

the silenx fans has been around for quite some time... just that theyre not available here... so theyre not that known here.

u could try and search for some reviews...im sure therell be some.
mADmAN
post Dec 16 2006, 01:01 PM

10,530 posts

did u plug it to ur mobo fan header or direct to molex?

1.8A is too high for thhe mobo fan headers. those headers should have fans NOT exceeding 0.8A else u run a risk of frying ur mobo.

if u wanna use the fan. plug direct to molex

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 16 2006, 01:02 PM
mADmAN
post Dec 29 2006, 09:34 PM

10,530 posts

if the fan is less than 0.8A then can plug into mobo.

anything more than better plug directly to PSU.

as for which one better generally?? i think direct to PSU... my guess is its lesser load on the mobo for other hardwares connected to it..the PSU should be able to handle the extra load. true or not dunno la...just the way i see things..

*all the fan headers on my mobo are filled up laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 29 2006, 09:35 PM
mADmAN
post Jan 14 2007, 01:14 PM

10,530 posts

@blackshirt
what fan u trying to control??? what brand and model and what specs?
mADmAN
post Jan 15 2007, 02:26 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jan 15 2007, 01:42 PM)
erm..it thought vantec didn't have high end fans.as i use vantec Uv fans which didn't satisfy me before as its produce loud sound in high speed  mode,very annoying... sweat.gif
u must have been using either the 80mm or 92mm fan... the 120mm is actually quite alright

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 15 2007, 02:03 PM)
Anyone hv any idea if the Vizo starlet uv led fan has rpm control, coz at 63cfm its not bad, n at rm35 its quite ok
no hardware RPM control...but there is RPM monitoring. u can control the RPM thru software. depending on whether or not ur software can support

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 15 2007, 02:10 PM)
Hi all,

I'm planning to change the fan for my TR XP-120 since my fan is making hell lots of noise (finally going to die out I supposed... thermaltake led 12cm fan or something..)

Any recommendation? I would like something that's has good noise/performance ratio.
the Vizo 120mm UV LED fans currently has the best ratio in my book.
mADmAN
post Jan 15 2007, 02:49 PM

10,530 posts

if u read the post above urs, u would have seen the price was already stated tongue.gif
mADmAN
post Jan 21 2007, 01:22 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(leezhunjin @ Jan 20 2007, 10:39 PM)
Huh? you mean connect the 2 power cables on the ATX thingy on the PSU together? wont that short the PSU? I don't want to kill my power supply, want to be absolutely sure before i do it. rclxub.gif
provided u connect the green ( theres only 1 ) and any of the black wires ur PSU shouldnt be fried. use some electrical tape or any tape to secure and isolate it. thats the method used to start a PSU without using a motherboard. of course when connecting the 2 cables together ensure that the PSU is unplugged otherwise u just might end up frying urself.

personally....i think the method below by deric88 would be the easiest biggrin.gif

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 20 2007, 10:02 PM)
skip all the trouble pulling out cables etc etc, once you on pc, press DEL to jump into BIOS.. then test all the fans you want, when want off just press power button

if you are just running the psu and the fan with no mobo, then use lucifah method
mADmAN
post Feb 15 2007, 02:55 PM

10,530 posts

wahhahahahahah.....no u guys know the POWAAAAAHHH of the darkside!!! wakkakakaka

i used to run 1x80mm Delta FFB and 1x120mm Delta FFB in my case...even with my room door closed i can still hear my PC from downstairs...hehehhehe.

wat i did was i made a 12v/5v switch to help silence the fan when i need to sleep.... but when im fully awake...so are the fans flex.gif

out of curiosity...have u guys tried running the windstorm on 5v? does it work?

for FFBs some do but most wont. my 80mm did...but the motor would be clicking away..... as for 120mm... i have 4 120mm FFBs and only 1 will work on 5v.

but on 7v...they ALL work.

edit by mod: sales content deleted. bruce.gif bruce.gif bruce.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 15 2007, 06:25 PM
mADmAN
post Feb 15 2007, 05:51 PM

10,530 posts

agreed....the fan card is a real sick piece of work thumbup.gif very nice

any advantage of using the HSF on the soundcard? i mean especially since ur card dont NEED it tongue.gif got any difference ah??? thinking of adding a heatsink to my A2ZS and Audigy 4 oso brows.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 16 2007, 02:07 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Feb 15 2007, 11:55 PM)
madman mind teaching me hw u make a 12v/5v switch. aint no engineering student. lol. the other alternative is to get the fan controller from vcool later on. else i gonna face dis factory machine for a long long time.
DO NOT use ANY fan controllers for ur windstorm or FFBs... ESPECIALLY FFBs.. if u do that...u might as well just burn ur money with a lighter. much quicker and much less painless tongue.gif

not unless u make the fan controller urself and made sure it can support uber high amperes. and i dont think its easy to make what with sourcing for the parts and all.

currently there are NO fan controllers in the market that can officially support the high amperes of the FFBs such as the FFB1212EHE (3.0A). even the ones in sidewinder computers wont recommend it. most fan controllers are meant for normal fans.. those that are around 1.0A and below.

as for the switch...its very easy...i oso not engineering student tongue.gif and when i made the switches... i had ZERO soldering knowledge. i used these pictures as a guide for the switches.

12v / 5v Switch

12v / 7v Switch

there are more switch configurations but i wanted simple ones. if ur interested to find out... head on over to CLIFF'S FANBUS which is where i got those pictures.

EDIT: forgot to mention.... the SPDT switch in the picture.. its basically and on-off-on switch. which is what i asked for when i went to the electronics shop biggrin.gif

also forgot to mention that before u start making the switch, better make sure that ur fan can start from standstill at 5v. and check if it can start at standstill at 7v as well. so that u can know how low u want the fan to go and which one would actually work for u

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Feb 16 2007, 02:13 AM
mADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 05:43 PM

10,530 posts

it is known that thermaltake has a tendency of bullshitting with their cfm/dba rates.
mADmAN
post Mar 15 2007, 10:24 AM

10,530 posts

@cablesguy
i think that delta is the fan that comes with the stock heatsink for AMD64 s754 n s939. it does look like it

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:02 AM