Oil & Gas Careers V10, Upstream & Downstream, Market slump ahead
mark_vyz
Jan 27 2016, 12:08 PM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 27 2016, 09:13 AM) Yup, no urgency on HR side. I wish we could fire all of them wholesale. My RE friend was supposed to be converted and his contract expired 2 weeks ago. Still no news so recommending him to a headhunter who is looking for REs. How i wish i could smack their ass and get them to work.
SUSsupersound
Jan 27 2016, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(mingosaur @ Jan 27 2016, 11:17 AM) Hey guys, would just like your humble opinion on career and the current O&G situation. I'll be receiving an offer for a grad position in well engineering and would like to know what are your opinions in taking up this job? Currently working in a consulting firm with a decent pay of 3.5k not including allowances. I'm highly interested in the MNC firm so changing from one industry wouldn't be a problem, just worried on how the oil crisis would affect my work and job progression the next couple of years. Cheers! Is it under contract basis? And is the company having their own well or supplying manpower under contract only?
mingosaur
Jan 27 2016, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 27 2016, 01:13 PM) Is it under contract basis? And is the company having their own well or supplying manpower under contract only? Hey buddy, it's for a permanent grad position. There's this requirement to obtain a Master degree in Well Engineer which is also part of the program. So sounds like a work-study kind of job. I do believe there would be 2 exams spread across the 4 year study course which I assume is compulsory.
SUSsupersound
Jan 27 2016, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(mingosaur @ Jan 27 2016, 01:19 PM) Hey buddy, it's for a permanent grad position. There's this requirement to obtain a Master degree in Well Engineer which is also part of the program. So sounds like a work-study kind of job. I do believe there would be 2 exams spread across the 4 year study course which I assume is compulsory. Then can try, but upstream is like sheet currently for Malaysia, so be prepared to get slaughtered when condition gets worsen.
TheReaderReads
Jan 27 2016, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(mingosaur @ Jan 27 2016, 01:19 PM) Hey buddy, it's for a permanent grad position. There's this requirement to obtain a Master degree in Well Engineer which is also part of the program. So sounds like a work-study kind of job. I do believe there would be 2 exams spread across the 4 year study course which I assume is compulsory. If u have nothing to lose, just go for it. Plus u are getting sponsored. Most likely there will be bonds too. How long will u be bonded to this company if u are to be sponsored by this company? Go for it
mingosaur
Jan 27 2016, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jan 27 2016, 01:26 PM) If u have nothing to lose, just go for it. Plus u are getting sponsored. Most likely there will be bonds too. How long will u be bonded to this company if u are to be sponsored by this company? Go for it  Mhmm... Being bonded is another thing hahaha. Hopefully not too long... It plays a part in my decision to switch, but not that significant. Mainly I think I'm worried about job security but as a freshie I shouldn't be too concerned with this should I? FYI, I just graduated at the end of 2014 so yeah, I'm pretty new in the workforce. This post has been edited by mingosaur: Jan 27 2016, 02:58 PM
TheReaderReads
Jan 27 2016, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(mingosaur @ Jan 27 2016, 02:58 PM) Mhmm... Being bonded is another thing hahaha. Hopefully not too long... It plays a part in my decision to switch, but not that significant. Mainly I think I'm worried about job security but as a freshie I shouldn't be too concerned with this should I? FYI, I just graduated at the end of 2014 so yeah, I'm pretty new in the workforce. If being bonded is an issue then y bother about job insecurities? U get what I mean? Wudnt it be a blessing in disguised that u got kick after finishing ur studies? that means u dun hv to serve that bonding period. tho I understand what u mean... The only think u should be concern of is your commitments. Loans and investment that ties u down. I have a friend being bonded to Petronas if not mistaken for 8 years due to sponsorship for his undergraduate studies. This post has been edited by TheReaderReads: Jan 27 2016, 03:08 PM
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 03:39 PM
Is anyone know where I can find Tecnimont office? Trying to lobbying my profile with them. I do know that Tecnimont is JV with China origin Co. for this package in Rapid. Samsung C&T sudah ada their own team. Kinda hard to lobbying my profile with them. QUOTE BusinessAsia300
Twitter Facebook Google+ LinkedIn Mail
December 4, 2015 8:21 pm JST Petronas Chemicals' new plants Awarding $882 million contracts to Samsung Engineering
KUALA LUMPUR (NewsRise) -- Two units of Malaysia's Petronas Chemicals Group awarded a total $882 million worth of two engineering contracts to a consortium led by Samsung Engineering Co. to build specialized chemicals plants.
Samsung Engineering is partnering two other group companies -- Samsung C&Tand Samsung Engineering (M) Sdn Bhd -- to build facilities to produce linear low density polyethylene and ethylene oxide ethylene glycol. Petronas Chemicals expects both the contracts to be completed by April 2019, the company said in a stock exchange filing on Friday.
The plants are expected to be located within a massive petrochemicals facility in the southern state of Johor. The announcement comes days after Petronas Chemicals handed out $482 million engineering contract to build a polypropylene plant in the same industrial facility to a consortium led by Italy's Tecnimont SPA.
It is widely expected that Petronas Chemicals will offer more of such contracts in the next few months under the so-called Refinery and Petrochemical Integrated Development, or Rapid project.
"All these big contract announcements will total up to $3.9 billion for Rapid and there should be more coming soon," said Maybank Investment Bank analyst Mohshin Aziz. "Peak capital expenditure years will be2017 and 2018, when Petronas Chemicals will spend 6 billion ringgit in each year."
The Rapid project, anchored by the state-run oil and gas explorer, Petroliam Nasional Bhd, or Petronas includes a deep-water port and petrochemical and gas-import facilities, making it more of an integrated industrial complex. It will also house petrochemicals and polymer plants with a production capacity of nearly 3.5 million tons of differentiated and highly-specialized products.
Establishing plants in the $14 billion Rapid project, is part of Petronas Chemicals' ambition to push further into specialty chemicals business, which typically commands higher margins than other downstream products. The Rapid project is also one of Malaysia's largest, aimed at attracting billions of dollars in foreign investments to spur economic growth.
The company's investments toward the Rapid project is likely to boost its annual earnings from 2020 onwards, T.A. Securities said in an investor note.
Petronas Chemicals can "well afford this project given its strong balance sheet, huge cash pile of 9.5 billion ringgit and operating cash flows of at least 4 billion ringgit per annum," the brokerage noted. The Rapid project is estimated to raise the company's olefins and derivatives annual capacity by 70% to 8.5 million tons in 2021, and expand Petronas Chemicals Group's product portfolio by 52% to 44 types, T.A. Securities said.
The stock rose 0.3% to 6.75 ringgit on Friday while the benchmark FTSE Bursa Malaysia KLCI ended 0.36% lower at 1,667.87 points, its lowest level in two weeks.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 04:02 PM
Drilling fags kambing... QUOTE Melissa Chima Team Leader, Renewable Energy at Spencer-Ogden
Hi Drilling people sorry for the false start - please email your updated CVs to apacdrilling@spencer-ogden.com so we can call you back if any roles that come in are suitable as they wont be open for long!!!
TheReaderReads
Jan 27 2016, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 27 2016, 04:02 PM) I am wondering whether this recruiters are feeling the job insecurities since they are focusing on the energy sectors and oil & gas mainly are not hiring...
MEngineer
Jan 27 2016, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 27 2016, 08:34 AM) Day raters, MSCs and Contract Direct Hires are being offered permanent positions in Petronas but obviously, there will be massive pay cuts (for Day Raters and MSCs especially). So we'll see. Ahh the "ignore mode" is such a blessing. Seriously Petronas still hiring? At this point of time I already feel Petronas is over staffed with a lot of redundant positions. Dah la PSC terms not on their side. Hopefully Petronas is making the right move if not our country only suffer and tax payers suffers.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jan 27 2016, 04:43 PM) I am wondering whether this recruiters are feeling the job insecurities since they are focusing on the energy sectors and oil & gas mainly are not hiring... Some recruiters has been affected too. I do know several 'household' recruiting firm has been into merger recently.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Jan 27 2016, 06:33 PM) Seriously Petronas still hiring? At this point of time I already feel Petronas is over staffed with a lot of redundant positions. Dah la PSC terms not on their side. Hopefully Petronas is making the right move if not our country only suffer and tax payers suffers. Agreed on your points except on tax payer part. Since its inception, Petronas has never been bail out by the Govt, tapi tolong bailout for Govt tu adalah hahahaha **OFFTOPIC** Too many reporting in Petronas. Lepas manager ada senior manager, lepas tu general manager, lepas tu senior general manager... Too many layer. But again my proud for this NOC is there. Learn so much from them.
BaRT
Jan 27 2016, 06:46 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 27 2016, 06:40 PM) Agreed on your points except on tax payer part. Since its inception, Petronas has never been bail out by the Govt, tapi tolong bailout for Govt tu adalah hahahaha **OFFTOPIC** Too many reporting in Petronas. Lepas manager ada senior manager, lepas tu general manager, lepas tu senior general manager... Too many layer. But again my proud for this NOC is there. Learn so much from them. baru gaduh dgn org petronas tadi...punyalah kerekk ironinya, aku apply "ignore mode" jugak masa discussion td...wakaka aku x layan dia, but direct communicate dgn higher level.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 07:33 PM
Ampelmann awarded a contract by Petra Resources
Press Release 27-01-2016
27th of January 2016, Delft – Ampelmann, the global leader in offshore access solutions, has secured its first contract with Petra Resources Sdn Bhd, with end client Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd in Malaysia, to supply safe offshore access services in Sarawak waters during the monsoon period. Stretching from October to February, the monsoon period is renowned for its harsh weather conditions, making conventional offshore transfer methods less safe and efficient.
The Ampelmann A-type system compensates all vessel motions, thus providing a stable gangway for transfers, which significantly increases the safety for the workers. Furthermore, Ampelmann’s systems minimize the amount of ‘Vessel Waiting on Weather’ (WOW) days, which results in shorter project duration and lower project costs. The first transfers have been successfully completed in up to 3,0 m significant wave height.
Sander Zwanenburg, Business Development Asia-pacific: “We thank Petra Resources and Petronas Carigali for their trust in Ampelmann. We look forward to working together towards a safe and efficient project completion, and continuing to build on our strong relationship.”
azraeil
Jan 27 2016, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Jan 27 2016, 06:33 PM) Seriously Petronas still hiring? At this point of time I already feel Petronas is over staffed with a lot of redundant positions. Dah la PSC terms not on their side. Hopefully Petronas is making the right move if not our country only suffer and tax payers suffers. No no no. You misunderstand me. Petronas is offering to convert the day raters and contract staff who is currently working with them to permanent position. So it is either take a huge pay cut and convert or be out of the job.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(BaRT @ Jan 26 2016, 09:36 PM) I saw a lot of vacancies at pengerang. Anybody here working at pengerang? Os that a suitable place to bring a family to live there? How the envinronment, facilities there? Its just a small town jer bro. Kalau single package offer ok jer. Nak bawak family sekali is a problem. Anyway to all of you who about to solicit job for Rapid Pengerang - make sure they provide you accomodation (single package) and transportation (to worksite & return) because the living condition is... well you know a small town to accomodate sudden influx of peoples memang tak dapat tampung punya. Do expect a longer working hours, and MAKE SURE IN YOUR OFFER LETTER STATED CLEARLY YOU WILL BE PAID FOR OVERTIME hehe.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 07:43 PM
Here is the example of my offer letter which stated overtime to be paid. Hope can guide you guys.
BaRT
Jan 27 2016, 08:26 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 27 2016, 07:43 PM) Here is the example of my offer letter which stated overtime to be paid. Hope can guide you guys. Hang ni mmg bagus la.. May god bless u bro..
mark_vyz
Jan 27 2016, 09:21 PM

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 27 2016, 07:33 PM) Ampelmann awarded a contract by Petra Resources Press Release 27-01-2016 27th of January 2016, Delft – Ampelmann, the global leader in offshore access solutions, has secured its first contract with Petra Resources Sdn Bhd, with end client Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd in Malaysia, to supply safe offshore access services in Sarawak waters during the monsoon period. Stretching from October to February, the monsoon period is renowned for its harsh weather conditions, making conventional offshore transfer methods less safe and efficient. The Ampelmann A-type system compensates all vessel motions, thus providing a stable gangway for transfers, which significantly increases the safety for the workers. Furthermore, Ampelmann’s systems minimize the amount of ‘Vessel Waiting on Weather’ (WOW) days, which results in shorter project duration and lower project costs. The first transfers have been successfully completed in up to 3,0 m significant wave height. Sander Zwanenburg, Business Development Asia-pacific: “We thank Petra Resources and Petronas Carigali for their trust in Ampelmann. We look forward to working together towards a safe and efficient project completion, and continuing to build on our strong relationship.” I remember I saw their brochure on this modern gangway before. Technology is quite impressive. BTW, bro yakup mmg terbaik. Even on the OT part also remind everyone. And for our NOC, yes reporting layer is way way too many. If they really want to cut cost, that is one aspect to be considered. March will be a major restructuring and I heard that those VP2 are among the one to be reduced.