QUOTE(rublik @ Apr 17 2017, 10:22 AM)
do u need stereo? 5.1? 7.1? atmos/DTS:X?AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion
AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion
Apr 19 2017, 02:05 PM
10,474 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Apr 25 2017, 11:53 AM
321 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Hi Guys, i recently just purchased a pair of Sony ss-cs3 and a cs8. Paired with Denon x2300w AVR. They sounded warm and wide. Cant believe Sony can produce such nice floor standing speakers at reasonable price.
Now i would like to upgrade my sub. Now using lousy sub from Pioneer. My budget is around RM1.5k. Is the sub below good? Klipsch R-10SW - RM1,499 Yamaha NS-SW300 - RM1,299 FYI, i'm currently staying in a condo, all my HT gadgets are placed in the living room with limited space for sub. Thanks in advance for advice! |
Apr 25 2017, 02:52 PM
701 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(ericlai @ Apr 25 2017, 11:53 AM) Hi Guys, i recently just purchased a pair of Sony ss-cs3 and a cs8. Paired with Denon x2300w AVR. They sounded warm and wide. Cant believe Sony can produce such nice floor standing speakers at reasonable price. Glad u like the sony Now i would like to upgrade my sub. Now using lousy sub from Pioneer. My budget is around RM1.5k. Is the sub below good? Klipsch R-10SW - RM1,499 Yamaha NS-SW300 - RM1,299 FYI, i'm currently staying in a condo, all my HT gadgets are placed in the living room with limited space for sub. Thanks in advance for advice! This post has been edited by sivanathan04: Apr 25 2017, 02:56 PM |
Apr 25 2017, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 25 2017, 02:52 PM) Glad u like the sony Thanks for the reply and tips! Yea, i heard great stories about SVS sub and i always thought the price is out of my league =D i don't know how to see whether a second hand sub is working in good condition or not. Kinda skeptical to spend few thousand for a second hand item =D |
Apr 25 2017, 05:44 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(ericlai @ Apr 25 2017, 03:40 PM) Thanks for the reply and tips! Yea, i heard great stories about SVS sub and i always thought the price is out of my league =D i don't know how to see whether a second hand sub is working in good condition or not. Kinda skeptical to spend few thousand for a second hand item =D Don't know why you so skeptical. I have subs that are 15 years old and never even serviced once, still works like a charm until today. If only they had the beastly power of modern subs to extend below 25hz, but they don't.You're buying a quality product. Not a fart box bolted with a puny driver and questionable magnet, along with an amplifier made out of plastic caps. If new is out of your wallet limit, then get second hand. It's absolutely a viable reason. Believe it or not, many audiophiles take care of their systems like its some divine shrine. I haven't seen many with their systems being on its deathbed. Not even ones that are over a decade old. To answer your sub selection in the above post, both subs are meh. Nothing special, but not absolutely terrible either. My suggestion is to save up another 1-2k to get a good sub that will last you for many years. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Apr 25 2017, 08:48 PM |
Apr 25 2017, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(ericlai @ Apr 25 2017, 03:40 PM) Thanks for the reply and tips! Yea, i heard great stories about SVS sub and i always thought the price is out of my league =D i don't know how to see whether a second hand sub is working in good condition or not. Kinda skeptical to spend few thousand for a second hand item =D No worries u can buy second hand sub with confident just get it from reliable seller like maxxaudiovisual or actsesseory..this people are svs dealer for Malaysia..u can ask them for second hand unit..some of second hand unit have warranty..if tight budget second hand svs pb1000 will be a good deal for smaller space.. |
Apr 25 2017, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 25 2017, 05:44 PM) Don't know why you so skeptical. I have subs that are 15 years old and never even serviced once, still works like a charm until today. If only they had the beastly power of modern subs to extend below 25hz, but they don't. Lol, yea, i'm afraid they misuse it somehow....will definitely consider second hand after the comments =D i wonder CMY's second hand shop in Sungai way still available, long time did not go there already.You're buying a quality product. Not a fart box bolted with a puny driver and questionable magnet, along with an amplifier made out of plastic caps. If new is out of your wallet limit, then get second hand. It's absolutely a viable reason. Believe it or not, many audiophiles take care of their systems like its some divine shrine. I haven't seen many with their systems being on its deathbed. Not even ones that are over a decade old. To answer your sub selection in the above post, both subs are meh. Nothing special, but not absolutely terrible either. My suggestion is to save up another 1-2k to get a good sub that will last you for many years. |
Apr 25 2017, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 25 2017, 07:39 PM) No worries u can buy second hand sub with confident just get it from reliable seller like maxxaudiovisual or actsesseory..this people are svs dealer for Malaysia..u can ask them for second hand unit..some of second hand unit have warranty..if tight budget second hand svs pb1000 will be a good deal for smaller space.. I've contacted them, actsesseory quoted me RM2.2k for a used SVS sb-1000. maxxaudiovisual only have 2000 series which is rm3k above, out of my budget =Di wonder a sealed sub is able to perform well in movies. PB1000 is nice, however it size is way too big for my living room area =( the size of sb1000 is just nice |
Apr 25 2017, 09:41 PM
266 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 25 2017, 07:39 PM) No worries u can buy second hand sub with confident just get it from reliable seller like maxxaudiovisual or actsesseory..this people are svs dealer for Malaysia..u can ask them for second hand unit..some of second hand unit have warranty..if tight budget second hand svs pb1000 will be a good deal for smaller space.. Bro u become Svs sifu adi now... so familiar wt it now... haha! Btw wats the price for pb1000 used unit now? This post has been edited by stilo10: Apr 25 2017, 09:43 PM |
Apr 25 2017, 10:18 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(ericlai @ Apr 25 2017, 09:35 PM) I've contacted them, actsesseory quoted me RM2.2k for a used SVS sb-1000. maxxaudiovisual only have 2000 series which is rm3k above, out of my budget =D You didn't state the size of your living room, so no one can give you an accurate answer. Sub + room size = x performance, they are both related. i wonder a sealed sub is able to perform well in movies. PB1000 is nice, however it size is way too big for my living room area =( the size of sb1000 is just nice A sealed sub will never have the output of a ported sub, this is simply physics. Ported subs has a port to push more air and they are usually in a bigger enclosure, these 2 things alone will always beat a sealed sub especially when it comes to frequencies under 30hz. The difference is even more significant under 20hz (ULF). You mentioned you live in a condo. I have no idea how thick your condo walls are, but the chances of annoying all your neighbours is pretty high if you opt for a sub that pushes a lot of output in the lower octaves. A single SB1000 will do pretty well in room sizes around 1300 cu. ft (or 130 square feet~). By "well" I mean solid output down to 25hz~, which in comparison to many RM1k+ subs is substantial. My suggestion, get a SB1000 now. Then in the future get another SB1000. Engage in multiple subs, not just a single one. |
Apr 26 2017, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(ericlai @ Apr 25 2017, 09:35 PM) I've contacted them, actsesseory quoted me RM2.2k for a used SVS sb-1000. maxxaudiovisual only have 2000 series which is rm3k above, out of my budget =D Go with brother ssjben advised..it's normal when u have luck u will get second hand pb1000 if not have to wait till someone to let go their svs..for condo svs sb1000 still a good choice..try nego abit...i wonder a sealed sub is able to perform well in movies. PB1000 is nice, however it size is way too big for my living room area =( the size of sb1000 is just nice QUOTE(stilo10 @ Apr 25 2017, 09:41 PM) Bro u become Svs sifu adi now... so familiar wt it now... haha! Sifu hehe im getting heart attack...I think should be below 2.5k last time 2k below.. for pb2000 and sb2000 3.8k last time more cheaper haiish eyeing on 2000 series...Btw wats the price for pb1000 used unit now? QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 25 2017, 10:18 PM) You didn't state the size of your living room, so no one can give you an accurate answer. Sub + room size = x performance, they are both related. A sealed sub will never have the output of a ported sub, this is simply physics. Ported subs has a port to push more air and they are usually in a bigger enclosure, these 2 things alone will always beat a sealed sub especially when it comes to frequencies under 30hz. The difference is even more significant under 20hz (ULF). You mentioned you live in a condo. I have no idea how thick your condo walls are, but the chances of annoying all your neighbours is pretty high if you opt for a sub that pushes a lot of output in the lower octaves. A single SB1000 will do pretty well in room sizes around 1300 cu. ft (or 130 square feet~). By "well" I mean solid output down to 25hz~, which in comparison to many RM1k+ subs is substantial. My suggestion, get a SB1000 now. Then in the future get another SB1000. Engage in multiple subs, not just a single one. This post has been edited by sivanathan04: Apr 26 2017, 02:13 AM |
Apr 26 2017, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 25 2017, 10:18 PM) You didn't state the size of your living room, so no one can give you an accurate answer. Sub + room size = x performance, they are both related. Lol, sorry, my living room size is around 160 square feet. My condo walls thickness are quite reasonable =D However, with my current pioneer lousy sub can make my front door rattle at times. I believe the SVS will crack open my front door if i crank it up. Thanks for the advice SSJBen!A sealed sub will never have the output of a ported sub, this is simply physics. Ported subs has a port to push more air and they are usually in a bigger enclosure, these 2 things alone will always beat a sealed sub especially when it comes to frequencies under 30hz. The difference is even more significant under 20hz (ULF). You mentioned you live in a condo. I have no idea how thick your condo walls are, but the chances of annoying all your neighbours is pretty high if you opt for a sub that pushes a lot of output in the lower octaves. A single SB1000 will do pretty well in room sizes around 1300 cu. ft (or 130 square feet~). By "well" I mean solid output down to 25hz~, which in comparison to many RM1k+ subs is substantial. My suggestion, get a SB1000 now. Then in the future get another SB1000. Engage in multiple subs, not just a single one. |
Apr 26 2017, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 26 2017, 02:11 AM) Go with brother ssjben advised..it's normal when u have luck u will get second hand pb1000 if not have to wait till someone to let go their svs..for condo svs sb1000 still a good choice..try nego abit... Thanks sivanathan04. yea, will try to nego, i wonder the owner will let go at RM1.8k? =D i think i saw some where in lowyat forum that htkaki posted svs-sb1000 is around RM2,499 new unit...however the current pricing is RM3,650...our ringgit is crazy!Sifu hehe im getting heart attack...I think should be below 2.5k last time 2k below.. for pb2000 and sb2000 3.8k last time more cheaper haiish eyeing on 2000 series... This post has been edited by ericlai: Apr 26 2017, 09:38 AM |
Apr 26 2017, 01:33 PM
266 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 26 2017, 02:11 AM) Go with brother ssjben advised..it's normal when u have luck u will get second hand pb1000 if not have to wait till someone to let go their svs..for condo svs sb1000 still a good choice..try nego abit... There's 2 used units for 2000 series, sealed & ported waiting for you at HT kaki... go go... time to flex your muscle bro Sifu hehe im getting heart attack...I think should be below 2.5k last time 2k below.. for pb2000 and sb2000 3.8k last time more cheaper haiish eyeing on 2000 series... |
Apr 26 2017, 02:05 PM
802 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Sungai Buloh, Selangor |
Hi All,
Please comment if this set worth to buy? RM3999 http://www.stylelaser.com.my/product/yamah...heater-package/ |
Apr 26 2017, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(tiongkeat @ Apr 26 2017, 02:05 PM) Hi All, Still have other better option than this... Get the sony floorstander http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/speakers/ss-cs3 a pair for 1.2k and a pair of bookshelf http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/speakers/ss-cs5 for RM700..Avr u can bought Yamaha rxv381 for 1.3k..if u have balance money get the center speaker but buy other brand than Sony.the floorstander should give u nice bass if u need sub get a good one like svs pb1000 second hand unit should cost u about 2k..u can save up later for sub..this is the best set up for limited budget...u have to tell your budget for better recommendationsPlease comment if this set worth to buy? RM3999 http://www.stylelaser.com.my/product/yamah...heater-package/ |
Apr 26 2017, 03:02 PM
802 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Sungai Buloh, Selangor |
QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Apr 26 2017, 03:00 PM) Still have other better option than this... Get the sony floorstander http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/speakers/ss-cs3 a pair for 1.2k and a pair of bookshelf http://www.sony.com.my/electronics/speakers/ss-cs5 for RM700..Avr u can bought Yamaha rxv381 for 1.3k..if u have balance money get the center speaker but buy other brand than Sony.the floorstander should give u nice bass if u need sub get a good one like svs pb1000 second hand unit should cost u about 2k..u can save up later for sub..this is the best set up for limited budget...u have to tell your budget for better recommendations wah end up more than 4k lol.. but can considered |
Apr 26 2017, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(ericlai @ Apr 26 2017, 09:35 AM) Thanks sivanathan04. yea, will try to nego, i wonder the owner will let go at RM1.8k? =D i think i saw some where in lowyat forum that htkaki posted svs-sb1000 is around RM2,499 new unit...however the current pricing is RM3,650...our ringgit is crazy! Can't get old price now 😋 QUOTE(stilo10 @ Apr 26 2017, 01:33 PM) There's 2 used units for 2000 series, sealed & ported waiting for you at HT kaki... go go... time to flex your muscle bro Haha bank muscle still weak bro who knows if suddenly kena jackpot can try look for pb16ultra |
Apr 26 2017, 03:10 PM
Apr 26 2017, 03:12 PM