Sony Xperia X-series - Official Thread V1, Xperia XZ Announced! Triple Sensing Tech
Feb 24 2016, 11:30 PM
3,026 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
xperia x compared to z5. better screen and camera
Feb 24 2016, 11:40 PM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 24 2016, 08:52 PM) yes...from a technical standpoint..from a marketing view...this is an disadvantages..whn u c Samsung and LG flagship got 4gb ram.. I would think the battery life is more attractive than the spec. Consumers has been taught the wrong way, thanks to the china manufacturers;More equals to better. |
Feb 25 2016, 12:03 AM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
QUOTE(ckchan @ Feb 24 2016, 11:30 PM) Looks like Sony is ending the Z-series runQUOTE “The Xperia Z line has reached its culmination – Xperia X series represents a new chapter and evolution of our product strategy. Whilst the Xperia Z series was all about bringing the best of Sony’s advanced technologies to smartphones, Xperia X series is based on bringing smart, adaptive Sony user experiences across camera, battery performance and hardware / software design.” SOURCE This post has been edited by evilhomura89: Feb 25 2016, 12:04 AM |
Feb 25 2016, 09:19 PM
3,809 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 25 2016, 12:03 AM) There are a lot of rumors that the Z-series run ended because Sony is planning a newly redesigned flagship? If that's the case than it is good news, won't it? Anyway, I don't like X-Performance. To get a flagship phone around the middle of June should be 4GB of RAM. What's the point of getting a top of the line processor if the screen refreshes most of the time due to low RAM? |
Feb 25 2016, 09:39 PM
11,096 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Your kokoro |
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 25 2016, 09:19 PM) There are a lot of rumors that the Z-series run ended because Sony is planning a newly redesigned flagship? If that's the case than it is good news, won't it? Anyway, I don't like X-Performance. To get a flagship phone around the middle of June should be 4GB of RAM. What's the point of getting a top of the line processor if the screen refreshes most of the time due to low RAM? The rumor is officially true now. Sony officially confirms Z5 is the last Z series. |
Feb 26 2016, 09:17 AM
234 posts Joined: Mar 2013 From: Damansara |
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 25 2016, 09:19 PM) There are a lot of rumors that the Z-series run ended because Sony is planning a newly redesigned flagship? If that's the case than it is good news, won't it? Anyway, I don't like X-Performance. To get a flagship phone around the middle of June should be 4GB of RAM. What's the point of getting a top of the line processor if the screen refreshes most of the time due to low RAM? as kingkingyyk previously said:QUOTE Adding more RAM will increase the power consumption, but the performance increment is hardly noticeable. By balancing these 2 points, not adding RAM is a good choice. their official statement did mention this: QUOTE “The Xperia Z line has reached its culmination – Xperia X series represents a new chapter and evolution of our product strategy. Whilst the Xperia Z series was all about bringing the best of Sony’s advanced technologies to smartphones, Xperia X series is based on bringing smart, adaptive Sony user experiences across camera, battery performance and hardware / software design.” although 4GB ram is arguably better spec wise, sony's key here imo is overall balanced user experience. #justmy2cents |
Feb 26 2016, 09:47 AM
yeah, maybe technically we don't need 4gb ram. also most user will not be able to tell the difference between 2k and fhd on a 5" screen. and also maybe the power optimization is so good that 2700mah battery is more than enough on Xp. all this only the tech savvy people will understand.
but then, on the marketing point of view, more is always better. people look at figures when doing comparison. the bigger the number equates to better spec. this is typical human nature and also on the pricing. how is sony gonna price this xperia x performance? side by side comparison, its spec loses to s7 or g5. is sony going price this the same price range as s7 or g5? if so which device most likely people will buy? let's say same price 2.5k you get a 4gb ram, 2k screen and 3k+mah battery on the s7 vs 3gb ram, fhd screen and 2.7kmah battery on Xp. by this simple comparison, most will think the Xp is not worth it. if sony price this like 300 or 400 lower than competitor, then maybe this Xp will still be able to find its market. if not i'm afraid things will not be looking good for sony... |
Feb 26 2016, 10:15 AM
282 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(ckchan @ Feb 26 2016, 09:47 AM) yeah, maybe technically we don't need 4gb ram. also most user will not be able to tell the difference between 2k and fhd on a 5" screen. and also maybe the power optimization is so good that 2700mah battery is more than enough on Xp. all this only the tech savvy people will understand. agreed with you...but then, on the marketing point of view, more is always better. people look at figures when doing comparison. the bigger the number equates to better spec. this is typical human nature and also on the pricing. how is sony gonna price this xperia x performance? side by side comparison, its spec loses to s7 or g5. is sony going price this the same price range as s7 or g5? if so which device most likely people will buy? let's say same price 2.5k you get a 4gb ram, 2k screen and 3k+mah battery on the s7 vs 3gb ram, fhd screen and 2.7kmah battery on Xp. by this simple comparison, most will think the Xp is not worth it. if sony price this like 300 or 400 lower than competitor, then maybe this Xp will still be able to find its market. if not i'm afraid things will not be looking good for sony... |
Feb 26 2016, 10:28 AM
6,196 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
When I saw the ram is 3GB, directly closed the specification page.
Feb 26 2016, 11:03 AM
1,838 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
I dont think the X series is going anywhere.
Xperia X already selling for €600 I guess Xperia XP will be selling at €750 + with only mediocre specs like 3GB RAM and 2700mah + no differentiating features worth mentioning. |
Feb 26 2016, 11:08 AM
1,838 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Feb 26 2016, 10:28 AM) lol, haha....agreed.how much really does it cost just to include another 1GB of RAM onto the phone? since Sony mentioned there will not be any Z6 and I assume this will be their flagship and yet 3GB RAM? What's their engineers thinking? Sony can only blame themselves if this company closes. |
Feb 26 2016, 11:32 AM
6,196 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 26 2016, 11:08 AM) lol, haha....agreed. Such a waste 3GB ram pairing S820. Come on, S7 and G5 is 4GB liao. Sony never increase the ram since Z2 till now.how much really does it cost just to include another 1GB of RAM onto the phone? since Sony mentioned there will not be any Z6 and I assume this will be their flagship and yet 3GB RAM? What's their engineers thinking? Sony can only blame themselves if this company closes. |
Feb 26 2016, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(ckchan @ Feb 26 2016, 09:47 AM) yeah, maybe technically we don't need 4gb ram. also most user will not be able to tell the difference between 2k and fhd on a 5" screen. and also maybe the power optimization is so good that 2700mah battery is more than enough on Xp. all this only the tech savvy people will understand. We absolutely need more than that. Spotify automatically shuts down while I play CoC or view pictures on my phone. Of course there are other things that it keeps running on the background. I am on the Z1 btw.but then, on the marketing point of view, more is always better. people look at figures when doing comparison. the bigger the number equates to better spec. this is typical human nature and also on the pricing. how is sony gonna price this xperia x performance? side by side comparison, its spec loses to s7 or g5. is sony going price this the same price range as s7 or g5? if so which device most likely people will buy? let's say same price 2.5k you get a 4gb ram, 2k screen and 3k+mah battery on the s7 vs 3gb ram, fhd screen and 2.7kmah battery on Xp. by this simple comparison, most will think the Xp is not worth it. if sony price this like 300 or 400 lower than competitor, then maybe this Xp will still be able to find its market. if not i'm afraid things will not be looking good for sony... |
Feb 26 2016, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 26 2016, 01:02 PM) We absolutely need more than that. Spotify automatically shuts down while I play CoC or view pictures on my phone. Of course there are other things that it keeps running on the background. I am on the Z1 btw. haha... i'm also still using z1... but z1 only have 2gb ram, which i think by today's standard really is "just enough" |
Feb 26 2016, 06:00 PM
4,412 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 26 2016, 11:08 AM) lol, haha....agreed. It's not easy to build a phone. It's not like you want add 1gb of ram then can simply add. It's depend on board design, engineering knowledge, manufacturing availability, cost of parts and etc. U need to know Samsung is very very big company and they are more to IDM. They can design, produce some parts by their own. And also need to see the volume. Samsung sales may a lot units than Sony, they manage to lower the supplier cost. how much really does it cost just to include another 1GB of RAM onto the phone? since Sony mentioned there will not be any Z6 and I assume this will be their flagship and yet 3GB RAM? What's their engineers thinking? Sony can only blame themselves if this company closes. It's really depending on ecosystem of each company. There are always better and better.. And they will do market analysis on each segment and decide the pricing. |
Feb 26 2016, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Feb 26 2016, 06:00 PM) It's not easy to build a phone. It's not like you want add 1gb of ram then can simply add. It's depend on board design, engineering knowledge, manufacturing availability, cost of parts and etc. U need to know Samsung is very very big company and they are more to IDM. They can design, produce some parts by their own. And also need to see the volume. Samsung sales may a lot units than Sony, they manage to lower the supplier cost. u can ignore him. i think he's bored trolling the s7 thread alreadyIt's really depending on ecosystem of each company. There are always better and better.. And they will do market analysis on each segment and decide the pricing. |
Feb 26 2016, 09:28 PM
annoncement from Sony Mobile MY on their fb
QUOTE Sony Mobile Malaysia will be bringing in the Dual version of the Xperia X series. More details on price and availability are coming soon. |
Feb 26 2016, 10:31 PM
4,412 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Feb 26 2016, 10:41 PM
Feb 26 2016, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Feb 26 2016, 10:31 PM) Dual version will be more famous in Malaysia I guess. Lol but I can't change already. Just wonder z5 series can get predictive hybrid focus,?! By theory should be able to make it through software. not if it's more famous here but i'm definitely looking for a dual sim phone for my next smartphone. i travel overseas for work often and a dual sim version will be definitely more convenientQUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 26 2016, 10:41 PM) I hope Sony surprise us this IFA. This October will be a full three years. Aren't we proud? haha yeah... come this oct and it'll be 3 years. actually my z1 still serving me well after changing the battery. true that it launch apps a bit slower than newer phone and still it's not that bad that i consider it as lag. anyway i'm looking to upgrade to a dual sim, front facing speaker (got bored cupping my hand at the bottom speaker whenever watching video), and a better battery life phoneBtw, it looks like we are not getting the XP. sony mobile my fb page does show a picture of 3 xperia x when they made the announcement. 1 is definitely XA. the other 2 which look identical, i assume it will be X and XP This post has been edited by ckchan: Feb 26 2016, 11:50 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0249sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:48 PM |