fruitie
post Mar 8 2016, 10:39 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(sepulse @ Mar 8 2016, 10:02 AM)
hey guys, currently im on VIP5. i plan to upgrade to 30mbps. any idea how to do it?
Call 100 or walk in to nearest TM Point for faster service.
fruitie
post Mar 9 2016, 08:50 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

It's OK la, I bet you guys will keep upgrading. tongue.gif
I know I will. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 10:29 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 10 2016, 10:13 AM)
the upgrade took less than 2 days, speedtest done from my mobile phone:

not bad huh?! biggrin.gif
I can get 33Mbps and 11Mbps upload. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 10:38 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Mar 10 2016, 10:37 AM)
I have been without UniFi for 6 days due to a broken cable since March 4 (Friday)! I have reported to TM on that day itself and have contacted TM repeatedly via phone, email & Twitter but each time I got the same response: still in progress.

I have even reported to SKMM and got a call from TM HQ yesterday informing me of the cable breakdown issue and it is still in progress.

I was also informed that the breakdown affected the four out of five blocks of condominiums in my area but a check with some neighbors at the said blocks reveal otherwise, i.e. their services are still up & running!

This morning I even checked with the condo management and found out that except for a few technicians or installers who accessed the MDF room for a short period, there isn't any sign of any technical team coming to perform restoration works that will take a long time!

In other words, I strongly believe TM has NOT started the restoration works at all, which is why repeated communication with TM on the progress reveal the same thing without any concrete update on the progress!!!  mad.gif  mad.gif

I wonder if there is any other way I can escalate the complaint to without relying on official communication medium.
Keep pestering SKMM for further interfering.
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 11:53 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 10 2016, 11:51 AM)
well.. different server has different results too smile.gif

and whether on direct LAN cable or on wifi, also different results..
KL server and PJ server for me, work the same. biggrin.gif
I only use WiFi, no LAN cable at all. biggrin.gif

Still, 29Mbps is good enough la.

But for me, I will prefer it doesn't start with digit 2. tongue.gif Well, that's me.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Mar 10 2016, 11:54 AM
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 12:04 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 10 2016, 11:58 AM)
good for me too.. tested last night.. no buffering on youtube 720/1080  rclxm9.gif
My YouTube videos issue has been random. Most load with breeze even on 4k but some just stuck even on 360p. I reckon it is something to do with the server.
After I connect to VPN, usually SG server, it works well again.

No issue for my sister's Streamyx 4Mbps though.
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 02:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(bartz @ Mar 10 2016, 01:18 PM)
I can attest to this.
On some local Youtube CDNs, video streaming is extremely slow for me.
You can tell from the videos' 'Stats for Nerds'. It'll show the Stream Host as something like r#---sn-uh-30aes.
They correspond to the following IP addresses: 1.9.57.13, 1.9.57.14, 1.9.57.16, 1.9.57.17.
All other local CDNs work fine for me.

If I really want to watch the videos hosted on these slow CDNs, I've to turn on VPN (to SG for example). Then I get served the same videos from other CDNs, which -- no surprise -- work fine.

I believe it's clearly a problem with TM's side -- on some of their servers at least.
Yes, that's right. Once I switch to SG VPN then no issue.
Thank God, DotVPN on Chrome extension works pretty well for me. I only turn it on when my videos are stuck...

TM's problem I agree but wondering why it wasn't happening on Streamyx? Similar videos which I had problems on UniFi had no issue with Streamyx... sad.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 03:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Mar 10 2016, 03:35 PM)
To be honest, I had this problems too when the time I was still using Streamyx, maybe different videos have problem serving to different TM products?

I thought the switch to Unifi make things better, but I am wrong. Or maybe I jump ship at the wrong timing? Installed Unifi on 1st of March while immediately the submarine cables having problem.
Not sure then. laugh.gif

So far, it is only affecting some videos, not all though.
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 05:01 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(mcastor6 @ Mar 10 2016, 03:54 PM)
r u using DotVPN Premium version?
No, so far free version is enough for me.

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Mar 10 2016, 04:48 PM)
It's not keep upgrading or not. Is the same package we have, after 2 years contract, will it increase to the "non-promotional price". That's what I'm asking.

I saw replies to my earlier question, some say will increase after the 2 years is up. Some say will remain.  rclxub.gif
Aiyo, 2 years and still using 30Mbps meh?
Well, I don't know how many times I have upgraded within these two years.

Yes, we don't know because CS gives different answer. So, just enjoy these two years first. Unless, if it is not going to continue, then you will not subscribe and stuck with VIP package? smile.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 05:04 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 10 2016, 05:01 PM)
Its really difficult to conclude what comes in future...right

As per the contract, yes prices fallsback to normal pricing, but what we foresee is that, in 2 years time, there would be better packages and pricing, hence obviously we would be subscribing to the new ones.

Similar to current scenario right...those who has VIP, say, your contract ends now, most of them would be subscribing to current 30/50 and 100 package
Yes, that's my point too. smile.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 05:23 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Mar 10 2016, 05:06 PM)
Different people have different needs.

I started with 28.8, then Streamyx 384. Used it until free upgrade to 512. After that house phone + Streamyx bundling , took 1Mb.

Upgraded to Unifi VIP 5 as the cost is just RM110 vs RM149. Streamyx line is giving a lot of headache and my house have very bad copper line despite changing few hundred times.

Took Unifi 30Mb also because dropped Astro and switch to Hyyptv for parents.

So yes, still using 30Mbps tongue.gif
I'll quote this and let's see after your contract expires in 2 years time. laugh.gif

Anyway, based on previous VIP pomos, they didn't revoke back to normal pricing after the contract period ends.
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 06:11 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(mcastor6 @ Mar 10 2016, 06:06 PM)
another question, dotvpn got adblock & i'm using adblock plus on my google chrome. how come i need to disable adblock plus only can view lowyat articles??
I'm using AdBlock (non Plus version) and have no issue using it with DotVPN.
Not sure about Lowyat articles because I don't read it. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 09:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Mar 10 2016, 09:31 PM)
Totally cannot connect to oversea server like Facebook, Hotmail and SG server... Streamyx...only can access Malaysia server. I think Lowyat server at Malaysia~
No issue for me.
Nope, our server is not in Malaysia. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 09:40 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Mar 10 2016, 09:38 PM)
lol... so special for lowyat... now only lowyat can access ~
I have no problem accessing those sites you mentioned. Facebook, Hotmail all OK.
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 10:31 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 10 2016, 10:25 PM)
Seriously? It almost one hour since it begins.

I can only access server in Malaysia such as lowyat and thestar.
Maybe you can restart your BTU again?
I really have no issue here.
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 10:39 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 10 2016, 10:37 PM)
I simply go to the router configuration pages and disconnect/reconnect to get different set of IP address range.

All website suddenly can browse at full speed.

Geez....
If I can compare, your IP address is still the same range as earlier? 175.140.xx.xx

This post has been edited by fruitie: Mar 10 2016, 10:39 PM
fruitie
post Mar 10 2016, 10:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 10 2016, 10:40 PM)
175.14X.WW.XX

Only the WW and XX ranges are different. Still 175.14X.
Yes, I saw that too. biggrin.gif
Good that it solves for you. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Mar 11 2016, 02:05 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Mar 11 2016, 01:12 PM)
Reminds me of streamyx days. 219.X.X.X was the best, 60.X.X.X wasn't good. (or something like this). Streamyx thread people are constantly restarting and dc to get the best IP range.

Unifi also having this sort of problem?  hmm.gif

besides this undersea cable issue, my speeds been good.
I seldom need to restart my UniFi, usually only I shut it down when I'm out from the town.
Never an issue for me on UniFi even with undersea cable issue now. smile.gif
fruitie
post Mar 11 2016, 02:39 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Mar 11 2016, 02:31 PM)
anyone can open occ?
No issue from my end but my office server is in SG, not sure if that affects.
fruitie
post Mar 13 2016, 09:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Mar 13 2016, 09:07 PM)
guys, can check with you, got one technical helpdesk smoked me that my package 30mbps is receiving 24mbps when doing speedtest under speedtest.tm.com.my. She said that this 24mbps is just nice and no connection slowness issue.

so is this normal my speed for me?
No, it is not obviously but TM promises 80% of the advertised speed which is coincidentally 24Mbps..
Well, is it the limitation comes from your router? You connect using WiFi or LAN?

This is mine via WiFi and on TM stock router connected to Xiaomi Nano router as access point.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:27 AM