QUOTE(Jactiego @ Nov 2 2019, 05:03 PM)
Thanks bro for your inputs, appreciated! Is the Acoustic Surface useful since I already have a 5.1 hifi setup?
You can turn the TV into center speaker mode , like thisLG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV
Nov 2 2019, 05:17 PM
1,109 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Jactiego @ Nov 2 2019, 05:03 PM) Thanks bro for your inputs, appreciated! Is the Acoustic Surface useful since I already have a 5.1 hifi setup? You can turn the TV into center speaker mode , like this |
Nov 2 2019, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(h11g @ Nov 2 2019, 05:27 PM) Larger transfer bandwidth for higher frame rate content , higher resolution , better chroma sampling , etc etc.It can transfer up to 48 GBPS compare to the current limit of 18 GBPS of HDMI 2.0 . For eg , both of these 2019 and 2018 LG OLEDs can internally process HFR content (4k videos up to 120hz) . But due to the limitation of the transfer port , the LG 2018s are unable to do it via HDMI , while the 2019s can . It should be noted there are not many device compatible with HDMI 2.1 at the moment , so it is more of a future proof thing. This post has been edited by Convael: Nov 2 2019, 06:14 PM |
Nov 8 2019, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(omaramiromo @ Nov 8 2019, 07:55 PM) Just book brand new 55" C8 for rm4999.. is it good offer?? Is it c8 performance similar with c9 in term of watching movie and sports?? Without diving too much into the technical details , yes .QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 8 2019, 10:13 AM) There is a new way to scam everyday . While these morons have no shame , buyers should also be aware of the latest scamming trend . There are several way to do it now . The most common one , is they will attempt to contact you via whatsapp , then convince you to transfer directly into their bank account . In the recent times they have learn several new methods . At first they will let you to place an order on Lazada to gain your trust . Since Lazada offers full refund , they will wait until your order is confirmed then cancel your order and you got your refund . And they will tell you , if they are cheater you will not get your refund back , using Lazada's system to describe for their own benefits . Then give you all sort of excuses , like Out of stocks , delay of shipment , Lazada doesn't allow low price ... blah blah blah . After that they will ask u to go out of Lazada's web to fulfill the payment . Seems too outrageous ? trust me , to this day there are still people who have fallen to the trap . This post has been edited by Convael: Nov 8 2019, 09:52 PM |
Nov 8 2019, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 8 2019, 10:25 PM) It is . They have been shutting down their accounts but they can only do so much . Buyers themselves need to have awareness as well , these d-bags will just keep making new account and hunting for prey . |
Nov 12 2019, 08:30 PM
Nov 15 2019, 07:29 AM
QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Nov 15 2019, 03:32 AM) Anyone able to play disney+ video on lg oled tv? Disney tv app not yet officially available on the local LG content store .I able to go download and open disney+ apps in lg oled c8 but unable to play any content. I get Error drmlicenserequest failed whenever i click play. Currently i’m using my iphone and xbox one to stream disney+. with vpn of course. ![]() ![]() |
Nov 15 2019, 04:44 PM
Nov 21 2019, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(mitkey06 @ Nov 21 2019, 08:10 PM) They don't ship TVs to Malaysia .Also you cannot compare the US market with MY market . They have so many more options for high end TVs over there , the market is extremely competitive . This post has been edited by Convael: Nov 21 2019, 09:15 PM |
Dec 1 2019, 06:28 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(vostroxe @ Dec 1 2019, 09:54 AM) Anyone know how to increase detail highlights in dark scene? Im using LG C8. I found dark scene is too dark Adjust brightness value and set Gamma to 2.2 . If you have test patterns running you can try changing the luminance of 5 IRE . QUOTE(szecheng @ Dec 1 2019, 10:20 AM) Nope . Vivid mode is literally the most offensive mode there is , everything is unnatural and oversaturated .Especially if you have children in the house , you want them growing up to recognize what " white " looks like , don't you ? Thesedays if you are asking random people what is white , they pull out their mobile screen and show you pale blue . This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 1 2019, 06:35 PM |
Dec 1 2019, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(stacyy11 @ Dec 1 2019, 06:36 PM) My LG OLED is 4 months old and has a bright blue dot in the center of the screen. It’s very distracting. LG will not fix it under warranty, as it is within their quality specifications. I’ve had a very poor experience with their customer service, who send me links to rate customer service rather than a trouble ticket number so I can upload pictures to their warranty department. dead or stuck pixels ? As per agreement , for 4k screens they will not fix the screen if it only has 1 small pixel defects because they are usually not very noticeable under normal content viewing . This applies to all the major brands out there . If it is 1 dot consist of piles of dead pixels clustering together , then yes . This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 1 2019, 09:36 PM |
Dec 4 2019, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Dec 4 2019, 04:04 PM) In SDR mode maybe , the HDR preset is still crap . Screen calibration is a tough business in Malaysia . Mostly because people don't give a damn about accuracy . Often you have calibrated a screen to D65 for someone , they end up complaining screen looking " yellowish " . Side effects from long term exposure of overly blue screens. They much rather sticking to their oversaturated tablets and phones . This is especially true in big market like China and Korea as well , where most movie directors and editors have very little knowledge in the field . I often find a lot of Chinese and Korean shows crushing shadow details and having incorrect black levels . The same reason why there are not many HDR films from them . The recent movies that are only made available in HDR thanks to Netflix , who is actively pursuing the HDR direction. It will take more than decades to convince the public of the importance of having an accurate screen . Considering the odds are against those of us who valued a panel precision. We even have local forum moderator who is openly against people talking about color accuracy . " You are not a graphic designer why the xxxx are you calibrating your screen ? " Quote taken straight from a certain self proclaimed hardware " reviewer " here. Doesn't help the fact that some major brands continues to twist the public for their own advantages . For eg , all these Samsung Galaxy phones are advertising about how accurate their screens are . Yet the one they sold in Asia has terrible accuracy and all operating under the default "Vivid" mode . Apparently the local audience love nothing more than to watch colors leaking like spray paint from their screens . While the western version of same model shipped under far more accurate " Natural " settings . This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 6 2019, 04:02 PM |
Dec 6 2019, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 4 2019, 11:13 PM) If I have to name him , I would be adding even more enemies on top of the list of the Brand PR I've already pi**ed off in this forum But he is not that hard to spot ... usually lurking around the hardware and monitor area ... I got fed up and shunned the forum awhile ago when he was questioning people who are buying color accurate monitors . This post has been edited by Convael: Dec 7 2019, 06:39 AM |
Dec 25 2019, 08:18 PM
Jan 2 2020, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(Jack28HT @ Dec 31 2019, 03:43 PM) I just got a C9 as well and got 2 quick questions and hope sifu's can help: How do you know it is " too dark " ?1. It seems that all picture modes are with brightness set to 50 which is way too dark and can't see shadow details until I increased the brightness close to 60 and +. Anything wrong with my TV because I read online most recommended brightness at 50 only? /Jack. Not every little piece of shadow details should be visible . The only way you can tell is running test patterns . Try playing this and switch to the appropriate viewing mode for the basics . All of 2019 and 2018's LG and Panasonic OLEDs are crushing a little bit of the near black details , to more effectively shroud the near black gradient problems which have been plaguing OLED TVs for awhile . This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 2 2020, 08:58 PM |
Jan 4 2020, 06:41 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jan 3 2020, 11:59 PM) I thought you said C9 is a little too expensive awhile ago ?The cycle never stop . By the time C10 ( I believe the next gen of LG OLEDs are going to be called CX , EX , WX and BX ) is released it is going to be super pricey and you are going to want to wait for price drop , again. At this rate you will end up never buying one because there is always something better coming out " soon " . This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 4 2020, 07:29 AM |
Jan 8 2020, 06:44 AM
QUOTE(joeblow @ Jan 8 2020, 12:08 AM) I just bought this tv 6 months ago. Under warranty, why would I have to pay for their service? Any chance they might change to a new tv for me if they take it back? My understanding is they will call me, the technician. From my Sony experience, they will come to my house to inspect then either fix it or bring back. Not sure for LG. For OLED surely I hate for them to carry back since potential damage to the screen. They shouldn't need to carry your TV back . A bit disappointed it will take them within 3 days to contact me. All these while I move my Sony TV back into the room. Still cannot believe I bought in July 2019, now spoil... If you have been properly describing your problem , they should have sent a tech team to your house and replace the entire backpanel within 5 minutes . It's a bit of a hectic in LG's place right now because of the holiday season. This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 8 2020, 12:49 PM |
Jan 8 2020, 06:46 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 7 2020, 03:37 AM) No big differences for the 2020 models, most of the new features are gaming orientated - as expected, since the next gen consoles are coming out later this year. I am more intrigued by their 48" panels CX (10) assuming there is no compromise on the TV specs. It should be more affordable to be used a PC monitor and doesn't has to be as bulky as the 55" and 65 " version.About the only big thing is HGiG being supported (which almost all next-gen games should be a part of). Freesync will also be supported in addition to Gsync (and hence HDMI VRR). All these features could theoretically be made available on the 2019 models if LG is being generous though. Also eARC fix will be coming soon as well, to be available for both 2020 and 2019 models. The current eARC bug does not allow more than 2.0 channels to be passed through if the format is in PCM. This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 8 2020, 12:49 PM |
Jan 15 2020, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(ainuddin @ Jan 15 2020, 08:04 AM) no, not at all .Anyone who knows half a thing about the TV industry knew these Micro-LED TV are going to have a price tag of half a million Ringgit for some times . ( Not to mention a couple of other inherent issues from the tech ) So for people who are waiting for OLEDs to go obsolete , sorry to break your dream . Unless you are a multi-millionaire , it is going to be a long wait before Micro-led is replacing OLEDs . LGD is pretty happy with their white OLEDs from what I heard . In fact it allows them to completely one-uped Samsung in the premium TV market . Since they are the sole manufacturer of wRGB OLEDs , they are also the one who sets the trends and the rest of the brands ( who buy OLED screens from them) have to follow . QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 14 2020, 08:45 PM) For dobly vision only 5 settings, vivid, standard, cinema user, cinema home n game. U guys use what setting.tq Initially i use cinema home recommend by forum user but after trying for few weeks lately i try setting to standard n it seems the picture n color more detail n at the same time i reduce the oled light plus contrast as compare using cinema home the oled light n contrast have to set very high so as not so dark. Dolby Vision Cinema has the most accurate settings , Cinema Home brighten up the picture excessively and is more suited for a lit-room .So unless you want everything to look like they came from Ponyland , Standard and Vivid are horrible and should be avoided at all cost . Not only the colors are unnatural , they put a blue hue on top of everything . You are suffering from the same syndromes we're talking about in this forum a lot . People who have lost their touches on recognizing natural colors thanks to the influences from modern tablets and smartphones . Neon colors from these Vivid modes are going to leave bigger impression from the first look , same reason why TV shops are looping demo in the same setting to bait customers into buying it . Though , have you actually seen grasses in real life that is neon-green instead of light green ? This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 15 2020, 01:58 PM |
Jan 15 2020, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 15 2020, 02:17 PM) So if set to home cinema what is your setting for oled light n contrast. At default both the setting is at 100. You r right bro when set to standard the colour doesnt look natural n bluish but on bright side the black colour picture seem more detail n bright but of course as mentioned it doesn't look natural Messing around with DV modes can be tricky , because Dolby has reserved a lot settings in their exclusive viewing modes .The 2018 OLED and older models have OLED lights fixed at 50 , changing to any value above 50 will alter the gamma drastically . 2019 LG OLEDs has removed that and the OLED lights are now fixed at 100 and should remain 100 . You should not be changing the contrast settings either . Run a couple of dark scenes in DV , the brightness settings will now alter the gamma which you can use to adjust pictures for more shadow details . Without calibrating kits that's pretty much the best you can do without diving into the white balance menu . If you just want the picture to stay as bright as Vivid / Standard , it ain't going to happen . Inaccurate modes tend to be brighter than the accurate ones . Plus Dolby Vision has its own dynamic meta data for HDR tonemapping curves , you really shouldn't be changing it . Not every piece of shadow details are supposed to be seen . Dolby has their very own standards when it comes to mastering show , especially with the recent OLED crushing a little bit of shadow details to mask the near-black imperfection. Surely you can raise the gamma so you will eventually see everything , but at the same time also cause the picture to lose its authenticity and depth . This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 15 2020, 07:33 PM |
Jan 15 2020, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 15 2020, 06:29 PM) In fact 100 is maximun for oled light n contrast, is it ok to watch the tv with the 2 maximun setting plus can it be any side effect in long run tq For Dolby Vision it is fine , those are the default settings for 2019 LG OLEDs . Plus you are not going to watch Dolby Vision all the time , not everything is available in DV anyway . This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 15 2020, 07:31 PM |
| Change to: | 0.1071sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:13 PM |