6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Electrical Installation Quotation, Are the prices reasonable?

sonerin
post Feb 23 2016, 08:29 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(kelvintt @ Feb 23 2016, 07:14 PM)
I plan to install ceiling fans myself. My toilets all have wall tiles, not sure I'll break the tiles or not if install myself.
For wall tiles you need those drill bit that is for tiles and it won't break it. Than again is quite tricky. Is advisable to drill in between tiles to lesser the chance of breaking it
shelby_yong
post Feb 23 2016, 09:06 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(kelvintt @ Feb 23 2016, 07:14 PM)
I plan to install ceiling fans myself. My toilets all have wall tiles, not sure I'll break the tiles or not if install myself.
drill slowly. wont break... put a bit water when drilling
TSkelvintt
post Feb 23 2016, 10:22 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Feb 23 2016, 08:29 PM)
For wall tiles you need those drill bit that is for tiles and it won't break it. Than again is quite tricky. Is advisable to drill in between tiles to lesser the chance of breaking it
QUOTE(shelby_yong @ Feb 23 2016, 09:06 PM)
drill slowly. wont break... put a bit water when drilling
Thanks! I'll try carefully. smile.gif
TSkelvintt
post Feb 23 2016, 10:54 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Feb 23 2016, 10:03 AM)
my quotation from chinese guy

[attachmentid=6031892]
My quick comparison:
- Lighting point: Mine RM55, Urs RM60
- Fan point: Mine RM68, Urs RM70
- 13A point: Mine RM105, Urs RM90
- Heater/oven point: Mine RM285, Urs RM220
- Phone point: Mine RM180, Urs RM100
- Install light/fan/heater: Mine RM20/45/80, Urs RM10/20/60

Prices are about similar for #1 to #3. I guess it's give & take. If not calculative, should be reasonable.

For heater/oven point, does yours come with a switch (those with small red LED)? If no, then maybe this is why yours cheaper by RM50.

Somehow I feel my phone point price is expensive, by 80%!

Your installation charges are cheaper. Anyway, I think I still can accept mine assuming the contractor keep to his promise of giving his quality finishing/work. From what I surveyed, RM80 for heater is kind of reasonable (with PVC case only, no conceal).

Now left the below items. I feel the prices are kind of high. Eg. Astro & Ethernet same price as heater point, RM285. I don't know if it's because of the cable that is expensive vs electric cable or I only install 1 or 2 points for each of them. Maybe electric sifus here can help to enlighten me. smile.gif

- Lay new telephone point : RM180
- Lay new TV antenna point with 5C2V cable : RM180
- Lay new Astro point with RG6 cable : RM285
- Lay new Ethernet point with CAT5E cable : RM285
- Lay new fibre optic point from outside house (e.g. for Unifi) : RM500
spikey2506
post Mar 2 2016, 02:11 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

Tumpang a bit. If looping considered one point or seperate? Example 4 down lights with one switch, is that one point or 4 points? My wireman says 4, and he charges RM60 per point.

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Mar 2 2016, 02:11 AM
sonerin
post Mar 2 2016, 06:39 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 2 2016, 02:11 AM)
Tumpang a bit. If looping considered one point or seperate? Example 4 down lights with one switch, is that one point or 4 points? My wireman says 4, and he charges RM60 per point.
Looping is consider separate. If 1 switch for 4 lights is consider 1
spikey2506
post Mar 2 2016, 08:21 AM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 2 2016, 06:39 AM)
Looping is consider separate. If 1 switch for 4 lights is consider 1
Dang. He told me that would mean 4 points. Need to get another wireman
TSkelvintt
post Mar 2 2016, 09:18 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 2 2016, 02:11 AM)
My contractor also charged by the number of lighting points. If 4 points, then counted as 4 points although they are controlled by 1 switch.
Marcus_Mary
post Mar 2 2016, 01:59 PM

I tried out ServisHero last week and the reponse was quite good. managed to get my wiring done within a few days. Just sharing here so others can try if interested

http://servishero.com/blog/sure-signs-that...contractor-now/

newbuyer
post Mar 2 2016, 03:33 PM

293 posts

where ur location?
my electrician quote me as below
looping socket RM60 (will free some...can nego)
Lighting point RM45 (includes installation)
Fan point RM55 (includes installation)
Aircon/Heater/Hood RM180

FYI
Alexdino
post Mar 2 2016, 06:21 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(kelvintt @ Feb 23 2016, 10:54 PM)
My quick comparison:
- Lighting point: Mine RM55, Urs RM60
- Fan point: Mine RM68, Urs RM70
- 13A point: Mine RM105, Urs RM90
- Heater/oven point: Mine RM285, Urs RM220
- Phone point: Mine RM180, Urs RM100
- Install light/fan/heater: Mine RM20/45/80, Urs RM10/20/60

Prices are about similar for #1 to #3. I guess it's give & take. If not calculative, should be reasonable.

For heater/oven point, does yours come with a switch (those with small red LED)? If no, then maybe this is why yours cheaper by RM50.

Somehow I feel my phone point price is expensive, by 80%!

Your installation charges are cheaper. Anyway, I think I still can accept mine assuming the contractor keep to his promise of giving his quality finishing/work. From what I surveyed, RM80 for heater is kind of reasonable (with PVC case only, no conceal).

Now left the below items. I feel the prices are kind of high. Eg. Astro & Ethernet same price as heater point, RM285. I don't know if it's because of the cable that is expensive vs electric cable or I only install 1 or 2 points for each of them. Maybe electric sifus here can help to enlighten me.  smile.gif

- Lay new telephone point : RM180
- Lay new TV antenna point with 5C2V cable : RM180
- Lay new Astro point with RG6 cable : RM285
- Lay new Ethernet point with CAT5E cable : RM285
- Lay new fibre optic point from outside house (e.g. for Unifi) : RM500
looping is half of the price, and the price can still be nego as well he told me but in real dunno yet.
TSkelvintt
post Mar 2 2016, 09:25 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(newbuyer @ Mar 2 2016, 03:33 PM)
where ur location?
my electrician quote me as below
looping socket RM60 (will free some...can nego)
Lighting point RM45 (includes installation)
Fan point RM55 (includes installation)
Aircon/Heater/Hood RM180

FYI
Mine is at JB. Your prices include conceal? Did he mentioned what cable brand he uses?
newbuyer
post Mar 3 2016, 11:29 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(kelvintt @ Mar 2 2016, 09:25 PM)
Mine is at JB. Your prices include conceal? Did he mentioned what cable brand he uses?
yes conceal.
Wire brand not sure. But not thin thin type.
Location penang
kssaran
post Mar 4 2016, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(kelvintt @ Feb 23 2016, 10:22 PM)
Thanks! I'll try carefully.  smile.gif
my 2 cents, drill at the joining points of four or two tiles and you will not have the problem of crack.
imoogi99
post Mar 7 2016, 01:05 PM

147 posts

Maybe some electrical contractors in this forum can reply to this:

1. I would understand that if you lay one lighting point direct from DB to switch to light and you charge say RM80 for that 1 point then it is fine. For a short looping, say a downlight of 4ft away, why still they want to charge RM80 for this point?

2. Likewise for powerpoint. I see some had a quotation of RM105 per point direct from db. If it is looping next to each other, still RM105? Cost for just this very short looping with switches, wire and labour will not be more than RM15 and yet they charge the same ie RM105.

Dont you think that this is cut throat charging? Or they charge it this way to make the calculation simple?
Richard
post Mar 7 2016, 04:23 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(imoogi99 @ Mar 7 2016, 01:05 PM)
Maybe some electrical contractors in this forum can reply to this:

1. I would understand that if you lay one lighting point direct from DB to switch to light and you charge say RM80 for that 1 point then it is fine. For a short looping, say a downlight of 4ft away, why still they want to charge RM80 for this point?

2. Likewise for powerpoint. I see some had a quotation of RM105 per point direct from db. If it is looping next to each other, still RM105?  Cost for just this very short looping with switches, wire and labour will not be more than RM15 and yet they charge the same ie RM105.

Dont you think that this is cut throat charging? Or they charge it this way to make the calculation simple?
It's more the cost of mobilization cost, the cost from getting the manpower, materials and tools from the shop to your house and back.. there's also the parking fee, waiting fee and idling time who pays for all of this??

Someone has to pay for it.. if it is a small job than maybe they won't take it because the unit price becomes too expensive and some owners calculate until the 5 cents so it is a loss to take this type jobs.. better don't do..

crystal_kit85
post Mar 27 2016, 06:43 PM

1,902 posts

Hi guys, I'm based in KL, I was wondering any of you has got good electrician to be recommended. As it involves hacking of wall, recommendation by existing people is better than I try my luck with electrician recommended by those lighting shops.
TSkelvintt
post Jun 26 2016, 09:48 PM

174 posts

Hi guys,

Wanna ask, for 1 row of ceiling cove lights with 5 light tubes, does it counted as 1 light points or 5 light points?
imoogi99
post Jun 26 2016, 10:45 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kelvintt @ Jun 26 2016, 09:48 PM)
Hi guys,

Wanna ask, for 1 row of ceiling cove lights with 5 light tubes, does it counted as 1 light points or 5 light points?
By right it should be counter as 1 as it is 1 live wire to 1 switch to 1 light tubes.. Then they loop with short wire to the rest of the 4 tubes. But as you know, some electrician will charge as 5 lights points and some will charge 1 lights points plus some kopi tips for the short looping and installation and testing of the 4 remainder tubes.
Kelv
post Jun 27 2016, 09:30 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Installation - Light RM15, Fan RM30, fair price?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:00 AM