10th Gen Honda Civic

cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 08:38 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kljy17 @ Jun 2 2016, 01:44 PM)
what do u mean by black being hard to maintain?
do you have to wash/wax it often?
If u're caught in rain, the stains are noticeable on the black surface. When there is no rain, the dust is equally noticeable. So either way ure caught.

My current car has got a high end coating done by Regal Valet. They also offer a RM60/month unlimited washing. So most of the time, I wash my car twice a week and its very near my home. So not too difficult maintaining a dark color car. But given a choice I wouldn't opt for it.
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 08:43 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jun 2 2016, 08:33 PM)
So they follow BMW system to service only when required as per driving style. That's pretty good.
No its not good. Because no matter how moderately u drive, the system is actually pre-programmed to make u service every 2 months.

For BMW's even though they say the service interval is 10,000km, nobody in my owners club has ever reached that mileage. I think its all a cheat to ensure u service faster. For a moderate driver like myself (usually in Comfort mode), I service every 7,000km. If you use Sports mode about 40-50% of the time, your service interval drops to about 5,000km.

BMW actually has 4 internal settings for the service intervals. 8K, 10K, 15K and 20K (if im not mistaken). But because numerous models experienced accumulated sludge build up, BMW reduced the interval to 10,000km for all newer 2015 models. You can request to have it increased to 15 or 20K, but BMW will record this as 'requested from Owner'.

I'm actually not happy that Honda has followed this route. This is NOT good news.

For new BMW owners, its still OK because BMW offers 5 years /100,000km free servicing including lubricants, parts and labor. BSRI / wear & tear no longer covered.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 3 2016, 09:29 AM
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 09:45 AM

4,440 posts

And with this new service interval system by Honda, u can be sure the Civic 1.5T owners will be servicing their car more often.
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 09:48 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jun 3 2016, 09:42 AM)
Well it's easy, just don't buy it. Buy whichever car you like. VW, Ford, Toyota whatever, many salesman are lurking in this thread anyway.
Don't you think this is a tad childish? Just cuz someone raises a negative comment about something you come up with the 'don't buy it' line?

Come on. This is a forum where both positive and negative comments are welcome and debated in a mature manner.
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 09:54 AM

4,440 posts

Anyway, I received info that the Condition Based Servicing is only for the Turbo models. The 1.8L still follows the old system of 10,000km intervals.

cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 10:00 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jun 3 2016, 09:57 AM)
Well if you find it childish, I can't be opposing it. As I say, I am just sharing.

If that person somehow interested in this car, but then got put off by the service/maintenance? So do I say, come on buy it, just a maintenance? It's not my money right?

If such is deemed childish, I refrain from commenting then.
The point is you don't need to ask anybody to buy anything. Its up to the individual what he or she wishes to buy. U don't need to state that. We all know that. Nobody is gonna decide against buying a particular vehicle ONLY because of the servicing.

Again the purpose of this thread is to have a mature debate about the new Civic....good or bad. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 10:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jun 3 2016, 10:15 AM)
I thinks we should make a list of owners / bookers. Need to state info such as model, color and which sa it was booked. For those taken delivery, they can state their booking date, duration and also date of delivery. This will help prospective buyers in buying decision.

FYI, I have the impression that smaller towns have way lesser on their booking list. Though their delivery quota might be lesser, I was told those booked 2 weeks back can get their car around Raya. That's pretty quick.

Myself I've booked 1.5t premium opwhite on mid April and scheduled to received around end of this mth.
Good idea having such a list.

I think it depends on the dealerships. I particularly choose a dealership in KL which only had about 20 bookings and almost none for the 1.8L.

I booked the 1.8L Lunar Silver for my wife on 16 May 2016. Loan approved on 19 May 2016.
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 01:00 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(usopkun @ Jun 3 2016, 11:34 AM)
Imo, those who are concerned on service interval, just drive moderately, only hard on pedal when necessary. That way maybe only need service on 10k km. In my case, this civic will be my weekends car or balik kampung car. On weekdays I'll use my vios to commute to work.
If the system is similar to BMW then driving moderately only deals with 1 of the 2 factors. The other being duration.

So if the system has a secondary setting for service to be done every 2 months or so, regardless of your driving style, the service interval will drop accordingly and u will still end up servicing before the 10K mark.
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 05:49 PM

4,440 posts

Just got my CIMB loan approved. 2.83%. 9 years.

Anybody else got better rates?
cybermaster98
post Jun 3 2016, 06:52 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 3 2016, 05:59 PM)
140k? 130k?
cybermaster98
post Jun 4 2016, 01:31 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jun 4 2016, 12:50 AM)
MBB 2.78% 7 yrs
Yeah if 7 yrs can get lower. But im pushing to 9 yrs cuz I have better use for the money.

Anybody with 9 yr loan and lower than 2.83% interest?
cybermaster98
post Jun 4 2016, 03:03 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jun 4 2016, 08:07 AM)
It's definitely a wise move to take a 9 years loan given the time value of money in 9 years time where the int rate which is lower than inflation rate.
Not really. For hire purchase loans, you have to consider the EFFECTIVE interest rate not the subscribed rate because unlike housing loans, hop interest is charged on the total amount and the divided to give you your monthly instalments.

My comparison isn't against the inflation rate bur rather my other investments. Don't wanna eat up into my monthly credit.
cybermaster98
post Jun 4 2016, 09:20 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 4 2016, 05:01 PM)
just told by my SA that earliest i can get is next month
only 12 units(mixed) allocated each month and there are 20 people ahead me when i booked it early last month sad.gif
Which branch did u book at?
cybermaster98
post Jun 5 2016, 09:14 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 5 2016, 01:00 AM)
kahmotor
That's the dealer. But which branch?
cybermaster98
post Jun 6 2016, 10:11 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Jeffreynsx @ Jun 6 2016, 06:46 AM)
If got money, no point to take HP loan. Like my case, pay the car in cash.
Not everybody who has money prefers to buy cash.

From an investment view, a 2.83% hire purchase interest rate equates to a 5.21% effective interest rate.

If I have other investments which provide me a return >5.21% then it makes logical sense to take the car loan and invest my cash elsewhere.

Real investors leverage off the bank's money while keeping their own savings 'working' getting a higher interest.
cybermaster98
post Jun 6 2016, 10:16 AM

4,440 posts

Has anybody obtained a better hire purchase interest rate than 2.83% for a 9 year loan. Loan amount 108K. CIMB.

Please do share.
cybermaster98
post Jun 6 2016, 10:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Jun 6 2016, 10:33 AM)
AFFIN 100K 2.85% @9 YEARS
MAYBANK 118K 2.9%@9 YEARS
So lowest is still CIMB at 2.83% for 9 yrs.
cybermaster98
post Jun 6 2016, 11:15 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jun 6 2016, 11:00 AM)
Cimb can go as low as 2.7% for 9 years and 2.6% for 7 years and lesser. The final rate is based in applicants credit rating.
Any idea how I can obtain that 2.7% from CIMB? Im only a guarantor for my wife since she has stopped working now for her studies. But ive got a home loan with them.
cybermaster98
post Jun 6 2016, 11:40 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 6 2016, 11:25 AM)
quite a lot people taking 9 years loan here hmm.gif

9 years loan for a car sounds impractical for me but well who am i to judge your money then smile.gif

am planning to take 5 or 7 years loan
Its only impractical if the buyer gets an extended loan to afford the car. If based on affordability, my rule of thumb is if you cannot afford to pay a 5 year car loan, then this is not the car for u.

But in many cases (including mine), I will extend to max 9 years because it makes more investment sense. Same reason why I maximise housing loan tenures and do not pay off early.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 6 2016, 11:41 AM
cybermaster98
post Jun 6 2016, 03:43 PM

4,440 posts

I think most big dealers have received the Civic already. Honda Damansara (near TTDI) also received. I will take a look tmr evening.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0460sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:05 AM