110 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Mi5 Discussion, Xiaomi's new flagship

Fuyuhotaru
post Mar 22 2016, 11:19 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 22 2016, 11:14 PM)
How stable is it?
pretty stable except for very rare freezes that lasts 10-15 seconds at times, not much problems using it
google now on tap is disabled though
squall_kay
post Mar 23 2016, 01:29 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 22 2016, 05:52 PM)
don blame HTC... Samsung S7 Edge already 3k++...
Sony also near there... all due to currency exchange... actually phone price nv increase....
ranting.gif so u know what to do next year...  rclxs0.gif
if they said same inside with iPhone 6S then it is 2G...
Note 4 and note 5 when launched despite the currency having issue but the price more or less the same. S5 was launched with 2399 without gst and s6 was launched 2599 with gst. So ur point is not really valid for this context. S6 edge and s7 edge have same price despite when s7e launched, the ringgit is weaker compared to s6e time.
So, HTC really have problems with their pricing in Malaysia.
Tsukiyomi001
post Mar 23 2016, 01:57 AM

620 posts

held the S7e at Seng Heng, it's slimmer than my Mi4c with aluminium bumpers (these) !
can't believe it's 5.5", and the build quality really nice, too bad there's a cam bump :/

This post has been edited by Tsukiyomi001: Mar 23 2016, 01:58 AM
metaloid
post Mar 23 2016, 09:11 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Mar 23 2016, 01:57 AM)
held the S7e at Seng Heng, it's slimmer than my Mi4c with aluminium bumpers (these) !
can't believe it's 5.5", and the build quality really nice, too bad there's a cam bump :/
Well i rather that camera bump with amazing pictures than Mi5 flushed camera but so-so pictures.
cfa28
post Mar 23 2016, 09:44 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Mar 23 2016, 09:11 AM)
Well i rather that camera bump with amazing pictures than Mi5 flushed camera but so-so pictures.
Second that anytime.

Most importantly is easy availability.

There is no such thing as exclusive club of ppl being able to buy a HP.

OnePlus learnt that lesson well.
NightFelix
post Mar 23 2016, 10:14 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Tsukiyomi001 @ Mar 23 2016, 01:57 AM)
That small camera hump no problem at all, if you try compare with last year iPhone 6S or Galaxy S6/S6E
junkyman
post Mar 23 2016, 10:32 AM

1,255 posts

i want s7, dont like the s7 edge
michael9413
post Mar 23 2016, 05:15 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

US review... check out...

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2016/03/xia...snapdragon-820/

Comments on MIUI System...
Sigh hope that CM will have a ROM for this
So if you compare MIUI 7 versus stock Android 6.0, you'll lose:

Multi-user support
Lock screen notifications
The document-centric "Overview" screen
Settings search
Google Now on Tap support
Android 6.0's App Permissions system

It's crazy to see a company throw away mostly "free" features like this. MIUI is old, dated, and easily the worst part of the Mi 5.

Conclusion....

The Good

A Snapdragon 820 for an amazing $305.
Build quality worthy of a much more expensive phone.
Fast, accurate fingerprint reader.
USB Type-C.
The camera isn't up to the level of a $700 camera, but for $305, it's pretty good.

The Bad
Broken permissions system allows some apps to slip through without user consent.
Unlabeled "back" and "recent" buttons can be confusing.
No "always on" voice support.
It's a China-only phone, so the LTE bands won't work in most countries.
Glass back is fragile.

The Ugly
MIUI's stagnant interface has made it a feature-killing disaster on Marshmallow.

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 23 2016, 05:29 PM
TSCharless8
post Mar 23 2016, 05:35 PM

1,263 posts

Does anyone know if and where I could find Mi5's International ROM?
Fuyuhotaru
post Mar 23 2016, 06:21 PM

35 posts

I seem to recall popups from my mi 3 asking if I wanna allow NFC/location permissions for some apps (not sure if that's the marshmallow permission thing or not)

and miui actually has a global search that includes settings which you can access by swiping up on the homescreen

unsure if that extends to the mi5 but they're both running miui7 on marshmallow so I assume it would

so far all the bads doesn't really dissuade me from wanting a mi 5 but an unlocked bootloader and more roms are always good
NightFelix
post Mar 23 2016, 09:20 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 23 2016, 05:15 PM)

Yeah. Like above say. There are permission control in the security MIUI apps before marshmallow exists.
TSCharless8
post Mar 24 2016, 06:28 PM

1,263 posts

It seems to be that this won't be able to be unlocked to band 28 LTE. From the XDA thread posted earlier (http://forum.xda-developers.com/mi-5/how-to/progress-trying-to-unlock-bands-t3337476)
tongaz86
post Mar 24 2016, 10:01 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(Charless8 @ Mar 24 2016, 06:28 PM)
It seems to be that this won't be able to be unlocked to band 28 LTE. From the XDA thread posted earlier (http://forum.xda-developers.com/mi-5/how-to/progress-trying-to-unlock-bands-t3337476)
Malaysia used band 28 LTE?
cfa28
post Mar 24 2016, 10:23 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Mar 24 2016, 10:01 PM)
Malaysia used band 28 LTE?
My ignorance, thought LTE band in MY was 3 and 7
tongaz86
post Mar 25 2016, 12:23 AM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 24 2016, 10:23 PM)
My ignorance, thought LTE band in MY was 3 and 7
Yeah...that that what I thought also. Only US have so many LTE band.
robin98
post Mar 25 2016, 12:52 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 23 2016, 05:15 PM)

It's sad to see MIUI don't have Google Now on tap function.
That's why I never trusted Chinese phones as the android codes are heavily modified and more often than not 80% resemblance of iOS interface which is a shame.

By the way, you can't install CM either as the bootloader for all xiaomi phones are locked since Mi4.
JJKTP
post Mar 25 2016, 09:19 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(robin98 @ Mar 25 2016, 12:52 AM)
That's why I never trusted Chinese phones as the android codes  are heavily modified and more often than not 80% resemblance of iOS interface which is a shame.

By the way, you can't install CM either as the bootloader for all xiaomi phones are locked since Mi4.
I thought you could use download node for locked bootloader.
michael9413
post Mar 25 2016, 11:11 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

again it is not fair to compare MOD ROMs with stock one...
and i stress before that i do not want to root and flash my device...
i did that on my DesireZ and Mi3... but were too lazy to do that after that...
i feel the stock rom most of the time is more stable and also they have their concerns to the locked bootloader also...

tongaz86
post Mar 25 2016, 12:35 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(robin98 @ Mar 25 2016, 12:52 AM)
That's why I never trusted Chinese phones as the android codes  are heavily modified and more often than not 80% resemblance of iOS interface which is a shame.

It can be unlock.
tongaz86
post Mar 26 2016, 01:02 PM

1,750 posts

I wonder how much scalper will charge for this Pro version. The 64GB already 2.2++

http://www.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_mi_5_pro_wi...-news-17435.php

110 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:32 AM