Buy a car or superbike?, Fresh graduate & recently employed

TShustlerism
post Jan 24 2016, 02:34 PM, updated 10y ago

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Hi guys,
I was recently employed and started to think of buying a car or superbike. Which one do u guys recommend? Whats the pros n cons? Fyi, i dont have a car yet and i only have a moped at the moment and i owned a B full license. Currently staying and working in KL.

Regards,
Dilemma Guy

This post has been edited by hustlerism: Jan 24 2016, 02:34 PM
SUSTheHitman47
post Jan 24 2016, 02:38 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

what u currently have now.
isnt a car better for long run at least?.

TShustlerism
post Jan 24 2016, 02:41 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

I currently owned a moped.
v1n0d
post Jan 24 2016, 02:44 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

Since you already have a moped, ask yourself:
1. Do I actually need a car?
2. Is the superbike a luxury purchase?
3. Do I need either one immediately or can it wait?

Sorry to be blunt, but these are hard times. If you don't need either urgently consider saving up first. At least you'll get more bang for your buck in terms of specs-per-ringgit when the economy improves.
whphon
post Jan 24 2016, 02:45 PM

166 posts

if you are stil young, and below 28, buy a superbike

once you get a girlfriend, you need a car
TShustlerism
post Jan 24 2016, 02:45 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(whphon @ Jan 24 2016, 02:45 PM)
if you are stil young, and below 28, buy a superbike

once you get a girlfriend, you need a car
I am below 28 & have a gf. 😅
TShustlerism
post Jan 24 2016, 02:48 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jan 24 2016, 02:44 PM)
Since you already have a moped, ask yourself:
1. Do I actually need a car?
2. Is the superbike a luxury purchase?
3. Do I need either one immediately or can it wait?

Sorry to be blunt, but these are hard times. If you don't need either urgently consider saving up first. At least you'll get more bang for your buck in terms of specs-per-ringgit when the economy improves.
The downside of riding a moped is the rain. Im so interested of owning a superbike but a car is also important right.
VWXYZ
post Jan 24 2016, 02:49 PM

122 posts

a lot of uncertainty right now. i suggest u to hold.

while everyone thinks only oil and gas sector affected, sooner or later it will affect all sector as 1/3 our nation income came from this industry. Country has no money. Investor not coming / pulling out. Purchasing power reduced. You wouldnt know what will happen to your company / you.

Unless if you have cash then go ahead bro. YOLO. hahah
Snowy98
post Jan 24 2016, 02:52 PM

169 posts

car hit bike or bike hit car?
ask urself

I know bike is very cool as a teenager
but safety come first bro!

Car always better than a bike anyway.

oathless
post Jan 24 2016, 03:00 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jan 24 2016, 02:34 PM)
Hi guys,
I was recently employed and started to think of buying a car or superbike. Which one do u guys recommend? Whats the pros n cons? Fyi, i dont have a car yet and i only have a moped at the moment and i owned a B full license. Currently staying and working in KL.

Regards,
Dilemma Guy
Oh my. Same dilemma as me. Lol.

If you are recently employed, stick to your moped. Superbike is a luxury item, and maintenance quite heavy (suits, helmets, road tax, loan, insurance). If you are targeting 1,000 cc superbike please don't take it to work especially KL. Litre bike's engine so much heat when not moving if you stuck in jamm. Manuever also susah.

But syok ah come in office with jacket, full face helmet people admire you...but take my words, that excitement won't last long.

I had a ZX-10 before, used it for work but cannot stand. Ended up as a weekend bike go ride to Genting only.

I would suggest stick to moped and get a car if you can. Don't get trapped in this luxury item thing. With your current status, only go for your needs not wants.
v1n0d
post Jan 24 2016, 03:02 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jan 24 2016, 02:48 PM)
The downside of riding a moped is the rain. Im so interested of owning a superbike but a car is also important right.
Not really, no. I urge you to hold back on the purchase, at least until things look a little better. Plus, securing a loan is getting difficult with most banks tightening lending requirements. Unless you're earning over RM4500 with no existing commitments, you may not qualify.

If you're going to ignore most of the advice here and buy either one anyway, get the car. It serves more utility than a superbike does.
TShustlerism
post Jan 24 2016, 03:07 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(VWXYZ @ Jan 24 2016, 02:49 PM)
a lot of uncertainty right now. i suggest u to hold.

while everyone thinks only oil and gas sector affected, sooner or later it will affect all sector as 1/3 our nation income came from this industry. Country has no money. Investor not coming / pulling out. Purchasing power reduced. You wouldnt know what will happen to your company / you.

Unless if you have cash then go ahead bro. YOLO. hahah
You suggested me to hold for awhile. But for how long?
sasuketaichou
post Jan 24 2016, 03:07 PM

192 posts

depends on what job of field to be exact?
Akmall540
post Jan 24 2016, 03:12 PM

197 posts

buy car. simple.

think about future. any sedan car is good as long as u owned a car. car is a must nowadays.

when u starting to plan to have a family then u will know.
vernondp
post Jan 24 2016, 05:23 PM

49 posts

Hi guys,

Regards,
Dilemma Guy
In the book Rich Dad, Poor Dad this is the first mistake quoted by the author that new grads make, buying liabilities and getting into bad debts instead of buying assets.
TShustlerism
post Jan 24 2016, 05:44 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Well after so many advice. I've decided to hold on first and probably thinking of buying a car in future.
jeckyl
post Jan 24 2016, 07:19 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Jan 24 2016, 05:44 PM)
Well after so many advice. I've decided to hold on first and probably thinking of buying a car in future.
get cheap second hand car. look for an entry level property. No need multi million unit, just an apartment or single storey house is better than nothing.
nestlebliss
post Jan 24 2016, 09:06 PM

315 posts

car...

safer...

life > all
SUShuaweie5830
post Jan 25 2016, 08:06 AM

967 posts

superbike

chicks like something with super

haturaya
post Jan 25 2016, 08:14 AM

2,554 posts

Hi guys,

Regards,
Dilemma Guy
Do you really need the car / super bike? Or you just want it. It's two different matter. B full license doesn't mean you'd have to ride a super bike. I also have B full, but ride a 125cc scooter to work (15 minute ride only). Convenient and practical. I use my car if the weather doesn't permit safe ride (heavy rain, thunderstorm, bad haze etc).

Short term economy is bleak. Be prudent.

0.0185sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:26 AM