24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

SSJBen
post Aug 31 2017, 06:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

RM8.7k is a very good price, with or without soundbar.
SSJBen
post Sep 11 2017, 04:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The W7 series does look good... on paper. I'm wondering how is the panel uniformity for a 77" screen however, considering that 65" hasn't been too good in the last 2 years to be very honest.
SSJBen
post Sep 20 2017, 02:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(apecorp @ Sep 20 2017, 12:39 PM)
Yesterday i saw Courts having promotion for Oled B7 rm9999. Is this a good price?
That's like the standard price for all B7/C7 55" models everywhere. Most places can get about RM1k off if you can haggle well enough.
SSJBen
post Sep 26 2017, 05:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Sep 26 2017, 05:03 PM)
guys, i can't seem to play a full 4k on youtube on my b6. it scales only to 2160 instead of 3840 any reason?
I'm on a 100 mbps line. So can't be network right.
2160p is 4k la haiyo... sweat.gif

3840p is nearly 6k.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 26 2017, 05:21 PM
SSJBen
post Sep 29 2017, 04:03 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Sep 29 2017, 10:14 AM)
LG just launched their most expensive and cheapest OLED in Malaysia at the same time  laugh.gif

RRP
65W7T --> RM 44999  (Free 55B7T TV  rclxub.gif )
55B7T  --> RM   9999
B7 is basically a C7 with a different stand. Both TVs are 9999 anyways. Nothing new on that one.

QUOTE(Cruzer @ Sep 29 2017, 12:37 PM)
16k for lg oled c7 65inch. Is it reasonable? Or anyone knows where to get cheaper?
If it's brand new, 16k is a great price. I bought mine at 19k just 4 months+ ago. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 29 2017, 04:03 PM
SSJBen
post Sep 29 2017, 04:32 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Sep 29 2017, 04:12 PM)
Actually C7 cost more for RRP, 11999  nod.gif
But dont really care, happy with my C7 anyway  laugh.gif

Free soundbar just arrived today... wub.gif
Haiya... as if anyone sells it at 11999. laugh.gif

That said, the B7T will have the latest factory revision of the OLED panel in this year's models. No reports however if screen uniformity has been improved - still too early to tell.
SSJBen
post Sep 29 2017, 05:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Cruzer @ Sep 29 2017, 04:47 PM)
16k brand new at lg booth at pwtc with the free soundbar redemption thingy , supposingly worth rm2999 rrp. Seems like 65inch prices are dropping, just thinking if will drop further for year end sales
That's the best price I've heard of so far this year then if you ask me.
SSJBen
post Sep 29 2017, 06:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Sep 29 2017, 05:56 PM)
The price was better during the Desa Home clearance sale.
I was told the clearance sale were open box and/or demo units, not brand new.
SSJBen
post Oct 17 2017, 05:28 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Oct 16 2017, 09:42 PM)
guys, i have a question. thinking of buying the LG OLEDC755T and the LG SJ9 Atmos soundbar, for the Atmos effect. If i connect the TV HDMI2 (ARC) directly to the LG SJ9 HDMI OUT (TV ARC), will I get the Atmos effect? without any external BluRay device or Xbox One for example.
Not sure why you want to waste money on a soundbar... but to answer question:

1) No, you won't get any Atmos material from the TV because there are no online streaming sources that currently has Atmos. Even if there is, eARC is needed and at this point in time, it's not clear yet if HDMI 2.0 can be firmware updated to include eARC.

2) Yes you will need an external device and a source material that actually has the Atmos track for the soundbar to decode it.

Buying Atmos for the sake of Atmos is like buying a 4k TV for the sake of 4k. It goes hand in hand.
SSJBen
post Oct 17 2017, 07:58 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Oct 17 2017, 07:44 PM)
Thanks for your response. However since my question was unanswered here yesterday and I really needed the answer, I did some readings in regards to my own question and surprisingly it does support Dolby Atmos through HDMI ARC in the form of DD+. LG OLED 2017 can do this over the HDMI ARC, however when doing Atmos through Dolby True HD (via BluRay disc) then it isn’t supported as mentioned by you, it’ll be supported when HDMI Rev2.1 is supported by tv manufacturers via eARC or I can, reroute it via external device via normal HDMI IN on the TV itself. My planned setup is fairly simple as most of my Atmos materials can only output Atmos tracks at 48kHz in the form of DD+, via a PC. The soundbar alone personally is really basic, with one HDMI IN and one HDMI OUT (ARC) and better Atmos soundbars eg; Sony or Yamaha YSP5600 costs absurdly high.

Anyway, I don’t really fancy thousands of ringgit on Atmos HT setup alone and i know a proper setup could cost thousands of ringgit, after some reading on the reviews of the SJ9, maybe a slight taste of Atmos in the form of a soundbar suits my style and budget more.

Took the plunge just now and bought an OLED 55” C7 at RM7999 with the free LG SJ8 soundbar and bought the SJ9 for the sake of experiencing Atmos. Not a proper setup for Atmos but for normal people like me, it might be enough already for now.
Congrats on your purchase.
I stand corrected. I just checked Netflix and they do have some shows with DD+ tracks.

Upfiring speakers require a low ceiling (no more than 10ft), it must be completely flat and be reflective. With upfiring speakers, the MLP is also only confined to a single spot and a limited one at that.
SSJBen
post Nov 2 2017, 04:37 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Oct 31 2017, 09:21 PM)
Thx, from most of my research and your answer,  I seem to come to the same conclusion too. My only other concern will be the longevity of the B6. I can be a heavy user with at least 4-8 hours one stretch of playing games and watching movies. Maybe I do that three times a week.

With my heavy usage, can the TV tahan ah?
You didn't do much research then.

The 6 series has now gained widespread attention of many permanent burn-in complaints in the last couple of months - just 15 months after its launch. The 7 series is also starting to get some attention on long running temporary IR, but we'll see in another 6+ months if burn-in will be as widespread as the 6 series or not.

If you can read Korean, head up to DCinside and check out the LG OLED threads there. If you can't, then go to AVSForum and check out the plethora of B6 threads there.

Also since you play games, you should stay away from the 6 series. The last few firmwares for the B6, LG has completely F'd up game mode so much that it's now a pointless mode to use. The 7 series fares better but LG has once again screwed up PC mode and HDR for games is borked. I have a C7 65 and I'm not a happy camper at this moment.

As for RTings saying there isn't much of a difference - they don't know what they're talking about (go to 11:10):

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 2 2017, 04:37 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 3 2017, 02:16 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 2 2017, 11:07 PM)
i agree with the firmware, but i disagree with the video stating b7 have 36% improvement compared to b6.
He's subjectifying it. It's not literally a 36% improvement. Obviously comparing with direct numbers makes no sense.

I went from an E6 to a C7, so I know the differences.

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Nov 2 2017, 11:54 PM)
Glad I got your feedback on it. I'll definitely wait then and keep lurking in the AVS forum till then. I told the wife, by the time World Cup kicks off next year, I want to have an oled tv  icon_idea.gif
The C7 prices are bound to come down anyways. So if you can wait out a good deal, that may be smart thing to do while keeping an eye out on the C7's reliability rate.

On my end, I have not faced any permanent burn-in yet. But temporary IR happens everytime I play games, recently Destiny 2. My backlight is merely at 55 in a dimly lit room, which is borderline acceptable to me - some paranoid ones actually keep their backlight at 40 and below and have no room lighting at all. They basically watch in pitch black darkness, something I don't do often.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 3 2017, 02:17 AM
SSJBen
post Nov 6 2017, 01:01 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dmc0105 @ Nov 5 2017, 02:53 PM)
Hi guys. Im looking for 55 oled and found rm8199 for 55c7 at desa home one city but sadly no more soundbar promo. From past lg promo history will they make the soundbar promo again later or need to wait for new model?
I remember they had soundbar promo during year end sales for 6 series last year.
SSJBen
post Nov 7 2017, 05:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Nov 7 2017, 05:02 PM)
I'm not sure if that's accurate. The soundbar needs to be redeemed from LG, meaning you have to send in your proof of purchase to LG and then wait for them to send the soundbar to you (takes about 2 weeks). So I'm not sure if LG still has this programme going on or not, AFAIK I was told it ends Sept 1st 2017.
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2017, 11:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(doczane @ Nov 16 2017, 06:44 PM)
Thanks for the input, i tried that but didn’t work anyway. But i found the solution as recommended in a european ps forum. Simple actually, just use the HDMI cable supplied by the PS4 Pro! Haha, i was using the previously attached hdmi cable which probably couldn’t support hdr. Sorry to waste your time. Carry on 😬.  And zero dawn horizon in hdr is glorious!
Here's a tip, ONLY buy premium certified HDMI cables from now on. They are scientifically tested to operate at 18gbps bandwidth - which is mandatory for 4k60 4:2:0 with HDR.

Remember, there is no such thing as a HDMI 2.0 cable. It's either certified to run at a high enough bandwidth or it doesn't.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 16 2017, 11:15 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 17 2017, 11:21 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(doczane @ Nov 17 2017, 08:12 AM)

Duly noted bro, thanks. I’m a selective cheapskate but will make more exceptions then.
If you don't buy into bs, premium certified cables cost about the same if not just slightly more than a non-certified cable. Cheapskate not withstanding.
SSJBen
post Dec 4 2017, 03:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Becareful on updating firmware. Not because it bricks anything, but LG's firmware team has been so inconsistent that more often than not, they take 1 step forward and then 2 steps backward.

Example; they have f**ked up Game mode so many times now on the 6 series and 7 series, I've lost count.

Better research on what has changed first before updating.
SSJBen
post Dec 4 2017, 07:06 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Dec 4 2017, 06:27 PM)
Still using the default firmware...i think is 4.50.x  hmm.gif
Any way to disable to pop up notification asking to update? kind of annoying every time when turn on TV then shows the notification  doh.gif
Other than going offline? No.

Some say that the TV would eventually stop asking, but then that doesn't change the fact that when LG releases another firmware - the TV will start prompting for an update again. Seriously LG need to improve on their firmware programmers.
SSJBen
post Jan 9 2018, 04:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jan 9 2018, 01:59 PM)
Wow, meaning after spending huge sum of money on the OLED TV we still have to "baby sit" the TV to ensure it doesn't suffer the burn in problem? doh.gif Must be a real visual enthusiast to go such route. hmm.gif
You've never owned a plasma have you?
OLEDs are several dozen times easier to baby sit than a Plasma. No doubt, there are still risks - but that's just how emissive displays work.

So until we get laser TVs, this is how it is unless you want to settle for the outdated-but-still-expensive AF edge-lit LCDs. OR~ One can opt for FALD LCDs, of which is really only good at sizes beyond 65 inch to incorporate enough individual zones. But then people are going to come up with dumb excuses of "no place to put lah, so big and so expensive still!".

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jan 9 2018, 04:37 PM
SSJBen
post Jan 9 2018, 04:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jan 9 2018, 04:37 PM)
Yup, I skip plasma.
Both OLED and LCDs has its pros and cons. It's up to you which is more important. But there's no doubt paying 9k for an LCD vs 9k for an OLED, the one with half a brain should be able to make a decision to get the latter.

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:26 AM