LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

TongCN
post Nov 5 2021, 08:59 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Nov 4 2021, 05:01 PM)
I am using the second option. Under CX sound settings, HDMI ARC, eARC on, DTV Audio "Auto", Digital Sound out "Passthrough". I am able to get Atmos for Gears 5. But the audio lag is simply too noticeable. So I switched back to DD on xbox SX settings.

I have yet to try AV sync adjustment though.
What's ur hardware setup, bro?
TongCN
post Nov 5 2021, 11:33 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Nov 5 2021, 11:29 AM)
No receiver. I am just using Samsung Q600A soundbar. Xbox Series X --> LG CX, Soundbar --> LG CX eARC. Then setup like my previous post for the CX part. On Xbox, passthrough, bitstream are both enabled. I can choose Atmos for home theater.

But because of the Atmos audio delay issue, I reverted back to DD but even that also got slight lag. You can even notice it when scrolling the Xbox menu.
Under your CX, you mentioned your audio there setup using eArc + passthrough and still able to pick Dolby Atmos for Home Theater.
Which i am unable to pick for my Samsung Q950T unless i choose Auto instead of passthrough, hmm ..

Dunno who at fault here doh.gif
Xbox or Samsung sweat.gif
TongCN
post Nov 5 2021, 11:49 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Nov 5 2021, 11:38 AM)
Bro, I will screenshot and post on xbox SX thread later tonight.
Haha alright

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 5 2021, 11:41 AM)
i see is like samsung, cos both gen samsung soundbar got issue lol.
Lolz .. samsung false advertise at first also d XD

Said HDMI 2.1 support then suddenly delete that part on their web.
TongCN
post Nov 18 2021, 09:57 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ Nov 18 2021, 03:17 AM)
Hi all. Has anyone signed up for the free 3 months trial for AppleTV+? Tempted to but a bit worried it would be "complicated" to cancel the auto-renewal later  (ie difficult process or procedure made to "persuade" you not to cancel) if I decide I don't want to continue with the subscription.

Any one has experience cancelling auto-renewal of AppleTV+ subscription? Tx
I will suggest .. dun sign up, totally no contents XD

TongCN
post Nov 23 2021, 12:42 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Xmatrix90 @ Nov 21 2021, 07:32 PM)
Got offer LG CX 65 RM6799.

Good deal?
This is a steal!! Where !? tongue.gif

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 23 2021, 12:03 PM)
shocking.gif Only 1 solution ah?
Are they trying to promote apple tv?
Nvidia Shield TV lol..
TongCN
post Dec 21 2021, 03:37 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Dec 21 2021, 12:06 PM)
I have just clocked in 214 hours, (started using only since 23/10) of watching (Netflix, native youtube app and ps5) on my 65 CX. Now I see banding/darker gradient on the left side of screen (my left side).

These past few nights I have been watching a lot of SDR contents with OLED light at 45 and isf dark and switch back and forth between youtube app (the left side of the menu has darker black/gray then the content on the right side). I wonder if this causes this?

I ran the greyscale test at 5% - 15% and the band is quite noticeable. The darker/thicker band is appearing exactly at where the youtube app menu changes gradient at the menu to content area. I know I shouldn't run pixel refresher manually unless I clock in like say 1500-2000 hours.

The band is quite visible also especially movie panning shots.
I recently only found out that my SDR i set OLED at 90 sweat.gif and dunno how long has it been rclxub.gif
Hope no big dmg since i bought during May 2021.

TongCN
post Dec 22 2021, 09:01 AM

6,610 posts

Hmm yesterday watched disney+ Hawkeye Episode 5 and noticed this "auto brightness" issue.

My setting while watching is Dolby Vision - Cinema mode
All AI related are turned off and all in grey mode also (Picture Pro, Brightness control, Genre Selection, Sound Pro)
However, the TV still self change the brightness bby itself ?

There's this scene when Yelena girl's talk with Kate in Kate's house, the TV become super dark itself all of sudden.
Then i grabbed the controller and press the "setting cog", the screen will brighten up itself later.

After the girl's talk, the scene change to city upward shot and then switch to Hawkeye part, the first 1.5 second of showing quite dim and then suddenly the TV like boost up the brightness level.
(I cant redo the situation again after that)

Current firmware : 4.30.40
TongCN
post Dec 22 2021, 10:20 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ Dec 22 2021, 09:15 AM)
I think it's ABL or ASBL at work?

Btw, have u noticed any issue with FW 04.30.40? I'm still on 04.30.10 as not sure should update in case of it causing issues esp to eARC (read on Reddit some people have that issue).
So far no issue on 4.30.40 on eArc as of now.

I also aware of the eArc broken issue since last round firmware which basically broke most ppl eArc/Arc.
So right now i will check forum first before i proceed

Addon:
So bro NewB-MX i guess the ASBL u mentioned regarding on this?

https://www.reddit.com/r/OLED/comments/lnpu...s_bothering_me/

This post has been edited by TongCN: Dec 22 2021, 11:43 AM
TongCN
post Dec 22 2021, 02:12 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(NewB-MX @ Dec 22 2021, 01:44 PM)
Bro @TongCN :

* Thanks for the info on 04.30.40. LG should really give the option to skip any FW update instead of popping up  the msg Everytime we turn on the TV. Don't want to block it at router level.

* Yes, that's the ASBL issue, I believe.
LG also need to provide the detail listing of each firmware update instead of one sentence "minor improvement" sweat.gif
TongCN
post Dec 23 2021, 08:53 AM

6,610 posts

US has new firmware on 4.30.56 being spotted
TongCN
post Dec 28 2021, 10:59 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Dec 27 2021, 06:45 PM)
Yes Convael, I totally understood what you are saying about the nature of OLED panel, banding and uniformity, it's more or less a lottery I reckon. The banding actually reduced a lot after I consistently played HDR movies only this past few days. Previously the banding was quite visible even at up to greyscale 35-40%. Now it's more or less within 15%-10% range.

My problem is this now, please see below. If there are only like 2-3 dead pixels around the edges, I am totally fine with it cause it will not affect my viewing for movies and even gaming with full screen. But the dead pixels are quite a lot and considering I have only used it for 200+ hours and I normally baby my stuff.

**For new OLED buyers, I am not trying to discourage you from buying an OLED Tv. This is just part and parcel of any OLED/LED display of any brands. My next TV will still be an LG/Sony OLED.
Wow... those dots only come after using for 200 hours + ?

TongCN
post Jan 6 2022, 03:04 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 6 2022, 01:06 PM)
4.30.55 is out for CX. Anyone knows what's the update?
i think fix for those HDCP issue for production dated between XX- Nov 2021.
TongCN
post Jan 10 2022, 09:26 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 9 2022, 10:21 PM)
I hope they do. But either way, I suppose QD-OLED will be expensive asf.

https://www.cnet.com/tech/home-entertainmen...uantum-dot-era/

Just bought WOLED (LG CX65) last year, so i think i wont be upgrade in a short time also tongue.gif

But the monitor that using QD OLED catches my interest, hope the price is reasonable XD
TongCN
post Jan 10 2022, 01:42 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 10 2022, 12:27 PM)
Probably will rival a 42 or 48 C2 price?  tongue.gif
then get LG C2 42" icon_idea.gif (If price less than 4k) rclxm9.gif
TongCN
post Jan 10 2022, 03:09 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Jan 10 2022, 02:28 PM)
At that price, it would be a steal. lol
What's the launch price for 48 C1 last year?

As per checking now, RRP seems like 4.9k~5.3k

But then C2 still using WOLED

TongCN
post Jan 11 2022, 09:02 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(AMD64 FX51 @ Jan 11 2022, 02:11 AM)
RM4699 < below

use point andcoin cash back.
Let's hope 42" price below that XD

And now Asus those also comes out 42" & 48" with OLED, it's gonna be competitive.

Addon: Just boot up my LG CX and prompt me to update 4.30.55 this morning.

This post has been edited by TongCN: Jan 11 2022, 09:09 AM
TongCN
post Jan 13 2022, 11:49 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 13 2022, 11:35 AM)
Weird tho their changelog is like tat:

1. Improvement
We kindly inform you that service updates are to be carried out to provide you with quality services.
[Update Schedule
Starting from December 15, 2021 (BrE: Starting from 15 December 2021)
[Details
1. Improvements in convenience

- You can add your WashTower to the Home Dashboard using LG ThinQ
- You can hide the "No Signal" message that pops up on the screen displayed when there is no video input signal.

- With DRM-related compatibility enhancements, the problems of some videos not being played in some applications have been fixed (applicable to certain countries and applications only).
2. Other
- You will be asked to select either LG ThinQ or Google Assistant to use the voice recognition feature.

no mention of fine tune dark areas added lol. but it is in.
At least they got show something in the log XD

Look at LG CX:

So many surprise update since 3.21.xx that time that they want us self dig or check forum XD

This post has been edited by TongCN: Jan 13 2022, 11:50 AM
TongCN
post Jan 25 2022, 04:37 PM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(chtan @ Jan 25 2022, 10:30 AM)
Bought my LG C1 48" week ago to replace my Viewsonic 32" 4K monitor. RM4488 with RM200 T&G rebate. I think its quite worth it. Love the 4 HDMI2.1 port can cope with my Xbox Series X, PS5 (coming in later), gaming laptop and Switch OLED. Also, LG ticked all the box of advanced features such Dolby vision, HDR10, Dolby Atmos and many more.

Any have problem redeeming the RM200 from LG? I have already submitted the redemption however still yet to get a reply from them.
I'm also hunting LG C1 48" which is RM4.5k below

Kinda regret didn't grab the Senheng December members promotion listing XD

The TNG will take sometime to credit into ur TNG account.

Mine took like 1 month last year when i purchased LG CX

This post has been edited by TongCN: Jan 25 2022, 04:38 PM
TongCN
post Jan 26 2022, 09:45 AM

6,610 posts

Watching Hellbound (Netflix) last night episode 6.

The scene mostly dark and the ABL once again hit in ... making the scene more dark than usual sweat.gif lolz...
TongCN
post Jan 26 2022, 11:05 AM

6,610 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Jan 26 2022, 10:42 AM)
Sometimes this ABL is just abit too aggressive. It is annoying. Like when I'm playing overcooked with my kid, the whole screen will dim by itself during play, and brighten up again when escape to menu.

Somehow disabling it seems to be a no no. hhmm
Yea, very annoying somehow, there's one scene in Hellbound focus on a mask in the mid of the screen part.
The screen dimmed till a level that i cant even see the mask (which is white color somemore).

Need rewind and press the LG Magic remote cog setting button to brighten it back only know apa barang sana sweat.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1706sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:10 AM