6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Electrical Installation Quotation, Are the prices reasonable?

Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 31 2018, 10:22 PM

1,860 posts

hi all, i want to know if my water heater is using 20A socket. how to check?

is the wiring use for lighting is the same with the water heater or water heater need thicker wires ? ?
SUSslimey
post Mar 31 2018, 10:40 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 31 2018, 10:22 PM)
hi all, i want to know if my water heater is using 20A socket. how to check?

is the wiring use for lighting is the same with the water heater or water heater need thicker wires ? ?
just take a picture of the plug/switch.

water heater will require at least 2.5mm2 wire. even more if high powered like those with 4800watts and above.

another method to check is to max power the device for 10 minutes and wait for smoke or the wire to heat up and you will know laugh.gif
SUSslimey
post Mar 31 2018, 10:47 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(babylongreece @ Mar 31 2018, 10:45 PM)
SO stone age style. Just use clamp meter to see the ampere usage
amp usage will not reflect on the cable size and capacity.
SUSslimey
post Mar 31 2018, 10:49 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(babylongreece @ Mar 31 2018, 10:43 PM)
if the socket have big switch and big neon light then it 20A but need picture for confirmation.

If you use lighting for heater sure will cause issue later. Not now, not a year or 2 but few years down, likely some issue start some crop like tripping or no electric supply at all.
Light is 1.5mm. Heater according to standard should be 4mm but many owner cry when see the price so most use 2.5mm wire. I personally will not provide any warranty for the job if owner want to use 2.5mm wire.
lighting cable nowadays don't have ground laugh.gif
Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 31 2018, 10:50 PM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(babylongreece @ Mar 31 2018, 10:43 PM)
if the socket have big switch and big neon light then it 20A but need picture for confirmation.

If you use lighting for heater sure will cause issue later. Not now, not a year or 2 but few years down, likely some issue start some crop like tripping or no electric supply at all.
Light is 1.5mm. Heater according to standard should be 4mm but many owner cry when see the price so most use 2.5mm wire. I personally will not provide any warranty for the job if owner want to use 2.5mm wire.
got neon light, but no 20A written on below or above the light.

so i just need to open the water heater let water run for 10 minutes ? if it really has problem, where the burning smell will come from ? the socket it self ?

how much to get a technician to check ?

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Mar 31 2018, 10:51 PM
SUSslimey
post Mar 31 2018, 10:57 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 31 2018, 10:50 PM)

so i just need to open the water heater let water run for 10 minutes ? if it really has problem, where the burning smell will come from ? the socket it self ?

don't do that. that's just a sarcastic and crude method.

1. see the cable connecting to the water heater. some stuff should be written on if it is the flexible cable with 3 core.
2. if not, it will be the red black green cable which you can estimate the size la. use some calipers and compare that size with some hardware shop if you are inexperienced.
3. open up the water heater switch and check the wire the same as 2. don't get yourself electrocuted ok. and at the same time, check if the ground properly wired up.
SUSslimey
post Mar 31 2018, 11:00 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 31 2018, 10:50 PM)

by the way, not sure if you know the difference between socket and switch :

socket
https://www.google.com/search?q=socket&clie...iw=1280&bih=686

switch(specifically water heater switch)
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefo....80.iT_sdKawugk
Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 31 2018, 11:08 PM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Mar 31 2018, 11:00 PM)
by the way, not sure if you know the difference between socket and switch :

socket
https://www.google.com/search?q=socket&clie...iw=1280&bih=686
switch(specifically water heater switch)
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefo....80.iT_sdKawugk
hmm.gif let me take a picture and show to you guys tomorrow.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 31 2018, 11:28 PM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(babylongreece @ Mar 31 2018, 11:19 PM)
No need. I'll just post a link for you

Double Pole Switch for heater and aircond:
https://goo.gl/images/xvMDRz

Normal lighting switch with neon(not for heater or aircond). This is just a ordinary lighting switch but also with light indicator.
https://goo.gl/images/ecaCPm
Gang Red Neon Indicator Legrand Switch
for the switch this one exactly same but for the socket i havent check.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 31 2018, 11:38 PM

1,860 posts

niaseng , i kena tipu d ?
SUSslimey
post Mar 31 2018, 11:42 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 31 2018, 11:28 PM)
Gang Red Neon Indicator Legrand Switch
for the switch this one exactly same but for the socket i havent check.
if got 13A socket then i facepalm for you.
13A socket
https://www.google.com/search?q=13+amp+sock...iw=1280&bih=686

15A socket
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefo...1.0.3_P15oUlHTQ

anyway......i dislike water heater connected using a plug to a socket.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Apr 1 2018, 02:36 PM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Mar 31 2018, 11:42 PM)
if got 13A socket then i facepalm for you.
13A socket
https://www.google.com/search?q=13+amp+sock...iw=1280&bih=686
15A socket
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefo...1.0.3_P15oUlHTQ
anyway......i dislike water heater connected using a plug to a socket.
oh shit, you got it all right. how much to fix this ? need to do from head to toe ? rewiring everything ?
SUSslimey
post Apr 1 2018, 03:03 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Apr 1 2018, 02:36 PM)
oh shit, you got it all right. how much to fix this ? need to do from head to toe ? rewiring everything ?
it depends...............

difficult to answer as i don't know your wiring diagram and wire size,length , mcb rating connected to the wire, rcd working or not etc etc.

and of course, rated power of water heater

This post has been edited by slimey: Apr 1 2018, 03:03 PM
Richard
post Apr 1 2018, 07:16 PM

1,083 posts

I pity the wireman who has to quote to these homeowners..

so calculative until can accept undersized wires for water heaters. Water heaters are 4mm2 per ST with an 10mA trip RCBO installed

An electric circuit without earth continuity? All for the sake of saving a few ringgit and bypassing regulations meant to save lives and property..

Really hope you people know what is at stake in your discussions.

Pain4UrsinZ
post Apr 2 2018, 12:51 AM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(babylongreece @ Apr 1 2018, 10:44 PM)
It is most owner who is calculative and want undercut stuff. 4mm is almost 20%-50% more expensive than 2.5mm plus the RCD deivce alone and when we submit a quote, they will say why we charge so much for simple stuff and request for cheaper price. Thats why i admit i don't get a lot heater wiring job as i wont back down on this kind of undercut way unless owner willing to COP or SIGN or any legal way to testify that i will not provide any warranty and be liable responsible from any issue arise from this water heater wiring. Which so far none agree too.
the water heater uses 3.6Kw, should be 16 A?

actually i'm renting a house, it had been fixed once. my landlord either knew or still don't know exactly what is happening.

how much it cost if just ask the wire man come to do checking and give plans & advice ?

can i get electrocuted from this ?

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Apr 2 2018, 01:15 AM
SUSslimey
post Apr 2 2018, 07:09 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Apr 2 2018, 12:51 AM)
the water heater uses 3.6Kw, should be 16 A?

actually i'm renting a house, it had been fixed once. my landlord either knew or still don't know exactly what is happening.

how much it cost if just ask the wire man come to do checking and give plans & advice ?

can i get electrocuted from this ?
15-16A when running at max power.

cost depends........but can easily run up to rm100 i think.

electricuted or not depends on whether the ground is properly wired and working plus a working rcd for safety purpose.

undersized wire plus an oversized mcb will cause the wire to get hot and burn when being run exceeding the capacity of the wire for long period.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Apr 2 2018, 08:03 AM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Apr 2 2018, 07:09 AM)

electricuted or not depends on whether the ground is properly wired and working plus a working rcd for safety purpose.

undersized wire plus an oversized mcb will cause the wire to get hot and burn when being run exceeding the capacity of the wire for long period.
if the developer provided the water heater point already, it means make the work much more easy ?
Richard
post Apr 2 2018, 08:18 AM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Apr 2 2018, 07:09 AM)

The guidelines for domestic wirings in residential buildings for standard 3kW water heaters are 20A mcb with a 10mA trip RCD wired to a 20A DP neon switch terminated to a ceiling rose or directly connected to the water heater wired 4mm2 in conduit from DB. You can replace the water heater mcb/RCD with a similar rated RCBO to save space in your DB.

Be prepared to pay around rm500 on average for the above. A wireman who qoutes less might be cutting corners or using existing wiring. Get the wireman to stamp in his PW number on his invoice to make him responsible for the installation.. to
This is just a general guide based our energy commission (ST) for a standard 3 BR apartment. Ask to witness the insulation test, continuity test of the phase, neutral and earth conductors and the RCD trip test. The RCD trip time must be within 200ms to the nominal trip on the device.

A proper installation must be tested for correctness, safety and the client's peace of mind.

Just my thoughts to share..

This post has been edited by Richard: Apr 2 2018, 08:27 AM
SUSslimey
post Apr 2 2018, 08:30 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Apr 2 2018, 08:03 AM)
if the developer provided the water heater point already, it means make the work much more easy ?
it depends
Pain4UrsinZ
post Apr 2 2018, 09:01 AM

1,860 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Apr 2 2018, 08:18 AM)
The guidelines for domestic wirings in residential buildings for standard 3kW water heaters are 20A mcb with a 10mA trip RCD wired to a 20A DP neon switch terminated to a ceiling rose or directly connected to the water heater wired 4mm2 in conduit from DB. You can replace the water heater mcb/RCD with a similar rated RCBO to save space in your DB.

Be prepared to pay around rm500 on average for the above. A wireman who qoutes less might be cutting corners or using existing wiring. Get the wireman to stamp in his PW number on his invoice to make him responsible for the installation..  to
This is just a general guide based our energy  commission (ST) for a standard 3 BR apartment. Ask to witness the insulation test, continuity test of the phase, neutral and earth conductors and the RCD trip test. The RCD trip time must be within 200ms to the nominal trip on the device.

A proper installation must be tested for correctness, safety and the client's peace of mind.

Just my thoughts to share..
Usually the water heater point provided by the developer for new houses or apartments is direct from DB?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0185sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:02 PM