his name is xiao mao, 5 mths old.
This post has been edited by magnumao: Dec 27 2006, 05:50 PM
~House of Poodles~, Post and talk all about poodles here :)
Dec 27 2006, 05:48 PM
322 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: AMK - SPORE SP1 - TAMPOI |
Dec 27 2006, 05:55 PM
Dec 30 2006, 03:14 PM
Dec 30 2006, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 29 2006, 11:49 AM) Hello all, I'm planning to get a poodle in June 2007. But before that, I wanna know more information on poodle. What should I get ready before I buy the poodle? And how much does it cost for grooming and how often? nothing to worrymy family has never kept a dog before for the past 20+ years, but xiaomao poodle fit into our life well & fast. for the grooming part, u can learn to do it yourself (for those simple one, like nail cutting etc). Even do it at pet shop also wont cost you much, if you dont do it very often. |
Jan 4 2007, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Dec 30 2006, 08:21 PM) Whao .. are all those 4 doggies poodles?? Super cute yup all poodles, the other 3 belongs to another owner. nv seen them since then..... it took xiaomao ard 2-3 weeks to understand the toilet training. not very difficult, but need patience. |
Jan 4 2007, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 3 2007, 10:53 PM) Hello... Not mine, the other 3 belong to another owner. This place is a dog park located in JB. A good place for dogs and their owners to hang out.Xiao Mao is a great looking male... u keep other poodles besides him?... so many other poodle frens... The one at the left is "Toh Dao", right is Roger. This weekend Xiao Mao will join them to a swimming trip Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 4 2007, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 4 2007, 02:32 AM) Heya, thanks for the advices!!! Great advices!! Help me a lot in taking care of a poodle. Don't worry - I plan to keep his fur as short as possible. I don't like long fur either - Messy and get all tangled up. My dog dun have fur problem also, so dun think need to worry that. Vet has told me that food wont cause fur problem, u want to feed them "char siew" also can I don't plan to train him to pee poo on newspaper. Plan to get a container of toyogo box size but lower height. Then get some kinda plastic basket that have holes like siever and diy myself and put on top of the container - wanna make it like a "real" toilet. Fill in a low level of water in the container. And carry the poodle to make him sit on top of the "siever-like basket" everytime after he makan and nap. Make him know that is his "toilet" and he shud go thr when he wanna pee poo. Is it possible to train him in this way?? Xiao Mao now pee poo in his cage, his cage become his toilet and he roam freely inside the house. he sleeps in living room. |
Jan 4 2007, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 3 2007, 11:01 PM) Syrian, so far we have only spent RM10 on grooming etc. that RM10 is to pluck the hair grow in inner ears. becoz it's painful to the dog that is why we dont want to do it ourselves.preparing to bring home a puppy is a huge thing... I like to think of it as welcoming home a baby... so all the basic essentials like sleeping place & some toys are called for... prepare urself especially emotionally & physically for some tough puppy parenting & training especially the toilet traning part... as cute as our poodle darlings are, they still need to be toilet trained... poodles can get very attached to u if there are not many family members around so be prepared for some real manja-ing... kekeke I groom my poodle myself... outside it can range anywhere between rm60 to rm100 depending on where u send to... u'll probably need to send for proper grooming every 3 months the most... anything longer than that u'll have a real scary dog to handle... one more advice, choose & pick carefully before u buy... try to avoid pet shops & puppy millers... it's heart breaking to hear frens bringing home puppies & loosing them after few weeks... good luck... |
Jan 5 2007, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(Sc@ryM@ry @ Jan 5 2007, 12:00 AM) what about the body?... how do u manage?... how old is ur poodle now?... he is abt 5mths old, bday 30/07.I DIY everything coz here in KL can be expensive I am terribly worried about my Ladee getting infection... once a fren sent her 2 dogs for grooming & they came back with skin problems... when they send to vet, vet said maybe the grooming equipments not disinfected properly... I pulg her ear hair once every 2 weeks & trim her coat every 1.5 months... got a pet grooming clipper specially for her... paiseh to tell you that we seldom cut his hair, just let it grows "naturally". or at least i nv cut before, i dont think my little sis cut his hair often also (she is the official owner and caregiver, the rest of us are just his playmates and "resource provider"). that is why u will see our poodle looks a bit different from the typical one.... |
Jan 5 2007, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 12:33 AM) But ur poodle is really a cutie either u use normal scissors or get those special one from pet shop, personally i find that they are the same |
Jan 5 2007, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 12:41 AM) u mean normal scissors for cutting hair ?? With the "teeth" one or without the "teeth" ? I got two scissors - one is normal scissor and one is for cutting layer - hehe. aiyo it depends on you lah Better go back to my studies. Tomorrow 2 papers and I'm not prepared yet. if u want layer, then use the layer one. if you dont want layer, just the normal one lah but my friend got a dog very funny. everytime after his hair being cut, he will hide himself somewhere and dont see ppl other than for food (within the house ofcoz). according to my friend his dog feel "malu" (coz my friend only anyhow cut, he just wants his hair to be short). |
Jan 5 2007, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(Syrian @ Jan 5 2007, 04:06 AM) Hahahahaa... cute little fella. First time hear dogs will also malu .. LOL this is to prevent ear infection, dog's ears get infected easily. so must keep their ears clean and dry. long fur inside the ears can grow gems.that was the 1st time we brought xiaomao to pluck his inner ear hair after so many months (he joined us on 07/10/06), end up kena lecture by the shop. they said cannot wait until it grows so long, got smell already. must do it more often, like ard 1mths+ once. |
Jan 16 2007, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(mirky_mirage @ Jan 15 2007, 10:23 PM) hi.. wow good looking mocha i was a poodle breeder last time.. now only left 1 poodle wif me.. here is his pic mocha, male.. [attachmentid=181404] spend a lot on grooming huh? how old is him/her? i got some poodles swimming pic, will post it someday later. just realised that when they get wet, all poodles look the same, and ugly..... |
| Change to: | 0.0494sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:10 PM |