Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.12, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

aromachong
post May 14 2016, 11:20 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ May 14 2016, 11:08 AM)
I've seen around 100-300k people can successfully nego, but those are mid to long terms la... But don't mind me asking what sort of additional rates one could ask/offer, given the "large" amount of deposit.

Nvm! As bbgoat mentioned, time to challenge to get some good rates at very very short term... Hahaha any luck I'll update xD

Morning people! biggrin.gif
went to hlb for 6 months .. try to nego 4.3 but declined

went to next branch nego 4.3 BM call HQ and got the approval.. so yeah.. for my case.. i guess diff branch diff policy and target to hit..

no wonder last time i saw easy approval for housing and hire purchase loan cause sometime they need to hit target

well its all about luck i could say

the reason i dont want to put BR cause i dont use to put all eggs in one basket

BR very easy to nego 100k for my case confirm can nego.. above 1 mil they will give u far better rates

some br branch 300k above usually at big city like kl penang etc..
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 11:26 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2016, 11:23 AM)
I have used Excel file and it is easier to look at instead of flipping through FD paper works. Cannot depends on memory on FD maturity unless one has very good memory and just a few FD to take care of. But for someone like u, obviously have to use some systems to "remind" u !  biggrin.gif
i did placement in 2 banks so far. onlyBR and HLB.. no problem for me yeah..

but if u split 100k , 100k, 200k, 500k, 700k, 300k, 100k, to all different banks.. then excel is good for you. flex.gif
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 11:29 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2016, 11:28 AM)
Wasai, Queen of FD nego !  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
learn from you ma .. learn and apply .. u re my sifu flex.gif
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 11:37 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2016, 11:33 AM)
What an honour from you !  biggrin.gif But have to learn from u for other instruments of investment/getting money !  notworthy.gif

I added below in previous post after your reply:
BR in Penang 50k onwards can nego, but sometimes they require 100k. Depends on their need. The higher the amt and the longer the FD tenure, the better nego rates.
it's all about the risks.. now the only risks i put in BR and ASW2020 don't have PIDM protection

but i guess it's okay.. flex.gif

gonna close account after withdrawl from asw and put in FD for few months.. let's see whats the FD promotion for around september

shall wait
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 11:43 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2016, 11:41 AM)
Actually your recent FD in HL, when it comes out in Nov, banks will have year end promo. But more on longer term FD. I did not really watchout for short term one in past years.

I know u are looking at short term. So will have to see what are the new offers from Sept onwards.
hopefully still able to get 4 above for short terms like 3 months.

if not, i will just transfer to AUS
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 12:05 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2016, 12:02 PM)
Hopefully can still have like HL's 3 mth 4.3% for >100k. But need to see how the AUS/RM playout like, I think ?
that's correct.
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 01:36 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 14 2016, 01:32 PM)
PIDM just give u mental comfort during placement
that is correct

sleep better and well at night
aromachong
post May 14 2016, 03:04 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 14 2016, 02:32 PM)
PIDM protection will not apply to your recent HL placement. Up to 250k per acct entity, unless it is >1 joint names.  biggrin.gif

I kind of give it up except do try to maximize the "protection" and put into Islamic/Conventional FD promo where appropriate. Then again BR do not have PIDM.  tongue.gif
Yes, the AmBank promo with the car lucky draw. I mentioned last week 3/5 that I withdraw the AmBank FD and the BM and ABM was trying to sell me this promo.

The CASA one with the S7 edge, the BM also mentioned to me, but did not interest me. Asked for the flyer, they said their internal circulation only.  biggrin.gif
Yeh i nearly forgot the Rm250K max per account entity sweat.gif
aromachong
post May 16 2016, 07:56 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 16 2016, 05:09 PM)
As I said, the next morning. So SMS date is next day after issuing of cheque.  biggrin.gif
U can see it at night already ? It may depends on the bank. But anyway still floating. Only can use on day 3.

Maybe others can share their experience on this. But using the fund on 3rd day seems to be the answer that I get when I asked some banks 2 years ago.

I seldom place eFD. For short term use in CB at board rate using current fund there. Once did it in MACH last year but using IBFT and placed the MACH fd minutes later.  biggrin.gif
never use cheque.. all by cash..

cheque takes time to process and takes 3 working days to clear

the fastest i encounter took me 1 working day to clear
aromachong
post May 16 2016, 11:33 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ May 16 2016, 09:59 PM)
power la imagine 200k take cash

notworthy.gif
most of the time i took 100 notes with me.. 200k is not a big deal putting all in a laptop bag.

my friends .... they put 10-50k in their car most of the time for emergency use... so really no big deal la..

aromachong
post May 16 2016, 11:35 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ May 16 2016, 10:39 PM)
Did u hire a security guard to escort u ard?  tongue.gif
if i withdraw >rm500k especially with all 50 notes ... then i will ask bank security guard to escort me into my car..

some of the time, will invite some of the ASP police rank i know to ride with me.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 16 2016, 10:47 PM)
wow seriously never use cheque.

u got any bodyguard with u ah  cool2.gif  bruce.gif
cheque book sleep for almost year d.. need to wait for days clear.. normally use private banking acc to do large transfer of amount... aiyer... really hard nowadays.. lhdn working hard.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 16 2016, 10:58 PM)
You have a 7 figure cash portfolio but you don't even have a chq book ? Its incredibly inconvenient to move funds around without a checking account if one is a 7 figure category HNWI due to the limitation of online banking.
for me, i will just use kapcai .. i did that for almost a decade.. touch wood.. so far no problem for me.

i use to evade *something* not using cheque, even OD also sleeping.. all by cash

This post has been edited by aromachong: May 16 2016, 11:38 PM
aromachong
post May 17 2016, 01:01 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 17 2016, 09:59 AM)
Wow, private banking, you must have couple of millions in order to qualify for it.
Actually, using cash to place a million RM FD is useless to evade LHDN too because the FD account is still under your name. A paper trail already established regardless of cash or chq. Your tax consultant advised you using cash to avoid detection ?
Cash source can be from AUD or Brunei or other country there is no problem.. wont go so into details least i get warn later for supporting evading tax

money twirling gyrating here there losing track
aromachong
post May 17 2016, 01:08 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ May 17 2016, 01:06 PM)
+aeiou228
Tax avoidance vs Tax evasion, one is a crime, the other is an art. smile.gif
mine more to evasion substance
aromachong
post May 23 2016, 10:48 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(eXau5t @ May 23 2016, 09:02 PM)
Was planning to withdraw my FD from Affin Bank and park it under Maybank today, however the counter lady told me they introduced new rate last Friday. 4.5% for 12 months. Renewed my FD with them and got that rate.
Serious or troll?
aromachong
post May 25 2016, 08:32 AM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 25 2016, 08:27 AM)
Luckily, I still have AmBank 2 and 3 yrs 4.6 and 4.5% still running. Even AmBank 5 yrs 4.55% still running.  rclxms.gif

Please note above is talking about 2015 AmBank FD promo's. All FD promo already over/expired ! Please don't ask about it !  tongue.gif
woah ! why put for long period of time?... 5 yrs...

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0547sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:23 AM