Buy a car or superbike?, Fresh graduate & recently employed
CheAd
Jan 27 2016, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(VWXYZ @ Jan 24 2016, 02:49 PM) a lot of uncertainty right now. i suggest u to hold. while everyone thinks only oil and gas sector affected, sooner or later it will affect all sector as 1/3 our nation income came from this industry. Country has no money. Investor not coming / pulling out. Purchasing power reduced. You wouldnt know what will happen to your company / you. Unless if you have cash then go ahead bro. YOLO. hahah QUOTE(oathless @ Jan 24 2016, 03:00 PM) Oh my. Same dilemma as me. Lol. If you are recently employed, stick to your moped. Superbike is a luxury item, and maintenance quite heavy (suits, helmets, road tax, loan, insurance). If you are targeting 1,000 cc superbike please don't take it to work especially KL. Litre bike's engine so much heat when not moving if you stuck in jamm. Manuever also susah. But syok ah come in office with jacket, full face helmet people admire you...but take my words, that excitement won't last long. I had a ZX-10 before, used it for work but cannot stand. Ended up as a weekend bike go ride to Genting only. I would suggest stick to moped and get a car if you can. Don't get trapped in this luxury item thing. With your current status, only go for your needs not wants.
Snowy98
Jan 27 2016, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(topearn @ Jan 27 2016, 04:37 PM) Car only better than bike in terms of safety and prestage only. Other than that bike wins hands down.....Bike might need RM20 petrol but if car, be prepared to fork out 10X more at RM200. Regular oil and filter change for car - about RM100, bike- RM15. Road tax about RM100 depends on CC, bike - just RM2. Toll for car....probably RM50-100, depending on how much toll road U travel per mth; bike - FREE. Car ----jam everywhere and might take U 1-2 hrs to reach your destination, bike ---- haha - 20-30 min. Parking for car - probably RM50-100/mth. Bike --- mostly free and can usually park anywhere, so save time to walk from parking to the place U want to patronize. yep, I agree that bikes are cheaper... but I do really care safety purpose I've been fallen from bikes once..badly injured..luckily no car at behind me
topearn
Jan 27 2016, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jan 27 2016, 04:55 PM) But the maintenance for a superbike is quite high.  I wrote "bike" 8 times , never once did I wrote superbike. Did U know 1 Penang guy rode his Honda kapchai all the way to UK from Penang ?; I think most cars would have broken down long time ago B4 reaching UK.
TShustlerism
Jan 28 2016, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(topearn @ Jan 27 2016, 11:33 PM) I wrote "bike" 8 times , never once did I wrote superbike. Did U know 1 Penang guy rode his Honda kapchai all the way to UK from Penang ?; I think most cars would have broken down long time ago B4 reaching UK. Im asking about buying a car or superbike though. Why do u need to explain bout 'bike' when i already owned one. That doesnt make sense. Sorry
Ryu8146
Jan 28 2016, 01:15 AM
Sorry if out of topic... My opinion, I think better u go buy house... Buy the one that you afford (subsale maybe)... And start saving.... Becuase either car and superbike the price will reduce from time to time... but not the house price.... You may buy car or superbike later with more advanced function/tech...
even_steven
Jan 28 2016, 02:18 AM
No need to buy la. Just use the money to take care of your moped. The extra money simpan untuk belanja kawin. So nanti no need to take loan for kahwin. Lagi worth it bro. Bebas hutang lepas kawin.. mmg syiok.
TShustlerism
Jan 28 2016, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(chew3344 @ Jan 28 2016, 02:09 AM) Superbike is a luxury , car if really needed can get cheap second hand first. Storm is coming better be careful  I dont trust second hand car.
blacklizard90
Jan 28 2016, 08:55 PM
you want buy superbike, make sure you have enuf money for the maintenance.. Superbike spare part is not cheap.. Trust me, I own one.. Tukar tayar already more than 1K..
MD27
Jan 29 2016, 01:03 AM
buy cheap small car. for your life safety, save a little bit of fuel, cover from sun and rain and comfortable for gf.
if bike, not recommended. rain and oil slippery hazard and stone from lorry. your family worry when your home unusual late. but can come home early. fuel no problem.
ynot
Jan 29 2016, 09:15 AM

Why not a sportbike first? It will be more than enough to commute around the city. Something like the z250SL or duke. These are very affordable option and doesn't take a chunk off your monthly expenses.
It is still rather stylish. Apart from seasoned biker, for the rest of us.....whether a sportbike, superbike or super sport all is the same to most ppl, hahaha.
Can tell that if u bought a car, everyday u will think about a bike. When u saw a rider passes by, nanti u sure banyak thinking. As a car is a necessity and bike is a desire.
I know how it feels because I was barred from riding for many years due to an accident. Until my wife cannot tahan my obsession keep looking at bikes, she bought me a Z as birthday present. 😁
CyberSetan
Jan 29 2016, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(ynot @ Jan 29 2016, 09:15 AM) Why not a sportbike first? It will be more than enough to commute around the city. Something like the z250SL or duke. These are very affordable option and doesn't take a chunk off your monthly expenses. It is still rather stylish. Apart from seasoned biker, for the rest of us.....whether a sportbike, superbike or super sport all is the same to most ppl, hahaha. Can tell that if u bought a car, everyday u will think about a bike. When u saw a rider passes by, nanti u sure banyak thinking. As a car is a necessity and bike is a desire. I know how it feels because I was barred from riding for many years due to an accident. Until my wife cannot tahan my obsession keep looking at bikes, she bought me a Z as birthday present. 😁 I see it this way... She has a death wish for you... fast2 accident and die. This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Jan 29 2016, 10:15 PM