Oil & Gas Careers V10, Upstream & Downstream, Market slump ahead
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 08:59 AM
-Retired MOD-
Can you put at 1st post.... Any joker or racist bast*rd a.k.a. *ehem* are not welcome here. Disclaimer: This is a post of fiction. Names, characters, places and incidents either are products of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events or locales or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental. note: edited due to somebody butthurted. This post has been edited by BaRT: Jan 26 2016, 01:24 PM
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 09:16 AM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(abgkik @ Jan 26 2016, 08:59 AM) orait... I wonder where the thread gone... Too much racist/harass/troll report I believe..  Btw.. So fast this thread reach ver 10.. Ha ha.. I'll fly to Edinburgh sekejap to check on Hawser rope testing.. Abg Yaakob jaga thread elok2.. bestnya travel. So far paling jauh aku travel for working is Labuan
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 04:54 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(GAME_ON @ Jan 26 2016, 03:52 PM) Agree boss, not only O&G have this issue, other industry also facing the same fate, as mine (Building material industries) due to economy downturn.  mind to share about your industry? What type of building material? So this means buidling construction & property also in downturn mode. QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Jan 26 2016, 03:56 PM) My contract not renewed end this march... Huhu. Anyone got contact for HSE jobs, pls share. onshore or offshore bro?
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 08:04 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 26 2016, 05:34 PM) btol btol talking about banks and loans, i made a decision to have a commitment in the form of a house at the end of DEC 2014, then in comes 2015 with its oil price crash. nasib loan lulus dan ada la savings sket dapat jugak beli and duduk rumah sendrik. now just adjusting what ever i earn so can i can keep paying the installments for a few months ahead mana tau tetiba kena goreng. tapi..datang plak masalah kedua...x kahwin lagi...hahaha. gonna be tough when going to see calon2 and they hear the story of the OnG engineer lol. If apply credit card...they approve fast one...haha Anyway, im looking to buy property also this year. Seems like property price also drop a bit. Guys, im seeking your full cooperation to activate "ignore mode". That will really helpful to make this thread a great place for knowledge sharing, etc. TQ.
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 08:13 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Jan 26 2016, 06:01 PM) You mean my current location? Onshore @ supply base. Any vacancy be it onshore or offshore...pls share if any. Ok..currently my hse departmnt short of staff. Will ask them 1st. U know la currently cut cost, worried any new recruitment is freeze. Anyway, bro yaakub already share u a good source. Dia tu otai tuu...
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 09:36 PM
-Retired MOD-
I saw a lot of vacancies at pengerang. Anybody here working at pengerang?
Os that a suitable place to bring a family to live there? How the envinronment, facilities there?
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 10:13 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 26 2016, 10:09 PM) lol why previous version thread closed?  you know who made a mess la..provoke & report here and there. Now we open new thread but he still at here Just activate your "ignore mode" to any of rubbish comment.
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 10:17 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 26 2016, 10:15 PM) tu pasal. credit card cepat ja lulus. seriously house prices going down? this is for new developments & subsale? or just either one of them? yes..market now slow. They predict mid range house (500K above) will be affected.
BaRT
Jan 26 2016, 10:44 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jan 26 2016, 10:33 PM) Last week my boss told us we will need to really do the best and pray for our survival this year. Top management is looking into downstream now. Petronas started to cut jobs is really a good indicator to show how bad is the situation now. Seriously.. I think O&G now is only good for freshies. The risk is too high and almost unbearable. During this bad time, my subordinate who just working for 1 year plus still dreaming on his daily task. Unperformed and slow in his work. I already gave him final reminder...not bring my desire result, I will kick him out. Out there, a lot of people waiting & looking for a job..
BaRT
Jan 27 2016, 08:30 AM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jan 26 2016, 10:33 PM) Last week my boss told us we will need to really do the best and pray for our survival this year. Top management is looking into downstream now. Petronas started to cut jobs is really a good indicator to show how bad is the situation now. Seriously.. I think O&G now is only good for freshies. The risk is too high and almost unbearable. the famous words people always say, high risk high pay.... But ayam not high pay pong...
BaRT
Jan 27 2016, 06:46 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 27 2016, 06:40 PM) Agreed on your points except on tax payer part. Since its inception, Petronas has never been bail out by the Govt, tapi tolong bailout for Govt tu adalah hahahaha **OFFTOPIC** Too many reporting in Petronas. Lepas manager ada senior manager, lepas tu general manager, lepas tu senior general manager... Too many layer. But again my proud for this NOC is there. Learn so much from them. baru gaduh dgn org petronas tadi...punyalah kerekk ironinya, aku apply "ignore mode" jugak masa discussion td...wakaka aku x layan dia, but direct communicate dgn higher level.
BaRT
Jan 27 2016, 08:26 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 27 2016, 07:43 PM) Here is the example of my offer letter which stated overtime to be paid. Hope can guide you guys. Hang ni mmg bagus la.. May god bless u bro..
BaRT
Jan 27 2016, 09:41 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Jan 27 2016, 09:21 PM) I remember I saw their brochure on this modern gangway before. Technology is quite impressive. BTW, bro yakup mmg terbaik. Even on the OT part also remind everyone. And for our NOC, yes reporting layer is way way too many. If they really want to cut cost, that is one aspect to be considered. March will be a major restructuring and I heard that those VP2 are among the one to be reduced. Latest PTS requirement is 6 feet gangway instead of 4 feet as before..am i correct? Most of the project is using 4 feet, suddenly change to 6 feet need to custome make new one.
BaRT
Jan 28 2016, 09:17 AM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE SapuraKencana Cancel Plans to Acquire Vietnam Offshore Blocks From Petronas
Malaysia's SapuraKencana Petroleum Berhad, an integrated oil and gas services and solutions provider with operating interest in the exploration and production sector, terminated plans to acquire petroleum assets in Vietnam from the upstream arm of the country's national oil company Petroliam Nasional Berhad (PETRONAS), it announced in a filing with stock exchange Bursa Malaysia Friday.
"The conditional sale and purchase agreements (SPA) on the Proposed Transaction have been terminated by the parties by mutual agreement in accordance with the terms of the SPA," the firm indicated in the filing regarding the transaction with PETRONAS Carigali Sdn Bhd. SapuraKencana did not reveal the reason for not proceeding with the plan to acquire the Vietnamese oil and gas assets, which according to Malaysian daily The Star was scheduled to be completed by the end of this month.
The steep decline in global oil prices, which The Star indicated fell by more than half since the transaction was signed, could have been a factor contributing to the cancellation of the acquisition by SapuraKencana. Global benchmark Brent crude oil futures settled at $32.18 a barrel Friday, down 59.4 percent from $79.33 a barrel on Nov. 20, 2014, when the SapuraKencana-PETRONAS Carigali agreement was signed in November 2014. At that time, SapuraKencana had signed the agreement to purchase PETRONAS Carigali's entire stake in three blocks offshore southern Vietnam for $400 million following an international bidding process.
The company indicated then that the upstream acquisition would boost its presence in Vietnam by adding exploration and production operations to its existing service operations. The transaction would also add to SapuraKencana's reserves and resource base and increases its oil production to offset the natural decline from other currently producing assets, including Malaysian upstream assets it acquired from Newfield Exploration Co. in October 2013 for $898 million.
The three shallow water upstream assets are Blocks 01/97 & 02/97, Blocks 10 & 11.1 and Block 46-CN. PETRONAS Carigali has a 50 percent stake in Block 01/97 & 02/97 in the Cuu Long Basin, 40 percent interest in Block 10 & 11.1 in the Nam Con Son Basin and 36.85 percent interest in Block 46-Cai Nuoc in the Malay-Tho Chu Basin.
BaRT
Jan 28 2016, 11:19 AM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Jan 28 2016, 10:34 AM) Im not really sure the requirement bro. BTW I did look up on PTS but not found any. One one my ongoing have this issue. We proposed 4 feet gangway last time, now they said the new requirement is 6 feet. Need to provide with no cost impact...
BaRT
Jan 28 2016, 08:31 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jan 28 2016, 06:26 PM) Saipem bidding for anjung facilities I think.. Saipem jv with sapken for kasawari until today no news..haha Kasawari on hold.
BaRT
Jan 29 2016, 11:50 AM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 29 2016, 11:09 AM) Fuhhhh panas telinga gua bro. The session was very tough. Ambik kau semua soalan technical keluar hahahahaha. Nasib baik aku ada hafal sikit pasal BIMCO lelz. For those who about to have McDermott phone interview make sure you REALLY UNDERSTAND ABOUT OFFSHORE T&I and CONSTRUCTION. ESPECIALLY PASAL VESSEL CHARTERING. JENIS2 VESSEL CHARTER WIDELY USED DURING T&I CAMPAIGN, LEPAS TU BERAPA BOLLARD PULL, HORSEPOWER APA JADAH, APA ITU DP2 AND DP3, APA CERTIFICATE YANG MWS KELUARKAN MASA LOAD OUT AND SAILWAY ETC SO BAWAK2 LAA BERKAWAN NGAN BUDAK2 MWS OFFSHORE KAT SANA LELZ Thats all for my rants. QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 29 2016, 11:19 AM) SATU LAGI PASAL MCDERMOTT PHONE INTERVIEW. MAKE SURE YOUR INTERNET CONNECTION LAJU KAT SMARTPHONE/LAPTOP/PC SO THAT YOU CAN GOOGLE SOME OF TECHNICAL JARGON QUICKLY. AKU PUN MENGGELABAH JUGAK KEJAP TADI HAHAHAHAHA NASIB JAWAB IKUT DEFINITION GOOLE LELZ Sorry my capslock rosak. Hehe fuhhh...hahaha Thanks for the pointer. Ada smartnya ko di situ dgn sempat google lagi...haha
BaRT
Jan 29 2016, 03:00 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 29 2016, 12:02 PM) Lagi satu nak share, please study about BIMCO in details. It does give a good impression during interview with McDermott. Damn...before this I just ignore anything about BIMCO. Need to study back bro.. QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Jan 29 2016, 12:45 PM) Hehe.. Ita ok bro. At least u still manage to drag them to an hour session. Just to share a bit info with everyone, there are many type of vessel depend on the job. For supply, usually use SSV or AHT/AHTS/PSV or the low cost LCT. For installation, its depend type of work but typically they will use a work boat or barge which definitely require AHTS for anchor handling job and towing job. Bollard pull that they ask is the capability of the vessel to do towing activity and it could go up to 200BP strength depend on the vessel horsepower. DP2 and DP3 is a dynamic positioning system which usually latest vessel have. It is to maintain positioning at offshore location. Port clearance, COG, custom clearance is sample of doc required before release a vessel to location Good info bro... boleh try ni...since my nature of business is always with offshore work involving marine vessel. Next step, need to belanja my marine departments first, then dig more info...wakaka
BaRT
Jan 29 2016, 03:02 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jan 29 2016, 12:00 PM) Laptop standby depan mata bro while talking. Google website ready. Aku mixed up insurance definition especially on CAR and general liability hahahahaha nasib sempat Google. Menggelabah te**k kejap tadi hahahahahaha Aku rasa budak TLO yang Marine department sure banyak apply with McDermott. Hope I can be selected for F2F interview next week. dia takde bnyk tanya psl contract ke? Definition of contract law, dispute etc?
BaRT
Jan 29 2016, 03:19 PM
-Retired MOD-
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 29 2016, 03:11 PM) pehh banyak btol marine and T&I stuff. apa tuh MWS?? maap la drilling fag sini...tahu tgk boat bila nak sampai bwk kontena makan je haha Marine warranty surveyor bro.. means the competent body and its accredited representatives, engaged by COMPANY or the CONTRACTOR, with the APPROVAL of COMPANY, for the survey of and issue of Certificates of Approval for marine related operations in accordance with the requirement of the PROJECT insurance underwriters.