Oil & Gas Careers V10, Upstream & Downstream, Market slump ahead
TSmohdyakup
Jan 25 2016, 10:58 PM, updated 10y ago
Suddenly Ver.9 thread being closed? What happen? ** Warning : Any racial slur statement & political discussion shall be put off from this thread. **Welcome to O&G Careers discussion - Upstream & DownstreamPrevious Ver.1 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/255573Previous Ver.2 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1665446Previous Ver.3 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2257119Previous Ver.4 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2485295Previous Ver.5 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2861882Previous Ver.6 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3213881Previous Ver.7 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3494287Previous Ver.8 thread can be found here - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3577252Previous Ver.9 thread can be found here  - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3840859For O&G Job Classified, please refer to the following link - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3557497&hl=This post has been edited by mohdyakup: Jan 26 2016, 08:32 AM
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(kutitata @ Jan 26 2016, 07:07 AM) The MD of Subsea7 KL office is also the MD of 2H Offshore. I am delighted that Subsea7 has pick KL as their new APAC.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 09:07 AM
Damansara Realty inks MoU with Sumitomo Warehouse
Damansara Realty Bhd has entered into a non-binding memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Sumitomo Warehouse Co Ltd for the purpose of setting up a joint-venture arrangement and a joint-venture company. In a filing to Bursa Malaysia today, the company said the MoU would enable both companies to participate in future business operations involving the handling and logistics for oil and gas downstream products at the Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex (PIPC). Tokyo-based Sumitomo Warehouse provides integrated logistics services in Japan and internationally, while Johor Baharu-based Damansara Realty Bhd, an investment holding company, was incorporated in 1960
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(abgkik @ Jan 26 2016, 08:59 AM) orait... I wonder where the thread gone... Too much racist/harass/troll report I believe..  Btw.. So fast this thread reach ver 10.. Ha ha.. I'll fly to Edinburgh sekejap to check on Hawser rope testing.. Abg Yaakob jaga thread elok2.. Nak join keja kat yard
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(GAME_ON @ Jan 26 2016, 11:31 AM) I always abreast this thread, even-though i'm not in O&G industry. You guys are soo fortunate.  Most of us here is waiting to kena goreng jer bero. Market is not really good right now. Anytime will be made redundant that for sure bero.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 08:03 PM
Spoke to headhunter petang tadi. There are urgent vacancies in Rapid for WWTP (Waste Water Treatment Plant)/Effluent construction package. The contractor is from UK which JV with local construction partner (not an Ali Baba Co). Experienced personnel from Nalco, GE-Betz, Kurita, Veolia, MECAS is at advantage. I am just trying my luck.
If you have experience in sewage construction (Indah Water/Syabas) or used to work for downstream O&G for effluent project you may try too.
PM me for details.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Jan 26 2016, 06:01 PM) You mean my current location? Onshore @ supply base. Any vacancy be it onshore or offshore...pls share if any. Berminat for Rapid? Send your CV to morlin.tomik@trsstaffing.com Puan Morlin is a Sarawakian. TRSS Staffing is an recruitment agency owned by Fluor. Just tell her you are friend of mine. Good luck.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 08:12 PM
Seems that our local T&I contractor (SapKen-TLO) is JV with Petrovietnam-PTSC to join bid project with ONGC (Neelam field). They just lost gigit sipi-sipi to McDermott also for ONGC project. Semoga mereka berjaya. Ada jugak job for locals nanti hehehehe.
Everyone is hunting with ONGC right now for project opportunities.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(BaRT @ Jan 26 2016, 08:13 PM) Ok..currently my hse departmnt short of staff. Will ask them 1st. U know la currently cut cost, worried any new recruitment is freeze. Anyway, bro yaakub already share u a good source. Dia tu otai tuu... Mana ada otai.jpeg 404 liao
TSmohdyakup
Jan 26 2016, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 26 2016, 08:46 PM) Taken from my LinkedIn updates. RAPID project. Its for Rapid oil refinery package - Tecnicas Reunidas
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 03:39 PM
Is anyone know where I can find Tecnimont office? Trying to lobbying my profile with them. I do know that Tecnimont is JV with China origin Co. for this package in Rapid. Samsung C&T sudah ada their own team. Kinda hard to lobbying my profile with them. QUOTE BusinessAsia300
Twitter Facebook Google+ LinkedIn Mail
December 4, 2015 8:21 pm JST Petronas Chemicals' new plants Awarding $882 million contracts to Samsung Engineering
KUALA LUMPUR (NewsRise) -- Two units of Malaysia's Petronas Chemicals Group awarded a total $882 million worth of two engineering contracts to a consortium led by Samsung Engineering Co. to build specialized chemicals plants.
Samsung Engineering is partnering two other group companies -- Samsung C&Tand Samsung Engineering (M) Sdn Bhd -- to build facilities to produce linear low density polyethylene and ethylene oxide ethylene glycol. Petronas Chemicals expects both the contracts to be completed by April 2019, the company said in a stock exchange filing on Friday.
The plants are expected to be located within a massive petrochemicals facility in the southern state of Johor. The announcement comes days after Petronas Chemicals handed out $482 million engineering contract to build a polypropylene plant in the same industrial facility to a consortium led by Italy's Tecnimont SPA.
It is widely expected that Petronas Chemicals will offer more of such contracts in the next few months under the so-called Refinery and Petrochemical Integrated Development, or Rapid project.
"All these big contract announcements will total up to $3.9 billion for Rapid and there should be more coming soon," said Maybank Investment Bank analyst Mohshin Aziz. "Peak capital expenditure years will be2017 and 2018, when Petronas Chemicals will spend 6 billion ringgit in each year."
The Rapid project, anchored by the state-run oil and gas explorer, Petroliam Nasional Bhd, or Petronas includes a deep-water port and petrochemical and gas-import facilities, making it more of an integrated industrial complex. It will also house petrochemicals and polymer plants with a production capacity of nearly 3.5 million tons of differentiated and highly-specialized products.
Establishing plants in the $14 billion Rapid project, is part of Petronas Chemicals' ambition to push further into specialty chemicals business, which typically commands higher margins than other downstream products. The Rapid project is also one of Malaysia's largest, aimed at attracting billions of dollars in foreign investments to spur economic growth.
The company's investments toward the Rapid project is likely to boost its annual earnings from 2020 onwards, T.A. Securities said in an investor note.
Petronas Chemicals can "well afford this project given its strong balance sheet, huge cash pile of 9.5 billion ringgit and operating cash flows of at least 4 billion ringgit per annum," the brokerage noted. The Rapid project is estimated to raise the company's olefins and derivatives annual capacity by 70% to 8.5 million tons in 2021, and expand Petronas Chemicals Group's product portfolio by 52% to 44 types, T.A. Securities said.
The stock rose 0.3% to 6.75 ringgit on Friday while the benchmark FTSE Bursa Malaysia KLCI ended 0.36% lower at 1,667.87 points, its lowest level in two weeks.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 04:02 PM
Drilling fags kambing... QUOTE Melissa Chima Team Leader, Renewable Energy at Spencer-Ogden
Hi Drilling people sorry for the false start - please email your updated CVs to apacdrilling@spencer-ogden.com so we can call you back if any roles that come in are suitable as they wont be open for long!!!
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jan 27 2016, 04:43 PM) I am wondering whether this recruiters are feeling the job insecurities since they are focusing on the energy sectors and oil & gas mainly are not hiring... Some recruiters has been affected too. I do know several 'household' recruiting firm has been into merger recently.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Jan 27 2016, 06:33 PM) Seriously Petronas still hiring? At this point of time I already feel Petronas is over staffed with a lot of redundant positions. Dah la PSC terms not on their side. Hopefully Petronas is making the right move if not our country only suffer and tax payers suffers. Agreed on your points except on tax payer part. Since its inception, Petronas has never been bail out by the Govt, tapi tolong bailout for Govt tu adalah hahahaha **OFFTOPIC** Too many reporting in Petronas. Lepas manager ada senior manager, lepas tu general manager, lepas tu senior general manager... Too many layer. But again my proud for this NOC is there. Learn so much from them.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 07:33 PM
Ampelmann awarded a contract by Petra Resources
Press Release 27-01-2016
27th of January 2016, Delft – Ampelmann, the global leader in offshore access solutions, has secured its first contract with Petra Resources Sdn Bhd, with end client Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd in Malaysia, to supply safe offshore access services in Sarawak waters during the monsoon period. Stretching from October to February, the monsoon period is renowned for its harsh weather conditions, making conventional offshore transfer methods less safe and efficient.
The Ampelmann A-type system compensates all vessel motions, thus providing a stable gangway for transfers, which significantly increases the safety for the workers. Furthermore, Ampelmann’s systems minimize the amount of ‘Vessel Waiting on Weather’ (WOW) days, which results in shorter project duration and lower project costs. The first transfers have been successfully completed in up to 3,0 m significant wave height.
Sander Zwanenburg, Business Development Asia-pacific: “We thank Petra Resources and Petronas Carigali for their trust in Ampelmann. We look forward to working together towards a safe and efficient project completion, and continuing to build on our strong relationship.”
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(BaRT @ Jan 26 2016, 09:36 PM) I saw a lot of vacancies at pengerang. Anybody here working at pengerang? Os that a suitable place to bring a family to live there? How the envinronment, facilities there? Its just a small town jer bro. Kalau single package offer ok jer. Nak bawak family sekali is a problem. Anyway to all of you who about to solicit job for Rapid Pengerang - make sure they provide you accomodation (single package) and transportation (to worksite & return) because the living condition is... well you know a small town to accomodate sudden influx of peoples memang tak dapat tampung punya. Do expect a longer working hours, and MAKE SURE IN YOUR OFFER LETTER STATED CLEARLY YOU WILL BE PAID FOR OVERTIME hehe.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 27 2016, 07:43 PM
Here is the example of my offer letter which stated overtime to be paid. Hope can guide you guys.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 28 2016, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jan 28 2016, 07:32 AM) Still hiring, I know of people with interviews today! Me me me hahahaha
TSmohdyakup
Jan 28 2016, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Jan 28 2016, 08:48 AM) just wanna share with you guys here. i've already rejected the offer from petronas yesterday. after like 20 mins, received a call from mtbe, kind of like begging for me to accept the offer. i don't know if it is true or not, but the lady told me that it is very hard to hire ppl this year (need to provide justification and all), which is why she really want me to accept the offer. Because peoples reluctant to work at Gebeng because of bauxite dust issues.
TSmohdyakup
Jan 28 2016, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(professor_snape @ Jan 27 2016, 08:23 PM) hye. anyone heard about jpdc? i had some read up and find out that they controlling the pengerang project. are they acting like a NOC like petronas for johor? Pretty much like that. JPDC is a Johor state owned-GLC to be a custodian for O&G related investment in Johor. Similar like ECER too. I have a close contact with ECER peoples so whenever there will be new investment opportunity thats mean a job prospect.